DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 08/08/2025. Claim 21 has been cancelled. Presently, Claims 1-20 and 22-26 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection mailed on 05/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on 08/08/2025. These drawings are acceptable and entered in the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (US 11,092,719).
With regard to Claim 1, Zhu discloses in Figs. 2-6 a device, comprising:
a multi-zone illumination system (300), wherein said multi-zone illumination system comprises:
a light source (310) including a first plurality of emitters (315, 320A) configured to transmit a first light signal having a first polarization state (Col. 11, ll. 1-19), and a second plurality of emitters (315, 320B) configured to transmit a second light signal having a second polarization state transverse to the first polarization state (id.);
a dual channel driver circuit (260, 620) connected to the light source and configured to alternately turn on the first plurality of emitters and second plurality of emitters (“At a given time, if only the source arrays 320A (or 320B) are emitting light, only the structure light pattern 265A (265B) is observed at the observation plane 370” (Col. 11, ll. 26-28), “The light emitting components in the sections 502, 506, 504 can be controlled to emit light concurrently or independently” (Col. 12, ll. 15-17), “…individual arrays of light emitting components of one wavelength can be selectively turned on based on the performance of the generated pattern” (Col. 12, l. 66 – Col. 13, l. 1)); and
an optic (350) configured to receive the first light signal when the first plurality of emitters is turned on by the dual channel driver circuit and generate a first structured illumination of a first far field zone and receive the second light signal when the second plurality of emitters is turned on by the dual channel driver circuit and generate a second structured illumination of a second far field zone (see Figs. 5A, 5B; “…the structured light pattern 265 is a series of dot patterns (arranged in a similar configuration to the source array(s) or MLA) observed at the observation plane 370” (Col. 8, ll. 20-23),
wherein the first and second far field zones are laterally offset from each other (see Figs. 5A, 5B).
With regard to Claim 2, Zhu discloses the device set forth above, wherein the first and second far field zones are separate from but adjacent to each other (see Figs. 4A, 4B, 5A, 5B).
With regard to Claim 5, Zhu discloses the device set forth above, the first plurality of emitters and second plurality of emitters are arranged in an alternating pattern (see Fig. 4A).
With regard to Claim 12, Zhu discloses the device set forth above, further comprising a light reception system (255) configured to detect light generated in response to reflection of the first and second structured illuminations.
With regard to Claims 14-16, Zhu discloses the device set forth above, wherein first and second structured illuminations are dot projections, flood projections, or grid projections (see, e.g., Abstract; Col. 1, l. 13-15; Col 11, ll. 35-36; Col. 7, l. 58 – Col. 8, l. 31; Claim 9).
Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 17-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Na et al. (US 2019/0137856).
With regard to Claims 1 and 2, Na et al. discloses in Figs. 1-17 a device, comprising:
a multi-zone illumination system (100), wherein said multi-zone illumination system comprises:
a light source (150) including a first plurality of emitters (121, 122) configured to transmit a first light signal having a first polarization state, and a second plurality of emitters (121, 131) configured to transmit a second light signal having a second polarization state transverse to the first polarization state (Para. [0072]);
a dual channel driver circuit (220) connected to the light source and configured to alternately turn on the first plurality of emitters and second plurality of emitters (see, e.g., Fig. 13); and
an optic (MS) configured to receive the first light signal when the first plurality of emitters is turned on by the dual channel driver circuit and generate a first structured illumination of a first far field zone (hereinafter considered to be the zone created when the first plurality of emitters is turned ON and the second plurality of emitters is turned OFF) and receive the second light signal when the second plurality of emitters is turned on by the dual channel driver circuit and generate a second structured illumination of a second far field zone (hereinafter considered to be the zone created when the first plurality of emitters is turned OFF and the second plurality of emitters is turned ON),
wherein the first and second far field zones are laterally offset, separate, but adjacent to/from each other (one ordinary skill in the art would recognize that due to the first and second plurality of emitters being laterally offset in the Y-axis direction (see Fig. 2), the far field zones would also be offset from each other)).
With regard to Claims 17 and 18, Na et al. discloses in Figs. 1-17 a method comprising:
activating (220) a first channel (121, 122) of a light source (150);
transmitting, by the first channel of the light source, a first light signal having a first polarization state (Para. [0072]);
generating, by an optic (MS), a first structured illumination of a first far field zone (hereinafter considered to be the zone created when the first plurality of emitters is turned ON and the second plurality of emitters is turned OFF) in response to the first light signal;
activating (220) a second channel (121, 131) of the light source (150);
transmitting, by the second channel of the light source, a second light signal having a second polarization state transverse to the first polarization state (Para. [0072]); and
generating, by the optic, a second structured illumination of a second far field zone (hereinafter considered to be the zone created when the first plurality of emitters is turned OFF and the second plurality of emitters is turned ON) in response to the second light signal,
wherein activating the first channel and activating the second channel comprise alternately turning on the light sources of the first and second channels (see Fig. 13), and
wherein the first and second far field zones are laterally offset, separate, but adjacent to/from each other (one ordinary skill in the art would recognize that due to the first and second plurality of emitters being laterally offset in the Y-axis direction (see Fig. 2), the far field zones would also be offset from each other)).
