DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 12, “the interior of the main compression coil spring” should read “an interior of the main compression coil spring”.
Claim 15, line 12, “the interior of the main compression coil spring” should read “an interior of the main compression coil spring”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the circuitry for data transmission” in line 17. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “a circuitry for data communication” of claim 10 line 16 or a different circuitry. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “the circuitry for data transmission” refers to the same ones of “a circuitry for data communication” found in claim 10 line 16.
Claims 11-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US20170294144A1; hereinafter Kwon) in view of Pastrick et al. (US 20150125840 A1; hereinafter Pastrick) in view of Utermoehlen et al. (US10386205 B2; hereinafter Utermoehlen).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Kwon discloses a manikin (manikin 20; Fig 1), the manikin comprising: a lower torso surface (cage frame 220; Fig 2) and an upper torso surface (216 manikin skin; Fig 2), the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface being joined to define a torso-shaped compartment (torso assembly 204; Fig 2), the torso-shaped compartment defining an interior portion (there is an interior in Fig 2) and a sternum axis (sternum in ¶141 and the axis is an invisible line as mentioned in the spec); a chest compression unit disposed internally to the interior portion (spring or compression damper; ¶141); the chest compression plate residing under an interior surface of the upper torso surface (pressing plates 142; ¶178) and being compressible against the main compression coil spring to simulate compressions of a human chest (being compressible against the force sensors 42 in ¶178; replace sensors with coil); the electrical circuit including a printed circuit board (PCB; ¶160) having a CPU (PCB is connected to compression pad in ¶160 that has a processor in ¶144) and a circuitry for data communication (¶144); and an electronic device connected to the circuitry for data transmission (external device; ¶145), the electronic device having a display screen (display screen shown in external device 30; Fig 4). Kwon does not explicitly disclose the chest compression unit comprising a main compression coil spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate, the main compression coil spring having a spring axis oriented generally orthogonal to and intersecting the sternum axis; at least one electrically conductive measuring spring disposed in the interior of the main compression coil spring, the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring being connected in an electrical circuit configured to measure a change in inductance with a corresponding change in a length of the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring.
However, Pastrick teaches the chest compression unit comprising a main compression coil spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (chest compression 70 shows a coil spring), the main compression coil spring having a spring axis oriented generally orthogonal to and intersecting the sternum axis (Fig 5-6 show the coil spring having its axis perpendicular to the imaginary sternum axis).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick because coil spring is a type of spring and Kwon mentioned in ¶141 that a spring can be used to provide compressions.
Utermoehlen teaches at least one electrically conductive measuring spring disposed in the interior of the main compression coil spring (spring 10 inside a tube 3; Fig 1), the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring being connected in an electrical circuit configured to measure a change in inductance with a corresponding change in a length of the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring (col 4 lines 7-15).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Utermoehlen because with a measuring spring you can measure the depth and quality of the chest compressions which allows you to have improved feedback for successful CPR training.
Regarding additional limitations of claim 10, Pastrick teaches a removable head portion joined to the torso-shaped compartment (stacked head assemblies in and stacked torso assemblies; Fig 17-18), the removable head portion including a front head portion pivotally joined to a rear head portion (head can detach the back side; ¶8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick to implement better hygiene and maintenance because it allows for better cleaning and replacement of contaminated parts.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Kwon discloses wherein the electronic device is directly connected to the circuitry for data communication by a wiring cable (external computing device 30 connected via a wire; ¶216).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Kwon discloses wherein the electronic device is indirectly connected to the circuitry for data communication (external computing device 30 connected via wireless connections; ¶216).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Kwon discloses wherein the electronic device is programmable (inherent, a smartphone or a smart tablet is built to be programmed).
Regarding claims 6, Pastrick teaches wherein the chest compression plate has a size and shape that mimics a human rib cage (central plate 50; Fig 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick to implement a chest compression plate that mimics a human rib cage to make the model more realistic.
Regarding claims 7, Pastrick teaches wherein a plurality of LED lights are mounted on a sternum PCBA joined to the chest compression plate (LEDs mounted on the torso; ¶54).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick to implement a visual indicator to provide feedback to the user in regards to the compressions performed.
Regarding claims 9, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of LED lights are powered by a battery source, the battery source being disposed in the interior portion. However, examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that such construction is a well-known design for powering LEDs.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teaching of Pastrick because powering LEDs with battery power is a widespread and efficient solution for a vast range of LED-based products.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON in view of Pastrick in view of Utermoehlen in view of CARON et al. (US 20160210883 A1; hereinafter Caron).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Kwon discloses an electronic device in the form of a mobile tablet computer and is indirectly connected to the circuitry for data communication via wireless communication (¶216). But does not explicitly disclose the electronic device to be a smartphone.
However, Caron teaches the use of a smartphone for wireless communication (¶31).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Caron because both a smartphone and a mobile computer have wireless communication capabilities that can fulfill the limitations of data communication via wireless communication. Furthermore, a smartphone is a type of mobile computer and there is no mention of any additional benefits for the use of a smartphone over the use of a computer in the specification of the present invention.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON in view of Pastrick in view of Utermoehlen in view of Cook et al. (US 20100291522 A1; hereinafter Cook).
Regarding claims 8, KWON does not disclose does not teach wherein the upper torso surface is translucent in a region corresponding to a placement of the plurality of LED lights.
However, Cook teaches the upper torso surface is translucent in a region corresponding to a placement of the plurality of LED lights (skin translucent or transparent to make lights visible; ¶47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teaching of Cook because a translucent torso will allow signals, such as LEDs, to be visible by the user and provide the correct feedback. For example, red color of LEDs can provide visual feedback for improper CPR compressions, while green color of LEDs can provide visual feedback for proper CPR compressions.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Pastrick in view of Utermoehlen in view of Eggert et al. (US 20080138779 A1; hereinafter Eggert) in view of Richard et al. (WO0137243A2; hereinafter Richard).
Regarding claim 15, the same features are recited by claim 1 and 10. For additional limitations, Kwon discloses the chest compression plate including a plate opening (pressing plate 142 with openings); the front head portion defining an open mouth member (Mouth in Fig 2); an airflow sensor (air pressure sensor 16; ¶143) in fluid communication with the plate opening (in communication with plate that has openings in Fig 3); and a lung bag (connected to lung bag 214; ¶143) joined to the open mouth member (Fig 3) and being partially disposed in the recessed channel (lung bag passing through neck to the head; ¶50), there being a path for fluid communication from the open mouth member to the airflow sensor (¶152). Kwon does not explicitly disclose a removable head portion joined to the torso-shaped compartment, the removable head portion including a front head portion pivotally joined to a rear head portion; the rear head portion being a molded polymer member and defining a recessed channel; the lung bag having a bladder defining a bladder opening, the bladder opening being joined to the chest compression plate at the plate opening.
However, Pastrick teaches a removable head portion joined to the torso-shaped compartment (stacked head assemblies in and stacked torso assemblies; Fig 17-18), the removable head portion including a front head portion pivotally joined to a rear head portion (head can detach the back side; ¶8); defining a recessed channel (shown below in Fig 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick to implement a removable head for better hygiene and maintenance because it allows for better cleaning and replacement of contaminated parts.
Richard teaches the rear head portion being a molded polymer member (polypropylene is a polymer; page 10 lines 14-18).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Richard because polymers are highly resistant to breakage, wear, and tear, making them ideal for parts of a manikin that will be used over a long period of time. Furthermore, it is well known within the manufacturing industry that manikin heads are commonly, if not almost exclusively, produced as molded polymer member.
Eggert teaches the lung bag having a bladder defining a bladder opening, the bladder opening being joined to the chest compression plate at the plate opening (includes a bladder; ¶12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Eggert for the benefit of simulating a more realistic respiratory pattern.
Regarding claim 16, Pastrick teaches wherein the recessed channel includes a groove defining a pinch surface (shown below in Fig 6)
and the front head portion includes an air cut off blade positioned to engage the pinch surface (shown below in Fig 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick for the benefit simulating human airways for more realistic CPR scenarios.
Regarding claims 18, Pastrick teaches wherein the chest compression plate has a size and shape that mimics a human rib cage (central plate 50; Fig 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick to implement a chest compression plate that mimics a human rib cage to make the model more realistic.
Regarding claims 19, Pastrick teaches wherein a plurality of LED lights are mounted on a sternum PCBA joined to the chest compression plate (LEDs mounted on the torso; ¶54).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Pastrick to implement a visual indicator to provide feedback to the user in regards to the compressions performed.
Regarding claims 20, Kwon discloses further comprising an electronic device (a mobile computer in ¶217 as an electronic device) indirectly connected to the circuitry for data communication via wireless communication (¶216).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Pastrick in view of Utermoehlen in view of Eggert in view of Paddle Wheel Flow Sensor Animation (hereinafter Sensor).
Regarding claim 17, Sensor teaches wherein the airflow sensor includes a paddle wheel that rotates about a shaft and a plurality of apertures evenly distributed about an axis of the shaft (0:30-0:35).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwon to implement the teachings of Sensor to achieve accurate and reliable air flow measurements. In regards to rotating about a shaft and a plurality of apertures evenly distributed about an axis of the shaft, the paddle wheel is designed with multiple blades that create apertures evenly spaced around a central shaft for accurate measurement.
Conclusion
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715