DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1-8 filed November 10, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jasper (US-7424814).
In regards to claim 1, Jasper discloses a dead bolt lock system for use on a door 12, the lock system comprising: a housing structure 30, 32, 42 adapted to be mounted on an inside of the door; a dead bolt 24 mounted in the housing structure for movement between extended (Figure 3A-2) and retracted positions (Figure 3B-2); a lock 158 or 144 or 168 coupled with the dead bolt and controlled by an input of correct unlocking information to allow movement of the dead bolt from the extended position to the retracted position; a dead bolt retracting structure 70, 350, 376 operatively connected to the dead bolt such that when the lock is in an unlocked condition, at least a portion of the dead bolt retracting structure is operative to cause retraction of the dead bolt (at least portions 70 and 350 of the dead bolt retracting structure cause retraction of the dead bolt, Figure 4B) and, when the lock is in a locked condition, operation of the dead bolt retracting structure is prevented thereby preventing retraction of the dead bolt (Col. 9, lines 43-61 and Col. 10, lines 18-50); and an escape lever 34 including a movable arm 352 or 354 interacting with the dead bolt retracting structure, the escape lever being configured to retract the dead bolt when the lock is in the locked condition and when the lock is in the unlocked condition (Col. 14, lines 9-41), the escape lever extending generally from the housing structure and being operable to retract the dead bolt with a pushing motion in a first direction whereby the movable arm moves to a first position within the retracting structure (Col. 14, lines 9-41 and Figure 12, with the movable arm being within at least portion 376 of the dead bolt retracting structure), or a pulling motion in a second direction, whereby the movable arm moves to a second position within the retracting structure (Col. 14, lines 9-41 and Figure 12, with the movable arm being within at least portion 376 of the dead bolt retracting structure).
In regards to claim 2, Jasper discloses that the movable arm interacts with the dead bolt retracting structure in a cammed relationship (camming between surface 360 or 362 and portion 350 of the dead bolt retracting structure, Figure 12).
In regards to claims 3 and 4, Jasper discloses that the dead bolt retracting structure has a first cam portion and a second cam portion (see Figure 12 below, with the roller 364 or 366 having portions of its outer surface that cam or contact with the surfaces 360 or 362 based on whether the escape lever is pushed or pulled), and the movable arm is configured to cam against one of the first or second cam portions when the escape lever is pushed and against the other of the first or second cam portions when the escape lever is pulled (Figure 12).
In regards to claim 5, Jasper discloses a method of retracting a dead bolt 24 of a dead bolt lock system, the dead bolt lock system including a lock 158 or 144 or 166 coupled with the dead bolt and controlled by an input of correct unlocking information to allow movement of the dead bolt from an extended position (Figure 3A-2) to a retracted position (Figure 3B-2), a dead bolt retracting structure 70, 350, 376 operatively connected to the dead bolt, and an escape lever 34 including a movable arm 352 or 354 interacting with the dead bolt retracting structure to retract the dead bolt, the method comprising: actuating the escape lever to operate the retracting structure and thereby retract the dead bolt regardless of whether the lock is locked or unlocked (Col. 14, lines 9-41), wherein: when a pushing motion in a first direction is used to actuate the escape lever, the movable arm moves to a first position within the retracting structure during a pushing operation to retract the dead bolt (Col. 14, lines 9-41 and Figure 12, with the movable arm being within at least portion 376 of the dead bolt retracting structure), and when a pulling motion in a second direction is used to actuate the escape lever, the movable arm moves to a second position within the retracting structure during a pulling operation to retract the dead bolt (Col. 14, lines 9-41 and Figure 12, with the movable arm being within at least portion 376 of the dead bolt retracting structure).
In regards to claim 6, Jasper discloses that actuating the escape lever further comprises: camming the movable arm against a portion of the retracting structure, thereby causing retraction of the retracting structure and thereby causing retraction of the dead bolt (Col. 14, lines 9-41).
In regards to claims 7 and 8, Jasper discloses that the retracting structure has a first cam portion and a second cam portion (see Figure 12 on Page 9 of the current Office Action), and camming the movable arm cams against the retracting structure further comprises: camming the movable arm against one of the first or second cam portions when the escape lever is pushed and against the other of the first or second cam portions when the escape lever is pulled (with the roller 364 or 366 having the first and second cam portions of its outer surface that cam or contact with the surfaces 360or 362 based on whether the escape lever is pushed or pulled as show in Figure 12).
Response to Arguments
In regards to applicant’s remarks concerning the amendments to claims 1 and 5 and the Jasper reference, applicant is referred to the new interpretation of the Jasper reference applied to the claims above and made in light of applicant’s amendments.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the specification and drawings, the objections to the specification and drawings set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and most of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action is maintained since claim 5 was not amended as remarked by applicant to change “and” to “or.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
March 3, 2026