Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/307513, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 are sufficiently broad so as to encompass method of amplification that do not rely on LAMP isothermal amplification, whereas the provisional application only teaches LAMP isothermal amplification using primers comprising SEQ ID NO: 2-7. The broader scope in the instant claims is not disclosed in the provisional and so the effective filing date for these claims is the actual filing date of this application, namely 2/6/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3, 4-5, 9, 11, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is not clear if an amplification product is required to be produced or not. The contacting step states that the primer pair hybridizes to SEQ ID NO: 1 “if present in the nucleic acid of the biological sample” and “if at least one amplification product is present” which clearly encompasses embodiments where no amplification product is present. However, the “thereby” clause in the contacting step states “generating…mixture comprising one or more amplification products,” which appears to require the products be present, which conflicts with the “if” statements in other portions of the claim.
Claim 16 is indefinite because it is unclear what makes PCR conventional. As neither the conditions of the claimed amplification nor those of the “conventional PCR” are set forth it impossible to know the metes and bounds of the claim since the sensitivity of a method can vary depending on how the sample is prepared, the primers selected and the rection conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mallat (JOURNAL OF CLINICAL MICROBIOLOGY, Aug. 2004, p. 3886–3887).
The reference teaches contacting nucleic acid obtained from a biological sample with at least one polynucleotide primer pair under amplification conditions, thereby generating an amplified nucleic acid mixture and analyzing the products, wherein under amplification conditions, the at least one primer pair hybridizes to SEQ ID NO: 1 , or to a subsequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a complement of a subsequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, if present in the nucleic acid of the biological sample, thereby generating an amplified nucleic acid mixture comprising one or more amplification products and analyzing the amplified mixture under conditions wherein if at least one amplification product is present then T. tenax is determined to be present in the biological sample.
Namely, the reference teaches PCR amplification and then sequencing of a biological sample from a patient. The reference teaches that “the sequence of the amplified 368-bp fragment …exhibited 100% homology to Trichomonas tenax.” The reference does not teach detecting any other organism in the patient sample, therefore, the method meets the limitation “no nucleic acid of microbes/pathogens selected from one or more of T. vaginilas, S.pyogenes, S. aureus, E. coli, E. faecalis, and C. albicans is detected.” In the assay of the patient biological sample, none of these were detected.
The reference teaches that forward primer was identical to 1-20 of SEQ ID NO: 1, and the reverse primer was the complement of nucleotide 349-368 of SEQ ID NO: 1. The amplicon amplified a portion of T. tenax when the T. tenax was in the sample, and this was confirmed by sequencing the amplicon (p. 3886, Col. 2).
With regard to the limitation that the set of primers “comprises” LAMP primers, it is noted that the claim does not require that a complete set of LAMP primers or any required number of LAMP primer pairs is present, and so since any primer pair could be used as a LAMP primer when combined with appropriate FIP and BIP primers, the primer pair taught in the reference is construed as a LAMP primer pair. Since multiple copies of the primers are present, the method comprises a set of at least two primer pairs, albeit each primer pair is of the same sequence; Claim 4 does not require otherwise.
Regarding claim 15, the primers do not share identity with E. coli and if E. coli were present, it would not be expected to be amplified.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9, and 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duboucher et al. (JOURNAL OF CLINICAL MICROBIOLOGY, Mar 2006, p. 1165-1168).
The reference teaches contacting nucleic acid obtained from a biological sample with at least one polynucleotide primer pair under amplification conditions, thereby generating an amplified nucleic acid mixture and analyzing the products, wherein under amplification conditions, the at least one primer pair hybridizes to SEQ ID NO: 1 , or to a subsequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a complement of a subsequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, if present in the nucleic acid of the biological sample. Further, the reference teaches analyzing the amplified mixture.
Attention is drawn to the “negative control” which is a BAL sample without trichomonads (p. 1165). In this assay, no amplification product was detected. Therefore, the “if at least one amplification product is present” is a negative result- no amplification product is present, and therefore T. tenax does not have to be present in the sample. Further, there is no reported detection of nucleic acid from any of the additional recited species in the claim. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
The reference teaches a nested PCR amplification wherein two different primer sets which hybridize to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 were utilized to attempt to amplify a target from the sample, which was then sequenced. The outer forward primer was identical to 1-20 of SEQ ID NO: 1, and the outer reverse primer was the complement of nucleotide 349-368 of SEQ ID NO: 1. See p. 1166 and Figure 2. The sample was a bronchoalveolar lavage specimen from a human that does not contain trichomonads (p. 1165, Col. 2).
With regard to the limitation that the set of primers “comprises” LAMP primers, it is noted that the claim does not require that a complete set of LAMP primers or any required number of LAMP primer pairs is present, and so since any primer pair could be used as a LAMP primer when combined with appropriate FIP and BIP primers, the primer pairs taught in the reference are construed as a LAMP primer pairs.
Regarding claim 15, the primers do not share identity with E. coli and if E. coli were present, it would not be expected to be amplified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallat (JOURNAL OF CLINICAL MICROBIOLOGY, Aug. 2004, p. 3886–3887) in view of Reyes et al. (Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease 79 (2014) 337–341) and Duboucher (JOURNAL OF CLINICAL MICROBIOLOGY, Mar. 2006, p. 1165–1168).
Mallet teaches that Trichomonas tenax caused a pulmonary infection in a 58-year old man (title). The reference teaches that amplification of the 5.8S rRNA sequence followed by sequencing is a way to identify species of Trichomonas in a sample (p. 5886, 2nd column). The 5.8S rRNA sequences present the advantages of being present in multiple copies in the genome and of being conserved in certain regions and variable in others, even between very closely related species (p. 3887). The additional teachings Mallet are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Mallet does not teach detection T. tenax using LAMP isothermal amplification, or a complete set of LAMP primers.
Reyes teaches using LAMP for the detection of Trichomonas vaginalis. The reference teaches that LAMP primers were designed using commercially available software, namely LAMP Designer version 1.02 (section 2.4). The reference teaches that the LAMP method demonstrated advantages over conventional PCR, including high efficiency, use of simple equipment, and its fast, ideal for rapid point-of-care tests. The DNA polymerase can tolerate PCR inhibitors found in many samples, and thus, only simple sample preparation is needed for amplification. The method is a rapid and cost-effective tool for detecting targets (section 4). Furthermore, Reyes teaches that the LAMP assay was 10-1000 times more sensitive than the conventional PCR performed.
Furthermore, the complete sequence of the target amplified by Mallet was known and had been aligned with closely related species. See Duboucher et al., Figure 2, noting that the outer primers taught by the reference are identical to the primers taught by Mallet, and that the sequence given for T. tenax in Figure 2 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method for detection taught by Mallet so as to have selected LAMP primers and carried out a LAMP amplification for the detection of T tenax from the sequence disclosed by Duboucher. One would have been motivated to do so (1) because Mallet teaches that the region is good for detection of T. tenax since it is 5.8S rRNA sequences present the advantages of being present in multiple copies in the genome and of being conserved in certain regions and variable in others, even between very closely related species, (2) Reyes teaches multiple advantages of using LAMP, including a much higher sensitivity than conventional PCR, (3) Duboucher provided the full length sequence of the 5.8S rRNA sequence for T. tenax and (4) Reyes teaches that there were commercially available primer selection tools for designing LAMP primers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have selected primers from within the known 5.8S rRNA gene for the specific detection of T. tenax.
Furthermore, regarding claims 5 and 8, which require SEQ ID NO: 2-7, each of these primers are identical to portions of or the complement of to the very short sequence taught in Figure 2 of Duboucher. The combined teachings of the cited references would have suggested a finite number of possible PCR primer pairs that could be designed from the known amplicon taught by Mallet to the ordinary artisan, and, based on the teachings of Reyes, the ordinary artisan would have expected predictable results in obtaining and using these oligonucleotides in a LAMP amplification reaction for the sensitive and specific detection of T. tenax. Thus, absent any evidence of unexpected results with respect to particular primers the method of claims 5 and 8 would have been prima facie obvious before the instant filing date in view of the combined teachings of the cited references.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallet in view of Reyes and Duboucher, as applied to claims 1, 3-10, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. International Journal of Infectious Diseases 107 (2021) 145–152.
The teachings of Mallet in view of Reyes and Duboucher as they relate to claims 1, 4, and 6 are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Reyes teaches the LAMP reaction was incubated at 60°C for 30-45minutes, with a MgSO4 concentration of 8mmol/L.
Mallet in view of Reyes and Duboucher does not teach the conditions recited in claims 11 and 12.
However, these were well known to be optimizable variables of a LAMP reaction. For example, Jiang taught optimization of a LAMP assay by testing performance at different reagent concentrations, including MgSO4, reaction times, and incubation temperatures (p. 148). The optimized LAMP assay taught by Jiang ran at 6mM MgSO4, at 65°C for 60 minutes.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentabilty of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Here the prior art recognized time, temperature and reagent concentrations as variables which achieve a result of supporting LAMP amplification, and thus, it would have been obvious to determine optimum or workable ranges for a LAMP assay for the detection of T. tenax. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed combination of variables because the prior art demonstrates that these values are with ranges routinely tested for the development of LAMP assays.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallet, as applied to claims 1, 3-10, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Dybicz et al. (Cited in IDS 9/19/23).
The teachings of Mallet in view of Reyes and Duboucher as they relate to claims 1, 4, and 6 are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Mallet in view of Reyes and Duboucher does not teach detecting T. tenax in one of the samples listed in claims 13 and 14.
Dybicz teaches that T. tenax is present in the human oral cavity and teaches obtaining oral washes (which include saliva) for the detection of T. tenax in samples by PCR.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method taught by Mallet so as to have detected T. tenax in oral washing samples in order to provide an alternative method for detecting T. tenax in patients, particularly as a way to survey the oral health of patients.
Response to Remarks Any rejection which is not specifically addressed or reiterated is withdrawn in view of amendment to the claims.
The declaration filed with the response has been considered and is persuasive to overcome the 102 rejection over Matthew et al.
Applicant argues that claim 16 is definite because it is clear that LAMP is compared to “conventional PCR.” However, there is no meaning or definition for what makes a PCR “conventional” so the basis for the comparison remains unclear.
The rejection over Mallat is updated. Applicant argues that “Mallat does not disclose amplifying nucleic acid from a biological sample under conditions wherein T. tenax is detected if present in the biological sample and no nucleic acid of microbes/pathogens selected from one or more of T. vaginalis, S. pyogenes, S. aureus, E. coli, E. faecalis, and C. albicans is detected.” Mallat teaches amplification and does not report detection of any of these in the patient sample (i.e. the bronchoalveolar fluid assayed to identify the species), therefore no nucleic acid of any of these is detected in the sample from the patient. This meets the claim limitations. Applicant points out that in addition to the patient sample, Mallat also amplified nucleic acids from a vaginal sample. This is a different embodiment than the one applied against the claims. The claims do not exclude the amplification that Mallat conducted on the patient sample which meets all claim limitations.
Applicant argues that Duboucher does not disclose any method that specifically detects T. tenax, and this is a feature that is not required by the claims in the instance where no amplification product is observed, as in the negative control assay taught by the reference.
Regarding obviousness, the response points out that Mallat teaches detecting T. tenax in the respiratory tract where it is the predominant Trichomonad species. Nonetheless, Mallat specifically states that they carried out the amplification and sequencing “in order to identify the species of Trichomonas” which is a clear suggestion that a method to identify the species present in a sample is desirable (See p. 3886, 2nd column, first full ¶). Furthermore, Duboucher evidences that other species of Trichomonas are sometimes present in respiratory tract samples.
Applicant argues that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in Mallat to adapt its methods to specifically detect T. tenax without detecting other coexisting microbes and pathogens. Again, this is a feature not claimed. There is no requirement in the claim for the other mentioned pathogens to be coexisting, and most claims are generic to any “biological” sample.
Applicant argues that Reyes does not provide guidance how to develop a LAMP assay for T. tenax but Reyes does specifically teach how to develop such an assay for a closely related target, as discussed in the rejection. The fact that Reyes does not provide guidance for T. tenax is a piecemeal analysis. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Juliet Switzer
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1682
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682