DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on July 03, 2026 for the application filed February 09, 2023. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 1 and 8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US2025/0039970A1), in view of Wu et al. (US2025/0351213A1), Wang et al. (WO2024/055305A1), Orsino et al. (US2024/0064838A1), and Li et al. (US2024/0381205A1) hereinafter Li2.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus using a direct path and an indirect path, the terminal apparatus comprising: a processor; and a transmitter (Paragraph [0009]: A multi-path scenario may be that a remote UE is connected to the same network device (e.g. a gNB) by using a direct path and an indirect path. For example, the direct path may be that the remote UE is connected directly to the network device via a Uu interface, and the indirect path may be that the remote UE is connected to the network device via a layer-2 (L2) UE-to-Network relay. Paragraph [0012]: According to an aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure, there is provided an apparatus for transmitting failure information of a remote user equipment, the remote user equipment being configured or activated with a first path and a second path, the apparatus including: a transmitting unit configured to transmit failure information to a network device via the second path in a case where the first path fails. Paragraph [0014]: According to a further aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure, there is provided a remote user equipment, including a memory and a processor, the memory storing a computer program, and the processor being configured to execute the computer program to carry out the method for transmitting failure information as described in the other aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure.)
wherein the direct path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a Uu interface, the indirect path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a relay terminal apparatus (Paragraph [0058]: FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a multi-path scenario of embodiments of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5 , in the embodiments of this disclosure, the remote user equipment may communicate with the network device via a direct path and an indirect path simultaneously. For example, the remote user equipment may communicate with the network device via a Uu interface (direct path), and communicate with the same network device via the relay user equipment (indirect path). Paragraph [0059]: FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a multi-path protocol stack structure of embodiments of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6 , the direct path between the remote user equipment and the network device uses a Uu interface protocol stack, and the indirect path between the remote user equipment and the network device is transmitted via L2 UE-to-Network relay, using the PC5 interface and a Uu interface protocol stack.)
the transmitter transmits information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path (Paragraph [0083]: In some embodiments, in the case of the indirect path failure, the remote UE may transmit the failure information to the network device via an available direct path. Paragraph [0115]: In some embodiments, the failure information transmitted by the remote user equipment to the network device may include at least one of the following: Paragraph [0116]: failure indication information, failure type information. Paragraph [0118]: For example, when the failed first path is an indirect path, the failure information may include at least one of the following: failure indication information, failure type information. Paragraph [0134]: In some embodiments, the remote UE may transmit the failure information via an RRC message. Paragraph [0138]: The embodiments of this disclosure provide an apparatus for transmitting failure information. The apparatus may be, for example, a remote user equipment.)
Li does not explicitly teach in a case that the processor determines that a cell reselection has been performed by the relay terminal apparatus: the transmitter transmits, via a signaling radio bearer, information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path, and the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information
However, Wu teaches in a case that the processor determines that a cell reselection has been performed by the relay terminal apparatus (Paragraph [0007]: In some embodiments, the notification message indicates at least one of: a cell reselection of the relay UE. Paragraph [0009]: In some embodiments, the processor of the UE is configured to: determine whether a cell change or a base station (BS) change of the relay UE occurs. Paragraph [0011]: In some embodiments, wherein the processor of the UE is configured to: initiate a failure information procedure upon reception of the first message; and transmit a failure message including a failure cause via the transceiver to the network, wherein the failure cause is one of: reception of a notification message due to a cell reselection of the relay UE. Also see paragraphs [0075], [0077], [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in a case that the processor determines that a cell reselection has been performed by the relay terminal apparatus, as taught by Wu in the system of Li, so that the UE can initiate a failure procedure and establish relay path in a multi-path case based on the failure cause being that due to cell reselection by the relay UE (Wu: Paragraphs [0001], [0004], [0007], [0009], [0011], [0075], [0077], [0085]).
