DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 10/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-14, 16, and 17 are amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s submission of certified English translation of the foreign applications (CHINA 202010784968.3 filed on 8/6/2020) submitted on 10/28/2025.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 10/28/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the clam amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 4, 5, 7-9, 13, 14, and 16 have overcome the objections to claims 4, 5, 7-9, 13, 14, and 16 previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 7/28/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10 and 17 (pages 14-17) in a reply filed 10/28/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 12 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claims 3 and 12, it is suggested to remove “or” to read “…; wherein
the cell information comprises at least one of following:
a physical cell identifier,
a cell global identifier,
a cell group identifier, [[or]]
a cell type identifier, or
there is at least one cell indicated by the cell information.” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hedén et al. (US 2020/0045589 A1, hereinafter Hedén).
Regarding claim 1:
Hedén teaches an information transmission method (see, Hedén: Abstract), performed by a terminal (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, wireless device 110) and comprising:
obtaining assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information (e.g., MBMS or FeMBMS) and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service (e.g., a frequency-based service or a cell-based service) (see, Hedén: Abstract, “a method for use in a user equipment of performing cell reselection to a cell providing multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) comprises: receiving a system information message comprising an indication of whether one or more carrier frequencies support MBMS carrier type or further enhanced MBMS (FeMBMS) carrier type;”; para. [0008], “a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0000], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”; para. [0023], “a user equipment capable of performing cell reselection to a cell providing MBMS comprises processing circuitry operable to: receive a system information message comprising an indication of whether one or more carrier frequencies support MBMS carrier type or FeMBMS carrier type”. Accordingly, the MBMS assistance information of Hedén indicates service information (e.g., which MBMS service is provided) and a transmission manner of multicast broadcast service (e.g., via which frequency or via which cell) because the cell reselection is performed based on whether a cell provides MBMS service or not.); and
determining a priority of a cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information (see, Hedén: Abstract, “selecting, based on a capability of the user equipment and the carrier type of the one or more carrier frequencies, a carrier frequency for cell reselection; and camping on the selected carrier frequency.”; para. [0010], “By using the MBMS assistance information, USD combined with SIB15, a UE can continue to receive MBMS services when changing frequency because the UE may prioritize a frequency based on the possibility to receive MBMS while camping on that frequency/cell (see, e.g., TS 36.304).”); wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information comprises: setting, according to the transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service, a priority of a frequency providing the multicast broadcast service (see, Hedén: para. [0018], “The UE comprises processing circuitry configured to receive certain properties and/or capabilities of a carrier frequency. The processing circuitry is further configured to select and/or prioritize a carrier frequency to be used by the UE based on the received properties and/or capabilities.”; para. [0051], “By using the MBMS assistance information, USD combined with SIB15, a UE can continue to receive MBMS services when changing frequency because the UE may prioritize a frequency based on the possibility to receive MBMS while camping on that frequency/cell (see, e.g., TS 36.304).”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén further teaches wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of following: a description of a service feature; information about a frequency supporting the service; or information about a cell supporting the service (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Hedén further teaches wherein the description of the service feature comprises at least one of following: an identifier of the service, area information of the service, a start time of the service, an end time of the service, or a frequency point of the service; wherein the area information of the service comprises at least one of following: an identifier of an area of the service,
cell information, a radio access network-based notification area, a tracking area, or a registration area; wherein the cell information comprises at least one of following: a physical cell identifier, a cell global identifier, a cell group identifier, or a cell type identifier, or there is at least one cell indicated by the cell information (see, Hedén: para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Hedén further teaches wherein the frequency comprises at least one of following: a frequency that the terminal is using currently, or a neighboring frequency; or the information about the frequency supporting the service comprises at least one of following: a service identifier of the frequency, an area identifier of the frequency, or a service sending mode of the frequency; or the cell comprises: a serving cell that the terminal is located currently, and a neighboring cell; or the information about the cell supporting the service comprises at least one of following: a service identifier of the cell, an area identifier of the cell, or a service sending mode of the cell (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “UEs that are receiving or interested in receiving MBMS service(s) in RRC IDLE state may obtain information about a neighbor frequency's multicast traffic channel (MTCH) from the multicast control channel (MCCH) of the neighbor frequency. To avoid a need to read MBMS related system information and potentially MCCH on neighbor frequencies, a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Hedén further teaches wherein the area identifier comprises at least one of following: an area identifier of the service, cell information, a radio access network-based notification area, a tracking area, or a registration area; or
the service sending mode comprises at least one of following: a point-to-multipoint (PTM) mode, a point-to-point (PTP) mode, a mode of waiting for a trigger, a broadcast or multicast reception mode, or a connected-mode reception mode; wherein the mode of waiting for the trigger comprises one of following: a network device having not sent service data at a radio access network side, and a core network having sent service data to the network device; and a network device having not sent service data at a radio access network side, and a core network having not sent service data to the network device either (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “UEs that are receiving or interested in receiving MBMS service(s) in RRC IDLE state may obtain information about a neighbor frequency's multicast traffic channel (MTCH) from the multicast control channel (MCCH) of the neighbor frequency. To avoid a need to read MBMS related system information and potentially MCCH on neighbor frequencies, a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén further teaches wherein the obtaining the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service comprises: obtaining the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service via at least one of following:
a system message; radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling; an application-layer message; or core network signaling (see, Hedén: para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15).”).
