DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on December 29, 2025.
Claims 1, 15, 25, 38, 51, and 57 are currently amended.
Claims 11, 27, 47, and 60 are currently canceled.
Claims 1-10, 12-26, 28-46, 48-59, and 61-66 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement that was filed on December 29, 2025 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the Examiner. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous Claim Objections:
The outstanding claim objections of claims 25, 51, and 57 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments correcting the typographical errors in each claim.
Regarding the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112:
The outstanding 35 USC 112 (b) rejections of claims 1-66 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments correcting the insufficient antecedent basis issues in each of the independent claims. As a result, the 35 USC 112(b) rejections of the dependent claims is also withdrawn due to their dependency on the rejection being withdrawn for the base claim from which they each depend.
Regarding claims 1 and 38, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation “received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle” as referring back to “obtain a vehicle setup information for a vehicle” due to the terms “obtain” and “receive” being synonyms of each other.
Regarding the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s amendments and arguments submitted on December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that they, “do not find Srinivasan to anticipate, teach or suggest ‘wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated’”, and that they “do not find Graus to anticipate, teach or suggest ‘wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated’”. See pp. 26, 28 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed on December 29, 2025. Further, Applicant argues that they, “do not find Zhang to anticipate, teach or suggest ‘wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated.’”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 11, 27, 47, and 60 were canceled. Each of these claims contained the limitation, “wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated”, and were incorporated into each independent claim.
The Examiner takes the position that the Zhang reference (Publication US 2013/0262067 A1) discloses this limitation, at least in [0067], which states, “A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model…”. Zhang further discloses that the peer generated vehicle setup information is in fact applied, in [0068], “[i]f the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).” These disclosures clearly state that vehicle setup information is peer generated and further disclose that the peer generated vehicle setup information is applied. Therefore, the Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments.
The outstanding 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained, however, they have been modified, as follows, based on Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-16, 18-22, 25-26, 29-35, 38-43, 46, 48-52, 54-58, and 62-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan, et al., Publication US 2018/0198846 A1, in view of Graus, et al., Publication US 2022/0016949 A1, and Zhang, et al., Publication US 2013/0262067 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Srinivasan”, “Graus”, and “Zhang”.)
As per claim 1, Srinivasan discloses a system comprising:
a memory [see at least Srinivasan [0027 "…a schematic diagram of a controller 200 on a server side for updating the ECU configuration over the air is shown…The controller 200 can be implemented on the server 160. The controller 200 includes a processor 201, a memory 202.."]; and
at least one processor [see at least Srinivasan [0027 "…a schematic diagram of a controller 200 on a server side for updating the ECU configuration over the air is shown…The controller 200 can be implemented on the server 160. The controller 200 includes a processor 201, a memory 202.."], said at least one processor configured to:
obtain a vehicle setup information for a vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising one or more adjustment settings for one or more adjustable components of said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."];
package said vehicle setup information into at least one tune [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "204 Write Package Generation Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU…];
format said at least one tune in a computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner."]; and
present said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format; and implementing said at least one tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, …, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission."; (implementing said at least one tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, ... based upon, received operational information pertaining to said vehicle) [0055] "[0055] When the engine is turned on (e.g., the key switch 140 is turned on), the ECU 400 controls the operation of the engine according to the updated parameters stored in the first memory 403. ...the operator interface 145 may display a notification informing the operator that parameters have been updated in the ECU 400. When the key switch 130 is turned on, a message indicative of key switch on event is generated by, for example, a sensor and is transmitted to the ECU 400. The ECU 400 retrieves various operating parameters from the first memory 403 and uses the updated parameters in various operating algorithms. The ECU 400 receives data from the sensors 130 positioned throughout the equipment 102 and outputs signals controlling various components of the engine based on the sensor data and the updated parameter configuration. The ECU 400 may control, for example,..., variable valve timing... ."]
Srinivasan fails to disclose … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle. However, Graus teaches this limitation. See at least Graus [0250] "… The vehicle would be driven over a trail or other terrain and based on the frequency responses determine appropriate damping characteristics for the suspensions. These damping characteristics or simply a mode selection are communicated to a remote computing device which stores the data. Other vehicles may access the stored data and use the recorded damping characteristics or mode selection to adjust suspension characteristics on those vehicles based on a GPS location of the vehicle."; [0012] "...the third electronically controller shock absorber includes an electronically controlled bypass valve which is adjustable by the electronic controller."; [0195] "...shown in FIG. 38, adjustable shock absorber 1050 when electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is closed the position of piston 1054 is locked in compression (the adjustable shock absorber 1050 performs generally like a rigid link by limiting movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056). When electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is open the position of piston 1054 is free to move in compression (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056)."
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in Srinivasan to use … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle as disclosed in Graus with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of more easily adjusting adjustable suspensions. [See at least Graus [0003], [0005], [0195].]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [0067] "A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model… ."; [0068] “If the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 2, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said one or more adjustable components are selected from a group consisting of: a suspension component, a sway bar, an electric engine, a combustion engine, a hybrid electric and combustion engine, one or more sensors, a seat shock assemblies, a wheel/tire pressure adjuster, and a prosthetic [see at least Srinivasan a combustion engine [0014] "…relate to systems and methods for updating the configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) over the air." [0016] "The equipment 102 may be …a vehicle…The equipment 102 may generally include a … engine… ."]
As per claim 3, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said at least one processor is further configured to:
generate, at a vehicle setup application, said at least one tune for said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
As per claim 4, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said at least one processor is further configured to:
present said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format without requiring an Internet connectivity and without requiring a cellular connectivity [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "…Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of wired or wireless connections. For example, a wired connection may include a serial cable, a fiber optic cable… ."]
As per claim 5, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a vehicle location information, said vehicle location information selected from a group consisting of: a location, a terrain type, an altitude, a temperature, and a weather [see at least Srinivasan [0020] "The telematics device 120 includes a GPS device and a telecommunications device 124. The GPS device 122 tracks the location of the equipment 102.. ".]
