DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This is a Final action in response to the claims and remarks as filled on08/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Newly amended claim 1 recites the limitation “the controller is configured to perform the maintenance of the returnable container by exchanging the returnable container with a second returnable container” However it is unclear how a controller, disclosed as a processor and part of the management apparatus on the originally filled specification (see Figure 1 and paragraph [015]), is able to exchange a returnable container with a second returnable container. Based on the originally filled specification, the controller makes a determination as to whether maintain or exchange the returnable container and further may issue instructions so that a delivery item52 stored in the returnable container50 is immediately transferred to another returnable container50 that then continues delivery (See [055]). Although paragraph [063] discloses “ the controller12 exchanges the returnable container50 with a new returnable container50 (step S7)” It is unclear how this step is performed other than making a determination or updating the data in the system related to the returnable container. It is unclear from the originally filled specification, how a controller (i.e. processor) is able to exchange a returnable container with a new returnable container as claimed since the originally filled specification does not provide any clarity to the matter other than the determination rather than the function/method step itself. For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting as the controller making a determination related to exchanging the returnable container with a second returnable container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the claims are directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process and machine, respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 13-16 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls under the “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” and “Mental Processes” group within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in the MPEP 2106 since the claims set forth steps that recite managing personal behavior and concepts performed in the human mind such as observation, evaluation judgment and opinion. Claims 13 recites the abstract idea of improving the operation efficiency of returnable containers by planning a maintenance of a returnable container (see paragraphs 006, 009). This idea is described by the following claim steps:
planning a maintenance of a returnable container based on information about a condition of the returnable container;
performing maintenance of the returnable container by exchanging the returnable container with a second returnable container; and
controlling operation of the mobile object that stored the returnable container and travel to deliver the returnable container to a destination in accordance with control information and destination information, the control information including a timing at which to start or stop traveling, and a travel speed.
This idea falls within the certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes groupings of abstract ideas because it is directed towards following rules or instructions such that as required when planning a maintenance and delivery of the container based on a condition of the item. The noted abstract idea is also directed to mental processes such as that required during observation and evaluation of the data when planning a maintenance requires analysis of data obtained.
Because the above-noted limitations recite steps falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes abstract idea groupings of the MPEP 2106, they have been determined to recite at least one abstract idea when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One of the eligibility inquiry.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes abstract idea groupings described in the MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Claim 12 and 19 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore determined to recite the same abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application are:
a returnable container configured to store a delivery item inside;
a mobile object that is configured to deliver the returnable container and that autonomously travel.
However, using a computer environment such as a mobile object in such a generic manner amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Using the returnable container merely specifies the type of item that needs to be maintained and delivered. Planning a maintenance for an item can reasonably be performed by pencil and paper until limited to a computerized environment by generically requiring a mobile object to deliver the container.
These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), and alternatively serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h).
In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method, computer system, and computer program product that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For the reasons identified with respect to Step 2A, prong 2, claims 1 and 13 fail to recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept. For example, use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a commercial or legal interaction or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). In addition, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 1-12 and 14-16 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above.
Dependent claims 2-6, 14-16 further limits the abstract idea by narrowing the abstract idea by introducing the limitations directed to the acquired data. Further embellishing that the invention is capable of receiving information in a generic computing environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 7-8, 11 further limits the abstract idea by embellishing the abstract idea by introducing limitations directed to transmit data. Further embellishing that the invention is capable of processing information in a generic computing environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 9-10 further limits the abstract idea by embellishing the abstract idea and linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use by introducing limitations directed to making a determination related to the returnable container which are also abstract processes. Further embellishing that the invention is capable of processing information in a generic computing environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 12 further limits the abstract idea by embellishing the abstract idea and linking the judicial exception to a particular environment by introducing limitations directed to the returnable container and the mobile object that delivers the returnable container. Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide high level of generality computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For more information see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Patent Publication 2022/0147925) in view of KASUGA (WO 2022/113761).
