DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-16, drawn to a locator system, classified in A61B1/01.
II. Claims 17-20, drawn to a method of locating a target site, classified in A61F2/958.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the locator system can be used in a materially different process such as locating a tumor site for removal.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their classification;
The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Karen Horowitz on 8/28/25 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-16. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12150621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘621 anticipates the claims 1-3 and 5 of the instant application.
Claim 1 of ‘621 recites a locator system comprising:
a flexible elongate member (elongated member); a beacon (location device including at least one light emitting diode (LED)) mounted on said flexible elongate member; and
a tissue engagement member (balloon);
wherein said tissue engagement member is configured to engage tissue at a target site to anchor said locator system with respect to target site (balloon is recited to be configured to be inflated, and is therefore capable of performing anchoring the locator system).
With regard to claim 2, claim 1 of ‘621 recites wherein said tissue engagement member is expandable to engage tissue at the target site to anchor said locator system with respect to the target site (balloon is recited to be configured to be inflated, and is therefore capable of performing anchoring the locator system).
With regard to claim 3, claim 1 of ‘621 recites wherein said tissue engagement member is an inflatable balloon.
With regard to claim 5, claim 1 of ‘621 recites wherein said tissue engagement member is mounted on said elongate flexible member (a balloon at the distal end of the elongated member).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“tissue engagement member” in claims 1 and 12. Where the “tissue engagement member” is interpreted as a “inflatable balloon” or a “expandable stent” or a “pair of grasper arms” as stated in paragraphs [0007], [0008] of the instant specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dayton (US2021/0196106).
Regarding claim 1, Dayton discloses a locator system comprising:
a flexible elongate member (flexible sheath 702 as seen in Fig. 7, [0079]);
a beacon (LEDs 710) mounted on said flexible elongate member (see Fig. 7); and
a tissue engagement member (balloon 704, where the balloon is an equivalent structure to the “tissue engagement member” interpreted under 112(f) by being a balloon);
wherein said tissue engagement member is configured to engage tissue at a target site to anchor said locator system with respect to the target site ([0080] and illustrated for similar device in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2 Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 1, wherein said tissue engagement member is expandable to engage tissue at the target site to anchor said locator system with respect to the target site ([0079-0080]).
Regarding claim 3, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 2, wherein said tissue engagement member is an inflatable balloon (balloon 704, [0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 2, wherein said tissue engagement member is mounted on said flexible elongate member (see Fig. 7, [0079]).
Regarding claim 7, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 1, further comprising a controller (inflation at outlet controlled by fluid lumen 708, [0079]) extending along said flexible elongate member and actuatable to shift said tissue engagement member between a delivery configuration and a tissue-engaging configuration ([0079]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 7, wherein said tissue engagement member is inflatable ([0079]), and said controller is an inflation lumen through said flexible elongate member ([0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 7, wherein said tissue engagement member is inflatable ([0079]), and said controller is an inflation lumen within an inflation line extending along said flexible elongate member (inflation line is interpreted as structure with the inflation lumen, [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, Dayton discloses a locator system and delivery system therefor, comprising:
a beacon (LEDs 710);
a tissue engagement member (balloon 704, where the balloon is an equivalent structure to the “tissue engagement member” interpreted under 112(f) by being a balloon); and
a controller (inflation at outlet controlled by fluid lumen 708, [0079]) actuatable to shift said tissue engagement member between a delivery configuration in which said tissue engagement member is compact and deliverable transluminally to a target site ([0080]), and a tissue-engaging configuration in which said tissue engagement member engages tissue at the target site to anchor said beacon with respect to the target site ([0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Dayton discloses the locator system and delivery system therefor of claim 12, further comprising a flexible elongate member (flexible sheath 702 as seen in Fig. 7, [0079]) on which said beacon and said tissue engagement member are mounted (see Fig. 7, [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, Dayton discloses the locator system and delivery system therefor of claim 12, wherein said tissue engagement member is an inflatable balloon (balloon 704, [0079]), and said controller is an inflation lumen in fluid communication with said balloon ([0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayton (US2021/0196106) in view of Rajagopalan (US2017/0007310).