As per claim 6, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said at least one processor is further configured to:
review, within a vehicle setup application, said received vehicle setup information for said vehicle, said received vehicle setup information comprising a number of performance range adjustable settings for said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU."; (engine brake operation) [0033] "...engine brake operation can be prevented in urban areas where noise could be a problem by setting the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter. This parameter can be chosen within a range..."; [0043] "...For example, as discussed above, the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter can be chosen within a range of 0 MPH to 35 MPH. If the user sets the parameter as 45 MPH, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the configuration and inform the user (e.g., display a notification on the web portal) that the set engine brake minimum vehicle speed is out of bounds."; (second parameter idle shutdown timer) [0036] "...The idle shutdown timer specifies the maximum idle time allowed before the engine shutdown occurs"; [0043] "...In another example, the idle shutdown timer can be enforced only when the idle shutdown parameter is enabled. If the user sets the idle shutdown timer with the idle shutdown parameter being disabled, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the idle shutdown timer."]
As per claim 7, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said computer readable scannable format is a capturable code [see at least Srinivasan [0051] "…the received write package for updating ECU parameters is buffered in the second memory 404 during an active engine state (e.g., when the engine is on) and committed into the first memory 403 when the engine is off. Advantageously, operation of the vehicle is not interrupted by the write package because the current ECU parameters, …programmatic doe, and/or applications continue to execute via the first memory 403 (e.g., the main memory)."]
As per claim 10, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
a transmitter [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular…"]; and
a receiver, wherein said at least one tune is presented via a radio transmission selected from a group consisting of: WiFi, Cellular, Internet, SMS, MMS, Bluetooth, and near field communication (NFC) [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular… ."]
As per claim 12, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is only presented to a user within a pre-defined group [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager or any other authorized user logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 13, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is shared only with members of a pre-defined group via a middleman [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager ... logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 14, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Srinivasan discloses … further comprising:
an encryptor to encrypt said vehicle setup information prior to said presentation of said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan [0044] "...the contents of the write package may be encrypted…"; [0045] "...The telematics device 120 then uses the unique access key to establish a secure encrypted session. Advantageously, the secured communication channel reduces security vulnerabilities by facilitating the secure transfer of data to the ECU 110."]
As per claim 15, Srinivasan discloses a system comprising:
a memory [see at least Srinivasan [0027] "…a schematic diagram of a controller 200 on a server side for updating the ECU configuration over the air is shown…The controller 200 can be implemented on the server 160. The controller 200 includes a processor 201, a memory 202.."]; and
at least one processor [see at least [0027 "…a schematic diagram of a controller 200 on a server side for updating the ECU configuration over the air is shown…The controller 200 can be implemented on the server 160. The controller 200 includes a processor 201, a memory 202.."], said at least one processor configured to:
receive, at a vehicle setup application, a vehicle setup information for one or more adjustable components of a vehicle without requiring an Internet connectivity and without requiring a cellular connectivity … [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."; [0016] "…Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of wired or wireless connections. For example, a wired connection may include a serial cable, a fiber optic cable…"];
generate, at said vehicle setup application, a tune for said one or more adjustable components based on said vehicle setup information [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."];
automatically provide said tune to said one or more adjustable components for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
implementing said tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, …, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0055] "When the engine is turned on (e.g., the key switch 140 is turned on), the ECU 400 controls the operation of the engine according to the updated parameters stored in the first memory 403. ...the operator interface 145 may display a notification informing the operator that parameters have been updated in the ECU 400. When the key switch 130 is turned on, a message indicative of key switch on event is generated by, for example, a sensor and is transmitted to the ECU 400. The ECU 400 retrieves various operating parameters from the first memory 403 and uses the updated parameters in various operating algorithms. The ECU 400 receives data from the sensors 130 positioned throughout the equipment 102 and outputs signals controlling various components of the engine based on the sensor data and the updated parameter configuration. The ECU 400 may control, for example,..., variable valve timing... ."]
Srinivasan fails to disclose … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle. However, Graus teaches this limitation. [See at least Graus [0250] "… The vehicle would be driven over a trail or other terrain and based on the frequency responses determine appropriate damping characteristics for the suspensions. These damping characteristics or simply a mode selection are communicated to a remote computing device which stores the data. Other vehicles may access the stored data and use the recorded damping characteristics or mode selection to adjust suspension characteristics on those vehicles based on a GPS location of the vehicle."; [0012] "...the third electronically controller shock absorber includes an electronically controlled bypass valve which is adjustable by the electronic controller."; [0195] "...shown in FIG. 38, adjustable shock absorber 1050 when electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is closed the position of piston 1054 is locked in compression (the adjustable shock absorber 1050 performs generally like a rigid link by limiting movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056). When electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is open the position of piston 1054 is free to move in compression (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056)."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in Srinivasan to use … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle as disclosed in Graus with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of more easily adjusting adjustable suspensions. [See at least Graus [0003], [0005], [0195].]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [0067] "A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model… ."; [0068] “If the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 16, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said at least one processor is further configured to:
review, within said vehicle setup application, said vehicle setup information for said vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising a number of performance range adjustable settings for said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU."; (engine brake operation) [0033] "...engine brake operation can be prevented in urban areas where noise could be a problem by setting the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter. This parameter can be chosen within a range..."; [0043] "...For example, as discussed above, the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter can be chosen within a range of 0 MPH to 35 MPH. If the user sets the parameter as 45 MPH, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the configuration and inform the user (e.g., display a notification on the web portal) that the set engine brake minimum vehicle speed is out of bounds."; (second parameter idle shutdown timer) [0036] "...The idle shutdown timer specifies the maximum idle time allowed before the engine shutdown occurs"; [0043] "...In another example, the idle shutdown timer can be enforced only when the idle shutdown parameter is enabled. If the user sets the idle shutdown timer with the idle shutdown parameter being disabled, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the idle shutdown timer."]
As per claim 18, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
a transmitter and receiver, wherein said vehicle setup information is received via a radio transmission selected from a group consisting of: WiFi, Cellular, Internet, SMS, MMS, Bluetooth, and near field communication (NFC) [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular…"]
As per claim 19, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is received in an encrypted format [see at least Srinivasan [0044] "...the contents of the write package may be encrypted…"; [0045] "...The telematics device 120 then uses the unique access key to establish a secure encrypted session. Advantageously, the secured communication channel reduces security vulnerabilities by facilitating the secure transfer of data to the ECU 110."]
