DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 1/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 17 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed on 1/9/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s response arguments field on 1/9/2026 to the claim objections of 3 and 12, previously set forth in the Final Action mailed on 11/10/2025, are acknowledged. However, alternate suggestion is made below in the claim objection section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10 and 17 (pages 13-20) in a reply filed 1/9/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced reference (i.e., Qualcomm) or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17:
Applicant contends, in page 15, that “(1) If the "system information message" in Hedén is corresponding to the "assistance information" in amended claim 1: … It can be seen that Hedén at most discloses that the system information message may indicate carrier frequencies type, but it does not involve a fact that the system information message can indicate a transmission manner of MBS. … It is evident that the "system information message" in Hedén does not play the same role as the "assistance information" in amended claim 1. Therefore, the "system information message" in Hedén cannot be equivalent to the "assistance information" in amended claim 1.” (Emphasis added by the Examiner) and, in pages 15-16, that “(2) If the "MBMS assistance information" in Hedén is corresponding to the "assistance information" in amended claim 1: … the MBMS assistance information is used to indicate the MBMS service and the frequency at which the MBMS service is provided, but it does not involve a transmission manner of the MBMS service. … It is evident that the "MBMS assistance information" in Hedén does not play the same role as the "assistance information" in amended claim 1. Therefore, the "MBMS assistance information" in Hedén cannot be equivalent to the "assistance information" in amended claim 1.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument improperly imports limitations from the specification, which describes preferred embodiments but does not limit the claim scope. During examination, claims are given their Broadest Reasonable Interpretation consistent with the specification. Claim 1 recites “obtaining assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service; …” without specifying a type of a transmission manner. The claim does not require a specific transmission manner. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “a transmission manner” includes any transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service, such as which MBMS service is provided via with frequency. Hedén discloses wherein “[0008] UEs that are receiving or interested in receiving MBMS service(s) in RRC IDLE state may obtain information about a neighbor frequency's multicast traffic channel (MTCH) from the multicast control channel (MCCH) of the neighbor frequency. To avoid a need to read MBMS related system information and potentially MCCH on neighbor frequencies, a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information. [0009] The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15. The size of SIB15 can be as big as 992 octets, but all information elements are optional. [0010] By using the MBMS assistance information, USD combined with SIB15, a UE can continue to receive MBMS services when changing frequency because the UE may prioritize a frequency based on the possibility to receive MBMS while camping on that frequency/cell (see, e.g., TS 36.304).” (see, Hedén: para. [0008-0010]).
Accordingly, the UE of Hedén obtains assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information (i.e., user service description (USD), such as temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs)) and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service (i.e., which MBMS service is provided via which frequency). Therefore, the disclosure of Hedén reads on the limitations as claimed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected because of the following informalities and it is suggested to amend the claims to read as follows for the clarity of limitations:
1. (Currently Amended) An information transmission method, performed by a terminal,
obtaining assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service; and
determining a priority of a cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information[[;]],
wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information comprises:
setting, according to the transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service, a priority of a frequency providing the multicast broadcast service; and
setting priorities of all frequencies providing the multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority.
2. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of
a description of a service feature;
information about a frequency supporting the service; or
information about a cell supporting the service.
3. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 2, wherein:
the description of the service feature comprises at least one of
an identifier of the service,
area information of the service,
a start time of the service,
an end time of the service, or
a frequency point of the service;
the area information of the service comprises at least one of
an identifier of an area of the service,
cell information,
a radio access network-based notification area,
a tracking area, or
a registration area; and
the cell information comprises at least one of
a physical cell identifier,
a cell global identifier,
a cell group identifier, or
a cell type identifier[[;]],
wherein at least one cell is indicated by the cell information.
4. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 2, wherein:
the frequency comprises at least one of
a frequency that the terminal is using currently, or
a neighboring frequency;
the information about the frequency supporting the service comprises at least one of
a service identifier of the frequency,
an area identifier of the frequency, or
a service sending mode of the frequency;
the cell comprises:
a serving cell that the terminal is located currently, and
a neighboring cell; and
the information about the cell supporting the service comprises at least one of
a service identifier of the cell,
an area identifier of the cell, or
a service sending mode of the cell.
5. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 4, wherein:
the area identifier comprises at least one of
an area identifier of the service,
cell information,
a radio access network-based notification area,
a tracking area, or
a registration area; and
the service sending mode comprises at least one of
a point-to-multipoint (PTM) mode,
a point-to-point (PTP) mode,
waiting mode,
a broadcast or multicast reception mode, or
a connected-mode reception mode[[;]],
wherein t waiting mode comprises one of
a first mode in which a network device has not sent service data at a radio access network side[[,]] and a core network has sent service data to the network device; or
a second mode in which a network device has not sent service data at a radio access network side[[,]] and a core network has not sent service data to the network device either.
6. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service comprises:
obtaining the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service via at least one of
a system message;
radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling;
an application-layer message; or
core network signaling.
7. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining an indication message[[;]],
wherein the indication message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed[[;]],
wherein:
the indication message is a short message, a first bit or a second bit in the short message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed,
wherein:
the first bit refers to at least one used bit in the short message[[,]]; and
the second bit refers to at least one bit in the short message that has not been used; or
the indication message is downlink control information scrambled with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI),
wherein the first RNTI is different from a defined RNTI[[;]], and
wherein a terminal to which the first RNTI is applicable comprises at least one of
a terminal supporting a multicast broadcast service;
a terminal interested in a multicast broadcast service; or
all terminals.
8. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information further comprises:
setting, according to a priority relationship between a frequency providing a multicast broadcast service and another frequency, a priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service and/or a priority of the another frequency[[;]], wherein the another frequency the multicast broadcast service.
9. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the setting, according to the transmission manner in the multicast broadcast service, the priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service comprises at least one of
setting a priority of a first frequency supporting a multicast service to the highest priority[[,]];
setting a priority of a second frequency supporting a broadcast or multicast reception mode to the highest priority[[,]];
setting a priority of a third frequency supporting a unicast service to a lowest priority[[,]];
setting a priority of a fourth frequency supporting a connected-mode reception mode to the lowest priority[[,]];
setting a priority of a fifth frequency supporting waiting mode to the lowest priority[[,]]; or
setting a sequence [[;]],
wherein the priority sequence by after at least one of the first frequency, the second frequency, the third frequency, the fourth frequency, or the fifth frequency is arranged[[;]],
and wherein:
the priority relationship is determined by the terminal; or
the priority relationship is determined according to a predefined rule.
10. (Currently Amended) An information transmission method, performed by a network device,
sending assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service[[;]], and wherein the assistance information is used by a terminal to:
set, according to the transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service, a priority of a frequency providing the multicast broadcast service; and
set priorities of all frequencies providing the multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority.
11. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 10, wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of
a description of a service feature;
information about a frequency supporting the service; or
information about a cell supporting the service.
12. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 11, wherein:
the description of the service feature comprises at least one of
an identifier of the service,
area information of the service,
a start time of the service,
an end time of the service, or
a frequency point of the service;
the area information of the service comprises at least one of
an identifier of an area of the service,
cell information,
a radio access network-based notification area,
a tracking area, or
a registration area; and
the cell information comprises at least one of
a physical cell identifier,
a cell global identifier,
a cell group identifier, or
a cell type identifier[[;]],
wherein at least one cell is indicated by the cell information.
13. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 11, wherein:
the frequency comprises at least one of
a frequency that the terminal is using currently, or
a neighboring frequency;
the information about the frequency supporting the service comprises at least one of
a service identifier of the frequency,
an area identifier of the frequency, or
a service sending mode of the frequency;
the cell comprises:
a serving cell that the terminal is located currently, and
a neighboring cell; and
the information about the cell supporting the service comprises at least one of
a service identifier of the cell,
an area identifier of the cell, or
a service sending mode of the cell.
14. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 13, wherein:
the area identifier comprises at least one of
an area identifier of the service,
cell information,
a radio access network-based notification area,
a tracking area, or
a registration area; and
the service sending mode comprises at least one of
a point-to-multipoint (PTM) mode,
a point-to-point (PTP) mode,
waiting mode,
a broadcast or multicast reception mode, or
a connected-mode reception mode[[;]],
wherein t waiting mode comprises one of
a first mode in which a network device has not sent service data at a radio access network side[[,]] and a core network has sent service data to the network device; or
a second mode in which a network device has not sent service data at a radio access network side[[,]] and a core network has not sent service data to the network device either.
15. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 10, wherein the sending the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service comprises:
sending the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service via at least one of
a system message;
radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling;
an application-layer message; or
core network signaling.
