DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/04/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 5 and Fig. 6 does not label what is the support pins for the conveyance arrangement.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the non-linear workpath in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Conveyance arrangement in claim 1. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: par. 16 and 65 “conveyance arrangement may include a plurality of support elements…. conveyance arrangement 30 is shown generally as a conveyor type arrangement moving a plurality of can bodies.”
Induction heating unit in claim 1. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: par. 8 “Each induction heating unit may comprise: a heating element; and an induction coil positioned around the heating element”.
Adjustable mounting assembly in claim 7. T A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: par. 71 “one or more actuators 52 or adjustable mounting assemblies may be provided to selectively adjust the spacing between the induction heating elements 42”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “generally” in claims 1, 6, and 13-14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicants are advised to change the term “generally” to –partially--.
Claim 7 recites “the housing assembly” which lacks antecedent basis. It should be –a housing assembly--.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the number of heating units are structure to process can bodies at a maximum can decorator speed.” It is unclear how a number can be structured, much less structured for a maximum speed. For examination, it will be interpreted as –the number of heating units are able to process can bodies at a maximum can decorator speed--.
Claims 2-5 and 8-11 are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sprenger (US 5821504 A1).
Claim 1. Sprenger discloses a can curing oven structured to cure a coating on a surface of a sidewall of a number of can bodies (induction heating system for curing coatings on cans, abstract), the can curing oven comprising:
a heating assembly (housing 104, Fig. 3) including a number of induction heating units sized (isolation tube 106 with induction coil 108, Fig. 3, col 6, lines 5-10; the broadest interpretation of “a number of induction heating units” includes one heating unit; applicants are advised to change the limitation to –a plurality of heating units—if they desire to recite more than one heating units) and configured to define a space (isolation tube 106 enclosed by the induction coil) generally enclosed by the number of induction heating units, the number of induction heating units structured to generate a total effective amount of received heat needed to cure the coating on each can body (the heater completely cures the coating, col 5, lines 40-45, therefore, the heater is inherently structured to generate enough effective heat that the can receives to cure the coating); and
a conveyance arrangement structured to support and move a number of can bodies along a workpath through the generally enclosed space (conveyor system 124, Fig. 7).
Claim 6. Sprenger discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, further comprising a housing (housing 104, Fig. 3) generally enclosing the heating assembly.
Claim 10. Sprenger discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein:
the conveyance arrangement includes a plurality of support elements (conveyer system has a chain 118 which has a plurality of support structures, Fig. 6); and
each support element of the plurality of support elements is structured to be coupled to and support a can body of the number of can bodies (chain 118 is structured to couple and support the can body, Fig. 5).
Claim 11. Sprenger discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein at least one induction heating unit of the number of induction heating units is positioned between two different portions of the workpath or between a portion of the workpath (the heating apparatus sits between two sections 138 and 140 of a workpath, Fig. 7) and
a portion of another workpath along which the conveyance arrangement and/or another conveyance arrangement is structured to move can bodies of the number of can bodies (conveyer moves the cans along the section 140 to the next processing station, col 11, lines 30-35).
Claim 12. Sprenger discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein the number of heating units are structured to process can bodies at a maximum can decorator speed (the heating unit is capable of curing the cans at a speed rate).
Claim 13. Sprenger discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein the conveyance arrangement is structured to support and move the number of can bodies along a linear workpath through the generally enclosed space (chain 118 moves the can bodies in a linear path that is enclosed within the enclosed housing 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholey (US 20200080778 A1) in view of Ban (US 4401689 A).
Claim 1. Scholey discloses a can curing oven (Fig. 1) structured to cure a coating on a surface of a sidewall of a number of can bodies (apparatus cures the can’s coating, par. 3), the can curing oven comprising:
a heating assembly (100, Fig. 1) including a number of
a conveyance arrangement structured to support and move a number of can bodies along a workpath through the generally enclosed space (transfer assembly 70 for supporting and moving the can bodies along a path, Fig. 1).
Scholey does not disclose induction heating units.
Ban discloses an heating oven for curing material that has been deposited on a substrate through chemical vapor deposition (col 1, lines 5-10), wherein they disclose that it uses induction coils 44 (Fig. 1) or resistance heating coils to heat the susceptor 17 which acts as the radiant source of heat source for curing the coating (col 1, lines 60-65 and col 2, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholey to incorporate the teachings of Ban and use induction coils to heat the susceptors. Ban demonstrates that it is known within the art that induction coils can be used to heat a susceptor for curing a coating.
Claim 2. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein:
each induction heating unit comprises:
a heating element (induction coil 44, Fig. 1, Ban); and
an induction coil positioned around the heating element (induction coil is around the susceptor 17, Fig. 1, Ban), the induction coil structured to be coupled to a controlled source of AC power (a source applies RF energy to the coil which has a frequency of 450 kHz, col 15-25).
Claim 3. Scholey in view of Ban does not disclose the can curing oven of claim 2, wherein the heating element comprises a length of c-channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholey in view of Ban and have a c-channel shaped susceptor since it has been held that the mere change in shape of has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.
Claim 4. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein:
the number of induction heating units includes a plurality of induction heating units (plurality of heating units 110, Fig. 1 and Fig. 6); and
at least two induction heating units of the plurality of induction heating units are disposed on opposing sides of the workpath (two heating units on opposite sides of the workpath, Fig. 4).
Claim 5. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein:
the number of induction heating units includes a plurality of induction heating units (plurality of heating units 110, Fig. 1 and Fig. 6); and
at least two induction heating units of the plurality of induction heating units are disposed on a single side of the workpath (two heating units on the same side of the workpath, Fig. 6).
Claim 7. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein the can curing oven is structured to cure a coating of a can body in a first configuration and a can body in a second configuration wherein a can body of the first configuration is different than a can body of the second configuration (claim 5), and wherein:
the housing assembly includes an adjustable mounting assembly (adjustable mounting assembly, claim 5); and
the adjustable mounting assembly is structured to position each induction heating unit in:
a first position, wherein each induction heating unit is structured to generate a proportional effective amount of received heat for a can body of a first configuration (first position, wherein each heating unit is structured to generate a proportional effective amount of received heat for a can body of a first configuration, claim 5), and
a second position, wherein each induction heating unit is structured to generate a proportional effective amount of received heat for a can body of a second configuration (a second position, wherein each heating unit is structured to generate a proportional effective amount of received heat for a can body of a second configuration, claim 5).
Claim 8. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein each induction heating unit is a modular induction heating unit (claim 3).
Claim 9. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 2, wherein each induction coil is structured to be selectively powered by the controlled source of AC power when the outer surface of the can body is an effective distance away (claim 7).
Claim 14. Scholey in view of Ban discloses the can curing oven of claim 1, wherein the conveyance arrangement is structured to support and move the number of can bodies along a non-linear workpath through the generally enclosed space (transfer assembly can move in a non-linear path, par. 60).
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761