DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are pending. Claim(s) 6 and 14-16 is/are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/15/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 5 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweich, et al (Schweich) (US 2015/0112433 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Schweich teaches a prosthetic valve device (e.g. abstract, Figures 16, 18) for treatment of mitral valve insufficiency (e.g. [0002]), the prosthetic valve device comprising
a main body having a lumen (e.g. Figure 16) and comprising a tubular flexible stent frame having an inner surface and an outer surface (e.g. Figures 16, 18, frame #210), and the main body further comprising a single continuous prosthetic material covering the stent frame at least partially (e.g. Figure 18, #204), and wherein the lumen contains a valve structure (e.g. [0012]), wherein
the flexible stent frame consists of a plurality of wire-elements (e.g. [0142]), each of the plurality of wire-elements being formed of a single wire (e.g. [0142]), the single wire having a first wire end portion and a second wire end portion (these portions are inherently present), wherein each of the wire-elements has a proximal wire-element portion and a distal wire-element portion (e.g. annotated Figure 16 below), wherein at the proximal wire-element portion an elongated loop-structure is provided (e.g. annotated Figure 16 below), the elongated loop-structure comprising a proximal curve section and a distal curve section and a medium section between the proximal and the distal curve section (e.g. annotated Figure 16 below), wherein the prosthetic material covers the proximal wire-element portion (e.g. Figure 16), and wherein the prosthetic material is fixed to the proximal curve section from the inner surface of the stent frame (e.g. Figures 16, 18; from within the shape #204 is within), and fixed to the distal curve section from the outer surface of the stent frame (as the prosthetic material is fixed to the overall device, it is indirectly fixed to the distal curve section).
Annotated Figure 16, Schweich
Regarding Claim 4, the loop-structure is an open or a closed-loop structure (e.g. Figure 16; the Examiner notes this limitation covers all possible loops).
Regarding Claim 11, the wire-elements consist of a shape-memory alloy (e.g. [0137]).
Regarding Claim 12, the prosthetic material is fixed only to the proximal curve section and the distal curve section (e.g. annotated Figure 16 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pavcnik, et al (Pavcnik) (US 2010/0057191 A1), alone.
Regarding Claim 1, Pavcnik teaches a prosthetic valve device (e.g. Figure 80, [0142]) for treatment of mitral valve insufficiency (the valve is capable of being placed as claimed), the prosthetic valve device comprising
a main body having a lumen (e.g. Figure 80) and comprising a tubular flexible stent frame having an inner surface and an outer surface (e.g. Figure 70), and, and wherein the lumen contains a valve structure (e.g. [0142] indicates the leaflet material of Figure 62, material forming #s 78/79), wherein
the flexible stent frame consists of a plurality of wire-elements (e.g. Figure 80, [0142], each annular ring is a separate wire), each of the plurality of wire-elements being formed of a single wire, the single wire having a first wire end portion and a second wire end portion (e.g. Figure 80, [0142], each wire inherently has multiple portions, as broadly claimed), wherein each of the wire-elements has a proximal wire-element portion and a distal wire-element portion (e.g. Figure 80, where proximal is toward the top as shown and distal is toward the bottom as shown), wherein at the proximal wire-element portion an elongated loop-structure is provided (e.g. Figure 80, curved portion and proximal portions of adjacent struts forming a curved u- shape), the elongated loop-structure comprising a proximal curve section (e.g. Figure 80, bend) and a distal curve section (e.g. Figure 80, bend on side opposing proximal bend) and a medium section between the proximal and the distal curve section (there is inherently a portion in the middle).
Pavcnik’s Figure 80 discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach: the main body further comprising a single continuous prosthetic material covering the stent frame at least partially, and
wherein the prosthetic material covers the proximal wire-element portion, and wherein the prosthetic material is fixed to the proximal curve section from the inner surface of the stent frame, and fixed to the distal curve section from the outer surface of the stent frame.