Regarding claim 1, Chiang discloses a management system comprising:
a returnable container configured to store a delivery item inside (see Figures 7A and 7B);
a mobile object that is configured to deliver the returnable container ([022] The carriers can use a variety of shipping modes, including ships, airplanes, trucks, and railroads, and often use multiple modes for a single shipment. For example, the freight forwarder may arrange to have cargo moved from a plant to an airport by truck, flown to the destination city and then moved from the airport to a customer's building by another truck. Information typically reviewed by a freight forwarder includes the commercial invoice, shipper's export declaration, bill of lading, and other documents required by the carrier or country of export, import, and/or transshipment. ); and
a management apparatus comprising:
a controller configured to plan maintenance of the returnable container based on information about a condition of the returnable container ([0034] The container maintenance engine 116 is intended to represent an engine that computers container maintenance schedules based upon container parameters. Most containers have a life of 7-10 years, which is the target life of a teleconnected container. To the extent teleconnectivity technology is installed in a specific place within a container (e.g., in the door), the teleconnectivity technology could have a target lifespan of fewer years than that of a container, with a maintenance scheduled to replace the teleconnectivity technology or the entire door into which the teleconnectivity technology has been incorporated. Maintenance can be scheduled due to aspects of a container's history, which is available in the container datastore 208, or due to aspects of a current transport state, which is available in the container state datastore 218. (After a transport is complete, applicable data from the container state datastore 218 becomes part of the container's history in the container datastore 208.) For example, if wetness is detected inside a container, a motion detector picks up movement within a container (e.g., due to an animal being trapped inside), or if a container sustains greater than an identified threshold of shock, maintenance to clean the container, check for damage, or the like, can be scheduled by the container maintenance engine 116 or an agent thereof. Advantageously, the maintenance engine 116 can also schedule maintenance depending upon a provisional allocation of a container. For example, if a container includes items with an odor (or if an odor or other applicable stimulus is detected by a sensor in the container) maintenance, in the form of washing, can be scheduled prior to loading the container with cargo that would be susceptible to degradation due to the odor (or other detected parameter), such as apparel or foodstuffs.), wherein
the controller is configured to perform the maintenance of the returnable container by exchanging the returnable container with a second returnable container (See Figure 3 and paragph [054-055] wherein within as part of the monitoring the system determines if the container is to be maintained or retired and therefore switching to use other available containers. “[0054] The flowchart 300 continues to decision point 328 where it is determined whether a container is to be retired. If it is determined a container is to be retired (328-Y), then the flowchart continues to block 330 with retiring a container and the flowchart ends. At this point, the container is not available for allocation. Knowledge that a container will be retired is available prior to the actual retirement of the container, so it is desirable to use containers that will retire such that they are retired at a port where surplus containers are relatively common phenomena. It may be noted this decision point (and decision point 332, described later) can be considered to operate in parallel for applicable containers. [0055] If, on the other hand, it is determined a container is not to be retired (328-N), then the flowchart 300 continues to decision point 332 where it is determined whether maintenance is to be scheduled. If it is determined maintenance is not to be scheduled (332-N), then the flowchart 300 returns to block 302 and continues as described previously. If on the other hand, it is determined maintenance is to be scheduled (332-Y), then the flowchart 300 continues to block 334 with performing maintenance on the container and then returns to block 302 and continues as described previously. );
control information including a timing at which to start or stop traveling [066] As shown, the list of shipments are designated by a shipment identifier and include a date of departure from the last node (starting point of a leg), the designation of the last node (e.g., Yantian, CN in the screenshot 500), an estimated date of arrival at the next node (e.g., endpoint of a leg), and a designation of the next node (e.g., Long Beach, Calif., USA in the screenshot 500).
Chiang does not explicitly disclose:
the controller is configured to control operation of the mobile object that stores the returnable container and autonomously travels to deliver the returnable container to a destination in accordance with control information and destination information, the control information including a timing at which to start or stop traveling, and a travel speed.
