DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on September 15, 2025 for the application filed February 09, 2023. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended; claim 2 has been canceled; claims 1 and 8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US2025/0039970A1), in view of Wang et al. (WO2024/055305A1), and further in view of Orsino et al. (US2024/0064838A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus using a direct path and an indirect path, the terminal apparatus comprising: a processor; and a transmitter (Paragraph [0009]: A multi-path scenario may be that a remote UE is connected to the same network device (e.g. a gNB) by using a direct path and an indirect path. For example, the direct path may be that the remote UE is connected directly to the network device via a Uu interface, and the indirect path may be that the remote UE is connected to the network device via a layer-2 (L2) UE-to-Network relay. Paragraph [0012]: According to an aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure, there is provided an apparatus for transmitting failure information of a remote user equipment, the remote user equipment being configured or activated with a first path and a second path, the apparatus including: a transmitting unit configured to transmit failure information to a network device via the second path in a case where the first path fails. Paragraph [0014]: According to a further aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure, there is provided a remote user equipment, including a memory and a processor, the memory storing a computer program, and the processor being configured to execute the computer program to carry out the method for transmitting failure information as described in the other aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure.)
wherein the direct path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a Uu interface, the indirect path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a relay terminal apparatus (Paragraph [0058]: FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a multi-path scenario of embodiments of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5 , in the embodiments of this disclosure, the remote user equipment may communicate with the network device via a direct path and an indirect path simultaneously. For example, the remote user equipment may communicate with the network device via a Uu interface (direct path), and communicate with the same network device via the relay user equipment (indirect path). Paragraph [0059]: FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a multi-path protocol stack structure of embodiments of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6 , the direct path between the remote user equipment and the network device uses a Uu interface protocol stack, and the indirect path between the remote user equipment and the network device is transmitted via L2 UE-to-Network relay, using the PC5 interface and a Uu interface protocol stack.)
and in a case that the processor detects sidelink radio link failure on the indirect path: the transmitter transmits information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path (Paragraph [0073]: In some embodiments, the path failure may include at least one of the following cases where: the remote user equipment detects a radio link failure (RLF) of a PC5 interface of the remote user equipment. Paragraph [0076]: For another example, in the case where the first path is an indirect path, the failure of the first path may include at least one of the following cases where: the remote UE detects an RLF of the PC5 interface. Paragraph [0077]: FIG. 9 is another schematic diagram of the scenario of the path failure of the first aspect of the embodiments of this disclosure, showing a scenario of a failure of the indirect path. As shown in FIG. 9 , the failure of the indirect path may be a failure of a PC5 interface between the remote UE and the relay user equipment. Paragraph [0083]: In some embodiments, in the case of the indirect path failure, the remote UE may transmit the failure information to the network device via an available direct path. Paragraph [0115]: In some embodiments, the failure information transmitted by the remote user equipment to the network device may include at least one of the following: Paragraph [0116]: failure indication information, failure type information. Paragraph [0118]: For example, when the failed first path is an indirect path, the failure information may include at least one of the following: failure indication information, failure type information. Paragraph [0134]: In some embodiments, the remote UE may transmit the failure information via an RRC message. Paragraph [0138]: The embodiments of this disclosure provide an apparatus for transmitting failure information. The apparatus may be, for example, a remote user equipment.)
Li does not explicitly teach that the transmitter transmits information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path, via a signaling radio bearer.
However, Wang teaches that the transmitter transmits information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path, via a signaling radio bearer (Abstract: Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to methods, devices and computer readable media of communication. In one aspect, a first terminal device receives, from a network device, a configuration for a direct path between the first terminal device and the network device and an indirect path between the first terminal device and the network device via a second terminal device. If a RLF is detected for one of the direct path and the indirect path and the other of the direct path and the indirect path is available, the first terminal device transmits, to the network device via the other of the direct path and the indirect path, a first RRC message for recovery of the RLF. In this way, a network may handle a RLF properly based on an indication of RLF recovery. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may directly communicate with the network device 130 (i.e., via a direct path) . The terminal device 110 may also communicate with the network device 130 via the terminal device 120 (i.e., via an indirect path) . In this case, the terminal device 110 serves as remote UE, and the terminal device 120 serves as relay UE. Paragraph [0062]: Based on the configuration, the terminal device 110 may perform 411 radio link monitoring at both an air interface (e.g., Uu interface) and a sidelink interface (e.g., PC5 interface) . If a RLF is detected for one of the direct path and the indirect path and the other of the direct path and the indirect path is available, the terminal device 110 may transmit 412, to the network device 130 via the other of the direct path and the indirect path, a RRC message for recovery of the RLF. Paragraph [0077]: In this embodiment, the failed one of the direct path and the indirect path is the indirect path. Paragraph [0078]: In some embodiments, if the RLF is detected for the indirect path and the direct path is available (i.e., direct transmission is not suspended or deactivated) , the terminal device 110 may suspend the indirect path. For example, the terminal device 110 may suspend indirect transmission for all SRBs and DRBs. Paragraph [0079]: In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may transmit the first RRC message for indirect path failure recovery or report the RLF of the indirect path to the network device 130 by using the direct path/leg of MP split SRB (e.g., MP split SRB1) or direct SRB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the transmitter transmits information indicating radio link failure of the indirect path, via a signaling radio bearer, as taught by Wang in the system of Li, so that the network can handle the radio link failure properly using the control information such as the type of radio link failure as well as measurement results associated with the remote UE, sent via the signaling radio bearer (Wang: Paragraphs [0062], [0063], [0079], [0080], [0081]).