16. (Currently Amended) The information transmission method according to claim 10, further comprising:
sending an indication message[[;]],
wherein the indication message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed[[;]],
wherein:
the indication message is a short message, a first bit or a second bit in the short message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed,
wherein:
the first bit refers to at least one used bit in the short message[[,]]; and
the second bit refers to at least one bit in the short message that has not been used; or
the indication message is downlink control information scrambled with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI),
wherein the first RNTI is different from a defined RNTI[[;]], and
wherein a terminal to which the first RNTI is applicable comprises at least one of
a terminal supporting a multicast broadcast service;
a terminal interested in a multicast broadcast service; or
all terminals.
17. (Currently Amended) A terminal, comprising:
a processor[[,]];
a memory[[,]]; and
a program or by the processor,
whereinthe program or instruction causes the terminal to
obtain assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service; and
determine a priority of a cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information[[;]],
wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information comprises:
setting, according to the transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service, a priority of a frequency providing the multicast broadcast service; and
setting priorities of all frequencies providing the multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority.
18. (Currently Amended) A network device, comprising:
a processor[[,]];
a memory[[,]]; and
a program or by the processor,
wherein the program or instruction causes the network device to perform the information transmission method according to claim 10.
19. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage mediumstoring a program or that, causes the processor to perform the information transmission method according to claim 1.
20. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage mediumstoring a program or that, causes the processor to perform the information transmission method according to claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedén et al. (US 2020/0045589 A1, hereinafter Hedén) in view of Qualcomm Incorporated (“Assistance Information for MBMS UEs in RRC_IDLE mode”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #75bis, R2-115104, October 10-14, 2011, hereinafter Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 1:
Hedén teaches an information transmission method (see, Hedén: Abstract), performed by a terminal (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, wireless device 110) and comprising:
obtaining assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information (e.g., user service description (USD), such as temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs)) and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service (e.g., which MBMS service is provided via which frequency) (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “UEs that are receiving or interested in receiving MBMS service(s) in RRC IDLE state may obtain information about a neighbor frequency's multicast traffic channel (MTCH) from the multicast control channel (MCCH) of the neighbor frequency. To avoid a need to read MBMS related system information and potentially MCCH on neighbor frequencies, a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15. The size of SIB15 can be as big as 992 octets, but all information elements are optional.”; and para. [0010], “By using the MBMS assistance information, USD combined with SIB15, a UE can continue to receive MBMS services when changing frequency because the UE may prioritize a frequency based on the possibility to receive MBMS while camping on that frequency/cell (see, e.g., TS 36.304).”. Accordingly, the UE of Hedén obtains assistance information related to a multicast broadcast service, wherein the assistance information is used to indicate service information (i.e., user service description (USD), such as temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs)) and a transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service (i.e., which MBMS service is provided via which frequency).); and
determining a priority of a cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information (see, Hedén: Abstract, “selecting, based on a capability of the user equipment and the carrier type of the one or more carrier frequencies, a carrier frequency for cell reselection; and camping on the selected carrier frequency.”; para. [0010], “By using the MBMS assistance information, USD combined with SIB15, a UE can continue to receive MBMS services when changing frequency because the UE may prioritize a frequency based on the possibility to receive MBMS while camping on that frequency/cell (see, e.g., TS 36.304).”); wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information comprises: setting, according to the transmission manner of the multicast broadcast service, a priority of a frequency providing the multicast broadcast service (see, Hedén: para. [0018], “The UE comprises processing circuitry configured to receive certain properties and/or capabilities of a carrier frequency. The processing circuitry is further configured to select and/or prioritize a carrier frequency to be used by the UE based on the received properties and/or capabilities.”; para. [0051], “By using the MBMS assistance information, USD combined with SIB15, a UE can continue to receive MBMS services when changing frequency because the UE may prioritize a frequency based on the possibility to receive MBMS while camping on that frequency/cell (see, e.g., TS 36.304).”).