However KASUGA which relates to a cargo traffic control method and a traffic control system that can ensure the safety of autonomous vehicles (See [005]) further teaches:
a controller is configured to control operation of the mobile object that stores the returnable container and autonomously travels to deliver the returnable container to a destination in accordance with control information and destination information, the control information including a timing at which to start or stop traveling, and a travel speed ([0012] Further, the traffic control system of the present invention comprises: [0013] autonomous vehicles that travel on roads; and [0014] a control device that controls travel of autonomous vehicles. [0050] Control device 100 controls the travel of vehicles 200-1, 200-2, 300-1, and 300-2 when they are traveling in automatic operation. Control device 100 may use the automatic operation of vehicles 300-1 and 300-2 and notify vehicles 300-1 and 300-2 of only the regulated ranges without controlling the travel itself, or may also send warning signals to prevent the vehicles from entering the regulated ranges. FIG. 2 shows an example of the internal configuration of control device 100 shown in FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 2, control device 100 shown in FIG. 1 has identification information acquisition unit 110, vehicle information acquisition unit 120, regulated range calculation unit 130, and control unit 140. Of the components of control device 100 shown in FIG. 1, FIG. 2 shows the main components in this embodiment. [0087] First, control unit 143 acquires information indicating the amount of cargo on vehicles 203-1, 203-2, and 203-3, the maximum loading capacity of vehicles 803-1 and 803-2, and the cargo delivery destinations (Step S21). The method by which control unit 143 acquires this information is described above. Control unit 143 then calculates the distribution of cargo to be transferred to vehicles 803-1 and 803-2 based on the information acquired in Step S21 (Step S22). When control unit 143 calculates the distribution of the transfer, control unit 143 presents the calculated distribution as transfer information (Step S23). Control unit 143 may also control the transfer of cargo on vehicles 803-1 and 803-2 to vehicles 203-1, 203-2 and 203-3. In this case, similar to the process described above, control unit 143 controls the transfer of cargo based on the amount of cargo on vehicles 803-1 and 803-2, the maximum loading capacity of vehicles 203-1, 203-2, and 203-3, and the delivery destination of the cargo. The vehicle information may include information about the cargo carried on vehicles 200-1 and 200-2 and speed information indicating the speed at which vehicles 200-1 and 200-2 are traveling. This cargo information is information indicating, for example, the type and weight of the cargo carried in vehicles 200-1 and 200-2. The traveling speed indicated by the speed information may be calculated based on the position information acquired by vehicle information acquisition unit 120 and the acquired time information. [0076] Control unit 142 then inputs the acquired environmental information into learned model 162 (Step S12). Control unit 142 acquires from learned model 162 the operation plans that learned model 162 has learned by machine learning using the environmental information (Step S13). Control unit 142 then controls the travel of vehicles 200-1 and 200-2 according to the acquired operation plans (Step S14). [0077] Thus, using learned model 162, in which operation plans are learned by machine learning using environmental information, operation plans are acquired according to the environment in which vehicles 200-1 and 200-2 travel, and the system controls the travel of vehicles 200-1 and 200-2 according to the acquired operation plans. This allows for efficient travel control based on the environment in which a particular autonomous vehicle is traveling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to control operation of the mobile object that stores the returnable container and autonomously travels to deliver the returnable container to a destination in accordance with control information and destination information since such improvement in the system of Chiang is a modification provided in similar systems allowing for the well-known benefit of automated travel on roads and a traffic control method and a traffic control system that can ensure the safety of autonomous vehicles as disclosed by KASUGA.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Chiang further discloses
wherein the controller is configured to detect a condition of dirtiness or wetness of the returnable container or a condition of damage or deformation of the returnable container based on the information about the condition of the returnable container ( [034] For example, if wetness is detected inside a container, a motion detector picks up movement within a container (e.g., due to an animal being trapped inside), or if a container sustains greater than an identified threshold of shock, maintenance to clean the container, check for damage, or the like, can be scheduled by the container maintenance engine 116 or an agent thereof.).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Chiang further discloses
wherein the controller is configured to acquire, as the information about the condition of the returnable container, a result of detecting a change caused by a condition of dirtiness or wetness of the returnable container or a condition of damage or deformation of the returnable container ([0034] The container maintenance engine 116 is intended to represent an engine that computers container maintenance schedules based upon container parameters. Most containers have a life of 7-10 years, which is the target life of a teleconnected container. To the extent teleconnectivity technology is installed in a specific place within a container (e.g., in the door), the teleconnectivity technology could have a target lifespan of fewer years than that of a container, with a maintenance scheduled to replace the teleconnectivity technology or the entire door into which the teleconnectivity technology has been incorporated. Maintenance can be scheduled due to aspects of a container's history, which is available in the container datastore 208, or due to aspects of a current transport state, which is available in the container state datastore 218. (After a transport is complete, applicable data from the container state datastore 218 becomes part of the container's history in the container datastore 208.) For example, if wetness is detected inside a container, a motion detector picks up movement within a container (e.g., due to an animal being trapped inside), or if a container sustains greater than an identified threshold of shock, maintenance to clean the container, check for damage, or the like, can be scheduled by the container maintenance engine 116 or an agent thereof. Advantageously, the maintenance engine 116 can also schedule maintenance depending upon a provisional allocation of a container. For example, if a container includes items with an odor (or if an odor or other applicable stimulus is detected by a sensor in the container) maintenance, in the form of washing, can be scheduled prior to loading the container with cargo that would be susceptible to degradation due to the odor (or other detected parameter), such as apparel or foodstuffs. ).