As per claim 20, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0017] "The processor may incorporate the received or collected vehicle health data from the peer group into the collaborative vehicle health model. For example, data from sensor readings may be used to calculate or adjust a value of a parameter of the collaborative vehicle health model."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 21, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided to said one or more adjustable components ; and compare one or more parameters of said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components. However, Zhang teaches these limitations: …wherein said at least one processor is configured to:
collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided to said one or more adjustable components [see at least Zhang [0040] "Server data storage device 58 may be used to store database 60. … database 60 may include data that is collected from a vehicle monitoring system 18 of one or more vehicles."]; and
compare one or more parameters of said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components [see at least Zhang [0058] "…Parameter c.sub.z and any adjustable weighting factors may be adjusted or calibrated by comparing with vehicle health data collected from a peer group of vehicles … ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided to said one or more adjustable components ; and compare one or more parameters of said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 22, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 21.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: determine, based on said comparing, any performance adjustments for said tune; update said tune with any said performance adjustments; and provide said updated tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon. However, Zhang teaches these limitations: …wherein said at least one processor is configured to:
determine, based on said comparing, any performance adjustments for said tune [see at least Zhang [0041] "Server 54 may be operated to execute a method for collaborative vehicle health management … Execution of the method for collaborative vehicle health management may result in generation or updating of a collaborative vehicle health model for … indicating the health of a vehicle, or of a vehicle system or component."];
update said tune with any said performance adjustments [see at least Zhang [0041] "Server 54 may be operated to execute a method for collaborative vehicle health management … Execution of the method for collaborative vehicle health management may result in generation or updating of a collaborative vehicle health model for … indicating the health of a vehicle, or of a vehicle system or component."]; and
provide said updated tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon [see at least Zhang [0046] "...a group of vehicles may communicate with a processor such as a server or vehicle onboard computer that is executing collaborative vehicle health management method 100. Each vehicle may communicate via a network or other communications channel with the processor."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: determine, based on said comparing, any performance adjustments for said tune; update said tune with any said performance adjustments; and provide said updated tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 25, Srinivasan discloses a system comprising:
a vehicle setup information presenter [see at least Srinivasan (server) [0015] "…The computing environment 100 includes … a server 160…"] comprising:
a memory [see at least Srinivasan [0027] "…a schematic diagram of a controller 200 on a server side for updating the ECU configuration over the air is shown…The controller 200 can be implemented on the server 160. The controller 200 includes a processor 201, a memory 202.."]; and
at least one processor [see at least Srinivasan [0027 "…a schematic diagram of a controller 200 on a server side for updating the ECU configuration over the air is shown…The controller 200 can be implemented on the server 160. The controller 200 includes a processor 201, a memory 202.."], said at least one processor configured to:
obtain a vehicle setup information for a vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising one or more adjustment settings for one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."];
package said vehicle setup information into at least one tune [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "204 Write Package Generation Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU…];
format said at least one tune in a computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner."]; and
present said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission."]; and
a vehicle setup information receiver [see at least Srinivasan [0015] "…The computing environment 100 includes an equipment 102…"; [0016] "The equipment 102 may be…a vehicle…"] comprising:
a memory [see at least Srinivasan [0017] "The ECU 110 includes a processor 12 and a memory 114."]; and
at least one processor [see at least Srinivasan [0017] "The ECU 110 includes a processor 12 and a memory 114."], said at least one processor configured to:
receive, at a vehicle setup application and from said vehicle setup information presenter, said vehicle setup information for one or more adjustable components of said vehicle without requiring an Internet connectivity and without requiring a cellular connectivity [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."; [0016] "…Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of wired or wireless connections. For example, a wired connection may include a serial cable, a fiber optic cable…"];
generate, at said vehicle setup application, a tune for said one or more adjustable components based on said vehicle setup information [see at least Srinivasan [0030] "The controller 200 includes an ECU parameter configuration circuit 203, a write package generation circuit 204…the controller 200 is structured to determine parameters to be changed on the ECU 110 carried by the equipment 102, generate a write package including the parameters to be changed..."]; and
automatically provide said tune to said one or more adjustable components for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
implementing said at least one tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, …, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0055] "When the engine is turned on (e.g., the key switch 140 is turned on), the ECU 400 controls the operation of the engine according to the updated parameters stored in the first memory 403. ...the operator interface 145 may display a notification informing the operator that parameters have been updated in the ECU 400. When the key switch 130 is turned on, a message indicative of key switch on event is generated by, for example, a sensor and is transmitted to the ECU 400. The ECU 400 retrieves various operating parameters from the first memory 403 and uses the updated parameters in various operating algorithms. The ECU 400 receives data from the sensors 130 positioned throughout the equipment 102 and outputs signals controlling various components of the engine based on the sensor data and the updated parameter configuration. The ECU 400 may control, for example,..., variable valve timing... ."]
Srinivasan fails to disclose … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle. However, Graus teaches this limitation. [See at least Graus [0250] "… The vehicle would be driven over a trail or other terrain and based on the frequency responses determine appropriate damping characteristics for the suspensions. These damping characteristics or simply a mode selection are communicated to a remote computing device which stores the data. Other vehicles may access the stored data and use the recorded damping characteristics or mode selection to adjust suspension characteristics on those vehicles based on a GPS location of the vehicle."; [0012] "...the third electronically controller shock absorber includes an electronically controlled bypass valve which is adjustable by the electronic controller."; [0195] "...shown in FIG. 38, adjustable shock absorber 1050 when electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is closed the position of piston 1054 is locked in compression (the adjustable shock absorber 1050 performs generally like a rigid link by limiting movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056). When electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is open the position of piston 1054 is free to move in compression (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056)."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in Srinivasan to use … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle as disclosed in Graus with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of more easily adjusting adjustable suspensions. [See at least Graus [0003], [0005], [0195].]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [0067] "A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model… ."; [0068] “If the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 26, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said at least one processor of said vehicle setup information receiver is configured to:
review, within said vehicle setup application, said vehicle setup information for said vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising a number of performance range adjustable settings for said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU."; (engine brake operation) [0033] "...engine brake operation can be prevented in urban areas where noise could be a problem by setting the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter. This parameter can be chosen within a range..."; [0043] "...For example, as discussed above, the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter can be chosen within a range of 0 MPH to 35 MPH. If the user sets the parameter as 45 MPH, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the configuration and inform the user (e.g., display a notification on the web portal) that the set engine brake minimum vehicle speed is out of bounds."; (second parameter idle shutdown timer) [0036] "...The idle shutdown timer specifies the maximum idle time allowed before the engine shutdown occurs"; [0043] "...In another example, the idle shutdown timer can be enforced only when the idle shutdown parameter is enabled. If the user sets the idle shutdown timer with the idle shutdown parameter being disabled, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the idle shutdown timer."]
