DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is made Final in response to applicant’s Amendments / Request for Reconsideration filed 4/30/26. Claims 16 and 19 are withdrawn; claims 1, 8-9, 15 and 18 are amended; claims 1-15, 17-18 and 20 are examined below. Applicant should ensure future claim sets properly identified claims 16 and 19 as withdrawn. See applicant’s Response to Restriction Remarks dated 12/8/25.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the main” is a typographical error that that should be amended to “the main body”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“the second surface engages a side surface of the component receptacle that extends from the first surface to the lateral edge of the main body” (claims 1 and 15)
“a side surface that extends substantially perpendicular from the inner surface to the lateral edge of the main body” (claim 8)
“the second surface engages the side surface of the component receptacle that extends from the first surface to the lateral edge of the main body” (claim 8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The following claim elements in claims 1, 8 and 15 constitute new matter:
“the second surface engages a side surface of the component receptacle that extends from the first surface to the lateral edge of the main body” (claims 1 and 15)
“a side surface that extends substantially perpendicular from the inner surface to the lateral edge of the main body” (claim 8)
“the second surface engages the side surface of the component receptacle that extends from the first surface to the lateral edge of the main body” (claim 8)
Applicant points to paragraph [0062] of the specification as providing support, however, there is no paragraph [0062]. Applicant also appears to rely on Fig. 1A as providing the supporting basis for these elements. In reviewing Fig. 1A, the drawings do not teach the claimed “side surface” that “extends from the first surface to the lateral edge” as claimed. The drawings are not detailed enough to provide the claimed side surface that extends from the first surface to the lateral edge of the main body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “ Obvious to try ” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
6. Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US Pub. No. 2022/0088449) in view of Heiman (US Pat. No. 4,685,675).
With respect to claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, 17-18 and 20, Marshall teaches a weight adjustable pickleball paddle system 10 comprising: a main body including opposing playable faces 14, 16; a handle 28 attached to the main body; a component receptacle 32 located in a lateral edge 18 of the main body and between the playable faces 14, 16; and a weighted component 30 dimensioned to be accommodated within the component receptacle 32, wherein the component receptacle 32 has a cavity shaped to secure the weighted component 30 therein unless manually manipulated for removal from the cavity (“releasably receive and retain” – paragraph [0025]; See also paragraph [0026]), wherein the component receptacle 32 has a threaded cavity to receive the weighted component 30 threadingly (paragraph [0026]); wherein the component receptacle secures the weighted component via a surface frictional fit (paragraph [0026]); wherein: the weighted component 30 is a first weighted component among a plurality of weighted components equal in size to the first weighted component (i.e. the different weight is provided by using different materials – paragraph [0025]), and the weighted components 30 of the plurality of weighted components are groupable by different weight amounts (“the inserts 30 may be provided in sets of different weights to be interchangeably used as needed” – paragraph [0025]); wherein the component receptacle 32 is a first component receptacle, and wherein the paddle further comprises a second receptacle 32 located symmetrically opposite the first component receptacle (Fig. 3); wherein the component receptacle 32 is a first component receptacle, and wherein the paddle further comprises a second component 32 receptacle located in a grouping with the first component receptacle 32 (Fig. 3); wherein: the component receptacle 32 is a first component receptacle in a first group of component receptacles 32, and the paddle further comprises a second component receptacle in a second group of component receptacles 32 (Fig. 3); wherein: the first group of component receptacles 32 is located on a first lateral side of the main body, and the second group of component receptacles is located on a second lateral side of the main body, symmetrically oppositely disposed from the first group of component receptacles (Fig. 3), wherein: the component receptacles in the first group of component receptacles are evenly spaced along a first lateral side of the main body, and the component receptacles in the second group of component receptacles are evenly spaced along a second lateral side of the main body (Fig. 3).
Marshall teaches wherein the weighted component 30 includes: a first surface (of elongate body portion) that extends in a first direction, and a second surface (of the head portion) that intersects the first surface such that the second surface extends in a second direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the weighted component is dimensioned to be accommodated within the component receptacle, such that: the first surface engages an inner surface of the component receptacle (Fig.’s 1-4). Marshall does not expressly teach wherein the second surface engages a side surface of the component receptacle that extends from the first surface, substantially perpendicular, to the lateral edge of the main body. However, analogous art reference Heiman teaches this feature to be known in the art – (Fig.’s 2, 7-8; column 1; teaching weight 2a head portion to be countersunk into side surface of the component receptacle that extends substantially perpendicular from the first surface to the lateral edge of the hitting frame. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a weight component and receptacle arrangement as taught by Heiman within the paddle of Marshall. The rationale to combine is to utilize a known weighting arrangement that produces a frame with the weight flush therein. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as Marshall expressly contemplates a countersunk arrangement of the weight – paragraph [0026].
Per MPEP 2114 - a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). If a prior art structure is inherently capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it shifts the burden to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Here, the structure of Marshall as modified by Heiman is capable of being used as intended by the claims.
With respect to claim 4, Marshall teaches wherein the weighted component 30 includes: a head portion, and a body portion that extends from the head portion, a protrusion (i.e. threads – Fig.’s 3-4) extending laterally from the body portion, the component receptacle 32 has a cavity shaped to receive the body portion with the protrusion on the weighted component, and the weighted component is secured to the component receptacle via a rotational twist at the head portion (Fig.’s 1-3; paragraph [0026]; See also MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber).
7. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US Pub. No. 2022/0088449) in view of in view of Heiman (US Pat. No. 4,685,675) and further in view of Roake (US Pub. No. 2006/0030420).
With respect to claim 6, Marshall teaches wherein the weighted component 30 includes: a head portion, and a body portion that extends from the head portion (Fig.’s 1-3). Marshall fails to expressly teach an internal hollow space within the body portion. However, Roake, directed to the analogous art of adjustable weighting, teaches that it is known to provide an internal hollow space 104 within a body portion of a weighted component 96’ (Fig. 14). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine this feature into Marshall. The rationale to combine is set forth in Roake – modify the weight of the weight component without having to modify the size of the weight (paragraph [0028]). The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the primary purpose of Marshall is not frustrated by the combination.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711