The combination of Li and Wang does not explicitly teach that the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information.
However, Orsino teaches that the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information (Paragraph [0101]: Radio Link Failure in Sidelink. Paragraph [0102]: The UE shall: Paragraph [0107]: 2> consider sidelink radio link failure to be detected for this destination. Paragraph [0205]: The remote UE 120 may then send to any one or more out of: the first network node 111, the second network node 112 and the third network node 113, a report message including failure related information. Paragraph [0234]: Any other event on PC5 link between the remote UE 120 and the relay UE 121, 122, 123 which triggers RLF on the PC5 link such as: Paragraph [0242]: In example #4, after recovery from a path switch failure, the remote UE 120 may send a report message comprising failure related information to a RAN node. Paragraph [0243]: In the example #5, at least one of the below information may be carried or indicated by the report message: Paragraph [0244]: Remote ID relating to the remote UE 120. Paragraph [0245]: Destination L2 ID relating to an ID which can identify the destination. Paragraph [0246]: Old Relay ID relating to the relay second UE 122.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information, as taught by Orsino in the combined system of Li and Wang, so that the identifier of the relay UE in the radio link failure report can be used to inform the network node as part of the failure related information due to a radio link failure in the PC5 link between the remote UE and the relay UE (Orsino: Paragraphs [0205], [0234], [0242], [0243]).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a method performed by a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus by using a direct path and an indirect path, wherein the direct path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a Uu interface, and the indirect path is a path through which the terminal apparatus communicates with the base station apparatus via a relay terminal apparatus, the method comprising: transmitting information indicating a radio link failure of the indirect path in a case that a sidelink radio link failure is detected on the indirect path (see rejection for claim 1);
Li does not explicitly teach transmitting information indicating a radio link failure of the indirect path via a signaling radio bearer.
However, Wang teaches transmitting information indicating a radio link failure of the indirect path via a signaling radio bearer (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting information indicating a radio link failure of the indirect path via a signaling radio bearer, as taught by Wang in the system of Li, so that the network can handle the radio link failure properly using the control information such as the type of radio link failure as well as measurement results associated with the remote UE, sent via the signaling radio bearer (Wang: Paragraphs [0062], [0063], [0079], [0080], [0081]).
The combination of Li and Wang does not explicitly teach including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information.
However, Orsino teaches including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide including an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information, as taught by Orsino in the combined system of Li and Wang, so that the identifier of the relay UE in the radio link failure report can be used to inform the network node as part of the failure related information due to a radio link failure in the PC5 link between the remote UE and the relay UE (Orsino: Paragraphs [0205], [0234], [0242], [0243]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 15, 2025 with respect to claims 1 and 8 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US2025/0039970A1) in view of Wang et al. (WO2024/055305A1), and further in view of Orsino et al. (US2024/0064838A1), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Orsino cannot be combined with Li and Wang to achieve the feature in amended claim 1 that recites “the processor is configured to include an identifier of the relay terminal apparatus in the information”. Li teaches that the failure of the indirect path may be a failure of a PC5 interface between the remote UE and the relay user equipment. In the case of the indirect path failure, the remote UE may transmit the failure information to the network device. Wang teaches transmitting information indicating the RLF of the indirect path to the network device using a signaling radio bearer. Orsino teaches that upon detecting a radio link failure on the PC5 link (indirect path) between the remote UE 120 and the relay UE, the remote UE sends a report message comprising failure related information to a RAN node, which includes information of the relay UE ID in the PC5 link. The identifier of the relay UE in the radio link failure report can be used by the network node as part of the failure related information due to a radio link failure in the PC5 link between the remote UE and the relay UE. While Li teaches that the remote UE may transmit the failure information of the indirect path to the network device, and Wang teaches transmitting information indicating the RLF of the indirect path to the network device using a signaling radio bearer, Orsino teaches that the report includes information of the relay UE ID in the PC5, and that the remote UE sends a report message comprising failure related information to inform the RAN node, upon detecting a radio link failure on the PC5 link between the remote UE 120 and the relay UE. Thus, combining Orsino with Li and Wang teaches all the features of amended claim 1, and amended claim 8 which recites similar features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461