Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 7, 2026, regarding the claim objections (page 11) have been fully considered and – in light of the amendment - are persuasive, therefore the related objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections (pages 12-13) have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons, therefore the related rejections have been maintained:
Regarding the applicant’s argument (page 13) that Nishi does not teach the newly amended limitation of a battery holder configured to detachably hold or be non-detachably coupled to a battery, the examiner disagrees. The examiner points out that, between being detachably or non-detachably coupled, there is no other option, and that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the Power Supply Bracket 739 (equated to the battery holder of the instant invention) is intended to hold the Power Supply Unit 738 (equated to the battery of the instant invention). The examiner further notes that, if the applicant chooses in the future to claim only one or the other of the alternate limitations of “detachably” or “non-detachably”, each would likely be considered an obvious modification, since it has been held that making separate parts of an invention integral, or integral parts separable, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347, In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348, and MPEP 2144.04(V)(B-C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JU (CN-105936327-A).
Regarding Claim 1, JU teaches a bicycle component (Front Derailleur 740, Paras. [0152]- [0158] and Fig. 26, an embodiment sharing many features which are described in more detail for Front Derailleur 40, Paras. [0108]- [0125] and Figs. 1- 13) comprising:
a base member (Base Member 758, Para. [0153] and Fig. 26);
a movable member (Moveable Member 752, Para. [0153] and Fig. 26);
a link member (Link 57, Para. [0117] and Fig. 8, understood to have an analogous, though unlabeled, equivalent in the embodiment of Fig. 26) that movably couples the movable member (752) to the base member (Para. [0117] and Fig. 8 teach a Base Member 58 supporting a Chain Guide 52 via Link 57; this moveable coupling being understood to function similarly in the embodiment of Fig. 26);
an actuator (Electric Actuation Unit 754, Para. [0153] and Fig. 26) operatively coupled to the link member (57) to move the link member (Para. [0125] teaches Link 57 being moved by an Electric Actuating Unit 54; this operative coupling being understood to function similarly in the embodiment of Fig. 26);
a battery holder (Power Supply Bracket 739, Para. [0152] and Fig. 26) attached to the link member (57), the battery holder (739) including a battery holding portion (the portion of Power Supply Bracket 739 that attaches to Power Supply Unit 738, Fig. 26) configured to detachably hold a battery (Power Supply Unit 738, Para. [0152] and Fig. 26; Para. [0109] teaches a Power Supply Unit 38 as comprising a battery, such that Power Supply Unit 738 is also understood to comprise a battery), or be non-detachably coupled to the battery (Power Supply Unit 738 being understood to be coupled to Power Supply Bracket 739, which fulfills at least one or other of the alternate limitations of “detachably or non-detachably”) and a flexible element (Power Cable PLC1, Para. [0156] and Fig. 26) electrically connecting the battery holding portion (738) to the actuator (Para. [0156] teaches Power Supply Unit 738 supplying electric power to Electric Actuation Unit 754 via Power Cable PLC1).
Regarding Claim 2, JU further teaches that the actuator (754) is provided on the base member (Para. [0152] and Fig. 26 teach Electric Actuation Unit 754 being mounted on Base Member 758).
Regarding Claim 7, JU further teaches that the flexible element (PLC1) includes at least one of a first electrical cable (Power Cable PCL1 being described and illustrated as an electrical cable in Para. [0156] and Fig. 26) and a flexible circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JU.
Regarding Claim 3, JU further teaches that the link member (57) includes a first link (Link 57 comprising First Link “L1”, Fig. 8 Annotated) and a second link (“L2”, Fig. 8 Annotated), and
JU does not teach that the battery holding portion is located at least partially between the first link and the second link.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the bicycle component of JU such that the battery holding portion is located at least partially between the first link and the second link, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 4, JU further teaches that the link member (Link 57) includes a first link (L1) that is pivotally connected to the base member (Base Member 758) by a first link pin (“LP1”, Fig. 8 Annotated) and pivotally connected to the movable member (Moveable Member 752) by a second link pin (“LP2”, Fig. 8 Annotated), and
JU does not teach that the battery holding portion is located between the first link pin and the second link pin.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the bicycle component of JU such that the battery holding portion is located between the first link pin and the second link pin, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 5, JU further teaches that the battery holding portion (738) is configured to detachably hold [a wireless communication unit] (Para. [0154] teaches that Power Supply Unit 738 detachable supports a Wireless Communication Unit 756 via a First Housing 760).
JU does not teach that battery holding portion is configured to detachably hold the battery.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of JU in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify JU’s bicycle component such that battery holding portion is configured to detachably hold the battery as suggested by the detachable mounting of the wireless communication unit. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a removable battery that would beneficially make a more user-friendly device.
Regarding Claim 6, JU further teaches, in a related embodiment of a bicycle component (Front Derailleur 340, Paras. [0147]- [0148] and Figs. 18 & 19), an actuator (Electric Actuation Unit 354, Figs. 18 & 19) configured to be connected to an additional electrical cable (Power Cable PLC2, Figs. 18 & 19) in a state where the actuator (354) is disconnected from the flexible element (Power Cable PLC1 being capable of being disconnected from Electric Actuation Unit 354 as illustrated in Fig. 19 and Power Cable PLC2 being capable of being connected to Electric Actuation Unit 354 as illustrated in Fig. 18, a possible state where Power Cable PLC2 is connected while Power Cable PLC1 is disconnected is understood to be taught).
JU does not teach, in the originally presented embodiment (740), that the actuator is configured to be connected to an additional electrical cable in a state where the actuator is disconnected from the flexible element.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of JU in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify JU’s originally presented embodiment (740) of a bicycle component such that the actuator is configured to be connected to an additional electrical cable in a state where the actuator is disconnected from the flexible element as suggested by JU’s related embodiment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing multiple electrical connections that would beneficially make a more user-friendly device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611