Regarding claim 5, Chiang further discloses
wherein the controller is configured to acquire, as the information about the condition of the returnable container, a time required to load and unload the returnable container onto and off a mobile object that delivers the returnable container ([033] It is also difficult to know whether a bad actor is exaggerating wait times and some estimates on the expense of such fraud is as high as 10% of total freight forwarding costs. From a carrier's perspective, some containers are unloaded and used for other purposes because time allows, which reduces the lifetime of the container; carriers would typically prefer to compute free time rather than relying upon third parties to have some insight into container utilization. Indeed, carriers may be able to charge $100 or so per day of container use time. Utilizing data from the teleconnected containers 108 can ameliorate these problems and also determine when a container is idle (e.g., if it is being used for storage), even in instances where carriers don't own their own yard. The freight forwarding oversight engine 114 can also make use of data obtained from sensors that are not incorporated into the teleconnected containers 108, such as bar code readers, RFID receivers, or the like. To the extent such devices are not under the control of the carrier, such devices are considered part of the freight forwarding oversight engine 114, though the data is assumed to be accessible to the transparent container and transport parameter disposition engine 112. To the extent such devices are under the control of the carrier, such devices are considered part of the transparent container and transport parameter disposition engine 112. In either case, the data obtained from such devices is stored in the third party state datastore 220. [0042] When cargo is changes hands, the freight forwarding oversight engine 114 stores in the third party state datastore relevant timestamps and locations, such as when the cargo arrives at a destination or interim destination, how long the cargo is at rest (which may be accomplished with two or more timestamps), when the container door is opened, when the cargo is closed after offloading, parties that are determined to be proximate to the container (e.g., using a short-range radio technology, such as Wi-Fi, RFID, or a barcode or QR code scanner for willing participants), how long the container is at rest after offloading, and where and when the container is taken after offloading. The container maintenance engine 116 determines whether the container should undergo maintenance and, if maintenance is deemed unnecessary or after the maintenance is indicated to be complete, the container is indicated to be available for allocation once again (which should not be assumed to preclude allocation using an estimate regarding when in the future a container should become available). [0050] In a specific implementation, the initial transport parameter state is a “pre-pickup state” that includes an identified set of allocated containers, an identified transport (e.g., truck) for taking the allocated set of containers to a pick up location (or reloading the allocated containers if they are unloaded at the pick up location and then reloaded), and a contracted handoff window or time. If desired, the pre-pickup state can be broken down into sub-states, such as “provisionally allocated,” “allocated,” “containers loaded onto transport,” and “on route to pick up location.” It may be noted that a shipping contract may call for multiple transports and/or pick up windows or times, and each transport can have a different state. At the time of pick up, the transport parameter state can change upon arrival within the pick up window to “arrived,” then to “loading,” and finally to “departing.” States of idleness may also be noted, if applicable, as can a countdown to a predicted state change (e.g., the time expected to go from “allocated” to “containers on transport”).).
