DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
More specifically, Applicant argues that Vejlgaard et al. does not disclose “select a polarization mode of a terminal device” because Vejlgaard et al. “merely describe that a UE determines a best CSI-RS beam by using broad beam and a best SSB polarization, and report it to the network” (pages 4-5). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Vejlgaard et al. discloses UE_B (e.g. FIG. 9) decodes MIB, SIB1, and SIB2 for the received SSB beams, and determines the best or optimal SSB beam and polarization out of the up to 64 SSB beams decoded based on RSRP, CQI, and/or RI measurements (para. [0070]; Step 905 of FIG. 9). Furthermore, Vejlgaard et al. discloses that receiving node selects either vertical or horizontal polarization (para. [0075]). That is, UE_B evaluates RSRP of DMRS_1 and DMRS_2, and determines the best signal based on the RSRP of these signals and determines the best polarization (para. [0119]). Although such disclosure is made using DMRS, similar procedure would be used in determining polarization based on SSB. Applicant seems to argue that what is determined is SSB polarization. However, because SSB is transmitted by UE_A, the polarization of the received SSB is the polarization of the UE_A that transmitted the SSB. The claim broadly recites “a polarization mode of a terminal device”, and does not further specify what that is. Therefore, by determining the best or optimal SSB beams and polarization reads on selecting the polarization mode.
Secondly, Applicant argues that Vejlgaard et al. does not disclose, “a measurement report including second information associated with the polarization mode of the terminal device” because Vejlgaard et al. does not report the information related to polarization of the UE (pages 4-5). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Claim recites broadly, “transmit a measurement report including second information associated with the polarization mode of the terminal device and the best measurement result for the SSB”. Vejlgaard et al. discloses that UE_B (e.g. FIG. 9) decodes MIB, SIB1, and SIB2 for the received SSB beams, and determines the best or optimal SSB beam and polarization out of the up to 64 SSB beams decoded based on RSRP, CQI, and/or RI measurements (para. [0070]; Step 905 of FIG. 9). Further, a random access procedure between UE_A and UE_B is performed where UE_B uses broad beam with vertical polarization, and UE _A using the best SSB beam and polarization as determined by UE_B (para. [0070], step 906 of FIG. 9). Without receiving the information, UE_A would not know the best SSB beam and polarization. Vejlgaard et al. teaches that UE_B reports once the determination is made, e.g., UE_B reports the RSRP measurements of the best signal to UE_A with the best polarization in the process of reporting best narrow TX beam (para. [0119]; FIG. 17). In other word, UE_B reports the determined polarization mode (i.e. second information) and measurement of the best SSB beam. Therefore, Vejlgaard et al. discloses each and every limitation of claims 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vejlgaard et el. (US20230187847A1, hereinafter VEJLGAARD).
Regarding claim 1, VEJLGAARD discloses A user equipment (UE) (Figures 3, 9, UE_B) comprising: a receiver (The connectivity unit in Fig. 20 has at least one receiver, [0136], “receiver”) configured to receive and measure a synchronization signal block (SSB); (Fig. 3 shows that (up to 64) SSB is received from gNB, [0050] In phase 1, the terminal device, denoted as UE, is configured for broad beam RX, while the gNB performs downlink synchronization signal block, SSB, beam sweeping. The UE measures reference signal received power, RSRP, of the received SSB beams [0070] UE_B receives the first set of SSB beams using broad RX beam with vertical polarization) and a transmitter (The connectivity unit in Fig. 20 has at least one transmitter, [0136], “transmitter”) configured to select a polarization mode of a terminal (Figure 3, UE) device based on first