DETAILED ACTION
Status
This instant application No. 18/107610 has
Claims 6 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 21 and 22 are newly added.
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-22 are pending. The effective filing date of this application is 02/09/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadunandan (10/977425) hereinafter Jadunandan in view of Hyndman (11/729292) hereinafter Hyndman.
Regarding claim 1, Jadunandan discloses A computer-implemented method comprising:
to maintain information corresponding to a set of resources in a data structure for a first version of a first component of a plurality of components associated with a web application, wherein the plurality of components is used by at least one client device to interact with the web application (Jadunandan: Fig. 1: Mobile Device 102 that interacts with the webpage 130 in content database 128 for updating the most recent version of the web pages 130; column 5: lines 23-45: “The browser 104 may retrieve and present information, for example, text, images, audio, video, or some other kind of content, on the World Wide Web (WWW or W3). The browser 104 may also allow a user to access other information resources on the World Wide Web, for example, through hyperlinks. Additionally, the browser 104 may transfer files with file prefixes that the browser 104 cannot handle to another application, and download a file if the browser encounters an unsupported type of file or a file that is configured to be downloaded. The browser 104 may provide access to content on remote servers as well as to local files. The web browser 104 may be utilized by a web application to interpret the web application”); (column 2, line 66- column 3, line 7: “browsers cache some components of the web page and do not refresh those components when they reload the web page. For example, most of the current browsers pull down everything, including HyperText Markup Language (HTML) documents and HyperText Markup Language (HTML) tags, of a web page once and cache the images, script code and style sheets, and some other components, <examiner note: Jadunandan has mobile device 102 contains a browser to maintain a persistent connection to the content server of webpages opened by the browser, when components of a webpage are updated , the browser then downloads and updates the new versions of the components of the webpage), and wherein at least some of the resources in the set of resources are stored in a first portion of a browser cache corresponding to the first component (Jadunandan: column 3, line 55-60: “One or more cached web pages 112 comprising style sheets 114 and scripts 116 may be stored in the memory 110”);
to detect one or more changes to the set of resources in response to a second version of the first component of the plurality of components being deployed (Jadunandan: column 6, lines 46-47: “when updates for the style sheets 114 and the scripts 116 are available at the content database 128”); and
to send a notification of the one or more changes to the at least one client device (Jadunandan: column 6, lines 46-50: “the server 120 may send a notice/message to all the open browsers 104 that have registered for updates in the style sheets 114 and/or the scripts 116”), wherein the at least one client device updates, based at least in part on the one or more changes: (i) the first portion of the browser cache and (ii) at least a second portion of the browser cache that is separated maintained by the at least one client device for at least a second component of the plurality of components (Jadunandan: Fig.1: Mobile device 102 maintains cached webpage including style sheet and scripts) , wherein the second portion of the browser cache is updated in response to determining that the first component and the at least one second component utilize at least on same resource from the set of resources stored in the first portion of the browser cache, wherein the first component and the at least one second component comprise respective micro-frontend components (Jadunandan: column 1, lines 50-55: “caching the style sheet and the script code by a browser of the mobile phone”; column 7, lines 6-12: “When the server has new resources from the content database 128 to be sent to the browser 104, the server 120 sends the new resources for the style sheets 114 and/or the scripts 116 in a complete response to the browser 104. The browser 104 incrementally downloads updates in the style sheets 114 and/or the scripts 116 in the background; column 7, lines 29-30: “The communication between the browser 104 and the server 120 about the resource updates”, Examiner note: the browser updates the style sheets and the scripts that are the first and the second portions of the browser cache of the client device. The style sheets are fundamental part of frontend development in web applications, stylesheets used CSS to style the appearance of HTML content including front, color and layout…(e.g. the part of the web application that users can see and interact with directly in their browser). The scripts are also commonly used in front end development using programming language like JavaScript to execute within the browser in response to user actions. Here, stylesheets and scripts are disclosed as frontend of web application. Since style sheets controls the appearance of the HTML content and Scripts are programming language being used on style sheets, therefore they utilize on style sheets of a webpage);
wherein the method is performed by at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory (Jadunandan: column 1, line 63 - column 2, line 11 : “The mobile phone comprises a radio frequency transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a browser application stored in the memory. When executed by the processor, the browser application establishes a persistent connection with a web content site, downloads a web page from the web content site via the radio frequency transceiver, wherein the web page comprises content and at least one of a style sheet and a script code, presents the web page based at least in part on the style sheet and the script code, caches the style sheet and the script code”).
