DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 2, 3, 13 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-12, 14-17 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 6/9/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-12, 14, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitoshi et al (JP 2013139889 A; machine translation) in view of Watanabe et al (US 20140014037 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 4, 5,
Hitoshi teaches a method of electrode drying (Paragraph 0009) that comprises applying slurry comprising an active material and a solvent on a current collector (Paragraph 0017, Paragraph 0010). Hitoshi teaches that the drying device has a transport section 60 that transports the electrode foil (Paragraph 0014; Figure 10). Hitoshi also teaches a drying reference value that is used to control the heating unit and the air blowing unit (Paragraph 0011), so that desired drying conditions can be set while keeping track of the continuous drying state of the electrode layer. Hitoshi teaches the presence of multiple measuring means on the electrode drying device (Paragraph 0014) including a solvent concentration detection unit. When the solvent concentration is known (Paragraph 0032, 0054), then the solid concentration (content of solid) can also be calculated by (100%- solvent concentration%). Hence, Hitoshi teaches the measurement of content of solid on the electrode.
Furthermore, Hitoshi teaches an additional heating unit 90 that can be switched on in any of the drying zones 51 to 56 based on a drying reference value (Paragraph 0053). The heating unit or additional heating section comprises of electromagnetic induction heating (Paragraph 0072). The control unit 160 stores a dryness reference value defined by the trajectory of the amount of solvent evaporation with respect to time, and then automatically adjusts the heating unit 80, and the additional heating unit 90 so that the solvent evaporation amount M calculated from the measured dryness factor always falls within the range of the dryness reference value (Paragraph 0033, 0054).
Hitoshi teaches that the drying furnace is divided into a plurality of drying zones (Paragraph 0021). The claim states that there is a reference zone among the plurality of zones where the content of solid of the slurry reaches the reference value. The reference zone can be interpreted to be a region within the plurality of zones, and can also be the complete region covered by the plurality of zones as long as the content of solid of the slurry reaches the reference value within it. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation, Hitoshi has an additional heating section 90 disposed in the reference zone (Paragraph 0021), and not disposed in zones other than the reference zone. Furthermore, Hitoshi teaches that the additional heating section can be adjusted and controlled based on the dryness reference value (paragraph 0033). The heating unit or additional heating section comprises of electromagnetic induction heating (Paragraph 0072). Hence, Hitoshi teaches the presence of an induction heating unit in a reference zone where the degree of drying reaches a reference value, and the induction heating unit is not disposed in zones other than the reference zone.
An alternate consideration of the prior art also reads on the claimed limitation. Hitoshi teaches that the drying device has a transport section 60 that transports the electrode foil (Paragraph 0014; Figure 10). The drying apparatus can be considered to include reference zone, and zones other than reference zone as annotated in Figure 1 from Hitoshi below. The annotated Figure thus shows that the induction heating unit is disposed in a reference zone where the content of solid of the slurry reaches the reference value among a plurality of zones included in the drying apparatus, and the induction heating unit is not disposed in zones other than the reference zone.
Hitoshi does not teach that the reference value is in a range greater than 65% and less than 100%, or the reference value is in a range greater than 72.5% and less than 95%, or the reference value is in a range greater than 80% and less than 90%.
However, Watanabe teaches an electrode drying method and apparatus, that has a staged drying process as shown in Figure 2.
Watanabe discusses the use of an auxiliary heater (such as induction heater) present in the drying device and configured to be independently operated by the drying condition control devices (Paragraph 0049). The drying device uses a noncontact moisture meter in each drying zone (Paragraph 0012). The non contact moisture meter is capable of detecting moisture contained in the coating film (Paragraph 0012), and the content of solid can be calculated based on the moisture content measured. By satisfying the moisture content a, b, c, d ,e at each timing in Figure 2, it becomes possible to set a desired drying condition (Paragraph 0013). Furthermore, Watanabe teaches that by setting or controlling the drying condition based on the detection means, it becomes possible to always and assuredly maintain optimum drying condition for optimum drying (Paragraph 0011). In Figure 2, it is seen that the latter drying stage is initiated at a value ‘c’ of the moisture content. It would be obvious to optimize the value of c to include the range of 10-20% moisture. This translates to 80-90% solids content as stated in the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize drying conditions/degree of drying/solids or moisture % to include the claimed range. One would have been motivated to provide a reference value in order to optimize drying using hot air and induction heating methods. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 8,
Hitoshi teaches a conveying unit 60 that continuously conveys the long electrode foil in the drying furnace (Paragraph 0029), and each of the drying zones are provided with nozzles for supplying hot air around the electrode foil being transported (Paragraph 0020).