As per claim 29, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
a transmitter and receiver, wherein said vehicle setup information is shared peer-to-peer via a radio transmission selected from a group consisting of: WiFi, Cellular, Internet, SMS, MMS, Bluetooth, and near field communication (NFC) [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular… ."]
As per claim 30, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is shared with a pre- defined group [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager or any other authorized user logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 31, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is shared only with members of a pre-defined group via a middleman [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager ... logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 32, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is encrypted [see at least Srinivasan [0044] "...the contents of the write package may be encrypted…"; [0045] "...The telematics device 120 then uses the unique access key to establish a secure encrypted session. Advantageously, the secured communication channel reduces security vulnerabilities by facilitating the secure transfer of data to the ECU 110."]
As per claim 33, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride. However, Zhang teaches these limitations [see at least Zhang [0017] "The processor may incorporate the received or collected vehicle health data from the peer group into the collaborative vehicle health model. For example, data from sensor readings may be used to calculate or adjust a value of a parameter of the collaborative vehicle health model."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 34, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said at least one processor of said vehicle setup information receiver is configured to: collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided to said one or more adjustable components ; and compare one or more parameters of said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components. However, Zhang teaches these limitations: …wherein said at least one processor of said vehicle setup information receiver is configured to:
collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided to said one or more adjustable components [see at least Zhang [0040] "Server data storage device 58 may be used to store database 60. … database 60 may include data that is collected from a vehicle monitoring system 18 of one or more vehicles."]; and
compare one or more parameters of said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components [see at least Zhang [0058] "…Parameter c.sub.z and any adjustable weighting factors may be adjusted or calibrated by comparing with vehicle health data collected from a peer group of vehicles … ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said at least one processor of said vehicle setup information receiver is configured to: collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided to said one or more adjustable components ; and compare one or more parameters of said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 35, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 34.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said at least one processor of said vehicle setup information receiver is configured to: determine, based on said comparing, any performance adjustments for said at least one tune; update said at least one tune with any said performance adjustments; and provide said updated tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon. However, Zhang teaches these limitations: …wherein said at least one processor is configured to:
determine, based on said comparing, any performance adjustments for said at least one tune [see at least Zhang [0041] "Server 54 may be operated to execute a method for collaborative vehicle health management … Execution of the method for collaborative vehicle health management may result in generation or updating of a collaborative vehicle health model for … indicating the health of a vehicle, or of a vehicle system or component."];
update said at least one tune with any said performance adjustments [see at least Zhang [0041] "Server 54 may be operated to execute a method for collaborative vehicle health management … Execution of the method for collaborative vehicle health management may result in generation or updating of a collaborative vehicle health model for … indicating the health of a vehicle, or of a vehicle system or component."]; and
provide said updated tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon [see at least Zhang [0046] "...a group of vehicles may communicate with a processor such as a server or vehicle onboard computer that is executing collaborative vehicle health management method 100. Each vehicle may communicate via a network or other communications channel with the processor."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said at least one processor of said vehicle setup information receiver is configured to: determine, based on said comparing, any performance adjustments for said at least one tune; update said at least one tune with any said performance adjustments; and provide said updated tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 38, Srinivasan discloses a method for generating computer readable vehicle setup information, said method comprising:
obtaining a vehicle setup information for a vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising one or more adjustment settings for one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."];
packaging said vehicle setup information into at least one tune [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "204 Write Package Generation Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU…];
formatting said at least one tune in a computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner."]; and
presenting said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission."]; and
implementing said at least one tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, …, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0055] "When the engine is turned on (e.g., the key switch 140 is turned on), the ECU 400 controls the operation of the engine according to the updated parameters stored in the first memory 403. ...the operator interface 145 may display a notification informing the operator that parameters have been updated in the ECU 400. When the key switch 130 is turned on, a message indicative of key switch on event is generated by, for example, a sensor and is transmitted to the ECU 400. The ECU 400 retrieves various operating parameters from the first memory 403 and uses the updated parameters in various operating algorithms. The ECU 400 receives data from the sensors 130 positioned throughout the equipment 102 and outputs signals controlling various components of the engine based on the sensor data and the updated parameter configuration. The ECU 400 may control, for example,..., variable valve timing... ."]
Srinivasan fails to disclose … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle. However, Graus teaches this limitation. [See at least Graus [0250] "… The vehicle would be driven over a trail or other terrain and based on the frequency responses determine appropriate damping characteristics for the suspensions. These damping characteristics or simply a mode selection are communicated to a remote computing device which stores the data. Other vehicles may access the stored data and use the recorded damping characteristics or mode selection to adjust suspension characteristics on those vehicles based on a GPS location of the vehicle."; [0012] "...the third electronically controller shock absorber includes an electronically controlled bypass valve which is adjustable by the electronic controller."; [0195] "...shown in FIG. 38, adjustable shock absorber 1050 when electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is closed the position of piston 1054 is locked in compression (the adjustable shock absorber 1050 performs generally like a rigid link by limiting movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056). When electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is open the position of piston 1054 is free to move in compression (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056)."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Srinivasan to use … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle as disclosed in Graus with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of more easily adjusting adjustable suspensions. [See at least Graus [0003], [0005], [0195].]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [0067] "A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model… ."; [0068] “If the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 39, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said one or more adjustable components are selected from a group consisting of: a suspension component, a sway bar, an electric engine, a combustion engine, a hybrid electric and combustion engine, one or more sensors, a seat shock assemblies, a wheel/tire pressure adjuster, and a prosthetic [see at least Srinivasan a combustion engine [0014] "…relate to systems and methods for updating the configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) over the air." [0016] "The equipment 102 may be …a vehicle…The equipment 102 may generally include a … engine… ."]
As per claim 40, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
generating, at a vehicle setup application, said at least one tune for said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
As per claim 41, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
presenting said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format without requiring an Internet connectivity and without requiring a cellular connectivity [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "…Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of wired or wireless connections. For example, a wired connection may include a serial cable, a fiber optic cable… ."]