Jadunandan does not explicitly disclose maintaining information corresponding to a set of resources in a data structure.
However, Hyndman discloses maintaining information corresponding to a set of resources in a data structure (Hyndman: column 8, lines 46-61: “The hashing middleware performs such renaming with regard to dynamic and static resources and generates a mapping data structure that specifies a mapping between the old name(s) and the new name for each of these resources. The hashing middleware updates the index file for the web page to include the mapping data structure”).
Disclosures by Jadunandan and Hyndman are analogous because they are in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate updating a new version resource of a browser cache in the client device taught by Jadunandan to include an index file to maintain a new version in response to an old version of a resource disclosed by Hyndman. The motivation for include the index file to maintain a new version in response to an old version of a resource by column 6, line 58-67 of Hyndman is for referencing to changed resources to indicate if resources having changed values.
Regarding claims 11 and 16, these claims limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 1, and, therefore, are rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 2, Jadunandan combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the second portion of the browser cache is updated based at least in part on a determination of whether a user of the client device previously interacted with the second component (Jadunandan: column 6, lines 12-16: “The browser 104 may register with one or more web applications for updates. The browser 104 may subscribe to a subset of the total resources published by the server 120 for the web application the browser 104 registered for updates with. In an embodiment, when the browser 104 is developed based on AJAX technologies, the browser 104 subscribes to resources in the form of the style sheets 114 and the scripts 116”)
Regarding claims 12 and 17, these claims limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 2, and, therefore, are rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 3, Jadunandan combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more changes comprise at least one of: adding a new resource to the set of resources; and changing one or more of the resources in the set of resources (Jadunandan: (24): “the open browsers 104 may then send a message to the server 120 requesting resource changes/updates of the style sheets 114 and/or the scripts 116”).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, these claims limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 3, and, therefore, are rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 4, Jadunandan combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: maintaining connection information for one or more connections between the web application and a plurality of client devices (Jadunandan: (26): “a persistent connection is established between a client and a web content site. For example, the mobile device 102 or the network capable electronic device 124 may establish a persistent connection with the server 120 that is the server for the website or web application that the mobile device 102 or the network capable electronic device 124 is interested in. In an embodiment, when the persistent connection is established, the browser 104 is always listening as long as the browser 104 is open. The persistent connection that the browser 104 maintains with the server 120 is the channel for the server 120 to communicate with the browser 104 when there is any update available for the open browser 104”).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, these claims limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 4, and, therefore, are rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 5, Jadunandan combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the sending the notification comprises:
determining one or more of the plurality of client devices having an active connection with the web application based on the connection information (Jadunandan: (10) : “The present disclosure teaches a system and method for the content server to proactively send notices to all open browsers that have registered for available updates of the script code and/or style sheets and for the open browsers to update those components”); and
sending the notification to the one or more client devices having the active connection (Jadunandan: (23): “when updates for the style sheets 114 and the scripts 116 are available at the content database 128, the server 120 may send a notice/message to all the open browsers 104 that have registered for updates in the style sheets 114 and/or the scripts 116”).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, these claims limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 5, and, therefore, are rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 7, Hyndman combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the information maintained for a given resource in the set comprises one or more of: an identifier of the given resource (Hyndman: column 5, lines 55-61: “for a changed file representing changed web content, using file name versioning, a text string may be added to the file name to indicate that it is a new version of the file, e.g., if the original file was “xyz.css”, the string “v2” may be inserted into the file name to indicate a different version of the file, such as “xyz.v2.css”); a type of the given resource; an address of the given resource; a format of the given resource; and a checksum computed for the given resource.
Disclosures by Jadunandan and Hyndman are analogous because they are in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate updating a new version resource of a browser cache in the client device taught by Jadunandan to include a new file name representing a changed file disclosed by Hyndman. The motivation for include a new file name representing a changed file by column 6, line 58-67 of Hyndman is for referencing to changed resources to indicate if resources having changed values.
