DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 11/03/2025.
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 17-18 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 17-18 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) below have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues
Examiner respectfully submits that Kumar teaches the argued limitations.
Kumar teaches a display interface (Kumar [See figure 1]). Kumar explains that the interface programming logic and configuration are preloaded prior to data retrieval (Kumar [0162-0163: “Once module 171 has confirmed a request and confirmed a presentation option, it accesses a guard (GI) 175 resident on the client side of such as repository 157 of FIG. 7 to see if there is enough current data stored therein to enable formulation of a valid result.” . . . 0165: “Presentation options may include spreadsheets, graphs, text reports, pie charts, and so on.”]; [0168: “At step 185, control logic registers and confirms feasibility of the original request. This step includes parsing the request, confirming a presentation option, confirming presentation delivery parameters (software, hardware, medium) and so on.”]). The reference describes that the output is fully interactive (Kumar [0170: “In most cases, a browser interface supporting full interactive function will be utilized.”]). Kumar explains that the data, after the interface is presented, continuously updates information from data sources (Kumar [0181-0186: “Interface 211 is adapted to be served to user 163 in the form of a Web page that his dynamic nature meaning that it is continually updated with new information.”]). Kumar also teaches that the modules are user configured interfaces (Kumar [0232-0234: “It may be assumed that if a user pre-configures more data for display on the face of module 307, then module 307 will command more real estate.”]; [0182-0185: “A bill Payment module 217 is provided within interface 211 and adapted for user configuration to report parameters related to bill payment. A Calendar module 219 is provided with interface 211 and adapted to hold all of a user's pending data-sensitive information.”]).
Comparing the “providing” step in claim 1, Kumar teaches, or at least suggests, each element of the limitation.
Therefore, each and every limitation is taught by the cited reference Kumar in view of Nanda.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 uses “even before” terminology creating ambiguity. Use of the term “even” is not clearly defined and may be superfluous. Each word in a claim should have patentable weight. This terminology and use of “even” causes ambiguity due to lack of utility.
All independent claims include this ambiguity and all are similarly rejected. Further, all dependent claims are rejected based on dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-14, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 20010023414; “Kumar” hereinafter) and further in view of Nanda et al. (US 20190243836; “Nanda” hereinafter).
As per claim 1, Kumar discloses A method of displaying and updating records using a multi-functional dashboard user interface of an enterprise, said method comprising:
retrieving internal data from an internal enterprise data source that is owned, maintained, and controlled by an enterprise which is an operator of the multi-functional dashboard user interface (Kumar [0061: “According to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, a unique Internet portal is provided and adapted to provide unique services to users who have obtained access via an Internet or other network connection from an Internet-capable appliance.” Where internal data source as claimed is local database]; [0116: “A database interface module 89 is provided and adapted to provide access for gatherer 67 to a mass repository such as repository 29 of FIG. 1, for the purpose of storing and retrieving summary data, templates, presentation directives, and so on. Gatherer agent 67 may also access data through interface 89 such as profile information, user account and URL information, stored site logics and so on.”]);
retrieving external data from a plurality of disparate external data sources that are owned, maintained, and controlled by at least one entity other than the operator of the multi-functional dashboard user interface (Kumar [0067: “Three Internet servers 23, 25, and 27, are shown in Internet 13, and represent Internet servers hosted by various enterprises and subscribed to by a user operating appliance 17.”]);
responsive to said retrieving internal data and said retrieving external data, processing the retrieved data by applying an instruction set selectively to [process the internal data and the external data] in accordance with the internal data source and the external data source, respectively, to aggregate and prepare the internal and the external data for selective display on the multi-functional dashboard user interface (Kumar [0179: “Interface suite 211, termed a Dashboard by the inventors, provides a single interactive center for viewing summary data and for performing various transaction tasks related to data available through the interface.”]; [0180-0186: “All of sub-modules 213-229 are interactive in the sense that a user invokes each module in order to obtain more detailed information regarding the types and classes of dynamic data handled by the invoked module.” Where user interface is a dashboard.]); displaying a result of said processing in the multi-functional dashboard user interface that includes a plurality of user-configurable data zones, each data zone including a user-configurable arrangement of a plurality of user-configurable displays (Kumar [0022: “The interactive user interface comprises, an interactive drop-down menu containing a plurality of questions, the questions relating to various aspects of financial planning, an interactive inputs section containing a plurality of input data fields and selection boxes, the inputs section for configuring a calculative order, a submission function for submitting the calculative order upon completion thereof and a results window for displaying the data results derived from the calculations ordered.”]), with a first one of the user-configurable displays selectively displaying information in an aggregated presentation form from a plurality of data sources from among the internal and the external data sources (Kumar [0014: “In the instance that the needed data is stored in the aggregated-data database, the report is prepared from the aggregated data. Reports may be presented in a form such as to include text and graphic formats.” . . . 