Hedén does not explicitly teach wherein setting priorities of all frequencies providing the multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm teaches wherein setting priorities of all frequencies providing the multicast broadcast service to a same priority that is a highest priority (see, Qualcomm: Section 2 Discussion, “In RAN2 #75 meeting, it is agreed that in RRC_IDLE, a UE which is interested in receiving MBMS service(s) via MBSFN makes the MBMS frequency providing these MBMS service(s) highest priority when it intends to receive the MBMS service(s) and a session is already available or about to start via MBSFN. The above agreement relies on UE has some assistance information from network, mainly the session start time and where a particular service is broadcast.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in combination of the teachings of Qualcomm in order to facilitate idle mode service continuity of the UE using assistance information and to make the MBMS frequency providing MBMS service(s) highest priority when the UE intends to receive the MBMS service(s) and a session is already available or about to start via MBSFN (see, Qualcomm: Section 1 and Section 2.).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén further teaches wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of following: a description of a service feature; information about a frequency supporting the service; or information about a cell supporting the service (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Hedén further teaches wherein the description of the service feature comprises at least one of following: an identifier of the service, area information of the service, a start time of the service, an end time of the service, or a frequency point of the service; wherein the area information of the service comprises at least one of following: an identifier of an area of the service,
cell information, a radio access network-based notification area, a tracking area, or a registration area; wherein the cell information comprises at least one of following: a physical cell identifier, a cell global identifier, a cell group identifier, or a cell type identifier, or there is at least one cell indicated by the cell information (see, Hedén: para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Hedén further teaches wherein the frequency comprises at least one of following: a frequency that the terminal is using currently, or a neighboring frequency; or the information about the frequency supporting the service comprises at least one of following: a service identifier of the frequency, an area identifier of the frequency, or a service sending mode of the frequency; or the cell comprises: a serving cell that the terminal is located currently, and a neighboring cell; or the information about the cell supporting the service comprises at least one of following: a service identifier of the cell, an area identifier of the cell, or a service sending mode of the cell (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “UEs that are receiving or interested in receiving MBMS service(s) in RRC IDLE state may obtain information about a neighbor frequency's multicast traffic channel (MTCH) from the multicast control channel (MCCH) of the neighbor frequency. To avoid a need to read MBMS related system information and potentially MCCH on neighbor frequencies, a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Hedén further teaches wherein the area identifier comprises at least one of following: an area identifier of the service, cell information, a radio access network-based notification area, a tracking area, or a registration area; or
the service sending mode comprises at least one of following: a point-to-multipoint (PTM) mode, a point-to-point (PTP) mode, a mode of waiting for a trigger, a broadcast or multicast reception mode, or a connected-mode reception mode; wherein the mode of waiting for the trigger comprises one of following: a network device having not sent service data at a radio access network side, and a core network having sent service data to the network device; and a network device having not sent service data at a radio access network side, and a core network having not sent service data to the network device either (see, Hedén: para. [0008], “UEs that are receiving or interested in receiving MBMS service(s) in RRC IDLE state may obtain information about a neighbor frequency's multicast traffic channel (MTCH) from the multicast control channel (MCCH) of the neighbor frequency. To avoid a need to read MBMS related system information and potentially MCCH on neighbor frequencies, a UE may learn which MBMS service is provided via which frequency through MBMS assistance information.”; para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15). The USD includes, for example, temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) of service, session start and end time, and the MBMS service area identities (SAIs). The MBMS SAIs for serving and neighboring frequencies are given in system information block 15.”).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén further teaches wherein the obtaining the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service comprises: obtaining the assistance information related to the multicast broadcast service via at least one of following:
a system message; radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling; an application-layer message; or core network signaling (see, Hedén: para. [0009], “The assistance information is a combination of the available information in the user service description (USD) of the UE and information broadcasted in system information block 15 (SIB15).”).