The combination of Li and Wu does not explicitly teach that the transmitter transmits, via a signaling radio bearer, information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path
However, Wang teaches that the transmitter transmits, via a signaling radio bearer, information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path (Abstract: Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to methods, devices and computer readable media of communication. In one aspect, a first terminal device receives, from a network device, a configuration for a direct path between the first terminal device and the network device and an indirect path between the first terminal device and the network device via a second terminal device. If a RLF is detected for one of the direct path and the indirect path and the other of the direct path and the indirect path is available, the first terminal device transmits, to the network device via the other of the direct path and the indirect path, a first RRC message for recovery of the RLF. In this way, a network may handle a RLF properly based on an indication of RLF recovery. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may directly communicate with the network device 130 (i.e., via a direct path) . The terminal device 110 may also communicate with the network device 130 via the terminal device 120 (i.e., via an indirect path). In this case, the terminal device 110 serves as remote UE, and the terminal device 120 serves as relay UE. Paragraph [0062]: Based on the configuration, the terminal device 110 may perform 411 radio link monitoring at both an air interface (e.g., Uu interface) and a sidelink interface (e.g., PC5 interface) . If a RLF is detected for one of the direct path and the indirect path and the other of the direct path and the indirect path is available, the terminal device 110 may transmit 412, to the network device 130 via the other of the direct path and the indirect path, a RRC message for recovery of the RLF. Paragraph [0077]: In this embodiment, the failed one of the direct path and the indirect path is the indirect path. Paragraph [0078]: In some embodiments, if the RLF is detected for the indirect path and the direct path is available (i.e., direct transmission is not suspended or deactivated) , the terminal device 110 may suspend the indirect path. For example, the terminal device 110 may suspend indirect transmission for all SRBs and DRBs. Paragraph [0079]: In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may transmit the first RRC message for indirect path failure recovery or report the RLF of the indirect path to the network device 130 by using the direct path/leg of MP split SRB (e.g., MP split SRB1) or direct SRB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the transmitter transmits, via a signaling radio bearer, information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Li and Wang, so that the network can handle the radio link failure properly using the control information such as the type of radio link failure as well as measurement results associated with the remote UE, sent via the signaling radio bearer (Wang: Paragraphs [0062], [0063], [0079], [0080], [0081]).
The combination of Li, Wu, and Wang does not explicitly teach that the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information.
However, Orsino teaches that the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information (Paragraph [0101]: Radio Link Failure in Sidelink. Paragraph [0102]: The UE shall: Paragraph [0107]: 2> consider sidelink radio link failure to be detected for this destination. Paragraph [0205]: The remote UE 120 may then send to any one or more out of: the first network node 111, the second network node 112 and the third network node 113, a report message including failure related information. Paragraph [0234]: Any other event on PC5 link between the remote UE 120 and the relay UE 121, 122, 123 which triggers RLF on the PC5 link such as: Paragraph [0242]: In example #4, after recovery from a path switch failure, the remote UE 120 may send a report message comprising failure related information to a RAN node. Paragraph [0243]: In the example #5, at least one of the below information may be carried or indicated by the report message: Paragraph [0244]: Remote ID relating to the remote UE 120. Paragraph [0245]: Destination L2 ID relating to an ID which can identify the destination. Paragraph [0246]: Old Relay ID relating to the relay second UE 122.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information, as taught by Orsino in the combined system of Li, Wu, and Wang, so that the identifier of the relay UE in the radio link failure report can be used to inform the network node as part of the failure related information due to a radio link failure in the PC5 link between the remote UE and the relay UE (Orsino: Paragraphs [0205], [0234], [0242], [0243]).
The combination of Li, Wu, Wang, and Orsino does not explicitly teach that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path.
However, Li2 teaches that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path (Paragraph [0073]: In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when the relay device is handed over, or cell selection or reselection occurs, or Uu RLF occurs, the relay device may transmit the first notification message to the terminal equipment to notify the terminal equipment of such a situation via a cause value or indication type in the first notification message, the cause value or indication type e.g. is handover of relay device, or cell selection or reselection, or Uu interface radio link failure. After receiving the first notification message, the terminal equipment may suspend data transmission with the relay device, thereby the terminal equipment will not transmit uplink signaling and/or uplink data via the relay device any more, which avoids that such signaling/data cannot reach a network side. Paragraph [0096]: In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when the relay device is handed over or cell selection or reselection occurs, or Uu RLF occurs, the relay device may transmit the first notification message to the terminal equipment to notify the terminal equipment of such a situation via a cause value or indication type in the first notification message, the cause value or indication type e.g. is handover of the relay device, or cell selection or reselection, or Uu interface radio link failure. What is different from the embodiments of the first aspect is that in the embodiments of the present disclosure, there is no need for the terminal equipment to suspend the data transmission with the relay device, but the relay device buffers or stores signaling/data from the terminal equipment, thereby the relay device may transmit the cached or stored signaling/data to a network side after handover is completed, or cell selection/reselection is completed, or the Uu RLF is recovered, which avoids data loss. Paragraph [0098]: In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the signaling/data may be signaling/data transmitted by the terminal equipment to the network device via the relay device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path, as taught by Li2 in the combined system of Li, Wu, Wang, and Orsino, so that the relay device can store the signaling/data transmitted by the terminal equipment to the network device via the relay device, and the relay device may later transmit the cached or stored signaling/data to a network side after handover is completed, or cell selection/reselection is completed, or the Uu RLF is recovered, which avoids data loss (Li2: Paragraphs [0073], [0096], [0098]).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a method performed by a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus by using a direct path and an indirect path, wherein the direct path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a Uu interface, and the indirect path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a relay terminal apparatus, the method comprising: transmitting the failure information to indicate that a radio link failure of the indirect path (see rejection for claim 1);
Li does not explicitly teach determining that a cell reselection has been performed by the relay terminal apparatus; including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in failure information; and transmitting, via a signaling radio bearer, the failure information to indicate a radio link failure of the indirect path.