0017: “A software suite known to the inventor enables viewing and manipulation of multiple categories of aggregated data compiled from a plurality of data sources and accessible through a single interface operated on a data-packet-network.”]; [0067: “Three Internet servers 23, 25, and 27, are shown in Internet 13, and represent Internet servers hosted by various enterprises and subscribed to by a user operating appliance 17.”]);
providing a user-customization interface that facilitates selective customization, including programming, grouping, re-arrangement, and/or variation of size and orientation, of the user-configurable data zones, wherein the user-configurable data zones are selectively customizable even before the multi-functional dashboard user interface is configured to access any of the internal and external data sources (Kumar [See figures 10-15 for displaying stored information.]; [0014: “The report processor processes the raw data according to the report algorithm into meta-summarized information defined by the report algorithm, and the portal system transmits the meta-summarized information as a report to a destination associated with the report request.”]) Kumar explains that the interface programming logic and configuration are preloaded prior to data retrieval (Kumar [0162-0163: “Once module 171 has confirmed a request and confirmed a presentation option, it accesses a guard (GI) 175 resident on the client side of such as repository 157 of FIG. 7 to see if there is enough current data stored therein to enable formulation of a valid result.” . . . 0165: “Presentation options may include spreadsheets, graphs, text reports, pie charts, and so on.”]; [0168: “At step 185, control logic registers and confirms feasibility of the original request. This step includes parsing the request, confirming a presentation option, confirming presentation delivery parameters (software, hardware, medium) and so on.”]). The reference describes that the output is fully interactive (Kumar [0170: “In most cases, a browser interface supporting full interactive function will be utilized.”]). Kumar explains that the data, after the interface is presented, continuously updates information from data sources (Kumar [0181-0186: “Interface 211 is adapted to be served to user 163 in the form of a Web page that his dynamic nature meaning that it is continually updated with new information.”]). Kumar also teaches that the modules are user configured interfaces (Kumar [0232-0234: “It may be assumed that if a user pre-configures more data for display on the face of module 307, then module 307 will command more real estate.”]; [0182-0185: “A bill Payment module 217 is provided within interface 211 and adapted for user configuration to report parameters related to bill payment. A Calendar module 219 is provided with interface 211 and adapted to hold all of a user's pending data-sensitive information.”]);
and selectively instructing a certain one of the internal data source or the external data source to update a data record of that certain data source responsive to said processing and, optionally, responsive to input from a user (Kumar [0087: “Further, bookmarks may be uploaded from a user's local PC to his/her home page on the Password-All site by use of one or more Password-All plug-ins.” Bookmarks are modifiable by a user and updated on the bookmark server.]; [0262-0266: “Interface 339 is adapted as an interactive interface allowing a user to transfer funds from one financial account into another financial account.” Where funds are able to be transferred from one account to another, for example see figure 22 and para. 0266 where bank account is used to transfer to stock brokerage account.]; [0017: modifying and presenting data.]; [0018: “The treatment is ordered by the operating user and performed by proxy by a service entity hosting the interface.”]).
Even though Kumar teaches first and second data source, Nanda, in an analogous art more clearly teaches: process the internal data (Nanda [0079: “Also shown is an operator business data database 308, used for storing operator specific internal data ingested into the HDA data lake. A demographics, social media, terrain, traffic patterns and weather database 310 may be included in the HDA and is used to store data from public data sources ingested into the HDA for building models.”]; [See figs. 1-2 and 5]) and the external data (Nanda [0004,0065; 0117: “Local data lake must be optimized to meet local data processing needs, data volume, data type and data verity. Data lake platforms should be designed to meet the sizing needs. Operators may choose to deploy multiple data lake at different locations with different footprints of data lakes as determined by the processing needs of the location.”]; [See figure 1 where external, internal, and plurality of data sources are illustrated.]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the multiple data source data analytics of Nanda into the data access module of Kumar to produce an expected result of accessing data from multiple sources including local data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to analyze and enhance the efficiency of resources (Nanda [0004-0006]).