Pavcnik in another embodiment teaches:
the main body further comprising a single continuous prosthetic material covering the stent frame at least partially (e.g. Figure 49, [0118], #125/162), and
wherein the prosthetic material covers the proximal wire-element portion (e.g. Figure 49, the prosthetic material covers the entire axial length of the frame and thus covers the proximal wire-element portion), and wherein the prosthetic material is fixed to the proximal curve section from the inner surface of the stent frame (e.g. Figure 49; as depicted in the Figure the frame #11 is radially external to #125; therefore, #125 must be placed between the layers of material forming the leaflets and is thereby on the inner surface of the stent; [0118], fixed with sutures to the frame fixes the prosthetic material in place and thus to the proximal curve section), and fixed to the distal curve section from the outer surface of the stent frame (e.g. [0118], fixed with sutures to the frame fixes the prosthetic material in place and thus to the distal curve section).
Both embodiments of Pavcnik are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely frame supported valves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Figure 80 by incorporating the prosthetic material as taught in the embodiment of Figure 49 in order to provide a restraining mechanism to minimize tissue damage at the implantation site (e.g. [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding Claim 2, a tube-element, the tube-element comprising at least one lumen extending through the tube- element, the lumen being designed for accommodating the first and the second wire end portions (e.g. Figure 80, #s 15).
Regarding Claim 3, the plurality of wire-elements consists of three or more wire-elements (e.g. Figure 80, there are 4 pairs of end connections).
Regarding Claim 4, the loop-structure is an open or a closed-loop structure (e.g. Figure 80; the Examiner notes this limitation covers all possible loops).
Regarding Claim 5, the first and the second wire end portions of the wires are being held together, adjacent and distal to the distal curve section, at least over a certain distance, by a crimp-structure or by twisting the wires (e.g. annotated Figure 80 below; the tube portions noted by solid arrows hold together wires distal of and adjacent to the distal end noted by the dashed arrow).
Annotated Figure 80, Pavcnik
Regarding Claim 7, the proximal curve section comprises two layers of the wire (e.g. Figure 80, at the closed loop), and the distal curve section comprises one layer of the wire (e.g. Figure 80, at the strut immediately adjacent the loop but not part of the loop).
Regarding Claim 8, crimp-elements are provided connecting the wire-elements with one another (e.g. Figure 80, #s 15).
Regarding Claim 11, the wire-elements consist of a shape-memory alloy (e.g. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 13, the elongated loop-structure has a substantially oval form (e.g. Figure 80, as drawn, at least some of the closed loops are not circular; further all of the open-loop elongated bends as a whole are ovular in overall shape).
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pavcnik, et al (Pavcnik) (US 2010/0057191 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of Burriesci, et al (Burriesci) (US 2018/0161155 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Pavcnik teaches there is a tube-element, the tube-element comprising at least one lumen extending through the tube-element, the lumen being designed for accommodating the first and the second wire end portions (e.g. Figure 80, #s 15).
Pavcnik discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the tube-element has multiple lumens extending through the tube-element, such, that each of the first and the second wire end portions of the single wires or in pairs is guided through a single lumen of the multiple lumens of the tube-element.
Burriesci teaches a tube-element has multiple lumens extending through the tube-element (e.g. Figures 11a-b, [0073]), such that each of the first and the second wire end portions of the single wires or in pairs is guided through a single lumen of the multiple lumens of the tube-element (e.g. Figures 11a-b, [0073]).
Pavcnik and Burriesci are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely heart valve frames formed of wires held together by tube-elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pavcnik embodiments such that the tube-element has multiple lumens extending through the tube-element, such, that each of the first and the second wire end portions of the single wires or in pairs is guided through a single lumen of the multiple lumens of the tube-element as taught by Burriesci in order to prevent rotation of the wires (e.g. Burriesci, [0073])
Regarding Claim 10, there is a tube-element (e.g. Figure 7a, labeled in Figure 1, each connection like S3 shown; Figures 11a-b show the details of the tube-elements), the tube-element comprising at least one lumen extending through the tube-element (e.g. Figures 11a-b, [0073]), the lumen being designed for accommodating the first and the second wire end portions (e.g. Figures 11a-b, [0073]), and wherein the tube-element comprises at least three or six lumens (e.g. Figures 11a-b, [0073]).
Conclusion
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 10/16/2026