Regarding claim 6, Chiang further discloses
wherein the controller is configured to acquire, as the information about the condition of the returnable container, information inputted from a user who used the returnable container ([0052] The flowchart 300 continues to block 322 with transparent container and transport parameter disposition monitoring and to block 324 with determining a final container and transport parameter state. An applicable engine for carrying out the decision points/blocks 316-324 is the transparent container and transport parameter disposition engine 110 described with reference to FIG. 1. Any inputs necessary to make the determination can be provided by a human or artificial agent thereof. Paragraph [096] in combination with Figure 6 discloses that the sensor suite comprises an interface device 610 used to collect data. [0096] In a specific implementation, the connectivity device 708 includes a sensor suite and sensor datastore, such as the sensor suite 612 and sensor datastore 614 described with reference to FIG. 6, that are used to collect data associated with conditions within (or external conditions detectable within) the container 700 and send transmissions in accordance with a quality of care protocol. The quality of care protocol can designate alerts as having a number of different alert levels but for the sake of brevity the quality of care protocol designates sensor data as uninteresting (e.g., routine, potentially erroneous, or otherwise uninteresting), of historical relevance, alert, or high alert. Uninteresting sensor data is eventually overwritten. Sensor data of historical relevance is retained until transmission can be made in a resource-conservative manner. Alerts are retained until transmission can be made in accordance with a quality of service threshold. High alerts are transmitted immediately, either by high power radio from the container itself or low power radio to another container that sends alerts on behalf of multiple interconnected containers. The quality of service threshold can be adjusted depending upon preferences (e.g., a customer might be willing to pay more for more frequent alerts, items withing the container may be more susceptible to damage from shocks or moisture so alerts related to such conditions can be considered more pertinent, or the like). The quality of care protocol need not have one or more of these alert levels and could have more. ).
Regarding claim 7, Chiang further discloses
wherein the controller is configured to grant an incentive to the user who inputted the information about the condition of the returnable container (See [072] wherein the user is incentivize with a warning alert/notification based on the condition of the container. [0072] The alert window 514 is intended to draw attention to an alert. Alerts can fall under multiple levels of severity but for the purpose of example, it is assumed they include warnings and notifications. In the alert window 514, a “Humidity Overhigh” warning is indicated, along with the humidity “(80%).” The warning includes a date and timestamp and a message (e.g., “Please contact your carrier to arrange emergency measures” in this example). In this example, the warning corresponds to the high humidity detection that is also depicted in the selected shipment panel 508. An example of a notification is “Geofencing Entry Detected,” which would trigger when a container crosses a geofence and would include a date and timestamp and a message (e.g., “Vessel arrived at the point of discharge. Waiting for discharging.”). [0082] The sensor data analysis engine 616 is intended to represent an engine that determines what of the sensor datastore 614 to provide to the container state datastore 606. Some aspects of sensor suite control can be considered part of the sensor data analysis engine 616, which can instruct the sensor suite 612 to adjust control parameters. The sensor data analysis engine 616 can operate to reduce the amount of data that is recorded in the container state datastore 606 by, for example, omitting temperature, humidity, or tilt angle readings for times at which the temperature, humidity, or tilt angle does not deviate or deviates by only a small margin. The sensor data analysis engine 616 can also store alerts in the container state datastore 606 for immediate or eventual transmission via the interface device 610. ).