As per claim 42, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
receiving a vehicle location information, said vehicle location information selected from a group consisting of: a location, a terrain type, an altitude, a temperature, and a weather [see at least Srinivasan [0020] "The telematics device 120 includes a GPS device and a telecommunications device 124. The GPS device 122 tracks the location of the equipment 102.. ."]
As per claim 43, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said computer readable scannable format is a capturable code [see at least Srinivasan [0051] "…the received write package for updating ECU parameters is buffered in the second memory 404 during an active engine state (e.g., when the engine is on) and committed into the first memory 403 when the engine is off. Advantageously, operation of the vehicle is not interrupted by the write package because the current ECU parameters, …programmatic doe, and/or applications continue to execute via the first memory 403 (e.g., the main memory)."]
As per claim 46, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
presenting said at least one tune via a radio transmission selected from a group consisting of: WiFi, Cellular, Internet, SMS, MMS, Bluetooth, and near field communication (NFC) [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular… ."]
As per claim 48, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is only presented to a user within a pre-defined group [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager or any other authorized user logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 49, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is shared only with members of a pre-defined group via a middleman [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager ... logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 50, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 38.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
encrypting said vehicle setup information prior to said presenting of said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan [0044] "...the contents of the write package may be encrypted…"; [0045] "...The telematics device 120 then uses the unique access key to establish a secure encrypted session. Advantageously, the secured communication channel reduces security vulnerabilities by facilitating the secure transfer of data to the ECU 110."]
As per claim 51, Srinivasan discloses a method for receiving and implementing computer readable vehicle setup information, said method comprising:
receiving, at a vehicle setup application, a vehicle setup information for one or more adjustable components of a vehicle without requiring an Internet connectivity and without requiring a cellular connectivity … [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."; [0016] "…Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of wired or wireless connections. For example, a wired connection may include a serial cable, a fiber optic cable…"];
generating, at said vehicle setup application, a tune for said one or more adjustable components based on said vehicle setup information [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
automatically providing said tune to said one or more adjustable components for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
implementing said tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, …, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0055] "When the engine is turned on (e.g., the key switch 140 is turned on), the ECU 400 controls the operation of the engine according to the updated parameters stored in the first memory 403. ...the operator interface 145 may display a notification informing the operator that parameters have been updated in the ECU 400. When the key switch 130 is turned on, a message indicative of key switch on event is generated by, for example, a sensor and is transmitted to the ECU 400. The ECU 400 retrieves various operating parameters from the first memory 403 and uses the updated parameters in various operating algorithms. The ECU 400 receives data from the sensors 130 positioned throughout the equipment 102 and outputs signals controlling various components of the engine based on the sensor data and the updated parameter configuration. The ECU 400 may control, for example,..., variable valve timing... ."]
Srinivasan fails to disclose … implementing… corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle. However, Graus teaches this limitation. [See at least Graus [0250] "… The vehicle would be driven over a trail or other terrain and based on the frequency responses determine appropriate damping characteristics for the suspensions. These damping characteristics or simply a mode selection are communicated to a remote computing device which stores the data. Other vehicles may access the stored data and use the recorded damping characteristics or mode selection to adjust suspension characteristics on those vehicles based on a GPS location of the vehicle."; [0012] "...the third electronically controller shock absorber includes an electronically controlled bypass valve which is adjustable by the electronic controller."; [0195] "...shown in FIG. 38, adjustable shock absorber 1050 when electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is closed the position of piston 1054 is locked in compression (the adjustable shock absorber 1050 performs generally like a rigid link by limiting movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056). When electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is open the position of piston 1054 is free to move in compression (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056)."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Srinivasan to use … implementing… corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle as disclosed in Graus with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of more easily adjusting adjustable suspensions. [See at least Graus [0003], [0005], [0195].]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [0067] "A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model… ."; [0068] “If the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 52, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 51.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
reviewing, within said vehicle setup application, said vehicle setup information for said vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising a number of performance range adjustable settings for said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU."; (engine brake operation) [0033] "...engine brake operation can be prevented in urban areas where noise could be a problem by setting the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter. This parameter can be chosen within a range..."; [0043] "...For example, as discussed above, the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter can be chosen within a range of 0 MPH to 35 MPH. If the user sets the parameter as 45 MPH, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the configuration and inform the user (e.g., display a notification on the web portal) that the set engine brake minimum vehicle speed is out of bounds."; (second parameter idle shutdown timer) [0036] "...The idle shutdown timer specifies the maximum idle time allowed before the engine shutdown occurs"; [0043] "...In another example, the idle shutdown timer can be enforced only when the idle shutdown parameter is enabled. If the user sets the idle shutdown timer with the idle shutdown parameter being disabled, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the idle shutdown timer."]
As per claim 54, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 51.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
receiving said vehicle setup information via a radio transmission selected from a group consisting of: WiFi, Cellular, Internet, SMS, MMS, Bluetooth, and near field communication (NFC) [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular… ."]
As per claim 55, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 51.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is received in an encrypted format [see at least Srinivasan [0044] "...the contents of the write package may be encrypted…"; [0045] "...The telematics device 120 then uses the unique access key to establish a secure encrypted session. Advantageously, the secured communication channel reduces security vulnerabilities by facilitating the secure transfer of data to the ECU 110."]