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 recites the method from the perspective of a network device (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, network node 120) which corresponds to the method of claim 1, and contains no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 10 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 2. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 11 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 3. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 11 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 4. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 13 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 10 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 6. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards a terminal (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, wireless device 110), comprising a processor (see, Hedén: Fig. 4A, wireless device 110, Processing Circuitry 1320), a memory (see, Hedén: Fig. 4A, wireless device 110, Memory 1330), and a program or an instruction (see, Hedén: para. [0035]) stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim B is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed towards a network device (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, network node 120), comprising a processor (see, Hedén: Fig. 5A, network node 120, Processing Circuitry 1420), a memory (see, Hedén: Fig. 5A, network node 120, Memory 1430), and a program or an instruction (see, Hedén: para. [0036]) stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, implements steps of the information transmission method according to claim 10. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards a non-transitory readable storage medium (see, Hedén: Fig. 4A, wireless device 110, Memory 1330), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor of a terminal, implements steps of the information transmission method according to claim 1 (see, Hedén: para. [0035]). Therefore, claim B is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory readable storage medium (see, Hedén: Fig. 5A, network node 120, Memory 1430), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor of a network device, implements steps of the information transmission method according to claim 10 (see, Hedén: para. [0036]). Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedén in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0098604 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining an indication message; wherein the indication message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed; wherein the indication message is a short message, a first bit or a second bit in the short message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed, wherein the first bit refers to at least one used bit in the short message, and the second bit refers to at least one bit in the short message that has not been used; or the indication message is downlink control information scrambled with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and the first RNTI refers to an RNTI different from a defined RNTI; wherein a terminal to which the first RNTI is applicable comprises at least one of following: a terminal in support of a multicast broadcast service; a terminal interested in a multicast broadcast service; or all terminals.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein obtaining an indication message; wherein the indication message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed; wherein the indication message is a short message, a first bit or a second bit in the short message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed, wherein the first bit refers to at least one used bit in the short message, and the second bit refers to at least one bit in the short message that has not been used; or the indication message is downlink control information scrambled with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and the first RNTI refers to an RNTI different from a defined RNTI; wherein a terminal to which the first RNTI is applicable comprises at least one of following: a terminal in support of a multicast broadcast service; a terminal interested in a multicast broadcast service; or all terminals (see, Park: para. [0151], “When the network changes (some of) the MCCH information, it may notify UEs about the change during a first modification period. In a next modification period, a network may transmit updated MCCH information. Upon receiving a change notification, a UE interested to receive MBMS services may acquire new MCCH information from the start of a next modification period. The UE may apply previously acquired MCCH information until the UE acquires the new MCCH information.”; para. [0152], “indication of an MBMS specific RNTI, the M-RNTI, on PDCCH may be used to inform UEs in RRC IDLE and UEs in RRC CONNECTED about an MCCH information change. When receiving an MCCH information change notification, a UE may know that the MCCH information will change at the next modification period boundary. A notification on PDCCH may indicate which of MCCHs will change, which may be done by means of an 8-bit bitmap. Within this bitmap, the bit at the position indicated by the field notificationIndicator may be used to indicate changes for that MBSFN area: if the bit is set to “1”, the corresponding MCCH may change. An MCCH information change notification may be used to inform the UE about a change of MCCH information upon session start or about the start of MBMS counting.”; para. [0153], “MCCH information change notifications on PDCCH may be transmitted periodically and/or may be carried on MBSFN subframes only. These MCCH information change notification occasions may be common for all MCCHs that may be configured, and/or configurable by parameters included in SystemInformationBlockType13: a repetition coefficient, a radio frame offset and a subframe index. These common notification occasions may be based on MCCH with the shortest modification period.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in combination of the teachings of Park in order for the UE to acquire MBMS common control information change notification (e.g., using MCCH) to acquire changed MBMS control information (see, Park: para. [0151-0159]).
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 10 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedén in view of Amerga et al. (US 2013/0258934 A1, hereinafter Amerga).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén does not explicitly teach wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information further comprises at least one of following: setting priorities of all frequencies providing a multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority; or setting, according to a priority relationship between a frequency providing a multicast broadcast service and another frequency, a priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service and/or the another priority; wherein the another frequency refers to a frequency that does not provide a multicast broadcast service.