As per claim 2, rejection for claim 1 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 1 wherein the internal data source is maintained on an enterprise resource (Kumar [0026: “In this aspect, the plurality of data sources are file servers maintained on the Internet network. In preferred embodiments, the interfacing node is one of a personal computer, a cellular telephone, or a personal digital assistant any of which has Internet-access capability in stand-alone fashion or through a host.”]; [0107, 0116: “Completed templates are stored in a database contained in a storage facility such as, perhaps, repository 29 of FIG. 1.”]).
As per claim 3, rejection for claim 2 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 2 wherein said retrieving internal data comprises using an internal data source application programming interface (Kumar [0026: “In this aspect, the plurality of data sources are file servers maintained on the Internet network. In preferred embodiments, the interfacing node is one of a personal computer, a cellular telephone, or a personal digital assistant any of which has Internet-access capability in stand-alone fashion or through a host.”]; [0107, 0116: “Completed templates are stored in a database contained in a storage facility such as, perhaps, repository 29 of FIG. 1.”]; [0116: “A database interface module 89 is provided and adapted to provide access for gatherer 67 to a mass repository such as repository 29 of FIG. 1, for the purpose of storing and retrieving summary data, templates, presentation directives, and so on.”]; [0137: Enterprise]).
As per claim 4, rejection for claim 1 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 1 wherein the external data source is maintained by an independent third party (Kumar [See figure 1 labels 23, 25, 27 where external sources are illustrated.]; [0154: “The resulting meta-summarized report would inform a user of his or her calculated net-worth with all financial data from all financial data-sources (servers 141-145) analyzed in the process of answering the user query.” Where data from external sources are aggregated into a report and dashboard.]).
As per claim 5, rejection for claim 4 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 4 wherein said retrieving external data comprises using an external data source application programming interface (Kumar [0175: “However the system of the present invention works with any software interface capable of navigating a data packet network.”]).
As per claim 6, rejection for claim 1 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 1 wherein said displaying comprises transmitting the dashboard user interface to a display associated with a user device (Kumar [0187: “Referring now back to FIG. 8, data input leading into request module 169 of database reporting engine 155 may contain configuration input and request data from one or more utilities (not shown) that may, in preferred embodiments, be accessible through interface 211 of FIG. 11.” Where label 211 is a dashboard. Also, reports are an example of a dashboard.]).
As per claim 7, rejection for claim 1 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 1 wherein said displaying comprises transmitting data associated with the dashboard user interface to a display associated with a user device (Kumar [0187: “Referring now back to FIG. 8, data input leading into request module 169 of database reporting engine 155 may contain configuration input and request data from one or more utilities (not shown) that may, in preferred embodiments, be accessible through interface 211 of FIG. 11.” Where label 211 is a dashboard. Also, reports are an example of a dashboard.]).
As per claim 8, rejection for claim 1 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 1 wherein said selectively instructing comprises causing a system associated with the internal data source or the external data source to alter the data record based upon the user’s interaction with the dashboard user interface (Kumar [0087: “Further, bookmarks may be uploaded from a user's local PC to his/her home page on the Password-All site by use of one or more Password-All plug-ins.” Bookmarks are modifiable by a user and updated on the bookmark server.]; [0262-0266: “Interface 339 is adapted as an interactive interface allowing a user to transfer funds from one financial account into another financial account.” Where funds are able to be transferred from one account to another, for example see figure 22 and para. 0266 where bank account is used to transfer to stock brokerage account.]; [0017: modifying and presenting data.]; [0018: “The treatment is ordered by the operating user and performed by proxy by a service entity hosting the interface.”]).