As per claim 56, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 51.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0017] "The processor may incorporate the received or collected vehicle health data from the peer group into the collaborative vehicle health model. For example, data from sensor readings may be used to calculate or adjust a value of a parameter of the collaborative vehicle health model."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 57, Srinivasan discloses a method for sharing vehicle setup information, said method comprising:
obtaining a vehicle setup information for a vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising one or more adjustment settings for one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."];
packaging said vehicle setup information into at least one tune [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "204 Write Package Generation Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU…];
formatting said at least one tune in a computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner."];
presenting said at least one tune in said computer readable scannable format [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission."];
receiving, at a vehicle setup application, a vehicle setup information for one or more adjustable components of a vehicle without requiring an Internet connectivity and without requiring a cellular connectivity [see at least Srinivasan [0002] "The configuration of an engine control unit (ECU) is updated from time to time in order to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations…"; [0019] "The telematics device 120 installed on the equipment 102 is structured to receive updated parameters for the ECU 110 from the telematics cloud 150..."; [0016] "…Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of wired or wireless connections. For example, a wired connection may include a serial cable, a fiber optic cable…"];
generating, at said vehicle setup application, a tune for said one or more adjustable components based on said vehicle setup information [see at least Srinivasan [0030] "The controller 200 includes an ECU parameter configuration circuit 203, a write package generation circuit 204…the controller 200 is structured to determine parameters to be changed on the ECU 110 carried by the equipment 102, generate a write package including the parameters to be changed..."]; and
automatically providing said tune to said one or more adjustable components for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan FIG. 2 "205 Secure Communication Circuit"; [0014] "…The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
implementing said tune utilizing an active valve, said active valve automatically adjusting its operation, …, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0055] "When the engine is turned on (e.g., the key switch 140 is turned on), the ECU 400 controls the operation of the engine according to the updated parameters stored in the first memory 403. ...the operator interface 145 may display a notification informing the operator that parameters have been updated in the ECU 400. When the key switch 130 is turned on, a message indicative of key switch on event is generated by, for example, a sensor and is transmitted to the ECU 400. The ECU 400 retrieves various operating parameters from the first memory 403 and uses the updated parameters in various operating algorithms. The ECU 400 receives data from the sensors 130 positioned throughout the equipment 102 and outputs signals controlling various components of the engine based on the sensor data and the updated parameter configuration. The ECU 400 may control, for example,..., variable valve timing... ."]
Srinivasan fails to disclose … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle. However, Graus teaches this limitation. [See at least Graus [0250] "… The vehicle would be driven over a trail or other terrain and based on the frequency responses determine appropriate damping characteristics for the suspensions. These damping characteristics or simply a mode selection are communicated to a remote computing device which stores the data. Other vehicles may access the stored data and use the recorded damping characteristics or mode selection to adjust suspension characteristics on those vehicles based on a GPS location of the vehicle."; [0012] "...the third electronically controller shock absorber includes an electronically controlled bypass valve which is adjustable by the electronic controller."; [0195] "...shown in FIG. 38, adjustable shock absorber 1050 when electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is closed the position of piston 1054 is locked in compression (the adjustable shock absorber 1050 performs generally like a rigid link by limiting movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056). When electronically controlled compression bypass valve 1082 is open the position of piston 1054 is free to move in compression (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1058) and the position of piston 1054 is free to move in rebound (movement of piston 1054 in direction 1056)."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Srinivasan to use … implementing … corresponding damping characteristics, based upon, received vehicle setup information pertaining to said vehicle as disclosed in Graus with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of more easily adjusting adjustable suspensions. [See at least Graus [0003], [0005], [0195].]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [0067] "A collaborative vehicle health model that incorporates results of vehicle health data from the selected peer group may represent a change from a previous (or initial) version of the collaborative vehicle health model… ."; [0068] “If the collaborative vehicle health model has changed, the adjusted collaborative vehicle health model may be applied (block 150).”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said vehicle setup information is peer generated as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
As per claim 58, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
reviewing, within said vehicle setup application, said vehicle setup information for said vehicle, said vehicle setup information comprising a number of performance range adjustable settings for said vehicle [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU."; (engine brake operation) [0033] "...engine brake operation can be prevented in urban areas where noise could be a problem by setting the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter. This parameter can be chosen within a range..."; [0043] "...For example, as discussed above, the engine brake minimum vehicle speed parameter can be chosen within a range of 0 MPH to 35 MPH. If the user sets the parameter as 45 MPH, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the configuration and inform the user (e.g., display a notification on the web portal) that the set engine brake minimum vehicle speed is out of bounds."; (second parameter idle shutdown timer) [0036] "...The idle shutdown timer specifies the maximum idle time allowed before the engine shutdown occurs"; [0043] "...In another example, the idle shutdown timer can be enforced only when the idle shutdown parameter is enabled. If the user sets the idle shutdown timer with the idle shutdown parameter being disabled, the ECU parameter configuration circuit 203 will not accept the idle shutdown timer."]
As per claim 62, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
sharing said vehicle setup information peer-to-peer via a radio transmission selected from a group consisting of: WiFi, Cellular, Internet, SMS, MMS, Bluetooth, and near field communication (NFC) [see at least Srinivasan [0016] "...Components of the equipment 102 may communicate with each other via any number of ...wireless connections…a wireless connection may include the Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular… ."]
As per claim 63, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is shared with a pre- defined group [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager or any other authorized user logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 64, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is shared only with members of a pre-defined group via a middleman [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "... a fleet manager ... logs into a web portal operated by a manufacturer or a third party. The authorized user views the current configuration of an ECU on a vehicle or a stationary equipment and changes the value(s) of adjustable parameter(s) of the ECU to improve fuel efficiency, adjust power, meet regulations, or adapt to the mission of the vehicle from the web portal."]
As per claim 65, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
Srinivasan discloses … wherein said vehicle setup information is encrypted [see at least Srinivasan [0044] "...the contents of the write package may be encrypted…"; [0045] "...The telematics device 120 then uses the unique access key to establish a secure encrypted session. Advantageously, the secured communication channel reduces security vulnerabilities by facilitating the secure transfer of data to the ECU 110."]
As per claim 66, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0017] "The processor may incorporate the received or collected vehicle health data from the peer group into the collaborative vehicle health model. For example, data from sensor readings may be used to calculate or adjust a value of a parameter of the collaborative vehicle health model."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said vehicle setup information is a collection of performance data of said one or more adjustable components taken during a ride as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
Claims 8-9, 17, 28, 44-45, 53, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan, in view of Graus, Zhang, and Lortz, et al., Publication US 2014/0187149 A1 (hereinafter referred “Lortz”.)
As per claim 8, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 7.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said capturable code is selected from a group consisting of: a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said capturable code is selected from a group consisting of: a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 9, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Lortz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 8.
the combination of Srinivasan and Graus, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … wherein said 2D code is selected from a group consisting of:
a barcode, a UPC, a matrix barcode, a QR code, a Micro QR code, an IQR code, a Secure QR code, a Frame QR code, a high capacity colored 2D (HCC2D) code, a SPARQCode, just another barcode (JAB code), a portable data file (PDF) 417, a SnapTag, and an Aztec code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … wherein said 2D code is selected from a group consisting of: a barcode, a UPC, a matrix barcode, a QR code, a Micro QR code, an IQR code, a Secure QR code, a Frame QR code, a high capacity colored 2D (HCC2D) code, a SPARQCode, just another barcode (JAB code), a portable data file (PDF) 417, a SnapTag, and an Aztec code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 17, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 17.
