DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-18 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 24, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed February 6, 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the citations are improper. 37 CFR 1.98 (b) (5) requires, “Each publication listed in an information disclosure statement must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date, and place of publication.” In this case, none of the citations of the non-patent literature documents have titles. Note the instruction of non-patent literature documents in the form PTO-1449, APA (American Psychological Association) style, the Chicago Manual of Styles, etc.
It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moreira (“Development of aptamer nanoparticles for treatment of retinal diseases, Master’s thesis, Universiade de Beira Interior, November 2022) as evidenced by Loftsson et al. (US 20220354869 A1, published on November 10, 2022) (“Loftsson” hereunder).
Moreira discloses liposomes conjugated with aptamer AT11-Lo and comprising antiangiogenic drug for treating retinal vascular diseases. The reference teaches that the liposomes have a size of about 160 nm and are the most promising nanoparticles to use in retinal vascular diseases. See p. 37 and 67; the present claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, Moreira teaches that liposomes were made using the thin film hydration method using PG, which is viewed the phosphatidyl-glycerols of the present claim. See p. 37, 3.2.2.2. Synthesis of Liposomes functionalized with AT11-lo and ligands. Cholesterol and DSPE-PEG (distearoylphosphatidylethanolamine) are also used.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Moreira teaches the aptamer with an amino modification in a DNA: liposome mass ratio of 1:10 to functionalize the liposomes with the aptamer.
Regarding claim 8, Moreira teaches that the aptamer conjugated liposomes are used to target retinal diseases rather than cancerous diseases.
Regarding claims 9-11, dexamethasone, a steroidal anti-inflammatory agent, is commonly used in treating inflammation and pain following cataract surgery. See Loftsson, [0207, 0264].
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the reference teaches that 0.1 mg of dexamethasone for each g of lipids is used, which is equivalent to 0.01 % based on the weight of the lipid used in the liposome.
Regarding claims 14 and 16 Moreira teaches that the solutions used in the lab were prepared with ultrapure-grade water, which meets a pharmaceutically or physiological acceptable carrier and/or excipient. See p. 32, 3.1 Materials and Reagents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreira as applied to claims 1-4, 7-14 and 16, and further in view of the same reference.
Although Moreira fails to specifically disclose the form of the compositions listed in the present claim 15, the reference specifically teaches that developing intravitreal nanosystems for the targeting of nucleolin in retinal diseases. See p. 29, 2. Aims of Work. As intravitreal injections are used in managing neovascular diseases, see p. 6-7, bridging paragraph, and the reference suggests for a further clinical/pharmaceutical development of the aptamer functionalized liposome, it would have been obvious of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention and make a clinical intravitreal pharmaceutical product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20030109509 A1 discloses methods of treating dry eye by administering combinations of MUC-1 secretagogues, such as HETE derivatives, and anti-inflammatory steroids.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617