In the same field of endeavor, Amerga teaches wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information comprises at least one of following: setting priorities of all frequencies providing a multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority; or setting, according to a priority relationship between a frequency providing a multicast broadcast service and another frequency, a priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service and/or the another priority; wherein the another frequency refers to a frequency that does not provide a multicast broadcast service (see, Amerga: para. [0007], “The apparatus includes receiving a user service description (USD) message, the USD message indicating a frequency of a multicast service of interest to the UE, when the frequency indicated in the USD message is not a current frequency, the apparatus determining that a system information message is received, determining that the frequency indicated in the USD message is included in the system information message when the system information message is received, determining that the frequency is a neighboring cell frequency, setting a priority of the neighboring cell frequency to a highest priority,”; para. [0009], “the apparatus includes receiving a user service description (USD) message, the USD message including at least one frequency of a multicast service of interest to the UE, performing a search for other frequencies when the at least one frequency included in the USD message is not a current frequency, the search for other frequencies comprising: determining that a system information message is received, determining frequencies commonly included in the USD message and the system information message when the system information is received, determining that the common frequencies are neighboring cell frequencies, for an i-th common frequency, i=1 to N, wherein N is a total number of common frequencies, and until the multicast service is acquired successfully, the search for other frequencies further comprising: setting a priority of the i-th common frequency to a highest priority”; Also, see: Abstract and para. [0008] [0010] [0080]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in combination of the teachings of Amerga in order for the UE to set a priority of the neighboring cell frequency to a highest priority, measuring a signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency when the frequency is included in the system information message, perform a cell reselection determination procedure based on the signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency, perform cell reselection to the neighboring cell based on a result of the cell reselection determination procedure, and acquire the multicast service in the neighboring cell on the neighboring cell frequency (see, Amerga: para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 9:
As discussed above, Hedén teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén does not explicitly teach wherein the setting, according to the transmission manner in the multicast broadcast service, the priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service comprises at least one of following: setting a priority of a first frequency in support of providing a multicast service to the highest priority; setting a priority of a second frequency in support of providing a broadcast or multicast reception mode to the highest priority; setting a priority of a third frequency in support of providing a unicast service to a lowest priority; setting a priority of a fourth frequency in support of providing a connected-mode reception mode to the lowest priority; setting a priority of a fifth frequency in support of providing a mode of waiting for a trigger to the lowest priority; or setting a sequence of priority; wherein the sequence of priority is a priority sequence obtained after at least one of the first frequency, the second frequency, the third frequency, the fourth frequency, or the fifth frequency is arranged; and/or the priority relationship is determined by the terminal; or the priority relationship is determined according to a predefined rule.
In the same field of endeavor, Amerga teaches wherein the setting, according to the transmission manner (e.g., a frequency-based service or a cell-based service) in the multicast broadcast service, the priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service (see, Amerga: para. [0074], “the USD may indicate a frequency corresponding to an eMBMS service of interest to the UE, wherein the frequency is different from a serving frequency. The method includes determining if the frequency indicated in the USD is also included in a received SIB5, wherein SIB5 indicates neighbor frequencies. When the frequency is included in the USD and SIB5, then the frequency may be a neighbor frequency, and the UE prepares for cell reselection to the neighbor frequency.” Accordingly, the USD indicates a transmission manner of multicast broadcast service (e.g., via which frequency or via which cell) because the cell reselection is performed based on whether a cell provides MBMS service or not.) comprises at least one of following: setting a priority of a first frequency in support of providing a multicast service to the highest priority; setting a priority of a second frequency in support of providing a broadcast or multicast reception mode to the highest priority; setting a priority of a third frequency in support of providing a unicast service to a lowest priority; setting a priority of a fourth frequency in support of providing a connected-mode reception mode to the lowest priority; setting a priority of a fifth frequency in support of providing a mode of waiting for a trigger to the lowest priority; or setting a sequence of priority; wherein the sequence of priority is a priority sequence obtained after at least one of the first frequency, the second frequency, the third frequency, the fourth frequency, or the fifth frequency is arranged; and/or the priority relationship is determined by the terminal; or the priority relationship is determined according to a predefined rule (see, Amerga: para. [0009], “the apparatus includes receiving a user service description (USD) message, the USD message including at least one frequency of a multicast service of interest to the UE, performing a search for other frequencies when the at least one frequency included in the USD message is not a current frequency, the search for other frequencies comprising: determining that a system information message is received, determining frequencies commonly included in the USD message and the system information message when the system information is received, determining that the common frequencies are neighboring cell frequencies, for an i-th common frequency, i=1 to N, wherein N is a total number of common frequencies, and until the multicast service is acquired successfully, the search for other frequencies further comprising: setting a priority of the i-th common frequency to a highest priority”, wherein the common frequencies that support multicast service are set as the highest priority. Also, see: Abstract and para. [0007] [0008] [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in combination of the teachings of Amerga in order for the UE to set a priority of the neighboring cell frequency to a highest priority, measuring a signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency when the frequency is included in the system information message, perform a cell reselection determination procedure based on the signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency, perform cell reselection to the neighboring cell based on a result of the cell reselection determination procedure, and acquire the multicast service in the neighboring cell on the neighboring cell frequency (see, Amerga: para. [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang (US 2016/0234846 A1) (Abstract and para. [0001])
Di Girolamo et al. (US 2023/0276470 A1) (para. [0105])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471