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …further comprising: an image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is captured as visual information by said image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is selected from a group of capturable codes consisting of: a handwritten note, a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0042] "...the mobile device 120 may have built-in URI scanning capabilities, such as ... QR Scanners."; FIG. 3 302, mobile device 120; [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use …further comprising: an image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is captured as visual information by said image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is selected from a group of capturable codes consisting of: a handwritten note, a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 28, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …further comprising:
an image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is captured as visual information by said image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is selected from a group of capturable codes consisting of: a handwritten note, a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0042] "...the mobile device 120 may have built-in URI scanning capabilities, such as ... QR Scanners."; FIG. 3 302, mobile device 120; [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use …further comprising: an image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is captured as visual information by said image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is selected from a group of capturable codes consisting of: a handwritten note, a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 44, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 43.
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose … wherein said capturable code is selected from a group consisting of: a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use … wherein said capturable code is selected from a group consisting of: a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 45, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Lortz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 44.
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …wherein said 2D code is selected from a group consisting of: a barcode, a UPC, a matrix barcode, a QR code, a Micro QR code, an IQR code, a Secure QR code, a Frame QR code, a high capacity colored 2D (HCC2D) code, a SPARQCode, just another barcode (JAB code), a portable data file (PDF) 417, a SnapTag, and an Aztec code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …wherein said 2D code is selected from a group consisting of: a barcode, a UPC, a matrix barcode, a QR code, a Micro QR code, an IQR code, a Secure QR code, a Frame QR code, a high capacity colored 2D (HCC2D) code, a SPARQCode, just another barcode (JAB code), a portable data file (PDF) 417, a SnapTag, and an Aztec code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 53, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 51.
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose …further comprising: utilizing an image capture device to obtain a capturable code representing said vehicle setup information, said capturable code selected from a group consisting of: a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0042] "...the mobile device 120 may have built-in URI scanning capabilities, such as ... QR Scanners."; FIG. 3 302, mobile device 120; [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Srinivasan to use …further comprising: utilizing an image capture device to obtain a capturable code representing said vehicle setup information, said capturable code selected from a group consisting of: a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
As per claim 61, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 57.
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …further comprising: obtaining said vehicle setup information with an image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is selected from a group of capturable codes consisting of: a handwritten note, a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code. However, Lortz teaches this limitation [see at least Lortz (2D code is a QR code) [0042] "...the mobile device 120 may have built-in URI scanning capabilities, such as ... QR Scanners."; FIG. 3 302, mobile device 120; [0052] "...When the user is in proximity to a vehicle 102 that the user wishes to pair with the mobile device 120, the user may scan a second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304 generated by the URI generation module 226 of the vehicle 102). The client application 136 may be initiated responsive to scanning the second URI (e.g., QR code 302, NFC code 304), and the vehicle 102 and the mobile device 120 may be paired by the device pairing module 228 of the vehicle 102."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use …further comprising: obtaining said vehicle setup information with an image capture device, wherein said vehicle setup information is selected from a group of capturable codes consisting of: a handwritten note, a 1D code, a 2D code, a picture code, and a video code as disclosed in Lortz with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of a lower cost communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. [See at least Lortz [0011].]
Claims 23 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan, in view of Graus, Zhang, Mishra, US Patent 12,033,445, and Takahashi, US Patent 5,172,785 (hereinafter referred “Mishra” and “Takahashi”, respectively.)
As per claim 23, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 22.
Srinivasan discloses …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: … modify said tune with a performance adjustment … [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
provide said modified tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0040] "Server data storage device 58 may be used to store database 60. … database 60 may include data that is collected from a vehicle monitoring system 18 of one or more vehicles."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said rider physical information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. However, Mishra teaches these limitations [see at least Mishra col. 12 lines 19-26 "...server 212 may be configured to train and/or execute one or more machine learning systems, such as artificial neural networks, e.g., convolutional neural networks, that may be configured to process … vehicle data and/or information (e.g., in a flight log, an event log, etc.) identify anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions and the underlying causes that may have resulted in the identified anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions...a machine learning system executed by server 212 may be trained by providing information or data representing ... behavior of the vehicle to the machine learning system as training inputs… ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said … information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. as disclosed in Mishra with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of for the benefit of improved ability to diagnose faults in the operation of vehicles. [See at least Mishra col. 1, lines 22-23.]
The combination of Srinivasan, Zhang, and Mishra fails to disclose …receive rider physical information. However, Takahashi teaches this limitation [see at least Takahashi col. 3, lines 9-17 "…vehicle control system for a vehicle 100 comprises…means 103 for determining a driver's age…and a controlling means which…comprises a controller means 105a and an adjusting means 105b"…an engine system 100b…One of the systems…100b…is a controlled system controlled by this control system"; col. 4, lines 1-3 "The first means determines a basic value of a parameter for determining a specific form of the response characteristic, in accordance with the driver's age."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang and Mishra to use …receive rider physical information as disclosed in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of safer control of the vehicle. [See at least Takahashi col 6, lines 67-68.]
As per claim 36, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: … modify said tune with a performance adjustment … [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
provide said modified tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0040] "Server data storage device 58 may be used to store database 60. … database 60 may include data that is collected from a vehicle monitoring system 18 of one or more vehicles."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said rider physical information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. However, Mishra teaches these limitations [see at least Mishra col. 12 lines 19-26 "...server 212 may be configured to train and/or execute one or more machine learning systems, such as artificial neural networks, e.g., convolutional neural networks, that may be configured to process … vehicle data and/or information (e.g., in a flight log, an event log, etc.) identify anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions and the underlying causes that may have resulted in the identified anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions...a machine learning system executed by server 212 may be trained by providing information or data representing ... behavior of the vehicle to the machine learning system as training inputs… ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said … information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. as disclosed in Mishra with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of for the benefit of improved ability to diagnose faults in the operation of vehicles. [See at least Mishra col. 1, lines 22-23.]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Mishra fails to disclose …receive rider physical information. However, Takahashi teaches this limitation [see at least Takahashi col. 3, lines 9-17 "…vehicle control system for a vehicle 100 comprises…means 103 for determining a driver's age…and a controlling means which…comprises a controller means 105a and an adjusting means 105b"…an engine system 100b…One of the systems…100b…is a controlled system controlled by this control system"; col. 4, lines 1-3 "The first means determines a basic value of a parameter for determining a specific form of the response characteristic, in accordance with the driver's age."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang and Mishra to use …receive rider physical information as disclosed in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of safer control of the vehicle. [See at least Takahashi col 6, lines 67-68.]