However, Wu teaches teach determining that a cell reselection has been performed by the relay terminal apparatus (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining that a cell reselection has been performed by the relay terminal apparatus, as taught by Wu in the system of Li, so that the UE can initiate a failure procedure and establish relay path in a multi-path case based on the failure cause being that due to cell reselection by the relay UE (Wu: Paragraphs [0001], [0004], [0007], [0009], [0011], [0075], [0077], [0085]).
The combination of Li and Wu does not explicitly teach transmitting, via a signaling radio bearer, information to indicate a radio link failure of the indirect path.
However, Wang teaches transmitting, via a signaling radio bearer, information to indicate a radio link failure of the indirect path (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, via a signaling radio bearer, information to indicate a radio link failure of the indirect path, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Li and Wu, so that the network can handle the radio link failure properly using the control information such as the type of radio link failure as well as measurement results associated with the remote UE, sent via the signaling radio bearer (Wang: Paragraphs [0062], [0063], [0079], [0080], [0081]).
The combination of Li, Wu, and Wang does not explicitly teach including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in failure information.
However, Orsino teaches including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in failure information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in failure information, as taught by Orsino in the combined system of Li, Wu, and Wang, so that the identifier of the relay UE in the radio link failure report can be used to inform the network node as part of the failure related information due to a radio link failure in the PC5 link between the remote UE and the relay UE (Orsino: Paragraphs [0205], [0234], [0242], [0243]).
The combination of Li, Wu, Wang, and Orsino does not explicitly teach in a case that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path.
However, Li2 teaches in a case that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path (see rejection for claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in a case that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path, as taught by Li2 in the combined system of Li, Wu, Wang, and Orsino, so that the relay device can store the signaling/data transmitted by the terminal equipment to the network device via the relay device, and the relay device may later transmit the cached or stored signaling/data to a network side after handover is completed, or cell selection/reselection is completed, or the Uu RLF is recovered, which avoids data loss (Li2: Paragraphs [0073], [0096], [0098]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 03, 2026 with respect to claims 1 and 8 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US2025/0039970A1) in view of Wu et al. (US2025/0351213A1), Wang et al. (WO2024/055305A1), and Orsino et al. (US2024/0064838A1), have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that Li, Wu, Wang, and Orsino, either singly or in any combination, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest the features of amended independent claim 1 which recites in part "in a case that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path …” Li et al. (US2024/0381205A1) hereinafter Li2, teaches that the remote terminal (terminal equipment) transmits signaling/data to the network device via the relay device, which indicates that the remote terminal is communicating with the base station via the indirect path, leading to/until the time when the remote terminal determines that the cell reselection has been performed by the relay device. During such a communication process between the remote terminal and the base station via the indirect path, when the relay terminal performs cell reselection or there is radio link failure, the terminal equipment will not be able to transmit uplink signaling and/or uplink data via the relay device any more. Paragraphs [0073], [0096], and [0098] of Li2 teach that a remote terminal (terminal equipment) that is communicating with the network device via the relay device, will not be able to transmit the signaling/data anymore when the relay terminal performs cell reselection. This clearly indicates “in a case that the terminal apparatus has communicated with the base station apparatus using the indirect path”, as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 8. Li2 further teaches that the relay device may cache/store such signaling/data from the remote terminal (terminal equipment), that the remote terminal was transmitting to the network device via the relay device until the cell reselection by the relay device or radio link failure occurred. Thus, the combination of Li, Wu, Wang, Orsino, and Li2 teaches all the features of amended claim 1, and amended claim 8 which recites similar features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461