DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the different patterns, other than triangles, as recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumgartner (US20040100163, hereinafter Baumgartner).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Baumgartner discloses an ultrasonic transducer comprising: an enclosure including an impedance matching member (22, paragraph [0034]), at least one piezoelectric component (12), an adhesive material (transparent thin layer of adhesive, paragraph [0047]), and a backing member (14, 24) including a plurality of apertures (Fig. 2, 26) disposed thereupon; wherein the impedance matching member (22) is coupled to a first surface of the at least one piezoelectric component (12) and the backing member (14) is coupled to a second surface of the at least one piezoelectric component, the first surface being diametrically opposed to the second surface; and wherein the adhesive material (metallization) is disposed between the at least one piezoelectric component and the backing member for coupling the at least one piezoelectric component to the backing member, and between the at least one piezoelectric component and the impedance matching member for coupling the at least one piezoelectric component to the impedance matching member (see paragraph [0004]). The method, as claimed is implicit in the disclosure of Baumgartner.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 11 and 12, the first and second surfaces of the piezoelectric component correspond to the bottom and top surfaces of the piezoelectric component.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 14 and 15, the plurality of apertures corresponds to a circular pattern (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, inherently the piezoelectric component oscillates in accordance with an oscillation rate.
Regarding claim 19, Baumgartner discloses an ultrasonic transducer comprising: an enclosure including an impedance matching member (22, paragraph [0034]), at least one piezoelectric component (12), an adhesive material (transparent thin layer of adhesive, paragraph [0047]), and a backing member (14, 24) including a plurality of apertures disposed thereupon (Fig. 2, 26) in accordance with a pattern wherein the at least one piezoelectric component oscillates in accordance with an oscillation rate and the backing member oscillates in accordance with the oscillation rate at which the at least one piezoelectric component oscillates; wherein the impedance matching member (22) is coupled to a bottom surface of the at least one piezoelectric component (12) and the backing member (14) is coupled to a top surface of the at least one piezoelectric component, the first surface being diametrically opposed to the second surface; and wherein the adhesive material (metallization) is disposed between the at least one piezoelectric component and the backing member for coupling the at least one piezoelectric component to the backing member, and between the at least one piezoelectric component and the impedance matching member for coupling the at least one piezoelectric component to the impedance matching member (see paragraph [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Baumgartner discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose fails to disclose the density of the backing member in the range of 350-500kg/cm3. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to determine the specific density of the backing member, since the applicant has not disclosed that such specific density solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with any backing material as long as the vibration characteristics of the piezoelectric unit are not compromised.
Regarding claims 7, 16 and 20, Baumgartner discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the thickness of the backing member in the range from 2mm-10mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to determine the specific thickness of the backing member, since the applicant has not disclosed that such specific thickness solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with any thickness as long as the vibration characteristics of the piezoelectric unit is not compromised.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837