information ([0070] “RSRP”) and a best measurement result for the SSB if the SSB includes the first information associated with a polarization mode of the SSB, ([0070] In step 901, UE_A transmits a first set of 32 SSB beams with vertical polarization. In step 902, a receiving node, for example a second terminal device denoted herein as UE_B, receives the first set of SSB beams using broad RX beam with vertical polarization. In step 903, UE_A transmits a second set of 32 SSB beams equal to the first set, but with horizontal polarization. In step 904, UE_B receives the second set of SSB beams using broad RX beam with vertical polarization. In step 905, UE_B decodes MIB, SIB1 and SIB2 for the received SSB beams, and determines, for example based on RSRP, CQI, and/or RI measurements, the best, or optimal, SSB beam and polarization out of the up to 64 SSB beams decoded. In step 906, a random access procedure between UE_A and UE_B is performed with UE_B using broad beam with vertical polarization, and UE_A using the best SSB beam and polarization as determined by UE_B. ) and transmit a measurement report including second information associated with the polarization mode of the terminal device and the best measurement result for the SSB. ([0050] In phase 1, the terminal device, denoted as UE, is configured for broad beam RX, while the gNB performs downlink synchronization signal block, SSB, beam sweeping. The UE measures reference signal received power, RSRP, of the received SSB beams, and reports back to the gNB using the same beam configuration as in RX by selecting the random access resources, for example the random access channel, RACH, group, which correspond to the best SSB beam measured by the UE based on RSRP. The random access resources may be determined based on the information, for example master information block, MIB, system information block type 1, SIB1, and/or system information block type 2, SIB2, decoded by UE in correspondence with the best SSB beam…. [0051] In phase 2, …. The UE measures RSRP, channel quality indicator, CQI, and/or rank indicator, RI, for the received CSI-RS and SSB beams, and reports the best beam ID based on the measurements back to the gNB using the same beam configuration as in RX. … Fig. 12, Step 1213, [0094] In step 1213, UE_B determines, for example based on RSRP, CQI, and/or RI measurements, the best CSI-RS beam and reports it to UE_A using broad beam and the best SSB polarization. …, Fig. 10, step 1007, [0079]; Fig. 9, step 907, [0071]; Fig. 11, step 1106, [0086], [0070] UE_B (e.g. FIG. 9) decodes MIB, SIB1, and SIB2 for the received SSB beams, and determines the best or optimal SSB beam and polarization out of the up to 64 SSB beams decoded based on RSRP, CQI, and/or RI measurements. [0070], step 906 of FIG. 9, A random access procedure between UE-A and UE_B is performed with UE_B using broad beam with vertical polarization, and UE _A using the best SSB beam and polarization as determined by UE_B)
Regarding claim 4, the limitations of claim 4 are directed to a method claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1. Therefore claims 4 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard et el. (US20230187847A1, hereinafter VEJLGAARD), and further in view of Nishio et al. (US20220407546A1, hereafter NISHIO).
Regarding claim 2, VEJLGAARD disclose all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, VEJLGAARD also discloses: wherein if the SSB includes a switching pattern of polarization modes for uplink (UL) transmissions of the UE, the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report based on the switching pattern. (Fig. 12, Step 1213, [0094] In step 1213, UE_B determines, for example based on RSRP, CQI, and/or RI measurements, the best CSI-RS beam and reports it to UE_A using broad beam and the best SSB polarization.
However, VEJLGAARD does not disclose: wherein if the SSB includes a switching pattern of polarization modes for uplink (UL) transmissions of the UE, the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report based on the switching pattern.
NISHIO discloses: wherein if the SSB includes a switching pattern of polarization modes for uplink (UL) transmissions of the UE, (A Cell ID is determined based on SSB, Fig. 18, S401, [0252] For example, terminal 200 detects a PSS and SSS in an SSB in an SSB search at the time of initial access and specifies the cell ID. Thereafter, terminal 200 receives PBCH in the SSB and acquires system information to be broadcasted in the cell. … [0251] In the present embodiment, polarization to be set for each cell and identification information for a cell (e.g., also referred to as cell ID or Physical Cell ID (PCI)) are associated with each other … [0255] Alternatively, for example, among the cell IDs, a cell ID with a number in a smaller range (e.g., cell ID in the first half) and the RHCP (Right-Hand Circular Polarization) may be associated, and a cell ID with a number in a larger range (e.g., cell ID in the second half) and the LHCP (Left-Hand Circular Polarization) with each other, respectively. That is, the cell ID with the most significant bit 0 and the RHCP (Right-Hand Circular Polarization) may be associated, and the cell ID with the most significant bit 1 and the LHCP (Left-Hand Circular Polarization) may be associated.)), the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report based on the switching pattern. (Fig. 18, S405, [0257] For example, in the SSB search, terminal 200, for example, performs reception using the RHCP in detecting the PSS or SSS for the cell ID corresponding to the RHCP (S401). In a case where the cell ID corresponding to the RHCP is detected (S402: Yes), terminal 200 sets the RHCP as, for example, polarization used for reception processing (i.e., processing in downlink) and transmission processing (i.e., processing in uplink) (S405)… [0254], [0255] Alternatively, for example, among the cell IDs, a cell ID with a number in a smaller range (e.g., cell ID in the first half) and the RHCP may be associated, and a cell ID with a number in a larger range (e.g., cell ID in the second half) and the LHCP with each other, respectively. That is, the cell ID with the most significant bit 0 and the RHCP (Right-Hand Circular Polarization) may be associated, and the cell ID with the most significant bit 1 and the LHCP (Left-Hand Circular Polarization) may be associated.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified VEJLGAARD to incorporate the teaching of NISHIO to provide if the SSB includes a switching pattern of polarization modes for uplink (UL) transmissions of the UE, the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report based on the switching pattern. The modification enables a UE to determine polarization used for radio communication (NISHIO, [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, VEJLGAARD and NISHIO disclose all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, VEJLGAARD also discloses: wherein if the SSB includes an indication of a downlink (DL) reception mode associated with the polarization mode, the transmitter is further configured to transmit a measurement report including one or more measurement results based on the indication. ([0051] In phase 2, the UE is configured for broad beam RX, while the gNB performs refined downlink channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, beam sweeping. The UE measures RSRP, channel quality indicator, CQI, and/or rank indicator, RI, for the received CSI-RS and SSB beams, and reports the best beam ID based on the measurements back to the gNB using the same beam configuration as in RX.)
NISHIO also discloses: wherein if the SSB includes an indication of a downlink (DL) reception mode associated with the polarization mode, (… [0245] Further, in the present embodiment, for example, terminal 200 sets the polarization indicated from base station 100 for the channel or signal used for user data occupying more time resources or frequency resources as compared to the initial access. [0246] Terminal 200 can perform the communication processing based on the communication method according to the polarization to be set for terminal 200 (e.g., at least one of transmission and reception) by using the previously determined polarization or the polarization indicated from base station 100, and thus, the communication performance of terminal 200 can be improved.), the transmitter is further configured to transmit a measurement report including one or more measurement results based on the indication. (Fig. 19, Step S504, [0275] Terminal 200 sets the polarization associated with the detected SSB ID as, for example, polarization used for reception processing (i.e., processing in downlink) and transmission processing (i.e., processing in uplink) (S504).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified VEJLGAARD to incorporate the teaching of NISHIO to provide if the SSB includes an indication of a downlink (DL) reception mode associated with the polarization mode, the transmitter is further configured to transmit a measurement report including one or more measurement results based on the indication. The modification enables a UE to determine polarization used for radio communication (NISHIO, [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0015890), which is directed to inhomogeneous polarization-based coherent transceiver for beam alignment and method therefor; and teaches that the receiving end measures the signal strength and polarization information for each SSB through pre-configured physical resources for beam alignment (para. [0221]); the receiving end selects an SSB index based on the measured signal strength for the inhomogeneous polarization beam of each SSB (para. [0221]);
Wu (WO 2022/155976), which is directed to initial access method, terminal device and network device; and teaches that a terminal device detects SSB#1 whose SSB signal strength exceeds the threshold, the terminal device can determine that the antenna mode corresponding to the network device when transmitting SSB#1 is the RHCP mode (page 18, 4th paragraph of translation); the SSB corresponding to the odd index is associated with the RHCP mode, and the SSB corresponding to the even index is associated with the LHCP mode (page 18. 4th paragraph).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417