DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/05/2026. Applicant amended claims 1,7,9,17 and 20 and cancelled claim 18. Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hunt (US 20180198282) in view of Jackson (US 20140058576) in view of Li (US 20210344201).
As claim 9, Hunt discloses a controller for a high horse-power micro-grid (a controller 210), comprising:
one or more connections to one or more generator set (genset) (Fig. 2-3 set 305 and [0038]-[0039] Process 300 may be executed by controller 210 of system 200 (e.g., by inverter control module 225. …controller 210 receives one or more signals from one or more generator sets communicatively coupled (e.g., through wired or wireless communication interfaces) to controller 210 (305)) controllers configured to adjust power of one or more gensets ([0044] …controller 210 may generate control signals configured to cause genset(s) 110 to change an operating state. For example, controller 210 may transmit control signals to one or more genset(s) to cause them to activate or deactivate to meet changes in load demand while reducing fuel consumption of the overall generator system) and to detect demand and output of each of the one or more gensets ([0021]-[0022] [0038]-[0040][0042]. … the controller controls the inverter based on one or more digital or analog signals received from the genset(s). The signal(s) may be indicative of or provide information relating to one or more operating conditions of the genset(s). The energy storage system may control the inverter to storage power (e.g., excess power) generated by the genset(s) i…By using the energy storage system to supplement power generated by the gensets during high load demand and storing excess power generated by the gensets during low demand…)
and a power connection to one or more battery units configured to supply power during a power deficit and to store power during power overages ( [0021][0040]…an energy storage device (e.g., one or more batteries)…… The energy storage system may control the inverter to storage power (e.g., excess power) generated by the genset(s) in the energy storage device and/or transmit power stored in the energy storage device to the load(s) based on the signal(s) and/or operating condition(s));
wherein as demand at any of the one or more gensets changes, the controller is configured to supply or collect battery power so as maintain a power draw from the utility grid at a constant level ([0021]-[0022] [0038]-[0040][0042].… the controller controls the inverter based on one or more digital or analog signals received from the genset(s). The signal(s) may be indicative of or provide information relating to one or more operating conditions of the genset(s). The energy storage system may control the inverter to storage power (e.g., excess power) generated by the genset(s) in the energy storage device and/or transmit power stored in the energy storage device to the load(s) based on the signal(s) and/or operating condition(s)…By using the energy storage system to supplement power generated by the gensets during high load demand and storing excess power generated by the gensets during low demand…).
Hunt does not disclose/teach one or more connections to one or more generator set (genset) controllers configured to adjust power of one or more gensets by adjusting a throttle position of each of the one or more gensets
Jackson teaches a controller configured to adjust power of one or more gensets by adjusting a throttle position of each of the one or more gensets (Abstract [0015] [0023] a controller throttles the generators, e.g., to match a variable load.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Controller of Hunt to be configured to adjust power of one or more gensets by adjusting a throttle position of each of the one or more gensets in order to regulate and match the power delivered to the load or loads (Abstract [0015] [0023] of Jackson).
Hunt does not disclose/teach a connection to a grid switch configured to turn on/off a connection to a utility grid.
Li teaches a connection to a grid switch configured to turn on/off a connection to a utility grid ([0018] grid-side switch device 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hunt to include a connection to a grid switch configured to turn on/off a connection to a utility grid in order to prevent power from going to the grid when the gensets are charging the battery, reducing charging time.
As claim 10, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9 wherein the one or more connections to one or more genset controllers is configured to adjust genset power control ([0044] of Hunt …controller 210 may generate control signals configured to cause genset(s) 110 to change an operating state. For example, controller 210 may transmit control signals to one or more genset(s) to cause them to activate or deactivate to meet changes in load demand while reducing fuel consumption of the overall generator system).
As claim 11, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9 wherein the grid switch is coupled to an isolation transformer (Fig. 1 of Li a grid-side switch device 2, an interconnection transformer 3).
As claim 16, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9 wherein the controller is configured to control the power of the one or more gensets ([0044] of Hunt …controller 210 may generate control signals configured to cause genset(s) 110 to change an operating state. For example, controller 210 may transmit control signals to one or more genset(s) to cause them to activate or deactivate to meet changes in load demand while reducing fuel consumption of the overall generator system).
Claims 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hunt (US 20180198282) in view of Jackson (US 20140058576) in view of Li (US 20210344201) in view of Gertmar (US 20100292852).
As claim 12, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9.
Hunt does not disclose/teach wherein the controller is configured to actively control ramped power to eliminate line flicker.
Gertmar teaches the controller is configured to actively control ramped power to eliminate line flicker ([0106] The AC-DC-AC frequency converter can be operated as an active filter and/or as a flicker eliminator and/or as a smoother via small variations around a desired steady-state point).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hunt to be configured to actively control ramped power to eliminate line flicker in order to reduce noise on the grid or the load.
As claim 15, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9.
Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li does not disclose/teach wherein the high horse-power micro-grid is frequency-synchronized to the utility grid.
Gertmar teaches wherein the high horse-power micro-grid is frequency-synchronized to the utility grid ([0110] The partly rated AC-DC-AC frequency converter can of course be embodied without a DC-voltage link. It is possible to use any AC/AC converter which is capable of frequency conversion from a low frequency up to at least the grid frequency for synchronizing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hunt to include wherein the high horse-power micro-grid is frequency-synchronized to the utility grid in order to maintain overall grid stability and reliable operation.
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hunt (US 20180198282) in view of Jackson (US 20140058576) in view of Li (US 20210344201) in view of Scheuerell (US 20230223763).
As claim 13, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9 wherein the controller is configured to provide unity to 0.95 PF loading of the utility grid provided by the gensets' grid tie operation.
Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li does not disclose/teach wherein the controller is configured to provide unity to 0.95 PF loading of the utility grid provided by the gensets' grid tie operation.
Scheuerell teaches wherein the controller is configured to provide unity to 0.95 PF loading of the utility grid provided by the gensets' grid tie operation ([0049] the ESS may supply kVars to load to maintain or attempt to maintain a unity power factor for the gensets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hunt to be configured to provide unity to 0.95 PF loading of the utility grid provided by the gensets' grid tie operation in order to maximize electrical efficiency, lower operating costs, and improve system stability.
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hunt (US 20180198282) in view of Jackson (US 20140058576) in view of Li (US 20210344201) in view of Datta (US 20050286279).
As claim 14, Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li teaches the controller of claim 9.
Hunt in view of Jackson in view of Li does not disclose/teach wherein the controller is configured to provide an inverter to inject cancellation harmonics associated with diode rectifiers comprising the high horse-power micro-grid.
Datta teaches wherein the controller is configured to provide an inverter to inject cancellation harmonics associated with diode rectifiers comprising the high horse-power micro-grid ([0031] the active converter is further configured to inject harmonic currents in appropriate phase and frequency so as to effectively cancel the harmonic currents introduced by the passive rectifier in the generator winding. See Fig. 3 where rectifier 40 has diodes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hunt to be configured to provide an inverter to inject cancellation harmonics associated with diode rectifiers comprising the high horse-power micro-grid in order to reduce system noise and improve system efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
1-8 and 17,19-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 1, Although the prior art discloses A controller for a high horse-power micro-grid, comprising: one or more connections to one or more generator sets (gensets) configured to; detect power produced by each of the one or more gensets; and adjust a throttle position of each of the one or more gensets; and a power connection to one or more battery units, a utility grid interconnection comprising a grid switch and a back-to-back inverter configured to couple the high-horsepower micro-grid to a utility grid, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the controller is configured to; detect changes in power demand on the high horse-power micro-grid; compare overall power demand to aggregate genset output; and in response to a detected change in power demand, dispatch the one or more battery units to supply a difference in power output to overcome a power deficit and/or import excess power into the one or more battery units to relieve a power overage; and regulate interaction with the utility grid by maintaining a substantially constant power draw from the utility grid and limiting power variation over time to mitigate line flicker.”
Regarding independent claim 17, Although the prior art discloses A method performed by a hybrid energy controller for controlling a high horse-power micro-grid coupled to a utility grid via a grid switch and a back-to-back inverter, comprising: powering on at least one of one or more generator sets (gensets);detecting power output from the one or more gensets; adjusting throttle positions of the one or more gensets, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“detecting overall power demand on the high horse-power micro-grid; comparing overall power demand to power output; and if the overall power demand is greater than the power output, then supplying the difference with battery power from one or more battery units; and if the overall power demand is less than the power output, then storing the excess power in the one or more battery units; dynamically controlling battery dispatch and genset throttle coordination to maintain a substantially constant utility-grid power draw and to limit change of power variation over time to reduce line flicker and power surges.”
Dependent claims 2-8 and 19-20 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859