DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 08 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected election, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08 October 2025.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings are generally unclear when scanned into black and white. For example, it is hard to see where the arrows are pointing towards and corresponding reference numbers in Figs. 1B, 2, 4, 5B, 6A, 6C, 6D, 7B, and 9. The handwritten reference numbers and text in the figures should also be drafted more clearly. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, lines 1-2, “the apparatus for monitoring the contents of an asset” should be changed to --the system for monitoring the contents of the asset--.
Regarding claim 2, line 8, “security tab” should be changed to --protrusion--.
Regarding claim 14, the claim should depend from claim 5 instead of claim 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cosson et al. (WO 2021/148749) (hereinafter Cosson).
Regarding claim 1, Cosson teaches a system [sensor device 1] compatible with an aperture of an asset [container 2], the system for monitoring the contents of the asset [level of material M] (see Abstract, Figs. 1-6), the system removable from the aperture (Para [0092-0093]), comprising:
a housing [shell 11] including at least one first connection interface on an exterior surface of the housing [fixing means 16] (see Figs. 4-6);
a sensor contained within the housing [level sensor 12 housed inside shell 11] (Para [0067], see Figs. 1 and 1bis);
a lens contained within the housing [at least one lens E19, R19] (Para [0140], see Fig. 1bis);
a power supply coupled to the sensor [energy storage means such as a battery] (Para [0086]);
an adaptor [connection means 3], the adaptor including at least one second connection interface [threads 31] configured to removably, lockably mate with the at least one first connection interface [fixing means 16 comprises internal thread T16 configured to cooperate by screwing/unscrewing with thread 31 of connection means 3] (Para [0091], see Figs. 5-6), the adapter including a bottom end removably connectable with the aperture of the asset [connecting means removably attached to container 2] (Para [0170]), wherein the aperture of the asset is substantially sealed upon insertion of the bottom end therein [sealed fixing between said sensor device 1 and connection means 3, and therefore the container 2] (Para [0092-0093], see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 3, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing is fluid-sealed [shell 11 for isolation and protection from the surrounding environment] (Para [0101]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the sensor is a non-contact sensor, a level sensor, a fluid-level sensor, or a combination thereof, wherein the non-contact sensor is at least one of an electromagnetic sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a pressure sensor, and a radar sensor [level sensor 12 can be radar, lidar, infrared, laser] (Para [0094-0095]).
Regarding claim 6, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing includes a cable channel [wired transmission by cable, fiber, wires] (Para [0229]).
Regarding claim 7, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing is formed by an upper body section and a lower body section coupled together by at least one fastener (Para [0104], see Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing and the adapter include closed bottom ends [shell 11 and connection means 3 together having closed bottom end along lower part 11I with measurement window 15 made of a transparent material preventing penetration of external elements at the level of said measuring window] (Para [0085], see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 9, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing includes a closed bottom end [lower part 11I of shell 11]; and wherein the adapter [connection means 3] includes an open bottom end (see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claims 10-11, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising a cable assembly comprising a flexible cable and a connector [wired transmission by coaxial cable, optical fiber, telephone wires, DSL cable, or Ethernet cable] (Para [0229]).
Regarding claim 12, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the bottom end of the adaptor includes threads [connection means 3 comprises a thread 31 surrounding said through bore 32] (see Claim 18, Figs. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosson as applied to claims 1 and 12 above.
Regarding claim 2, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the first connection interface includes at least one protrusion, wherein the second connection interface includes at least one slot, each of the at least one slot including a vertical channel connected to a horizontal channel, the vertical channel passing through an upwardly facing surface of the adaptor, the horizontal channel arranged substantially perpendicular to the horizontal channel, the vertical channel and the horizontal channel sized to allow the at least one protrusion to pass therethrough; and wherein the at least one protrusion quantity equals the at least one slot quantity. The Examiner notes that the claimed limitations of claim 2 describe a typical bayonet connector system. Cosson additionally teaches an alternate embodiment wherein the threaded connection can be replaced with a bayonet system (Para [0093]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson with the alternate teaching of Cosson such that wherein the first connection interface includes at least one protrusion, wherein the second connection interface includes at least one slot, each of the at least one slot including a vertical channel connected to a horizontal channel, the vertical channel passing through an upwardly facing surface of the adaptor, the horizontal channel arranged substantially perpendicular to the horizontal channel, the vertical channel and the horizontal channel sized to allow the at least one protrusion to pass therethrough; and wherein the at least one protrusion quantity equals the at least one slot quantity, in order to provide another robust, waterproof, and easily and quickly assembled/dismantled fixing system (in this case, a bayonet fixing system).
Regarding claim 13, Cosson as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the threads are two-inch National Pipe Tapered threads. The instant specification appears to indicate that the choice of this specific size of thread is not critical to the invention, as other various threaded connections could be chosen (Para [0054]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson to choose a standardized thread size, such as two-inch NPT threads, based on considerations such as cost and availability of materials. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilkie et al. (US 2008/0079628 A1) (hereinafter Wilkie).
Regarding claim 4, Cosson as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for further comprising a vent penetrating a wall of the housing; and a vent membrane covering the vent. Wilkie teaches a level measurement system comprising a housing having a vent penetrating a wall of the housing and a vent membrane covering the vent [breathing passageway 30 and membrane 37] (Para [0024-0026], see Figs. 3-5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson with Wilkie such to further comprise a vent penetrating a wall of the housing; and a vent membrane covering the vent, in order to allow equalization of pressure, temperature, and humidity between the interior and exterior of the housing.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855