DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi et al. (English machine translation of JP 2014005419 A) in view of Kurachi et al. (English machine translation of JP H06333764 A).
Nishiguchi et al. teaches a heat pipe comprising a sealed pipe (hermetic container) connected to an evaporation section and a condensation section, wherein a working medium (refrigerant) is sealed/enclosed in the heat pipe ([0016]-[0017]). Nishiguchi et al. teaches the working medium is 1,1,2,3,3,3-hexafluoropropyl methyl ether ([0029]-[0030], [0075]-[0076], and [0101]). As Nishiguchi et al. does not require any other fluorine-based insulation refrigerant to be present, Nishiguchi et al. is deemed to read on the transitional phrase “consisting of.”
Nishiguchi et al. does not teach the heat pipe made of copper of comprising a wick. However, Kurachi et al. teaches that heat pipes are well known to be made of copper and comprise a wick ([0015]). Nishiguchi et al. and Kurachi et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely heat pipes. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the copper and the wick of Kurachi et al. in the heat pipe of Nishiguchi et al. and would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Kurachi et al. teaches that the copper provides excellent heat conductivity and the wick helps to transport working fluid from one end of the pipe to the other by capillary action ([0015]).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) render obvious all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the working fluid heat resistance, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art renders obvious the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the newly added limitations in the amendment filed June 10, 2026 have been sufficiently addressed in the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Applicant argues that Nishiguchi et al. does not disclose or suggest the excellent properties identified by the specification could be achieved by using HFE-356 mec. However, the data presented in the specification does not compare the claimed invention to that of the closet prior art, Nishiguchi et al. (MPEP 716.02(e)). It is noted that Nishiguchi et al. already discloses a heat pipe comprising 1,1,2,3,3,3-hexafluoropropyl methyl ether as set forth above. Therefore, it is not clear what difference between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art is responsible for the properties cited by Applicant.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 July 21, 2026