DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 9-12, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11356814, referred to as Choi 1) in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0272592, referred to as Choi 2)
Referring to Claim 1, Choi 1 discloses a method comprising: obtaining, by a user equipment (UE), a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration message from an anchor UE, wherein the PRS configuration message is generated based on a basic safety message (BSM) of the anchor UE (col 10 lines 43-60, BSM, first UE (interpreted as anchor UE) determines parameters then transmits parameters to other UE; UEs selected based on BSM, then parameters sent, configuration); receiving, by the UE, a sidelink PRS from the anchor UE based on the PRS configuration message (col 10 lines 43-60, PRS received); and performing, by the UE, a positioning measurement based on the sidelink PRS (col 10 lines 43-60, positioning).
However, Choi 1 does not explicitly disclose PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi 2 discloses PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM (pars 104-105, BS includes vehicle type/speed; pre/PRS/configuration decoded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM, as taught by Choi 2, in the method of Choi 1, for the purpose of performing positioning using an anchor UE (Choi 2, Abstract).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, wherein obtaining the PRS configuration message comprises: determining, by the UE, a resource pool configuration for the PRS configuration message; receiving, by the UE, the BSM of the anchor UE; receiving, by the UE, the PRS configuration message from the anchor UE based on the resource pool configuration and the BSM (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60, PRS, parameters, UEs, BSM).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, wherein transmission of the PRS configuration message by the anchor UE is triggered by sidelink control information (SCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Choi 1, col 21 lines 45-54, sidelink UEs initiate, threshold, trigger).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, wherein receiving the PRS configuration message comprises: determining an identifier of the anchor UE based on the BSM; and determining resources having the PRS configuration message based on the identifier of the anchor UE (Choi 1, col 21 lines 30-54, col 10 lines 43-60, anchor UE identified, BSM, PRS).
Referring to Claims 5 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, further comprising: determining, by the UE, whether a UE identifier collision is detected based on the BSM and another received BSM; in case that the UE identifier collision is detected: await a next BSM from the anchor UE; or transmit a message to the anchor UE indicating a resource for the PRS configuration message to be transmitted by the anchor UE (Choi 1, col 25 lines 30-35, BSM, UEs; col 10 lines 43-60, BSM, PRS; col 11 lines 3-15, path, safety).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, wherein the PRS is prioritized over at least one of other downlink signals within a PRS processing window and other sidelink signals in symbols of the PRS within the PRS processing window (Choi 1, col 18 lines 55-65, PRS, window).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, wherein a transmit power of the PRS is dependent on a speed of the anchor UE (Choi 1, col 10 lines 44-60 and col 11 lines 5-12, BSM, speed, reduce power).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose location of the UE is determined based on a frequency-based carrier phase method using at least one of PRSs at two different frequencies and angle of arrival (AoA) measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi 2 discloses location of the UE is determined based on a frequency-based carrier phase method using at least one of PRSs at two different frequencies and angle of arrival (AoA) measurements (pars 34, 40, 51, and 48, multi, carrier phase, AOA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate location of the UE is determined based on a frequency-based carrier phase method using at least one of PRSs at two different frequencies and angle of arrival (AoA) measurements, as taught by Choi 2, in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of performing positioning with an anchor UE (Choi 2, Abstract)
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 discloses the method (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose determining the location of the UE comprises compensating for mobility of the UE in determining the location of the UE using round trip time (RTT) measurements with a reference UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi 2 discloses determining the location of the UE comprises compensating for mobility of the UE in determining the location of the UE using round trip time (RTT) measurements with a reference UE (par 53, RTT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the location of the UE comprises compensating for mobility of the UE in determining the location of the UE using round trip time (RTT) measurements with a reference UE, as taught by Choi 2, in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of performing positioning with an anchor UE (Choi 2, Abstract)
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, further comprising reporting the location of the UE (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60, positioning information).
Referring to Claim 14, Choi 1 discloses disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to: obtain a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration message from an anchor UE, wherein the PRS configuration message is generated based on a basic safety message (BSM) of the anchor UE (col 10 lines 43-60, BSM, first UE (interpreted as anchor UE) determines parameters then transmits parameters to other UE; UEs selected based on BSM, then parameters sent, configuration); receive a sidelink PRS from the anchor UE based on the PRS configuration message (col 10 lines 43-60, PRS received); and perform a positioning measurement based on the sidelink PRS (col 10 lines 43-60, positioning).
However, Choi 1 does not explicitly disclose PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi 2 discloses PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM (pars 104-105, BS includes vehicle type/speed; pre/PRS/configuration decoded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM, as taught by Choi 2, in the UE of Choi 1, for the purpose of performing positioning (Choi 2, Abstract).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 14 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the UE, wherein, in obtaining the PRS configuration message, the instructions further cause the processor to: determine a resource pool configuration for the PRS configuration message; receive the BSM from the anchor UE; and receive the PRS configuration message from the anchor UE based on the resource pool configuration and the BSM (col 10 lines 43-60, PRS, parameters, UEs, BSM). wherein transmission of the PRS configuration message by the anchor UE is triggered by sidelink control information (SCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Choi 1, col 21 lines 45-54, sidelink UEs initiate, threshold, trigger).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 14 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the UE, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: determine whether a UE identifier collision is detected based on the BSM and another received BSM; and in case that the UE identifier collision is detected: await a next BSM from the anchor UE; or transmit a message to the anchor UE indicating a resource for the PRS configuration message to be transmitted by the anchor UE (Choi 1, col 25 lines 30-35, BSM, UEs; col 10 lines 43-60, BSM, PRS; col 11 lines 3-15, path, safety).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 14 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the UE (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60) wherein: the PRS is prioritized over at least one of other downlink signals within a PRS processing window and other sidelink signals in symbols of the PRS within the PRS processing window (col 18 lines 55-65, PRS, window); a transmit power of the PRS is dependent on a speed of the anchor UE (col 10 lines 44-60 and col 11 lines 5-12, BSM, speed, reduce power).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose location of the UE is determined based on a frequency-based carrier phase method using at least one of PRSs at two different frequencies and angle of arrival (AoA) measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi 2 discloses location of the UE is determined based on a frequency-based carrier phase method using at least one of PRSs at two different frequencies and angle of arrival (AoA) measurements (pars 34, 40, 51, and 48, multi, carrier phase, AOA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate location of the UE is determined based on a frequency-based carrier phase method using at least one of PRSs at two different frequencies and angle of arrival (AoA) measurements, as taught by Choi 2, in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of performing positioning with an anchor UE (Choi 2, Abstract).
