Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11603196 (“Lindsey”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘196 patent anticipates instant claims 1-8, claim 3 of Lindsey anticipates claim 10, claim 7 of the Lindsey patent anticipates instant claim 12, claim 9 of the Lindsey patent anticipates instant claim 13, claim 14 of the Lindsey patent anticipates claims 14-18, and claim 15 of the Lindsey patent anticipates instant claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winn (US 20150336671A1) in view of Gentry (US009376208B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Winn discloses verifying, by a processor having addressable memory, that a vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aerial vehicle ([0011]; [0016]; [0026]) has been travelling at a speed for a predetermined time interval ([0009]; [0016]; [0026]; [0048]).
However, Winn does not explicitly state verifying, that the aerial vehicle has been travelling at a speed greater than or equal to a minimum airspeed for horizontal flight for a predetermined time interval; determining that the aerial vehicle has completed a transition from a hover mode to an airplane mode based on the verification.
On the other hand, Gentry teaches the aerial vehicle has been travelling at a speed greater than or equal to a minimum airspeed (Col. 2, Lines 60-67; Col. 3, Lines 1-10; Col. 8, Lines 50-67; Col. 9, Lines 1-10; Col. 13, Lines 20-40).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Winn reference and include features from the Gentry reference with a reasonable expectation of success, to apply the system in Gentry to the VTOL in Winn. Doing so provides better control strategies for the transitioning phases of the VTOL.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Winn discloses determining, by the processor, a set of take-off variables for the VTOL aerial vehicle, wherein each take-off variable of the set of take-off variables includes one or more of: a vertical ascent speed, a pitch adjustment rate, a final pitch angle, a horizontal ascent speed, a minimum transition height above ground, a final altitude, a minimum airspeed for horizontal flight, a wind speed, and a wind direction ([0009]; [0016]; [0026]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Winn discloses determining the set of take-off variables comprises at least: determining the minimum transition height above ground based on at least geometry of the VTOL aerial vehicle; determining the minimum airspeed for horizontal flight based on a stall speed of the VTOL aerial vehicle; and determining the vertical ascent speed based on a maximum ascent speed of the VTOL aerial vehicle ([0009]; [0016], and [0026]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Winn discloses increasing, by the processor, an altitude of the VTOL aerial vehicle to a first altitude based on the determined set of take-off variables ([0013], [0016]; [0031]).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Winn discloses increasing the altitude comprises: sending a signal to one or more motors to produce thrust ([009]-[0013]); and adjusting speed of the one or more motors such that the altitude of the VTOL aerial vehicle reaches the first altitude and vertical flight of the VTOL aerial vehicle ([0012]-[0013], [0016]; [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Winn discloses performing, by the processor, a first pre-rotation check of the VTOL aerial vehicle after increasing the altitude of the VTOL aerial vehicle to the first altitude ([0007]; [0028]-[0029]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Winn discloses adjusting, by the processor, a pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle to a first pitch angle via motor control based on a result of the first pre-rotation check of the VTOL aerial vehicle and the determined set of take-off variables ([0016]; [0026]; [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Winn discloses adjusting, by the processor, the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle from the first pitch angle to a second pitch angle via at least one of: motor control and one or more control surfaces based on the determined set of take-off variables ([0016]; [0026]; [0040]; note: it is inherent that Winn's system can control the VTOL to be at different pitch angles depending on the flight).
Regarding claim 9, Winn discloses adjusting, by the processor, the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle from the second pitch angle to a third pitch angle via the one or more control surfaces based on the determined set of take-off variables, wherein the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle is adjusted to the third pitch angle until the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle reaches the third pitch angle, and wherein the third pitch angle is perpendicular to a vertical plane ([0010]-[0013], [0026], [0040]; note: pitch angle is substantially perpendicular to a vertical plane means the vehicle is flying straight and at various levels).
Regarding claim 10, Winn discloses prior to increasing altitude to the first altitude: performing, by the processor, a pre-launch check of the VTOL aerial vehicle, wherein the pre-launch check comprises a test of at least one of: the one or more motors and one or more batteries, wherein the first pre-rotation check comprises a test of at least one of: the one or more motors, the one or more batteries, and a speed of the VTOL aerial vehicle ([0007]; [0028]-[0029]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Winn discloses landing, by the processor, the VTOL aerial vehicle via adjusting thrust to the one or more motors if the test of at least one of: the one or more motors, the one or more batteries, and a speed of the VTOL aerial vehicle is failed (0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Winn discloses adjusting the pitch to the first pitch angle comprises adjusting thrust to the one or more motors to cause a rotation of the VTOL aerial vehicle ([0016]; [0026]; [0040]), wherein adjusting the pitch to the second pitch angle comprises adjusting thrust to the one or more motors and adjusting a position of the one or more control surfaces to cause the rotation of the VTOL aerial vehicle ([0010]-[0013]; [0026]; [0040]), and wherein adjusting the pitch to the third pitch angle comprises adjusting the position of the one or more control surfaces to cause the rotation of the VTOL aerial vehicle ([0016]; [0026]; [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Winn discloses performing, by the processor, a stability check of the VTOL aerial vehicle, wherein the stability check verifies that the VTOL aerial vehicle is stable prior to performing one or more maneuvers ([0009]; [0026]); and executing, by the processor, one or more mission plans, wherein the one or more mission plans comprise at least one of: increasing elevation, decreasing elevation, and imaging one or more fields (Fig. 1, S150; [0013]; [0015]; [0016]; [0037]).
Regarding claim 19, Winn discloses the processor is further configured to:
perform a first pre-rotation check of the VTOL aerial vehicle after increasing the altitude of the VTOL aerial vehicle to the first altitude (0007]; [0028]-[0029]; [0053]);
adjust a pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle to a first pitch angle via motor control based on a result of the first pre-rotation check of the VTOL aerial vehicle and the determined set of take-off variables ([0016]; [0026]; [0040]);
adjust the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle from the first pitch angle to a second pitch angle via at least one of. motor control of the one or more motors and control of the one or more control surfaces based on the determined set of take-off variables ([0016]; [0026]; [0040]; note: it is inherent that Winn's system can control the VTOL to be at different pitch angles depending on the flight); and
adjust the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle from the second pitch angle to a third pitch angle via the one or more control surfaces, wherein the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle is adjusted to the third pitch angle until the pitch of the VTOL aerial vehicle reaches the third pitch angle, and wherein the third pitch angle is perpendicular to a vertical plane ([0010]-[0013], [0026], [0040]; note: pitch angle is substantially perpendicular to a vertical plane means the vehicle is flying straight and at various levels).
Regarding claim 20, Winn discloses the VTOL aerial vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (Abstract; [0008]).
Conclusion
/SHAHIRA BAAJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3666