DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Claims 1-14 are pending. Claim 1 is independent. Claim 11 is amended in the response filed 8/4/2025.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-14 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending 18/107,094 Application No. US20230250362A1 is maintained because rejections cannot be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending 18/107,094 Application No. US20230250362A1 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in the same method of laundering fabric comprising the same phenolic antioxidant, surfactant, and iron. As optimization of ingredients and ratios are within the level of ordinary skill and make obvious the copending applications. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/4/2025, with respect to claims 1-14 urging Mueller et al. do not teach the claimed 0.001ppm to about 10.0 ppm iron as required by claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (WO2021/160851 A1) has been withdrawn upon consideration that conversion of weight percentage to ppm is that 0.1-10% converts to 1000-100,000 ppm. Using Meuller’s lower range of 0.005% that converts to 50 ppm which is still well above the claimed 0.001ppm to about 10.0 ppm iron as required by claim 1. Accordingly the rejection is withdrawn. Upon an updated search Miracle et al. (US 2020/0032173 A1) and Qin et al. (US 20160326467 A1) are found pertinent to the instant claims.
New Grounds of Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US 2016/0326467 A1) further in view of Miracle et al. (US 2020/0032173A1) as evidenced by PubChem MSDS https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Octadecyl-DI-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamate
Qin et al. teach claim 1 method of laundering fabric (see abstract) comprising the steps of: (a) contacting a detergent composition comprising linear alkylbenzene sulphonate detersive surfactant [0195] and [0344]
And teach C8-C24 alkyl sulphate detersive surfactant [0195] and phenolic antioxidant [0369] having the claimed structure [0273] copied herein below.
corresponding to the claimed structure:
wherein the claimed index a is taught as x and is 1 or 2,
wherein when a taught as x is about 1, claimed R2 is taught as R1 is a C3-C6 branched alkyl, preferably the claimed t-butyl and claimed R1 is taught as R —OCH3 (methoxy group),
wherein when a is about 2, at least one R2 group must be ortho to the hydroxyl group, or one R2 is t-butyl and the other R2 is selected from t-butyl and methyl, see [0274-0277]
Qin et al. [0319] teaches effective amount of the liquid detergent compositions herein added to water to form aqueous laundering solutions can comprise amounts sufficient to form from about 500 to 7,000 ppm of composition in aqueous washing solution, or from about 1,000 to 3,000 ppm of the detergent composition. See also [0321] encompassing the claim 1 limitation to form a wash liquor.
Qin et al. teach on page 25 the wash liquor comprises 0.1-60% total surfactant [0194] (which conversion is inclusive of 1000ppm) thus encompassing the claim 1 from about 50 ppm to about 2000 ppm linear alkylbenzene sulphonate detersive surfactant [0195].
Qin et al. teach the claim 1 amount from about 0.1 ppm to about 200 ppm phenolic antioxidant [0271] teaching antioxidant is in the composition from about 0.001 to about 0.08% which conversion to 10-800 ppm overlaps with the claimed range.
Qin et al. teach the claim 1 amount from about 0.001 ppm to about 10.0 ppm iron, page 24 [0190-0191] teaching the washing medium will typically have from about 0.005ppm to about 5ppm of transition metal complex ligands with iron, manganese and or chromium.
Qin et al. teach having a pH in 3-9 [0225] encompassing the claim 1 pH range of from greater than about 7.0 to about 12.0.
Claim 1 limitation to wherein the molar ratio of linear alkylbenzene sulphonate detersive surfactant to C8-C24 alkyl sulphate detersive surfactant present in the wash liquor is in the range of from about 0.05 to about 200 is met by the prior art teaching the inclusion of both anionic surfactants in their detergent composition.
Limitation to claim 1 (b) contacting fabric with the wash liquor; and claim 1 (c) laundering the fabric.is met by the examples illustrating washing the fabric in the wash liquor. See for example page 41, [0376] table 11.
Qin et al. do not teach claim 1 limitation of about 10 to about 750 ppm C8-C24 alkyl sulphate, instead [0237] teaches 1-10%.
However, Miracle et al. [0048] guide one of ordinary skill to 0-5% surfactant when the detergent is a laundry detergent or a fabric softener.
Qin et al. and Miracle et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of antioxidant based laundry detergents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Qin et al. with the lower the ppm of the C8-C24 alkyl sulphate as claimed because Qin et al. guide the total amount of surfactant encompassing 1000ppm in general and Miracle et al. teach optimizing the amount of surfactant less than 0.1% depending on the formulations intended use in general. Furthermore, optimizing the ppm of the surfactant is well within the skill of PHOSITA and the difference from the claimed range and the prior art range does not amount to a patentable difference as the units are in ppm.
Qin et al. teach claims 2-3 on page 40, [0369] teaching suitable antioxidants include, but are not limited to, alkylated phenol (Such as BHT, Irganox(R) 1135, Irganox(R) 1076, Irganox(R) 1010, Irganox.R. 1330, and IrganoxR 1035; IrganoxR products commercially available from BASF), aromatic amine and its derivatives (such as IrganoxR 5057), Cl-, 3-, y-, 8-tocoph erol, ethoxyquine, 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline, 2,6-di-tert-butyl hydroquinone, tert-butyl-hydroxy anisole, lignosulphonic acid and salts thereof, 6-hydroxy-2,5,7,8- tetra-methylchroman-2-carboxylic acid (TroloxTM), 1,2-ben Zisothiazoline-3-one (Proxel GXLTM), a benzofuran or benzopyran. See also the attached PubChem MSDS showing of common knowledge that
is the octadecyl di-t-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamate antioxidant structure of claim 3, See search notes https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Octadecyl-DI-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamate illustrating the antioxidant in claim 3 is the last structure in claim 2 with the commonly known synonym IRGANOX 1076.
Qin et al. teach claim 4 limitation to wherein the C8-C24 alkyl sulphate detersive surfactant is a C12-C14 alkyl sulphate detersive surfactant in [0195] teaching preferred sulphonates are C10-13 alkyl benzene sulphonate.
Qin et al. teach claim 5 limitation to wherein the linear alkylbenzene sulphonate detersive surfactant is a C11-C13 linear alkylbenzene sulphonate in [0195] teaching preferred sulphonates are C10-13 alkyl benzene sulphonate.
Qin et al. teach claim 6 limitation to wherein the molar ratio of linear alkylbenzene sulphonate detersive surfactant and C8-C24 alkyl sulphate detersive surfactant present in the wash liquor in the range of from about 0.1 to about 50 is met by [0194-0196] teaching the inclusion of both anionic surfactants in their detergent composition.
Qin et al. teach the claim 7 limitation to wherein the wash liquor comprises from about 0.4 ppm to about 5.0 ppm iron on page 24 [0190-0191] teaching the washing medium will typically have from about 0.005ppm to about 5ppm of transition metal complex ligands with iron.
Qin et al. do not teach claim 8 limitation to wherein the wash liquor has a pH of from about 10.0 to about 12.0, however, Miracle et al. guide one of ordinary skill to the concept that the wash water will have a pH of between about 6.0 and about 12. [0094]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed pH range, because the pH of the wash water is generally changing in use and Miracle et al. teach it is commonly known the wash water will have a pH of 6-12 with a composition comprising the similar antioxidant based laundry detergent.
Qin et al. teach claim 9 limitation to wherein the wash liquor has a pH of from above about 7.0 to less than about 10.0 by teaching one of ordinary skill that their wash liquor has a pH in 3-9 [0225].
Qin et al. teach the claim 10 limitation to wherein the detergent composition comprises from about 0.4 ppm to about 200 ppm chelant on page 24 [0190-0191] teaching the washing medium will typically have from about 0.005ppm to about 5ppm of transition metal complex ligands with chromium. See also [0208].
Qin et al. teach claim 11 wherein the chelant is selected from DETA, MGDA, EDDS, TETA, in [0208].
Qin et al. teach limitation to wherein the detergent composition comprises from about 0.2 ppm to about 200 ppm perfume on page 32 [0278] teaching 0.001-3 wt% which teaching is inclusive of 10 ppm perfume thus encompasses the claimed range.
Qin et al. teach claim 13 limitation to wherein the detergent composition comprises protease in an amount from about 0.2 ppm to about 80 ppm protease in [0165] teaching protease enzymes in an amount of about 0.00001% to 0.001% which converts into 0.1ppm to 10ppm.
Qin et al. teach claim 14 limitation to wherein the wash liquor comprises from about 0.01 ppm to about 200 ppm hueing agent on page 40, table 3 describing 1ppm or 2 ppm hueing agent.
Conclusion
/PREETI KUMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761