Referring to Claim 20, Choi 1 discloses a system comprising: a first user equipment (UE) configured to obtain a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration message, wherein the PRS configuration message is generated based on a basic safety message (BSM) UE (col 10 lines 43-60, BSM, first UE (interpreted as anchor UE) determines parameters then transmits parameters to other UE; UEs selected based on BSM, then parameters sent, configuration), receive a sidelink PRS based on the PRS configuration message (col 10 lines 43-60, PRS received), and perform a positioning measurement based on the received PRS (col 10 lines 43-60, positioning).
However, Choi 1 does not explicitly disclose PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi 2 discloses PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM (pars 104-105, BS includes vehicle type/speed; pre/PRS/configuration decoded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PRS configuration message is generated based on at least one parameter included in BSM, as taught by Choi 2, in the system of Choi 1, for the purpose of performing positioning (Choi 2, Abstract).
Claims 6, 7, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11356814, referred to as Choi 1) in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0272592, referred to as Choi 2) in view of Manolakos et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0137180)
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose PRS is multiplexed in time with data of a resource pool and received in a subchannel of the resource pool, or is multiplexed in frequency with the data of the resource pool and received in a tone of the resource pool.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos et al. disclose PRS is multiplexed in time with data of a resource pool and received in a subchannel of the resource pool, or is multiplexed in frequency with the data of the resource pool and received in a tone of the resource pool (pars 81-82, subchannel, resource pool).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PRS is multiplexed in time with data of a resource pool and received in a subchannel of the resource pool, or is multiplexed in frequency with the data of the resource pool and received in a tone of the resource pool, as taught by Manolakos et al., in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of reducing interference (Manolakos et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60) with multiple repetitions of PRS (Choi 1, col 18 lines 60-65, PRS periodicity).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose information received in resource elements (REs) of a subchannel in a resource pool.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos et al. disclose information received in resource elements (REs) of a subchannel in a resource pool (pars 80-82, blocks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information received in resource elements (REs) of a subchannel in a resource pool, as taught by Manolakos et al., in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of reducing interference (Manolakos et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 13 as applied to Claim 1 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the method, further comprising: obtaining, by the UE, a location of the anchor UE based on the BSM (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60 and col 11 lines 5-10, BSM, location).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose determining, by the UE, zones surrounding the UE; determining, by the UE, zone information of another UE based on the location of the other UE and the determined zones, wherein the positioning of the UE is determined based on the zone information of the other UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos et al. disclose determining, by the UE, zones surrounding the UE; determining, by the UE, zone information of another UE based on the location of the other UE and the determined zones, wherein the positioning of the UE is determined based on the zone information of the other UE (pars 111-112, zone, id).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining, by the UE, zones surrounding the UE; determining, by the UE, zone information of another UE based on the location of the other UE and the determined zones, wherein the positioning of the UE is determined based on the zone information of the other UE, as taught by Manolakos et al., in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of reducing interference (Manolakos et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 14 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the UE (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60) with multiple repetitions of PRS (Choi 1, col 18 lines 60-65, PRS periodicity).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose PRS is multiplexed in time with data of a resource pool and received in a subchannel of the resource pool, or is multiplexed in frequency with the data of the resource pool and received in a tone of the resource pool; or information received in resource elements (REs) of a subchannel in the resource pool.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos et al. disclose PRS is multiplexed in time with data of a resource pool and received in a subchannel of the resource pool, or is multiplexed in frequency with the data of the resource pool and received in a tone of the resource pool (pars 81-82, subchannel, resource pool); or information received in resource elements (REs) of a subchannel in the resource pool (pars 80-82, blocks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PRS is multiplexed in time with data of a resource pool and received in a subchannel of the resource pool, or is multiplexed in frequency with the data of the resource pool and received in a tone of the resource pool; or information received in resource elements (REs) of a subchannel in the resource pool, as taught by Manolakos et al., in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of reducing interference (Manolakos et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 19 as applied to Claim 14 above, Choi 1 as modified discloses the UE with instructions further cause the processor to: obtain a location of the anchor UE based on the BSM (Choi 1, col 10 lines 43-60 and col 11 lines 5-10, BSM, location).
However, Choi 1 does not disclose determining, by the UE, zones surrounding the UE; determining, by the UE, zone information of another UE based on the location of the other UE and the determined zones, wherein the positioning of the UE is determined based on the zone information of the other UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos et al. disclose determining, by the UE, zones surrounding the UE; determining, by the UE, zone information of another UE based on the location of the other UE and the determined zones, wherein the positioning of the UE is determined based on the zone information of the other UE (pars 111-112, zone, id).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining, by the UE, zones surrounding the UE; determining, by the UE, zone information of another UE based on the location of the other UE and the determined zones, wherein the positioning of the UE is determined based on the zone information of the other UE, as taught by Manolakos et al., in the method of Choi 1 and Choi 2, for the purpose of reducing interference (Manolakos et al., Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment. Please see prior art cited above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642