DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 13-15 in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 and 16 have been canceled by applicant as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/5/2026.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification failed to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed flow rate and temperature range in claim 15 and cart in claim 18.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, last paragraph, line 2, “ at least three courses” shall be changed to -- the at least three courses-- to show antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 14-15 are method claims. Method claims shall be defined by active, positive steps. However, claims 14-15 fail to include active, positive steps. Claim 15 also recites abbreviation “F/M”. it is unclear what the recited “F/M” stands for.
Claim 19 recites abbreviation “MC”. It is unclear what the recited “MC” stands for.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachrich (US 4,014,107) in view of Smith (US 3,234,659) and Cooke et al. (US 2013/0092272).
Bachrich discloses a method for drying wood products 4 within a drying kiln 2, the method comprising: providing a drying kiln 2 comprising a ceiling member 24 supported by opposing continuous wall members 6 and at least one heat source 50 lateral thereof wherein stacked lumber 4 is to be received and dried within the kiln 2 (Fig. 1); providing stacked lumber 4 to be kilned within the kiln 2, the stacked lumber 4 being under the ceiling member 24 (Fig. 1) and between the opposed continuous wall members 6 (Fig. 1), wherein the stacked lumber 4 is arranged in courses (Fig. 1), with each course vertically spaced apart from one another from a top of the stacked lumber to a bottom of the stacked lumber (Fig. 1); providing at least one baffle 42 lateral of where the stacked lumber 4 is received (Fig. 1), the at least one baffle 42 extending vertically from the ceiling 24 between where the stacked lumber 4 is received and at least one of the opposing continuous wall members 6 to below the top of the stacked lumber 4 (Fig. 1) and exposing the heating source 50 to the stacked lumber below at least third course (Fig. 1, bottom outlet 66 of duct 50 is located below at least third course); drying the stacked lumber 4 within the kiln 2 while the at least one baffle 42 hangs along the opposing wall of the kiln to below the top of the stack of lumber 4 (Fig. 1). However, Bachrich does not disclose the baffle extends vertically from the ceiling to at least three courses below the top course of the stacked lumber. Bachrich also does not disclose the baffle is rubber baffle. Smith discloses a lumber drying kiln 10 comprising baffle 50, 51 extends vertically from the ceiling 42 to at least three courses below the top course of the stacked lumber S (Figs. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the drying method of Smith to extend the baffle vertically from the ceiling to at least three courses below the top course of the stacked lumber as taught by Smith in order to prevent escape of circulating air over the upper surfaces of the lumber stacks to insure complete the uniform circulation of the processing air through the lumber stacks and to further modify the lumber drying method of Bachrich to make the baffle from rubber as taught by Cooke et al. in order to tolerance high moisture within the kiln.
Regarding claim 14, Bachrich discloses there are at least a pair of baffles 42 baacketing the stack of lumber 4 (Fig.1. , Smith also discloses there are at least a pair of baffles 50, 51 bracketing the stack of lumber S (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Bachrich discloses providing the stacked lumber 4 to the kiln 2 upon a cart 16, 18, 20 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, for examination purposes, the recited “MC” in claim 19 has been interpretated as moisture content. Smith discloses a lumber drying method comprising providing stacked lumber having less than 19% MC (col. 1, line 14 discloses a moisture content of 7%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the drying method of Bachrich to provide stacked lumber having less than 19% MC as taught by Smith in order to obtain a dryness condition that is ready for use by the industry.
Regarding claim 20, Bachrich discloses separating each row of lumber 4 in the stack (Fig. 1 shows each lumber stacks 26, 28 are separated into three rows).
Regarding claim 21, Bachrich as modified by Smith results in receiving the baffle between the first and third rows of the stacks.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachrich (US 4,014,107) in view of Smith (US 3,234,659) and Cooke et al. (US 2013/0092272) as applied to claim 13 as above, and further in view of Brodie et al. (US 2019/0234686 A1).
Regarding claim 15, for examination purposes, the recited “F/M” in claim 15 has been interpreted as foot per minute. The drying method Bachrich as modified by Smith and Cooke et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 15 except for the air flow is provided within the kiln at a flow of about 1200 F/M, and the kiln is maintained at a temperature of from about 80°F to about 240°F. Brodie et al. discloses a lumber drying method comprising providing an air flow within the kiln at a flow of about 1200 F/M (paragraph [0081] discloses an air flow rate of 1100-1200 fpm), and the kiln is maintained at a temperature of from about 80°F to about 240°F (paragraph [0079] discloses various temperature within the claimed range). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the drying method of Bachrich to include steps of providing the air flow within the kiln at a flow of about 1200 F/M, and maintaining the kiln at a temperature of from about 80°F to about 240°F as taught by Brodie et al. in order to improve drying efficiency.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachrich (US 4,014,107) in view of Smith (US 3,234,659) and Cooke et al. (US 2013/0092272) as applied to claim 13 as above, and further in view of Choo et al. (WO 2011/149327 A1).
The drying method of Bachrich as modified by Smith and Cooke et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 17 except for supporting the baffle with a chain. Chool et al. discloses a lumber stack drying method comprising supporting baffle 36 with a chain 37 (Fig. 3 page 13, last paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the drying method of Bachrich to include a step of supporting the baffle with a chain as taught by Choo et al. in order to facilitate control the pivot operation of the baffle.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY