DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to amendment filed on 10/20/2025.
Claims 1 – 6 are amended.
Claims 7 – 8 are added as new.
Claims 1 – 8 are pending.
In response to applicant’s amendment in claim 5, examiner has withdrawn 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection mentioned in previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended the claims. Therefore, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of previously cited prior arts WU et al. (US 2024/0365394 A1) and Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0063604 A1).
Applicant argued on page 2: last paragraph to page 3: 2nd paragraph of the remark, that Applicant respectfully disagrees with the claim rejection of the limitation “the first configuration for a first repetition number includes a first parameter which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first repetition number of the PRACH transmission,” and submits that Matsumura cannot be combined with Wu. According to the applicant, “Matsumura describes that a UE determines a certain repetition number of a PRACH transmission based on an RSRP threshold and a measurement value with a threshold branch, in which a single repetition number is for a single threshold value, or a single threshold range, without any flexible mapping of multiple RSRP thresholds and multiple repetition numbers PRACH transmissions". Therefore, based on the above reasoning, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine Wu and Matsumura after reviewing them.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. The primary reference Wu teaches multiple configurations for PRACH transmissions and multiple repetition numbers (¶ [0144] and ¶ [0145]). Wu further teaches a first configuration, among the plurality of first configurations, for a first number of includes a first parameter (¶ [0092], ¶ [0107] and ¶ [0122]). Wu also discloses multiple RSRPs (¶ [0064]). But it does not teach a parameter which specifies a RSRP threshold corresponding to a number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission. Matsumura teaches the limitation perfectly (¶ [0202], ¶ [0216], ¶ [0231] and ¶ [0317]) and the applicant also agreed that. The claim limitation requires only a single configuration specifies a single RSRP threshold corresponds to single PRACH transmission. The single configuration is one of the multiple configurations and WU properly addresses that. The amended claim does not recite “flexible mapping of multiple RSRP thresholds and multiple repetition numbers PRACH transmissions”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Matsumura with Wu to teach one configuration specifies a RSPS threshold corresponding to a respective number of repetitions. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not appropriate.
Applicant argued on page 3: 2nd last paragraph of the remark, “even assuming, arguendo, that Wu could be combined with Matsumura, the combination of Wu and Matsumura would still not describe the configuration described in the claimed invention and its subsequent result. That is, based on the configuration recited in amended claim 1, a UE can autonomously select and apply the best possible configuration among different first configurations set for a different RSRP threshold, in terms of: (i) multiple RSRP thresholds, (ii) multiple repetition numbers of the PRACH transmission, and (iii) multiple random access channel occasions (ROs).”. According to applicant, “This approach will provide practical improvements in flexibility, operational efficiency, and coverage optimization”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment. The practical improvement as mentioned above is not part of the claim limitation in question. No where in the claim recite “multiple RSRP thresholds” corresponds to “multiple PRACH transmissions” or “multiple parameters”. According applicant’s argument is not convincing.
Applicant argued on page 4: 1st paragraph of the remark “independent claims 4 and 6 recite, at least, features similar to those recited in amended independent claim 1. Therefore, amended independent claims 4 and 6 are also patentably distinguishable over Wu and Matsumura’.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark and conclusion. The combination of WU and Matsumura teaches all the limitations of the currently amended independent claim 1. Since, the claims 4 and 6 have similar feature as the claim 1; therefore, same rational applies to them. Accordingly, claims 4 and 6 are not allowable.
Applicant argued on page 4: 2nd and last paragraph of the remark, regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 7 and 8.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark. The combination of WU and Matsumura teaches all the limitations of the independent claims 1, 4 and 6. Therefore, the dependent claims are not patentable by virtue of their dependency.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the argument filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below.
Finally examiner would like to cite new prior arts that also teach Multiple RSRPs corresponds to multiple PRACH transmissions. The new prior arts are:
US 2024/0032107 A1
CN 119698915 A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (WU hereinafter referred to WU) (US 2024/0365394 A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (Matsumura hereinafter referred to Matsumura) (US 20250063604 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, WU teaches (Title, PRACH REPETITION TRANSMISSION METHOD, TERMINAL, AND NETWORK-SIDE DEVICE) a user equipment (UE) (Fig.16, [0346] and [0347], terminal 1600), comprising:
reception circuitry (Fig.16 and [0347], radio frequency unit 1601; [0350], radio frequency unit 1601 includes a transceiver) configured to receive random access channel (RACH) configuration information which includes a plurality of first configurations ([0144], PRACH slot includes one or more common random access channel occasion (RO) groups, and each group of common ROs corresponds to each first RO group independently configured; [0145], number of PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups is independently configured. Here, the first RO groups are corresponding to a plurality of first configurations) for a repetition of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission (Fig.4 and [0072], Step 401: The terminal obtains resource configuration information for physical random access channel PRACH repetition transmission; [0145], PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups),
wherein:
each of the plurality of first configurations is a configuration associated, implicitly, with a certain number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission ([0107], obtaining first information corresponding to first RO; [0108] – [0109], the first information includes at least number of PRACH repetition transmissions; [0149] and [0217], a plurality of resource configuration types for PRACH repetition transmission are supported, and a to-be-used resource configuration type is configured by the network-side device or implicitly determined based on signaling provided for PRACH repetition resource configuration; [0145], different first RO groups are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions), and
different first configurations in the plurality of first configurations are associated with different numbers of repetition of the PRACH transmission ([0145], the number of PRACH repetition transmissions corresponding to each first RO group is independently configured, e.g., different additional RO groups (that is, the first RO group) are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions. Since, the RO groups are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions; therefore, different first configurations are associated with the different numbers of repetition of the PRACH transmission), and
a first configuration, among the plurality of first configurations, for a first number of repetitions ([0092], independently configured first RO is used for the PRACH repetition transmission. As mentioned above, the first RO groups correspond to the plurality of first configurations; therefore, the first RO corresponds to a first number of repetitions) includes a first parameter ([0107], obtaining first information corresponding to the first RO; [0108], the first information is sent by a network-side device or a predefined rule; or part of the first information is sent by the network-side device, and the rest part of information is a predefined rule; the first information includes at least one of the following: [0122], The number of frequency domain multiplexing ROs. The number of PRACH repetitions are obtained based on this parameter) corresponding to the first number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission (Regarding [0122], number of frequency domain multiplexing RO is a first parameter, as it is used to determine the number of PRACH repetitions);
control circuitry (Fig.16 and [0347], processor 1610) configured to, based on the first parameter, apply one of the plurality of first configurations, and to determine a number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission ([0122], The number of frequency domain multiplexing ROs. The number of PRACH repetitions are obtained based on this parameter) based on the applied one of the plurality of first configurations (Fig.16 and [0353] The processor 1610 is configured to obtain resource configuration information for physical random access channel PRACH repetition transmission, where the resource configuration information includes a resource configuration type for the PRACH repetition transmission; and determine, based on the resource configuration type, a random access channel occasion RO used for the PRACH repetition transmission); and
transmission circuitry (Fig.16 and [0347], radio frequency unit 1601; [0350], radio frequency unit 1601 includes a transceiver) configured to repeatedly transmit the PRACH based on the determined number of repetitions (Fig.4 and [0079] Step 403: The terminal performs PRACH repetition transmission based on the RO; [0354], The radio frequency unit 1601 is configured to perform PRACH repetition transmission. As mentioned Above, the quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions correspond to the RO; therefore, performing PRACH repetition transmission based on the RO means repeatedly transmitting PRACH based on the determined repetition number).
WU does not specifically teach
a first parameter which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION):
random access channel (RACH) configuration information ([0070], RACH configuration and information for performing a RACH procedure) which includes a repetition of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission (Abstract and [0135], PRACH repetition), and
a first number of repetitions includes a first parameter ([0202], parameter for PRACH repetition; [0216], Different new parameters are introduced to PRACH repetition; [0409], a parameter of the first actual PRACH transmission in all repetition ROs. Here, the parameter is a first parameter) which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first number of repetitions ([0231], The UE employs the supported PRACH repetition scheme in accordance with the condition/limitation. The condition/limitation is a case that RSRP/RSRQ is lower than a threshold value) of the PRACH transmission ([0317], The UE determines the number of actual PRACH repetitions in accordance with a determination rule or UE implementation; e.g., when a measurement value of RSRP/RSRQ/SINR/quality/power of an SSB is lower than a threshold value. Here, the RSRP threshold corresponds to the number of PRACH repetitions. As mentioned above, the first parameter represents PRACH repetition; therefore, the first parameter specifies the RSRP threshold corresponding to the number of PRACH repetitions); and
repeatedly transmit the PRACH based on the number of repetitions ([0317], PRACH repetition has been configured for the UE, the UE transmits a PRACH a plurality of times; i.e. the PRACH is repeatedly transmitted based on the number of repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WU as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that improve coverage in a random access procedure (Matsumura, Abstract and [0007]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 3, combination of WU and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
WU further teaches
wherein another one of the plurality of first configurations is associated with a single PRACH transmission (Fig.6 and [0090], three ROs are configured in each PRACH configuration period, of which two ROs (that is, common ROs) are used for sharing between PRACH repetition and PRACH transmission without repetition, while the third RO (that is, a non-repetition RO) is not used for PRACH repetition transmission, but used only for PRACH non-repetition transmission. Here, the PRACH non-repetition transmission is a single PRACH transmission), and
the transmission circuitry transmit the PRACH once when the control circuitry applies the other one of the plurality of first configurations that is associated with the single PRACH transmission ([0074], A PRACH resource not supporting PRACH repetition is a PRACH resource used for sending PRACH without repetition; [0093], the PRACH non-repetition transmission includes PRACH non-repetition transmissions with one or more characteristics).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 4, WU teaches (Title, PRACH REPETITION TRANSMISSION METHOD, TERMINAL, AND NETWORK-SIDE DEVICE) a base station (Fig.17 and [0411], network-side device 1700), comprising:
control circuitry (Fig.17 and [0411], processor 174) configured to:
include, in a random access channel (RACH) configuration, information that includes a plurality of first configurations ([0144], PRACH slot includes one or more common random access channel occasion (RO) groups, and each group of common ROs corresponds to each first RO group independently configured; [0145], number of PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups is independently configured. Here, the first RO groups are corresponding to a plurality of first configurations) for a repetition of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.4 and [0072], Step 401: The terminal obtains resource configuration information for physical random access channel PRACH repetition transmission; [0145], PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups), and
wherein:
each of the plurality of first configurations is a configuration associated, implicitly, with a certain number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission ([0107], obtaining first information corresponding to first RO; [0108] – [0109], the first information includes at least number of PRACH repetition transmissions; [0149] and [0217], a plurality of resource configuration types for PRACH repetition transmission are supported, and a to-be-used resource configuration type is configured by the network-side device or implicitly determined based on signaling provided for PRACH repetition resource configuration; [0145], different first RO groups are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions),
different first configurations in the plurality of first configurations are associated with different numbers of repetition of the PRACH transmission ([0145], the number of PRACH repetition transmissions corresponding to each first RO group is independently configured, e.g., different additional RO groups (that is, the first RO group) are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions. Since, the RO groups are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions; therefore, different first configurations are associated with the different numbers of repetition of the PRACH transmission), and
a first configuration, among the plurality of first configurations, for a first number of repetitions ([0092], independently configured first RO is used for the PRACH repetition transmission. As mentioned above, the first RO groups correspond to the plurality of first configurations; therefore, the first RO corresponds to a first number of repetitions) includes a first parameter ([0107], obtaining first information corresponding to the first RO; [0108], the first information is sent by a network-side device or a predefined rule; or part of the first information is sent by the network-side device, and the rest part of information is a predefined rule; the first information includes at least one of the following: [0122], The number of frequency domain multiplexing ROs. The number of PRACH repetitions are obtained based on this parameter) corresponding to the first number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission (Regarding [0122], number of frequency domain multiplexing RO is a first parameter, as it is used to determine the number of PRACH repetitions); and
transmission circuitry (Fig.17 and [0411], radio frequency apparatus 172) configured to transmit ([0411], the radio frequency apparatus 172 processes the received information and then sends the information out by using the antenna 171).
WU does not specifically teach
transmit the configuration to the UE via system information,
a first parameter which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission; and
transmit the system information to the UE.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION):
a random access channel (RACH) configuration, information ([0070], RACH configuration and information for performing a RACH procedure) that includes a repetition of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission (Abstract and [0135], PRACH repetition) by a user equipment (UE) ([0071], The UE that has detected one SSB transmits a PRACH in a RACH occasion associated with the SSB index), and
transmit the configuration to the UE via system information ([0070], The system information is constituted by an MIB delivered by the PBCH, RMSI (SIB 1); The SIB 1 includes RACH configuration and information for performing a RACH procedure; [0167], The UE receives a configuration related to a plurality of repetitions of a PRACH; [0232], PRACH repetition accompanied by the same beam or PRACH repetition accompanied by a plurality of different beams is used is indicated/configured for a base station by SIB/RRC configuration; [0314], The number of repetitions are configured/indicated by an SIB/RRC IE explicitly or implicitly),
a first number of repetitions includes a first parameter ([0202], parameter for PRACH repetition; [0216], Different new parameters are introduced to PRACH repetition; [0409], a parameter of the first actual PRACH transmission in all repetition ROs. Here, the parameter is a first parameter) which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first number of repetitions ([0231], The UE employs the supported PRACH repetition scheme in accordance with the condition/limitation. The condition/limitation is a case that RSRP/RSRQ is lower than a threshold value) of the PRACH transmission ([0317], The UE determines the number of actual PRACH repetitions in accordance with a determination rule or UE implementation; e.g., when a measurement value of RSRP/RSRQ/SINR/quality/power of an SSB is lower than a threshold value. Here, the RSRP threshold corresponds to the number of PRACH repetitions. As mentioned above, the first parameter represents PRACH repetition; therefore, the first parameter specifies the RSRP threshold corresponding to the number of PRACH repetitions); and
transmit the system information to the UE ([0547], System Information Blocks (SIBs) and so on are communicated on the PDSCH; [0654], reporting of information is implemented by using broadcast information (master information block (MIB), system information blocks (SIBs), and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WU as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that improve coverage in a random access procedure (Matsumura, Abstract and [0007]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claims 2 and 5, combination of WU and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 4, respectively as outlined above.
WU further teaches
wherein the first configuration further includes a second parameter which specifies RACH occasions (ROs) that are available to repeatedly transmit the PRACH based on the determined number of repetitions ([0144], PRACH slot includes at least one common RO group, and each common RO group corresponds to one first RO group; both the common RO and the first RO are configured in groups, and each group of common ROs corresponds to each first RO group independently configured; [0145], number of PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups is independently configured. E.g., different additional RO groups (that is, the first RO group) are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions. Here, different additional RO groups transmit different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions; i.e. the ROs are available to transmit the PRACH with the corresponding repetition number; therefore, the first configuration specifies ROs that are available to repeatedly transmit the PRACH based on the determined number of repetitions. Since, the configuration specifies ROs; therefore, it is obvious that the configuration includes a second parameter which specifies Ros).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 6, WU teaches a method (Title, PRACH REPETITION TRANSMISSION METHOD, TERMINAL, AND NETWORK-SIDE DEVICE) performed by a base station (Fig.17 and [0411], network-side device 1700), comprising:
including, in a random access channel (RACH) configuration, information that includes a plurality of first configurations ([0144], PRACH slot includes one or more common random access channel occasion (RO) groups, and each group of common ROs corresponds to each first RO group independently configured; [0145], number of PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups is independently configured. Here, the first RO groups are corresponding to a plurality of first configurations) for a repetition of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.4 and [0072], Step 401: The terminal obtains resource configuration information for physical random access channel PRACH repetition transmission; [0145], PRACH repetition transmissions of different first RO groups);
wherein:
each of the plurality of first configurations is a configuration associated, implicitly, with a certain number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission ([0107], obtaining first information corresponding to first RO; [0108] – [0109], the first information includes at least number of PRACH repetition transmissions; [0149] and [0217], a plurality of resource configuration types for PRACH repetition transmission are supported, and a to-be-used resource configuration type is configured by the network-side device or implicitly determined based on signaling provided for PRACH repetition resource configuration; [0145], different first RO groups are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions),
different first configurations in the plurality of first configurations are associated with different numbers of repetition of the PRACH transmission ([0145], the number of PRACH repetition transmissions corresponding to each first RO group is independently configured, e.g., different additional RO groups (that is, the first RO group) are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions. Since, the RO groups are configured with different quantities of PRACH repetition transmissions; therefore, different first configurations are associated with the different numbers of repetition of the PRACH transmission), and
a first configuration, among the plurality of first configurations, for a first number of repetitions ([0092], independently configured first RO is used for the PRACH repetition transmission. As mentioned above, the first RO groups correspond to the plurality of first configurations; therefore, the first RO corresponds to a first number of repetitions) includes a first parameter ([0107], obtaining first information corresponding to the first RO; [0108], the first information is sent by a network-side device or a predefined rule; or part of the first information is sent by the network-side device, and the rest part of information is a predefined rule; the first information includes at least one of the following: [0122], The number of frequency domain multiplexing ROs. The number of PRACH repetitions are obtained based on this parameter) corresponding to the first number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission (Regarding [0122], number of frequency domain multiplexing RO is a first parameter, as it is used to determine the number of PRACH repetitions); and
transmitting ([0411], the radio frequency apparatus 172 processes the received information and then sends the information out by using the antenna 171).