With regard to Claims 3 and 19, Na et al. discloses the device/method set forth above, wherein lateral edge regions of the first and second far field zones overlap each other (one ordinary skill in the art would recognize that due to the first and second plurality of emitters being laterally offset in the Y-axis direction (see Fig. 2), the far field zones lateral edges would overlap each other)).
With regard to Claims 4 and 20, Na et al. discloses the device/method set forth above, wherein the first polarization state is linear, and the second polarization state is orthogonal to the first polarization state (Para. [0072]).
With regard to Claim 5, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, wherein the first plurality of emitters (121, 122) and second plurality of emitters (121, 131) are arranged in an alternating pattern (see Fig. 2).
With regard to Claim 6, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, wherein the optic (MS) includes a plurality of meta-elements (NS) that extends in a propagation direction of the first light signal and the second light signal.
With regard to Claim 7, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, wherein each of the plurality of meta-elements (MS) has an asymmetrical shape (see Fig. 5).
With regard to Claim 8, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, wherein the plurality of meta-elements includes a first set of meta-elements having a cross-sectional shape with a major axis extending in a first direction, and a second set of meta-elements having a cross-sectional shape with a major axis extending in a second direction transverse to the first direction (see, Para. [0081-0084, 0167]).
With regard to Claims 13 and 23, Na et al. discloses the device/method set forth above, wherein said optic (MS) is configured to alter a phase of the first light signal to produce the first structured illumination at the first far field zone and alter a phase of the second light signal to produce the second structured illumination are the second far field zone (see, e.g., Para. [0040, 0082]).
With regard to Claim 22, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, further comprising in Fig. 15 detecting (330) light generated in response to reflection of the first and second structured illuminations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US 2019/0137856) in view of Downing (US 2021/0286191).
With regard to Claim 9, Na et al. discloses the system set forth above, but lacks a clear disclosure of the plurality of meta-elements including a third set of meta-elements having a cross-sectional shape that is substantially circular.
In an analogous optics field of endeavor, Downing discloses in Fig. 2 a system comprising, among other features, a plurality of meta-elements (208) including a third set of meta-elements having a cross-sectional shape that is substantially circular (see Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to modify Na et al. by providing a third set of meta-elements, as taught by Downing, in order to provide greater control over the modulation of the illumination system.
With regard to Claim 16, Na et al. discloses the system set forth above, but lacks a clear disclosure of the first and second structure illuminations being grid projections.
In an analogous optic field of endeavor, Downing discloses a system comprising, among other features, first and second structured illuminations being grid projections (see, Fig. 1, Para. [0006]).
Before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to modify Na et al. by utilizing grid projections, as taught by Downing, in order to provide
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US 2019/0137856) in view of Riley et al. (US 2020/0271941).
With regard to Claim 10, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, wherein the plurality of meta-elements (MS) is made of a first material and are encapsulated within a layer (SU) made of a second material.
Note 1: It is herein noted that the claim does not set forth that the first and second material are different.
Note 2: Examiner hereby interprets the term “encapsulated” to be synonymous to “embedded”. Because meta-elements (NS) are embedded in support structure (SU), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the support structure encapsulates the metal-elements (NS). However, if not, in analogous optics field of endeavor, Riley et al. discloses in Fig. 1G a plurality of meta-elements (18) made of a first material and are encapsulated within a layer (24) made of a second material (Para. [0219, 0222]).
Before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to modify Na et al. by providing the plurality of meta-elements and layer taught by Riley et al. in order to provide greater protection of the meta-elements from unwanted environmental impact.
With regard to Claim 11, Na et al. discloses the device set forth above, but lacks a clear disclosure of the first and second material having different indices of refraction.
In an analogous optics field of endeavor, Riley et al. discloses a system comprising, among other features, a plurality of meta-elements (18) made of a first material and are encapsulated within a layer (24) made of a second material, wherein the first and second material have different indices of refraction (Para. [0219-0222]).
Before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to modify Na et al. by providing the plurality of meta-elements and layer taught by Riley et al. in order to provide greater control over the modulation of the illumination system.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US 2019/0137856) in view of Zhu (US 11,092,719).
With regard to Claims 24-26, Na et al. discloses the method set forth above, but lacks a clear disclosure of the structured illuminations being dot, flood, and/or grid projections.
In an analogous optics field of endeavor, Zhu discloses first and second structured illuminations being dot, flood, and/or grid projections (see, e.g., Abstract; Col. 1, l. 13-15; Col 11, ll. 35-36; Col. 7, l. 58 – Col. 8, l. 31; Claim 9).
Before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to modify Na et al. and specify the type of projections taught by Zhu in order to provide display of a desired quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 and 22-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone/Fax Information
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798