DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “particle shapes of the first three-dimensional particle layer, the second three-dimensional particle layer and the third three-dimensional particle layer are different.” It is unclear which particles must be different from each other to meet this claim limitation. Specifically, it is unclear if the particle shapes of each individual layer must be different from each other layer, if one layer must comprise different particle shapes from the other two layers, or if a particle within any or each of the layers must have a different shape than other particles within that same layer. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be read as best can be understood by examiner and is explained in the rejection below.
Further regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the particle shapes of the first three-dimensional particle layer, the second three- dimensional particle layer and the third three-dimensional particle layer are any one of a cone, a pyramid, a sphere, a triangular prism, a cube, a cylinder, and a multi-cube”. It is unclear how this limitation defining that particle shapes of the first second and third particle layer are any one of the listed shapes while also being different as defined in the previous section. It is unclear how these two limitations are meant to coexist. For the purposes of this examination, these limitations will be read as best can be understood by examiner and are explained in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schnabel (US 3431689, previously cited) in view of Windisch (US 5712210, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Schnabel teaches a composite abrasive paper comprising a first abrasive comprising a first substrate (14), a first three-dimensional particle layer (see annotated figure below) provided on a surface of the first substrate (as described col 4 lines 3-35, coated with abrasive particles 18 depicted in fig 5), and a flexible microsphere layer (layer 16 including microspheres 19; col 4, lines 58-75) provided on a back surface of the first substrate; a second abrasive comprising a second substrate (15), a second three-dimensional particle layer provided on a surface of the second substrate (see annotated figure below), and a third three-dimensional particle layer provided on a back surface of the first substrate (see annotated figure below; as described col 4 lines 3-35, the entire second substrate may be dipped in abrasive, which results in abrasive particle layers on both sides of the substrate); wherein the first abrasive and the second abrasive are connected at an edge to form a connection part (12), and a middle of the first substrate and the second substrate forms a sealed cavity (cavity containing element 16; see annotated figure below), and the third three-dimensional particle layer is provided opposite to the flexible microsphere layer in the sealed cavity (third stereo particle layer is within the sealed cavity on opposite side of microsphere layer from the first substrate), particle shapes of the first three-dimensional particle layer, the second three-dimensional particle layer and the third three-dimensional particle layer are different (see fig 5 depicting particles 18 which differ slightly in shape); the particle shapes of the first three-dimensional particle layer, the second three-dimensional particle layer and the third three-dimensional particle layer are any one of a cone, a pyramid, a sphere, a triangular prism, a cube, a cylinder, and a multi-cube (as shown in fig 5, each of the depicted particles 18 has a generally pyramidal or triangular prismatic shape, but with slight differences; as best understood, this satisfies the claim limitations regarding particle shapes).
Schnabel does not teach a dashed tear line formed by a plurality of discontinuity cuts provided at a junction of the connection part and the sealed cavity. Windisch teaches a composite abrasive including a dashed tear line (fig 2) formed by a plurality of discontinuity cuts (34) provided at an outer edge of the abrasive paper (as shown in figs 2-3, each dashed tear line separates one article from another). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a dashed tear line formed by a plurality of discontinuity cuts at an outer edge of the abrasive paper of Schnabel, which is at the junction of the connection part and sealed cavity (as shown in Schnabel fig 3), as this would allow several abrasive articles to be formed in a roll and individually separated as needed as taught by Windisch (col 2, lines 28-36; col 3, lines 25-35).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 Dec 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Schnabel does not teach the newly claimed “different” particle shapes. However, this limitation raises issues under 112b as described above. As the claims do not identify how the particles differ from each other and it is unclear which particles must be different from each other, figure 5 of Schnabel appears to satisfy these limitations, as it shows abrasive particles with slightly different triangular shapes.
Regarding the claimed dashed tear line, applicant argues that applying the dashed tear line of Windisch to the abrasive paper of Schnabel would result in a misfunction of Schnabel. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above, the tear line of Windisch is applied to edges between adjacent articles and allows them to be easily separated as needed. As these dashed tear line is selectively removed by a user, there is no expectation that the abrasive paper would become unusable, as the connection part still provides the claimed sealed cavity. In other words, the presence of a selectively torn tear line does not make the abrasive paper of Schnabel unsuitable for its intended purpose, contrary to applicant’s arguments.
Regarding the claimed flexible microspheres, applicant argus that the flexible microsphere layer of Schnabel is not fixedly bonded together with the first substrate and therefore, not “provided on” a back surface of the first substrate as claimed. However, there is no limitation in the claims which requires the microspheres to be fixedly bonded. As the microspheres of Schnabel are in a layer which contacts the back surface of the first substrate, this claim limitation is satisfied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other abrasive articles are cited, including those which teach the use of multiple shaped abrasives in a single article.
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723