Regarding claim 10, Jadunandan combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more changes to the set of resources comprise at least one change to a part of a given resource in the set, and wherein the at least one client device updates the part of the given resource that is stored in the first portion of the browser cache and the second portion of the browser cache without updating one or more other parts of the given resource (Jadunandan: (11) : “The server as the publisher may classify resources into different classes. On the other hand, the browser as the subscriber may classify resources into classes also. The browser may subscribe to updates in only some of the classes of resources on the server. For example, when the browser is developed based on AJAX technologies, the browser may subscribe to resources on the server in the form of the style sheet and script code”).
Regarding claim 21, Jadunandan combined further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the determination of whether the user of the client device previously interacted with the second component is based on an analysis of a browser history of the at least one client device (Jadunandan: column 6, lines 12-16: “The browser 104 may register with one or more web applications for updates. The browser 104 may subscribe to a subset of the total resources published by the server 120 for the web application the browser 104 registered for updates with. In an embodiment, when the browser 104 is developed based on AJAX technologies, the browser 104 subscribes to resources in the form of the style sheets 114 and the scripts 116”; column 6, lines 46-50: “when updates for the style sheets 114 and the scripts 116 are available at the content database 128, the server 120 may send a notice/message to all the open browsers 104 that have registered for updates in the style sheets 114 and/or the scripts 116”).
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadunandan (10/977425) hereinafter Jadunandan in view of Hyndman (11/729292) hereinafter Hyndman, as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Venkiteswaran et al (2018/0124027) hereinafter Venkiteswaran.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jadunandan and Hyndman do not disclose the current limitation of claim 9.
However, Venkiteswaran discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the notification comprises updated information for the set of resources based on the one or more changes, and wherein sending the notification comprises at least one of encrypting and compressing at least a portion of the notification (Venkiteswaran: [0025]: “The disclosed techniques may be applied to facilitate the encryption, retrieval, and decryption of session data across browser sessions of a web browser; [0048]: “the second browser instance may transmit a key notification including the second cryptographic key at 610 to the first browser instance, enabling the first browser instance to use the second cryptographic key to decrypt session data that was encrypted during the second browser session. For example, the second browser instance may transmit the key notification in response to obtaining the second cryptographic key. The first browser instance may store the second cryptographic key at 612. For example, the second cryptographic key may be stored in ephemeral memory. The first browser instance may retrieve encrypted data 2 (encrypted during the second browser session) from memory (e.g., a browser cache) at 614 and decrypt the encrypted data”).
Disclosures by Jadunandan, Hyndman and Venkiteswaran are analogous because they are in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate updating a new version resource of a browser cache in the client device taught by Jadunandan/Hyndman to include encrypting and securely storing session data during a browser session disclosed by Venkiteswaran. The motivation for encrypting and securely storing session data during a browser session by paragraph [0003] of Venkiteswaran is for facilitating the persistent storage of data in a secure manner across browser sessions.
Regarding claim 22, these claims limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 9, and, therefore, are rejected on the same grounds.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s remarks filed on Aug. 13, 2025:
Applicant’s Arguments regarding the features of claim 1 that have not taught by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s representative argues the reference Jadunandan does not teach any mechanism for the client to them identify a separate, second component that was not part of the notification and does not teach maintaining separate portions of a cache for different MFEs as recited by amended in claim 1. However, these argued limitations are not recited exactly in the amended claim 1.
Basing on the claimed language, Jadunandan discloses sending notification of available updated style sheet and script code to the open browser that register to update those components. The client device then updates the style sheet (disclosed as first component) and script code (disclosed as second component) wherein the script code maintained by the mobile device separated from data base (see Fig. 1). Since style sheets controls the appearance of the HTML content of a webpage and scripts are programming language being used on the appearance of the webpage, therefore they utilize on style sheets of a webpage.
The style sheets are fundamental part of frontend development in web applications, stylesheets used CSS to style the appearance of HTML content including front, color and layout…(e.g. the part of the web application that users can see and interact with directly in their browser). The scripts are also commonly used in front end development using programming language like JavaScript to execute within the browser in response to user actions. Here, stylesheets and scripts are disclosed as frontend of web application.
Contact Information
/HAN V DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2136
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2136