Regarding claim 8, Chiang further discloses:
wherein in response to the information inputted by the user who used the returnable container is information evaluating the condition of the returnable container as good, the controller is configured to grant an incentive to a prior user who used the returnable container before the user ([0069] The container state portion of the selected shipment panel also includes a disposition for container sensors (e.g., “Working Normally” in this example), container alerting (e.g., “Working Normally” in this example) [0082] The sensor data analysis engine 616 is intended to represent an engine that determines what of the sensor datastore 614 to provide to the container state datastore 606. Some aspects of sensor suite control can be considered part of the sensor data analysis engine 616, which can instruct the sensor suite 612 to adjust control parameters. The sensor data analysis engine 616 can operate to reduce the amount of data that is recorded in the container state datastore 606 by, for example, omitting temperature, humidity, or tilt angle readings for times at which the temperature, humidity, or tilt angle does not deviate or deviates by only a small margin. The sensor data analysis engine 616 can also store alerts in the container state datastore 606 for immediate or eventual transmission via the interface device 610. [0096] In a specific implementation, the connectivity device 708 includes a sensor suite and sensor datastore, such as the sensor suite 612 and sensor datastore 614 described with reference to FIG. 6, that are used to collect data associated with conditions within (or external conditions detectable within) the container 700 and send transmissions in accordance with a quality of care protocol. The quality of care protocol can designate alerts as having a number of different alert levels but for the sake of brevity the quality of care protocol designates sensor data as uninteresting (e.g., routine, potentially erroneous, or otherwise uninteresting), of historical relevance, alert, or high alert. Uninteresting sensor data is eventually overwritten. Sensor data of historical relevance is retained until transmission can be made in a resource-conservative manner. Alerts are retained until transmission can be made in accordance with a quality of service threshold. High alerts are transmitted immediately, either by high power radio from the container itself or low power radio to another container that sends alerts on behalf of multiple interconnected containers. The quality of service threshold can be adjusted depending upon preferences (e.g., a customer might be willing to pay more for more frequent alerts, items withing the container may be more susceptible to damage from shocks or moisture so alerts related to such conditions can be considered more pertinent, or the like). The quality of care protocol need not have one or more of these alert levels and could have more. ).
Regarding claim 9, Chiang further discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to determine a content of maintenance work to be performed on the returnable container based on the information about the condition of the returnable container ([0034] The container maintenance engine 116 is intended to represent an engine that computers container maintenance schedules based upon container parameters. Most containers have a life of 7-10 years, which is the target life of a teleconnected container. To the extent teleconnectivity technology is installed in a specific place within a container (e.g., in the door), the teleconnectivity technology could have a target lifespan of fewer years than that of a container, with a maintenance scheduled to replace the teleconnectivity technology or the entire door into which the teleconnectivity technology has been incorporated. Maintenance can be scheduled due to aspects of a container's history, which is available in the container datastore 208, or due to aspects of a current transport state, which is available in the container state datastore 218. (After a transport is complete, applicable data from the container state datastore 218 becomes part of the container's history in the container datastore 208.) For example, if wetness is detected inside a container, a motion detector picks up movement within a container (e.g., due to an animal being trapped inside), or if a container sustains greater than an identified threshold of shock, maintenance to clean the container, check for damage, or the like, can be scheduled by the container maintenance engine 116 or an agent thereof. Advantageously, the maintenance engine 116 can also schedule maintenance depending upon a provisional allocation of a container. For example, if a container includes items with an odor (or if an odor or other applicable stimulus is detected by a sensor in the container) maintenance, in the form of washing, can be scheduled prior to loading the container with cargo that would be susceptible to degradation due to the odor (or other detected parameter), such as apparel or foodstuffs. ).
Regarding claim 10, further Chiang discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether to maintain or replace the returnable container based on the information about the condition of the returnable container ([0034] The container maintenance engine 116 is intended to represent an engine that computers container maintenance schedules based upon container parameters. Most containers have a life of 7-10 years, which is the target life of a teleconnected container. To the extent teleconnectivity technology is installed in a specific place within a container (e.g., in the door), the teleconnectivity technology could have a target lifespan of fewer years than that of a container, with a maintenance scheduled to replace the teleconnectivity technology or the entire door into which the teleconnectivity technology has been incorporated. Maintenance can be scheduled due to aspects of a container's history, which is available in the container datastore 208, or due to aspects of a current transport state, which is available in the container state datastore 218. (After a transport is complete, applicable data from the container state datastore 218 becomes part of the container's history in the container datastore 208.) For example, if wetness is detected inside a container, a motion detector picks up movement within a container (e.g., due to an animal being trapped inside), or if a container sustains greater than an identified threshold of shock, maintenance to clean the container, check for damage, or the like, can be scheduled by the container maintenance engine 116 or an agent thereof. Advantageously, the maintenance engine 116 can also schedule maintenance depending upon a provisional allocation of a container. For example, if a container includes items with an odor (or if an odor or other applicable stimulus is detected by a sensor in the container) maintenance, in the form of washing, can be scheduled prior to loading the container with cargo that would be susceptible to degradation due to the odor (or other detected parameter), such as apparel or foodstuffs. [0037] The container datastore 208 includes data associated with a container, such as… estimated lifespan. ).
Regarding claim 11, Chiang further discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to grant an incentive to a user determined to have performed maintenance on the returnable container based on the information about the condition of the returnable container (See paragraph [042] wherein it is disclosed that the system incentivize the user with a notification indicating that the container is available for allocation based on maintenance completed. [042] The container maintenance engine 116 determines whether the container should undergo maintenance and, if maintenance is deemed unnecessary or after the maintenance is indicated to be complete, the container is indicated to be available for allocation once again (which should not be assumed to preclude allocation using an estimate regarding when in the future a container should become available).).
Regarding claim 13, Chiang discloses a management method comprising:
planning maintenance of a returnable container based on information about a condition of the returnable container, the returnable container being configured to store a delivery item inside ([0034] The container maintenance engine 116 is intended to represent an engine that computers container maintenance schedules based upon container parameters. Most containers have a life of 7-10 years, which is the target life of a teleconnected container. To the extent teleconnectivity technology is installed in a specific place within a container (e.g., in the door), the teleconnectivity technology could have a target lifespan of fewer years than that of a container, with a maintenance scheduled to replace the teleconnectivity technology or the entire door into which the teleconnectivity technology has been incorporated. Maintenance can be scheduled due to aspects of a container's history, which is available in the container datastore 208, or due to aspects of a current transport state, which is available in the container state datastore 218. (After a transport is complete, applicable data from the container state datastore 218 becomes part of the container's history in the container datastore 208.) For example, if wetness is detected inside a container, a motion detector picks up movement within a container (e.g., due to an animal being trapped inside), or if a container sustains greater than an identified threshold of shock, maintenance to clean the container, check for damage, or the like, can be scheduled by the container maintenance engine 116 or an agent thereof. Advantageously, the maintenance engine 116 can also schedule maintenance depending upon a provisional allocation of a container. For example, if a container includes items with an odor (or if an odor or other applicable stimulus is detected by a sensor in the container) maintenance, in the form of washing, can be scheduled prior to loading the container with cargo that would be susceptible to degradation due to the odor (or other detected parameter), such as apparel or foodstuffs.);
performing the maintenance of the returnable container by exchanging the returnable container with a second returnable container (See Figure 3 and paragph [054-055] wherein within as part of the monitoring the system determines if the container is to be maintained or retired and therefore switching to use other available containers. “[0054] The flowchart 300 continues to decision point 328 where it is determined whether a container is to be retired. If it is determined a container is to be retired (328-Y), then the flowchart continues to block 330 with retiring a container and the flowchart ends. At this point, the container is not available for allocation. Knowledge that a container will be retired is available prior to the actual retirement of the container, so it is desirable to use containers that will retire such that they are retired at a port where surplus containers are relatively common phenomena. It may be noted this decision point (and decision point 332, described later) can be considered to operate in parallel for applicable containers. [0055] If, on the other hand, it is determined a container is not to be retired (328-N), then the flowchart 300 continues to decision point 332 where it is determined whether maintenance is to be scheduled. If it is determined maintenance is not to be scheduled (332-N), then the flowchart 300 returns to block 302 and continues as described previously. If on the other hand, it is determined maintenance is to be scheduled (332-Y), then the flowchart 300 continues to block 334 with performing maintenance on the container and then returns to block 302 and continues as described previously. ); and
control information including a timing at which to start or stop traveling [066] As shown, the list of shipments are designated by a shipment identifier and include a date of departure from the last node (starting point of a leg), the designation of the last node (e.g., Yantian, CN in the screenshot 500), an estimated date of arrival at the next node (e.g., endpoint of a leg), and a designation of the next node (e.g., Long Beach, Calif., USA in the screenshot 500).
Chiang does not explicitly disclose:
controlling operation of a mobile object that stores the returnable container and autonomously travels to deliver the returnable container to a destination in accordance with control information and destination information, the control information including a travel speed.
However KASUGA whi