Regarding Claim 9,
Hitoshi teaches that the drying furnace is divided into a plurality of drying zones, and that each of the drying zones are provided with a heating unit (hot air) and additional heating section 90 (Paragraph 0021). Furthermore, Hitoshi teaches that the additional heating section can be adjusted and controlled based on the dryness reference value (paragraph 0033). The heating unit or additional heating section comprises of electromagnetic induction heating (Paragraph 0072). Hitoshi teaches that the solvent evaporation amount M increases as the amount of heat applied by the heating unit 80 and the additional heating unit 90 and the amount of air blown by the air blowing unit 70 increase (Paragraph 0033).
Regarding Claim 10,
Hitoshi teaches a slurry that comprises a solvent, electrode active material, conductive additive, and a binder (Paragraph 0017).
Regarding Claim 11,
Hitoshi teaches a drying apparatus that comprises of a drying chamber or furnace divided into a plurality of drying zones and conveyor transport section 60, and each of the drying zones are provided with a heating unit (hot air) and additional heating section 90 (Paragraph 0021). Furthermore, Hitoshi teaches that the additional heating section can be adjusted and controlled based on the dryness reference value (paragraph 0033). The heating unit or additional heating section comprises of electromagnetic induction heating (Paragraph 0072).
Hitoshi teaches that the drying reference value which is used to control the heating unit and the air blowing unit (Paragraph 0011), so that desired drying conditions can be set while keeping track of the continuous drying state of the electrode layer. Hitoshi teaches the presence of multiple measuring means on the electrode drying device (Paragraph 0014) including a solvent concentration detection unit. When the solvent concentration is known (Paragraph 0032, 0054), then the solid concentration (content of solid) can also be calculated by (100%- solvent concentration%). Hence, Hitoshi teaches the measurement of content of solid on the electrode.
Furthermore, Hitoshi teaches an additional heating unit 90 that can be switched on in any of the drying zones 51 to 56 based on a drying reference value (Paragraph 0053). The heating unit or additional heating section comprises of electromagnetic induction heating (Paragraph 0072). The control unit 160 stores a dryness reference value defined by the trajectory of the amount of solvent evaporation with respect to time, and then automatically adjusts the heating unit 80, and the additional heating unit 90 so that the solvent evaporation amount M calculated from the measured dryness factor always falls within the range of the dryness reference value (Paragraph 0033, 0054).
Hitoshi teaches that the drying furnace is divided into a plurality of drying zones (Paragraph 0021). The claim states that there is a reference zone among the plurality of zones where the content of solid of the slurry reaches the reference value. The reference zone can be interpreted to be a region within the plurality of zones, and can also be the complete region covered by the plurality of zones as long as the content of solid of the slurry reaches the reference value within it. Based on such a broadest, reasonable interpretation, Hitoshi has an additional heating section 90 disposed in the reference zone (Paragraph 0021), and not disposed in zones other than the reference zone. Furthermore, Hitoshi teaches that the additional heating section can be adjusted and controlled based on the dryness reference value (paragraph 0033). The heating unit or additional heating section comprises of electromagnetic induction heating (Paragraph 0072). Hence, Hitoshi teaches the presence of an induction heating unit in a reference zone where the degree of drying reaches a reference value, and the induction heating unit is not disposed in zones other than the reference zone.
An alternate consideration of the prior art also reads on the claimed limitation. Hitoshi teaches that the drying device has a transport section 60 that transports the electrode foil (Paragraph 0014; Figure 10). The drying apparatus can be considered to include reference zone, and zones other than reference zone as annotated in Figure 1 from Hitoshi below. The annotated Figure thus shows that the induction heating unit is disposed in a reference zone where the content of solid of the slurry reaches the reference value among a plurality of zones included in the drying apparatus, and the induction heating unit is not disposed in zones other than the reference zone.
Hitoshi does not teach that the reference value is in a range greater than 65% and less than 100%, or the reference value is in a range greater than 72.5% and less than 95%, or the reference value is in a range greater than 80% and less than 90%.
However, Watanabe teaches an electrode drying method and apparatus, that has a staged drying process as shown in Figure 2.