WU does not specifically teach
transmitting the configuration to the UE via system information,
a first parameter which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first number of repetitions of the PRACH transmission; and
transmitting the system information to the UE.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION):
a random access channel (RACH) configuration, information ([0070], RACH configuration and information for performing a RACH procedure) that includes a repetition of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission (Abstract and [0135], PRACH repetition) by a user equipment (UE) ([0071], The UE that has detected one SSB transmits a PRACH in a RACH occasion associated with the SSB index);
transmitting the configuration to the UE via system information ([0070], The system information is constituted by an MIB delivered by the PBCH, RMSI (SIB 1); The SIB 1 includes RACH configuration and information for performing a RACH procedure; [0167], The UE receives a configuration related to a plurality of repetitions of a PRACH; [0232], PRACH repetition accompanied by the same beam or PRACH repetition accompanied by a plurality of different beams is used is indicated/configured for a base station by SIB/RRC configuration; [0314], The number of repetitions are configured/indicated by an SIB/RRC IE explicitly or implicitly),
a first number of repetitions includes a first parameter ([0202], parameter for PRACH repetition; [0216], Different new parameters are introduced to PRACH repetition; [0409], a parameter of the first actual PRACH transmission in all repetition ROs. Here, the parameter is a first parameter) which specifies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold corresponding to the first number of repetitions ([0231], The UE employs the supported PRACH repetition scheme in accordance with the condition/limitation. The condition/limitation is a case that RSRP/RSRQ is lower than a threshold value) of the PRACH transmission ([0317], The UE determines the number of actual PRACH repetitions in accordance with a determination rule or UE implementation; e.g., when a measurement value of RSRP/RSRQ/SINR/quality/power of an SSB is lower than a threshold value. Here, the RSRP threshold corresponds to the number of PRACH repetitions. As mentioned above, the first parameter represents PRACH repetition; therefore, the first parameter specifies the RSRP threshold corresponding to the number of PRACH repetitions); and
transmitting the system information to the UE ([0547], System Information Blocks (SIBs) and so on are communicated on the PDSCH; [0654], reporting of information is implemented by using broadcast information (master information block (MIB), system information blocks (SIBs), and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WU as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that improve coverage in a random access procedure (Matsumura, Abstract and [0007]).
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU in view of Matsumura and further in view of TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI et al. (TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI hereinafter referred to TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI) (US 2023/0199852 A1).
(New) Regarding claims 7 and 8, combination of WU and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 4, respectively as outlined above.
WU does not specifically teach
wherein
at least one of the plurality of first configurations is associated with both the repetition of the PRACH transmission and a repetition of a message 3 (Msg3) transmission,
the first configuration further includes a parameter that specifies a subset of preambles used for the repetition of the PRACH transmission within a preamble partition, and
the parameter indicates a boundary of PRACH preamble indices that defines whether the subset of preambles is available for both the repetition of the PRACH transmission and the repetition of the Msg3 transmission, or only for the repetition of the Msg3 transmission.
However, TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI teaches (Title, INTERACTION OF PRACH REPETITION AND REQUEST OF MSG3 REPETITION):
at least one of the plurality of first configurations is associated with both the repetition of the PRACH transmission and a repetition of a message 3 (Msg3) transmission (Fig.5, step 505. [0073], the base station 504 determines (e.g., based on a configuration) that the one or more PRACH repetitions 503A, 503B, . . . , 503N indicate a Msg 3 repetition request and accordingly transmits a grant that schedules PUSCH resources for the Msg 3 repetition in a response, such as a Msg 2 (e.g., the second random access message 505). Here, the message 505 indicates both the repetition of the PRACH transmission and a repetition of a Msg3 transmission),
the first configuration further includes a parameter that specifies a subset of preambles used for the repetition of the PRACH transmission within a preamble partition ([0073], preamble sequences associated with the one or more PRACH repetitions; [0076], a relation between preamble sequences associated with the one or more PRACH repetitions 503A, 503B, . . . , 503N are configured to implicitly indicate the Msg 3 repetition request. Here, the preamble sequence is a subset of preambles; therefore, the subset of preambles used for the repetition of the PRACH transmission), and
the parameter indicates a boundary of PRACH preamble indices that defines whether the subset of preambles is available for both the repetition of the PRACH transmission and the repetition of the Msg3 transmission, or only for the repetition of the Msg3 transmission (Fig.6A and 6B, [0074], The PRACH resources (i.e., the preamble sequences) for the Msg3 repetition request in the absence of a PRACH repetition is different from PRACH resources for the Msg3 repetition request in the presence of a PRACH repetition. Here, the PRACH resources; i.e., the preamble sequences/ subset of preambles are different for cases when both the repetition of the PRACH transmission and the repetition of the Msg3 transmission happen, and when only for the repetition of the Msg3 transmission happens; therefore, it is obvious that a boundary of PRACH preamble indices defines the differences).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of WU and Matsumura as mentioned in claims 1 and 4 and further incorporate the teaching of TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods, apparatuses, and computer readable medium for PRACH repetition and Msg 3 repetition, in which a UE requests a Msg 3 PUSCH repetition to improve coverage and the efficiency of a RACH procedure between the UE and a base station (TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI, Abstract and [0067]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROWNAK ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474