As per claim 9, Kumar discloses A multi-functional dashboard user interface system of an enterprise, the system comprising: a first data source that is owned, maintained, and controlled by an enterprise which is an operator of the multi-functional dashboard user interface; a first data source processing module to receive and ingest first data from the first data source (Kumar [0061: “According to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, a unique Internet portal is provided and adapted to provide unique services to users who have obtained access via an Internet or other network connection from an Internet-capable appliance.” Where internal data source as claimed is local database]) (Kumar [0061: “According to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, a unique Internet portal is provided and adapted to provide unique services to users who have obtained access via an Internet or other network connection from an Internet-capable appliance.” Where internal data source as claimed is local database]; [0116: “A database interface module 89 is provided and adapted to provide access for gatherer 67 to a mass repository such as repository 29 of FIG. 1, for the purpose of storing and retrieving summary data, templates, presentation directives, and so on. Gatherer agent 67 may also access data through interface 89 such as profile information, user account and URL information, stored site logics and so on.”]); a second data source processing module to receive second data from a plurality of disparate second data sources that is owned, maintained, and controlled by at least one entity other than the operator of the multi-functional dashboard user interface (Kumar [0067: “Three Internet servers 23, 25, and 27, are shown in Internet 13, and represent Internet servers hosted by various enterprises and subscribed to by a user operating appliance 17.”]);
and a computer system that includes processing hardware configured and operative in connection with said first data source processing module and said second data source processing module to: apply an instruction set selectively to [process the first data and the second data in accordance with the first data source and the second data source], respectively, to aggregate and prepare the internal and the external data for selective display on the multi-functional dashboard user interface (Kumar [0179: “Interface suite 211, termed a Dashboard by the inventors, provides a single interactive center for viewing summary data and for performing various transaction tasks related to data available through the interface.”]; [0180-0186: “All of sub-modules 213-229 are interactive in the sense that a user invokes each module in order to obtain more detailed information regarding the types and classes of dynamic data handled by the invoked module.” Where user interface is a dashboard.]; [0067: “Three Internet servers 23, 25, and 27, are shown in Internet 13, and represent Internet servers hosted by various enterprises and subscribed to by a user operating appliance 17.”]); provide an output to a display for displaying a multi-functional dashboard user interface that includes a plurality of user-configurable data zones, each data zone including a user-configurable arrangement of a plurality of user-configurable displays (Kumar [0022: “The interactive user interface comprises, an interactive drop-down menu containing a plurality of questions, the questions relating to various aspects of financial planning, an interactive inputs section containing a plurality of input data fields and selection boxes, the inputs section for configuring a calculative order, a submission function for submitting the calculative order upon completion thereof and a results window for displaying the data results derived from the calculations ordered.”]), with a first one of the user-configurable displays selectively displaying information in an aggregated presentation form from a plurality of data sources from among the internal and the external data sources (Kumar [0014: “In the instance that the needed data is stored in the aggregated-data database, the report is prepared from the aggregated data. Reports may be presented in a form such as to include text and graphic formats.” . . . 0017: “A software suite known to the inventor enables viewing and manipulation of multiple categories of aggregated data compiled from a plurality of data sources and accessible through a single interface operated on a data-packet-network.”]; [0067: “Three Internet servers 23, 25, and 27, are shown in Internet 13, and represent Internet servers hosted by various enterprises and subscribed to by a user operating appliance 17.”]), wherein the user-configurable data zones are selectively alterable, re-arrandgeable, and manipulable via a user-customization interface;
provide a user-customization interface that facilitates selective customization, including programming, grouping, re-arrangement, and/or variation of size and orientation, of the user-configurable data zones, wherein the user-configurable data zones are selectively customizable even before the multi-functional dashboard user interface is configured to access any of the internal and external data sources (Kumar [See figures 10-15 for displaying stored information.]; [0014: “The report processor processes the raw data according to the report algorithm into meta-summarized information defined by the report algorithm, and the portal system transmits the meta-summarized information as a report to a destination associated with the report request.”]);
and selectively instruct a certain one of the first data source or the second data source to update a data record of that certain data source responsive to the output and, optionally, responsive to input from a user (Kumar [0087: “Further, bookmarks may be uploaded from a user's local PC to his/her home page on the Password-All site by use of one or more Password-All plug-ins.” Bookmarks are modifiable by a user and updated on the bookmark server.]; [0262-0266: “Interface 339 is adapted as an interactive interface allowing a user to transfer funds from one financial account into another financial account.” Where funds are able to be transferred from one account to another, for example see figure 22 and para. 0266 where bank account is used to transfer to stock brokerage account.]; [0017: modifying and presenting data.]; [0018: “The treatment is ordered by the operating user and performed by proxy by a service entity hosting the interface.”]).