Watanabe discusses the use of auxiliary heater (such as induction heater) present in the drying device and configured to be independently operated by the drying condition control devices (Paragraph 0049). The drying device uses a noncontact moisture meter in each drying zone (Paragraph 0012). The non contact moisture meter is capable of detecting moisture contained in the coating film (Paragraph 0012), and the content of solid can be calculated based on the moisture content measured. By satisfying the moisture content a, b, c, d ,e at each timing in Figure 2, it becomes possible to set a desired drying condition (Paragraph 0013). Furthermore, Watanabe teaches that by setting or controlling the drying condition based on the detection means, it becomes possible to always and assuredly maintain optimum drying condition for optimum drying (Paragraph 0011). In Figure 2, it is seen that the latter drying stage is initiated at a value ‘c’ of the moisture content. It would be obvious to optimize the value of c to include the range of 10-20% moisture. This translates to 80-90% solids content as stated in the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize drying conditions/degree of drying/solids or moisture % to include the claimed range. One would have been motivated to provide a reference value in order to optimize drying using hot air and induction heating methods. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 12,
Hitoshi teaches that the drying furnace has a hot air supply in the form of nozzles for each drying zones (Paragraph 0020).
Regarding Claim 14 and Claim 15,
Hitoshi does not teach that the reference value is in a range greater than 65% and less than 100%, or the reference value is in a range greater than 72.5% and less than 95%, or the reference value is in a range greater than 80% and less than 90%.
However, Watanabe teaches an electrode drying method and apparatus, that has a staged drying process as shown in Figure 2.
Watanabe discusses the use of auxiliary heater (such as induction heater) present in the drying device and configured to be independently operated by the drying condition control devices (Paragraph 0049). The drying device uses a noncontact moisture meter in each drying zone (Paragraph 0012). The non contact moisture meter is capable of detecting moisture contained in the coating film (Paragraph 0012), and the content of solid can be calculated based on the moisture content measured. By satisfying the moisture content a, b, c, d ,e at each timing in Figure 2, it becomes possible to set a desired drying condition (Paragraph 0013). Furthermore, Watanabe teaches that by setting or controlling the drying condition based on the detection means, it becomes possible to always and assuredly maintain optimum drying condition for optimum drying (Paragraph 0011). In Figure 2, it is seen that the latter drying stage is initiated at a value ‘c’ of the moisture content. It would be obvious to optimize the value of c to include the range of 10-20% moisture. This translates to 80-90% solids content as stated in the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize drying conditions/degree of drying/solids or moisture % to include the claimed range. One would have been motivated to provide a reference value in order to optimize drying using hot air and induction heating methods. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 17,
Hitoshi teaches that the slurry comprises a solvent, electrode active material, conductive additive, and a binder (Paragraph 0017).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitoshi, Watanabe, and Brownewell et al (US 5321896).
Hitoshi does not specify the output of the induction heating unit being greater than 2.4 kW and less than 3.2 kW, or being greater than 2.6 kW and less than 3.0 kW.
However, Brownewell teaches an apparatus to drying a coating on a metal substrate using induction heating coils (Column 11, Lines 30-35) and a standard convection oven (Column 15, Lines 30-35). Brownewell further states that the power supplied to the induction coil needs to be adjusted depending on the size of the sheet and the coating to be cured (Column 16, lines 10-15). Varying the supply power to the induction coils will result in varying the output power, and in turn optimizing the output power depending on the factors stated above. One would have been motivated to provide an output power as claimed in order to optimize drying the combination of the size of the electrode roll, and the type of active material coating applied to the electrode roll. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
References of Interest
Shen et al (US 20190229338 A1)
Lovens et al (US 20090057301 A1)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hitoshi and Watanabe do not disclose that the induction heating unit is disposed only in a reference zone, among a plurality of zones within the drying apparatus. Examiner disagrees with this argument supported by rejection of Claim 1 above. Hitoshi’s reference zone can be considered to be the complete region occupied by the plurality of zones in the drying apparatus, and alternatively based on annotated fig 1 in rejection above, the reference zone can also be shown as separate than other zones in the drying apparatus. Hence, Hitoshi reads on the induction heating unit being disposed only in the reference zone.
Applicant argues that the auxiliary heater of Watanabe is necessarily and strongly taught to be performed in all drying steps, and is not conceivable that such heating would be performed only in a specific step in view of the disclosure of Watanabe regarding its auxiliary heater. Examiner disagrees with this argument because Watanabe discloses that the auxiliary heater is positioned between air-blowing nozzles on the upper surface side (Paragraph 0049). Based on annotated Fig 4 below, the auxiliary heater is in a reference zone between air blowing nozzles, and not in other zones, and it is configured to be independently operated by the drying condition control devices (Paragraph 0049).
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783