Regarding claim 4, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 2; yet, is silent regarding wherein said tissue engagement member is an expandable stent. Rajagopalan teaches an anchoring device for a catheter, where the anchoring device can include a radially expandable cage or stent to anchor within the vessel ([0423]). Where the controller of the anchoring device can be a conduit (sheath) having a lumen, where the conduit receives a control rod configured to expand the anchoring device by releasing from the conduit ([0423]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have substituted the anchoring expandable stent with the controller of Rajagopalan for the anchoring balloon with the controller of Dayton, since the substitution would have the same predictable result of anchoring the catheter within the vessel.
Regarding claim 10, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 7; yet, is silent regarding wherein: said controller is a sheath extending about said flexible elongate member; and said tissue engagement member is an expandable stent positioned within said controller in the delivery configuration and expandable into the tissue-engaging configuration when outside said controller. Rajagopalan teaches an anchoring device for a catheter, where the anchoring device can include a radially expandable cage or stent to anchor within the vessel ([0423]). Where the controller of the anchoring device can be a conduit (sheath) having a lumen, where the conduit receives a control rod configured to expand the anchoring device by releasing from the conduit ([0423]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have substituted the anchoring expandable stent with the controller of Rajagopalan for the anchoring balloon with the controller of Dayton, since the substitution would have the same predictable result of anchoring the catheter within the vessel.
Regarding claim 15, Dayton discloses the locator system and delivery system of claim 12; yet, is silent regarding wherein: said controller is a sheath; and said tissue engagement member is an expandable stent shiftable between a delivery configuration when within said sheath and an expanded tissue-engaging configuration when outside said sheath. Rajagopalan teaches an anchoring device for a catheter, where the anchoring device can include a radially expandable cage or stent to anchor within the vessel ([0423]). Where the controller of the anchoring device can be a conduit (sheath) having a lumen, where the conduit receives a control rod configured to expand the anchoring device by releasing from the conduit ([0423]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have substituted the anchoring expandable stent with the controller of Rajagopalan for the anchoring balloon with the controller of Dayton, since the substitution would have the same predictable result of anchoring the catheter within the vessel.
Claims 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayton (US2021/0196106) in view of Koehler (US2023/0042304).
Regarding claim 6, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 1; yet, is silent regarding wherein said tissue engagement member has a pair of grasper arms configured to grasp tissue at the target site therebetween. Koehler teaches an anchoring device for a catheter 116, where the anchoring device can include grasping mechanism 192, that includes a pair of jaws (hook 192A and lever 192B) for grasping tissue ([0270]). The grasping mechanism having a controller (control wires at proximal end of catheter 116) ([0270]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have substituted the anchoring grasping mechanism with the controller of Koehler for the anchoring balloon with the controller of Dayton, since the substitution would have the same predictable result of anchoring the catheter within the vessel.
Regarding claim 11, Dayton discloses the locator system of claim 7; yet, is silent regarding wherein said tissue engagement member has a pair of grasper arms configured to grasp tissue at the target site therebetween. Koehler teaches an anchoring device for a catheter 116, where the anchoring device can include grasping mechanism 192, that includes a pair of jaws (hook 192A and lever 192B) for grasping tissue ([0270]). The grasping mechanism having a controller (control wires at proximal end of catheter 116) ([0270]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have substituted the anchoring grasping mechanism with the controller of Koehler for the anchoring balloon with the controller of Dayton, since the substitution would have the same predictable result of anchoring the catheter within the vessel.
Regarding claim 16, Dayton discloses the locator system and delivery system therefor of claim 12; yet, is silent regarding wherein said tissue engagement member comprises a pair of jaws movable by said controller between a closed configuration in which said jaws are in a delivery configuration or grasping tissue therebetween, and an open configuration in which said jaws may engage tissue therebetween. Koehler teaches an anchoring device for a catheter 116, where the anchoring device can include grasping mechanism 192, that includes a pair of jaws (hook 192A and lever 192B) for grasping tissue ([0270]). The grasping mechanism having a controller (control wires at proximal end of catheter 116) ([0270]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have substituted the anchoring grasping mechanism with the controller of Koehler for the anchoring balloon with the controller of Dayton, since the substitution would have the same predictable result of anchoring the catheter within the vessel.
Conclusion
/M.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774