Even though Kumar teaches first and second data source, Nanda, in an analogous art more clearly teaches: process the first data and the second data in accordance with the first data source (Nanda [0079: “Also shown is an operator business data database 308, used for storing operator specific internal data ingested into the HDA data lake. A demographics, social media, terrain, traffic patterns and weather database 310 may be included in the HDA and is used to store data from public data sources ingested into the HDA for building models.”]; [See figs. 1-2 and 5]) and the second data source (Nanda [0004,0065; 0117: “Local data lake must be optimized to meet local data processing needs, data volume, data type and data verity. Data lake platforms should be designed to meet the sizing needs. Operators may choose to deploy multiple data lake at different locations with different footprints of data lakes as determined by the processing needs of the location.”]; [See figure 1 where external, internal, and plurality of data sources are illustrated.]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the multiple data source data analytics of Nanda into the data access module of Kumar to produce an expected result of accessing data from multiple sources including local data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to analyze and enhance the efficiency of resources (Nanda [0004-0006]).
As per claim 12, rejection for claim 9 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The system of claim 9 wherein said processing resource comprises a central processing unit (Kumar [0023: “In preferred aspects, the interfacing node is one of a personal computer, a cellular telephone, or a personal digital assistant, any of which has Internet-access capability in stand-alone fashion or through a host.” And see figure 1 computer with processor.]).
As per claim 13, rejection for claim 9 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The system of claim 9 wherein said first data source processing module receives the first data via a first application programming interface (Kumar [0026: “In this aspect, the plurality of data sources are file servers maintained on the Internet network. In preferred embodiments, the interfacing node is one of a personal computer, a cellular telephone, or a personal digital assistant any of which has Internet-access capability in stand-alone fashion or through a host.”]; [0107, 0116: “Completed templates are stored in a database contained in a storage facility such as, perhaps, repository 29 of FIG. 1.”]; [0116: “A database interface module 89 is provided and adapted to provide access for gatherer 67 to a mass repository such as repository 29 of FIG. 1, for the purpose of storing and retrieving summary data, templates, presentation directives, and so on.”]; [0137: Enterprise]).
As per claim 14, rejection for claim 9 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The system of claim 9 wherein said second data source processing module receives the second data via a second application programming interface (Kumar [0175: “However the system of the present invention works with any software interface capable of navigating a data packet network.”]).
As per claim 17, rejection for claim 1 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing user-selected documents from the internal and the external data sources in an aggregated document repository and displaying at least a portion of a listing of the stored documents in a corresponding data zone (Kumar [0198-0203: Shows presenting stored calendar documents, including raw data and metadata, and listing the various data found in the documents in aggregated form.]; [0234: “A view history icon 323 is provided within interface 309 and adapted to present a bill history record. Such a history record may be configured to present according to any desired parameters or bill categories.”]; [0014: “In some cases there is an aggregated-data database in the data repository storing aggregated data retrieved for specific users periodically, and the request processor checks the aggregated-data database for needed data before requiring the data-gathering system to retrieve data from the associated Internet sites. In the instance that the needed data is stored in the aggregated-data database, the report is prepared from the aggregated data. Reports may be presented in a form such as to include text and graphic formats.”]).
As per claim 18, rejection for claim 9 is incorporated and further Kumar discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the computer system is further operative to store user- selected documents from the internal and the external data sources in an aggregated document repository and providing an output to a display for displaying at least a portion of a listing of the stored documents in a corresponding data zone (Kumar [0198-0203: Shows presenting stored calendar documents, including raw data and metadata, and listing the various data found in the documents in aggregated form.]; [0234: “A view history icon 323 is provided within interface 309 and adapted to present a bill history record. Such a history record may be configured to present according to any desired parameters or bill categories.”]; [0014: “In some cases there is an aggregated-data database in the data repository storing aggregated data retrieved for specific users periodically, and the request processor checks the aggregated-data database for needed data before requiring the data-gathering system to retrieve data from the associated Internet sites. In the instance that the needed data is stored in the aggregated-data database, the report is prepared from the aggregated data. Reports may be presented in a form such as to include text and graphic formats.”]).
Comments
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martino et al. (US 11269907) – Describes generating a dashboard using various outside sources to retrieve data for analysis.
Malaviya et al. (US 20070288336 ) – Describes using local documents and customizable dashboards.
Koste et al. (US 20220147205) – Describes using cards in interface to present data using user customization.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ajay Bhatia can be reached on 571-272-3906. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-8166. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Taelor Kim
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2156
/TAELOR KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156