DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2017;0095818 A1; hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches cartridge (paragraphs 89 – 96; figure 1) that is used in combination with a channel chip (microchip 1) including a channel (channels 32, 33 and 34) through which a liquid flows, the cartridge being configured to store the liquid, the cartridge comprising:
a main body (microarray platform 3);
a reservoir (sample reservoirs 11, hybridization reagent reservoir 12 or mixing reservoir 15) disposed inside the main body and configured to store the liquid; and
a tube (silicone tube 22 works as a pinch valve; paragraphs 91 – 93; figure 1) configured such that the liquid taken in from one end of the tube communicating with the reservoir flows out from another end of the tube, wherein:
the tube includes a pressed portion that controls a flow of the liquid by causing the tube to be deformed when the tube is pressed or released from being pressed (silicone tube 22 acting as a pinch valve can be deformed when the tube is pressed or released from being pressed; figure 1; paragraphs 91 – 93), and
the pressed portion is located outside the main body (figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the pressed portion is formed of an elastic body (silicone tube 22 acting as a pinch valve can be deformed when the tube is pressed or released from being pressed; figure 1; paragraphs 91 – 93).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches a liquid handling device (paragraphs 89 – 96; figure 1) comprising:
a cartridge according to claim 1;
a channel chip (microchip 1) including an inlet (inlet channels 32 and 33) for introducing a liquid of the reservoir and a channel (channels 32, 33 and 34) through which the liquid introduced through the inlet flows; and
an interface (e.g., joint 13 to ensure substantially and air-tight connection between the components; paragraph 92) for connecting the cartridge and the channel chip to each other.
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches a liquid handling device (paragraphs 89 – 96; figure 1) comprising:
a cartridge according to claim 5;
a channel chip (microchip 1) including an inlet (inlet channels 32 and 33) for introducing a liquid of the reservoir and a channel (channels 32, 33 and 34) through which the liquid introduced through the inlet flows; and
an interface (e.g., joint 13 to ensure substantially and air-tight connection between the components; paragraph 92) for connecting the cartridge and the channel chip to each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 4, 7 – 14 and 16 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art neither teaches nor fairly suggests the cartridge according to claim 1, wherein: the tube includes: a first tube that opens in a bottom surface of the reservoir, and a second tube communicating with the channel of the channel chip, and an angle formed between a central axis of the second tube and a central axis of the first tube is less than 180°.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796