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 recites the method from the perspective of a network device (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, network node 120) which corresponds to the method of claim 1, and contains no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 10 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 2. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 11 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 3. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 11 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 4. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 13 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 10 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 6. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards a terminal (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, wireless device 110), comprising a processor (see, Hedén: Fig. 4A, wireless device 110, Processing Circuitry 1320), a memory (see, Hedén: Fig. 4A, wireless device 110, Memory 1330), and a program or an instruction (see, Hedén: para. [0035]) stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim B is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed towards a network device (see, Hedén: Fig. 1, network node 120), comprising a processor (see, Hedén: Fig. 5A, network node 120, Processing Circuitry 1420), a memory (see, Hedén: Fig. 5A, network node 120, Memory 1430), and a program or an instruction (see, Hedén: para. [0036]) stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, implements steps of the information transmission method according to claim 10. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards a non-transitory readable storage medium (see, Hedén: Fig. 4A, wireless device 110, Memory 1330), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor of a terminal, implements steps of the information transmission method according to claim 1 (see, Hedén: para. [0035]). Therefore, claim B is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory readable storage medium (see, Hedén: Fig. 5A, network node 120, Memory 1430), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor of a network device, implements steps of the information transmission method according to claim 10 (see, Hedén: para. [0036]). Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedén in view of Qualcomm further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0098604 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén in view of Qualcomm does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining an indication message; wherein the indication message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed; wherein the indication message is a short message, a first bit or a second bit in the short message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed, wherein the first bit refers to at least one used bit in the short message, and the second bit refers to at least one bit in the short message that has not been used; or the indication message is downlink control information scrambled with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and the first RNTI refers to an RNTI different from a defined RNTI; wherein a terminal to which the first RNTI is applicable comprises at least one of following: a terminal in support of a multicast broadcast service; a terminal interested in a multicast broadcast service; or all terminals.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein obtaining an indication message; wherein the indication message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed; wherein the indication message is a short message, a first bit or a second bit in the short message is used to indicate whether the assistance information has changed, wherein the first bit refers to at least one used bit in the short message, and the second bit refers to at least one bit in the short message that has not been used; or the indication message is downlink control information scrambled with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and the first RNTI refers to an RNTI different from a defined RNTI; wherein a terminal to which the first RNTI is applicable comprises at least one of following: a terminal in support of a multicast broadcast service; a terminal interested in a multicast broadcast service; or all terminals (see, Park: para. [0151], “When the network changes (some of) the MCCH information, it may notify UEs about the change during a first modification period. In a next modification period, a network may transmit updated MCCH information. Upon receiving a change notification, a UE interested to receive MBMS services may acquire new MCCH information from the start of a next modification period. The UE may apply previously acquired MCCH information until the UE acquires the new MCCH information.”; para. [0152], “indication of an MBMS specific RNTI, the M-RNTI, on PDCCH may be used to inform UEs in RRC IDLE and UEs in RRC CONNECTED about an MCCH information change. When receiving an MCCH information change notification, a UE may know that the MCCH information will change at the next modification period boundary. A notification on PDCCH may indicate which of MCCHs will change, which may be done by means of an 8-bit bitmap. Within this bitmap, the bit at the position indicated by the field notificationIndicator may be used to indicate changes for that MBSFN area: if the bit is set to “1”, the corresponding MCCH may change. An MCCH information change notification may be used to inform the UE about a change of MCCH information upon session start or about the start of MBMS counting.”; para. [0153], “MCCH information change notifications on PDCCH may be transmitted periodically and/or may be carried on MBSFN subframes only. These MCCH information change notification occasions may be common for all MCCHs that may be configured, and/or configurable by parameters included in SystemInformationBlockType13: a repetition coefficient, a radio frame offset and a subframe index. These common notification occasions may be based on MCCH with the shortest modification period.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in view of Qualcomm in combination of the teachings of Park in order for the UE to acquire MBMS common control information change notification (e.g., using MCCH) to acquire changed MBMS control information (see, Park: para. [0151-0159]).
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed towards the information transmission method according to claim 10 that is further limited to perform the similar features of claim 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedén in view of Qualcomm further in view of Amerga et al. (US 2013/0258934 A1, hereinafter Amerga).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén in view of Qualcomm does not explicitly teach wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information further comprises: setting, according to a priority relationship between a frequency providing a multicast broadcast service and another frequency, a priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service and/or the another priority; wherein the another frequency refers to a frequency that does not provide a multicast broadcast service.
In the same field of endeavor, Amerga teaches wherein the determining the priority of the cell reselection frequency based on the assistance information comprises: setting, according to a priority relationship between a frequency providing a multicast broadcast service and another frequency, a priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service and/or the another priority; wherein the another frequency refers to a frequency that does not provide a multicast broadcast service (see, Amerga: para. [0007], “The apparatus includes receiving a user service description (USD) message, the USD message indicating a frequency of a multicast service of interest to the UE, when the frequency indicated in the USD message is not a current frequency, the apparatus determining that a system information message is received, determining that the frequency indicated in the USD message is included in the system information message when the system information message is received, determining that the frequency is a neighboring cell frequency, setting a priority of the neighboring cell frequency to a highest priority,”; para. [0009], “the apparatus includes receiving a user service description (USD) message, the USD message including at least one frequency of a multicast service of interest to the UE, performing a search for other frequencies when the at least one frequency included in the USD message is not a current frequency, the search for other frequencies comprising: determining that a system information message is received, determining frequencies commonly included in the USD message and the system information message when the system information is received, determining that the common frequencies are neighboring cell frequencies, for an i-th common frequency, i=1 to N, wherein N is a total number of common frequencies, and until the multicast service is acquired successfully, the search for other frequencies further comprising: setting a priority of the i-th common frequency to a highest priority”; Also, see: Abstract and para. [0008] [0010] [0080]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in view of Qualcomm in combination of the teachings of Amerga in order for the UE to set a priority of the neighboring cell frequency to a highest priority, measuring a signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency when the frequency is included in the system information message, perform a cell reselection determination procedure based on the signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency, perform cell reselection to the neighboring cell based on a result of the cell reselection determination procedure, and acquire the multicast service in the neighboring cell on the neighboring cell frequency (see, Amerga: para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 9:
As discussed above, Hedén in view of Qualcomm teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Hedén does not explicitly teach wherein the setting, according to the transmission manner in the multicast broadcast service, the priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service comprises at least one of following: setting a priority of a first frequency in support of providing a multicast service to the highest priority; setting a priority of a second frequency in support of providing a broadcast or multicast reception mode to the highest priority; setting a priority of a third frequency in support of providing a unicast service to a lowest priority; setting a priority of a fourth frequency in support of providing a connected-mode reception mode to the lowest priority; setting a priority of a fifth frequency in support of providing a mode of waiting for a trigger to the lowest priority; or setting a sequence of priority; wherein the sequence of priority is a priority sequence obtained after at least one of the first frequency, the second frequency, the third frequency, the fourth frequency, or the fifth frequency is arranged; and/or the priority relationship is determined by the terminal; or the priority relationship is determined according to a predefined rule.
In the same field of endeavor, Amerga teaches wherein the setting, according to the transmission manner (e.g., a frequency-based service or a cell-based service) in the multicast broadcast service, the priority of the frequency providing the multicast broadcast service (see, Amerga: para. [0074], “the USD may indicate a frequency corresponding to an eMBMS service of interest to the UE, wherein the frequency is different from a serving frequency. The method includes determining if the frequency indicated in the USD is also included in a received SIB5, wherein SIB5 indicates neighbor frequencies. When the frequency is included in the USD and SIB5, then the frequency may be a neighbor frequency, and the UE prepares for cell reselection to the neighbor frequency.” Accordingly, the USD indicates a transmission manner of multicast broadcast service (e.g., via which frequency or via which cell) because the cell reselection is performed based on whether a cell provides MBMS service or not.) comprises at least one of following: setting a priority of a first frequency in support of providing a multicast service to the highest priority; setting a priority of a second frequency in support of providing a broadcast or multicast reception mode to the highest priority; setting a priority of a third frequency in support of providing a unicast service to a lowest priority; setting a priority of a fourth frequency in support of providing a connected-mode reception mode to the lowest priority; setting a priority of a fifth frequency in support of providing a mode of waiting for a trigger to the lowest priority; or setting a sequence of priority; wherein the sequence of priority is a priority sequence obtained after at least one of the first frequency, the second frequency, the third frequency, the fourth frequency, or the fifth frequency is arranged; and/or the priority relationship is determined by the terminal; or the priority relationship is determined according to a predefined rule (see, Amerga: para. [0009], “the apparatus includes receiving a user service description (USD) message, the USD message including at least one frequency of a multicast service of interest to the UE, performing a search for other frequencies when the at least one frequency included in the USD message is not a current frequency, the search for other frequencies comprising: determining that a system information message is received, determining frequencies commonly included in the USD message and the system information message when the system information is received, determining that the common frequencies are neighboring cell frequencies, for an i-th common frequency, i=1 to N, wherein N is a total number of common frequencies, and until the multicast service is acquired successfully, the search for other frequencies further comprising: setting a priority of the i-th common frequency to a highest priority”, wherein the common frequencies that support multicast service are set as the highest priority. Also, see: Abstract and para. [0007] [0008] [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hedén in view of Qualcomm in combination of the teachings of Amerga in order for the UE to set a priority of the neighboring cell frequency to a highest priority, measuring a signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency when the frequency is included in the system information message, perform a cell reselection determination procedure based on the signal strength of the neighboring cell frequency, perform cell reselection to the neighboring cell based on a result of the cell reselection determination procedure, and acquire the multicast service in the neighboring cell on the neighboring cell frequency (see, Amerga: para. [0007]).
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471