Claims 24 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan, in view of Graus, Zhang, Mishra, and Natzke, et al., Publication US 2020/0332496 (hereinafter referred “Natzke”.)
As per claim 24, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 22.
Srinivasan discloses …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: … modify said tune with a performance adjustment … [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
provide said modified tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … collect performance data taken during a ride …to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0040] "Server data storage device 58 may be used to store database 60. … database 60 may include data that is collected from a vehicle monitoring system 18 of one or more vehicles."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said rider physical information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. However, Mishra teaches these limitations [see at least Mishra col. 12 lines 19-26 "...server 212 may be configured to train and/or execute one or more machine learning systems, such as artificial neural networks, e.g., convolutional neural networks, that may be configured to process … vehicle data and/or information (e.g., in a flight log, an event log, etc.) identify anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions and the underlying causes that may have resulted in the identified anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions...a machine learning system executed by server 212 may be trained by providing information or data representing ... behavior of the vehicle to the machine learning system as training inputs… ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said … information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. as disclosed in Mishra with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of for the benefit of improved ability to diagnose faults in the operation of vehicles. [See at least Mishra col. 1, lines 22-23.]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Mishra fails to disclose … receive vehicle geometry information … . However, Natzke teaches this limitation [see at least Natzke [0015] "... it may be desirable to adjust engine characteristics (e.g., operational parameters) of an engine of the work vehicle based on the type of attachment being operated by the work vehicle."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang and Mishra to use … receive vehicle geometry information … as disclosed in Natzke with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of simplifying operation of the vehicle. [See at least Natzke [0015].]
As per claim 37, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 25.
Srinivasan discloses …wherein said at least one processor is configured to: … modify said tune with a performance adjustment … [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]; and
provide said modified tune to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle for implementation thereon [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
The combination of Srinivasan and Graus fails to disclose … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle. However, Zhang teaches this limitation [see at least Zhang [0040] "Server data storage device 58 may be used to store database 60. … database 60 may include data that is collected from a vehicle monitoring system 18 of one or more vehicles."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan and Graus to use … collect performance data taken during a ride … to said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle as disclosed in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of efficient operation and maintenance of a vehicle. [See at least Zhang [0001].]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said rider physical information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. However, Mishra teaches these limitations [see at least Mishra col. 12 lines 19-26 "...server 212 may be configured to train and/or execute one or more machine learning systems, such as artificial neural networks, e.g., convolutional neural networks, that may be configured to process … vehicle data and/or information (e.g., in a flight log, an event log, etc.) identify anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions and the underlying causes that may have resulted in the identified anomalous residuals and/or fault conditions...a machine learning system executed by server 212 may be trained by providing information or data representing ... behavior of the vehicle to the machine learning system as training inputs… ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use …collect performance data taken during a ride after said tune was provided … ; … compare said tune with an actual performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle; determine where said … information is a likely cause of a detrimental performance of said one or more adjustable components of said vehicle … ; and … performance adjustment … based on information caused detrimental performance …. as disclosed in Mishra with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of for the benefit of improved ability to diagnose faults in the operation of vehicles. [See at least Mishra col. 1, lines 22-23.]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Mishra fails to disclose … receive vehicle geometry information … . However, Natzke teaches this limitation [see at least Natzke [0015] "... it may be desirable to adjust engine characteristics (e.g., operational parameters) of an engine of the work vehicle based on the type of attachment being operated by the work vehicle."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang and Mishra to use … receive vehicle geometry information … as disclosed in Natzke with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of simplifying operation of the vehicle. [See at least Natzke [0015].]
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan, in view of Graus, Zhang, Takahashi, and Natzke.
As per claim 59, the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 58.
Srinivasan discloses …further comprising:
modifying, within said vehicle setup application … [see at least Srinivasan [0014] "...The server then generates a write package that includes the parameters to be changed for the ECU and sends the write package to the vehicle carrying the ECU through a telematics cloud in a secured manner. An onboard telematics device (e.g., telematics box) receives the write package, which is buffered into a RAM memory of the ECU without interruption when the vehicle is in mission. When the key switch is turned off for the vehicle, the ECU validates the write package stored in the RAM buffer and commits the parameters to be changed to a main flash memory of the ECU. When the key switch is turned on again, the vehicle is operated based on the changed values of the parameters."]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang fails to disclose … modifying, … said vehicle setup information for said vehicle based on a dissimilarity in a user's skill level. However, Takahashi teaches this limitation [see at least Takahashi col. 3, lines 9-17 "…vehicle control system for a vehicle 100 comprises…means 103 for determining a driver's age…and a controlling means which…comprises a controller means 105a and an adjusting means 105b"…an engine system 100b…One of the systems…100b…is a controlled system controlled by this control system"; col. 4, lines 1-3 "The first means determines a basic value of a parameter for determining a specific form of the response characteristic, in accordance with the driver's age."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, and Zhang to use … modifying, … said vehicle setup information for said vehicle based on a dissimilarity in a user's skill level as disclosed in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of safer control of the vehicle. [See at least Takahashi col 6, lines 67-68.]
The combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Takahashi fails to disclose … modifying, … said vehicle setup information for said vehicle based on … a difference in components used by said vehicle, and a difference in a geometry of one or more aspects of said vehicle. However, Natzke teaches these limitations [see at least Natzke [0015] "... it may be desirable to adjust engine characteristics (e.g., operational parameters) of an engine of the work vehicle based on the type of attachment being operated by the work vehicle."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Srinivasan, Graus, Zhang, and Takahashi to use … modifying, … said vehicle setup information for said vehicle based on … a difference in components used by said vehicle, and a difference in a geometry of one or more aspects of said vehicle as disclosed in Natzke with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of simplifying operation of the vehicle. [See at least Natzke [0015].]
Conclusion
/P.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668