DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received 2/13/2026, the following objections and rejections have been withdrawn from the previous office action:
Objection to claim 11
35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 1-2, 5-11, and 13
35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 3-4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20200161618A1, hereafter Adams in view of Foreign Publication WO2015140356A2, hereafter Doyen.
Regarding claim 1, Adams discloses a polymer porous film ([0037] battery separator with microporous polymeric film and a coating layer) comprising:
a first layer ([0037] microporous polymeric film); and
a second layer ([0037] coating layer), wherein
the first layer is porous ([0037] microporous polymeric film),
the first layer has a three-dimensional network structure scaffold ([0040] microporous polymer film has Gurley value of 200-500 seconds, thus at least some pore structure must be continuously interconnected to allow air to flow through),
the second layer is non-porous in an image at a magnification of 50,000x ([0061] coating layer may be nonporous),
a proportion of the second layer is more than 0% and less than 10% ([0059] thickness of coating is less than 1 micron thick; [0043] microporous polymeric film is monolayer that is 15 microns thick: 0.99/15=6.6%), and
the proportion of the second layer is calculated by the following expression (I):
proportion (%) of the second layer = (t2/t0) x 100 (I)
where t0 represents a thickness of the polymer porous film, and t2 represents a thickness of the second layer ([0059] thickness of coating is less than 1 micron thick; [0043] microporous polymeric film is monolayer that is 15 microns thick: 0.99/15=6.6%).
Adams is silent on wherein the scaffold forming the three-dimensional network structure continuously transitions into the second layer.
In the analogous art of battery separators, Doyen discloses wherein a scaffold forming the three-dimensional network structure of the first layer (12) continuously transitions into the second layer (121) (Fig 4, [0101] membrane layer 12 with skin 121; Fig 4 shows continuous transition between skin 121 and membrane layer 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Adams to use a continuous transition between the first and second layer in order to integrate the layers together to reduce or eliminate the risk of peeling.
Regarding claim 2, Adams discloses wherein the proportion of the second layer is from 2 to 8% ([0059] thickness of coating is less than 1 micron thick; [0043] microporous polymeric film is monolayer that is 15 microns thick: 0.99/15=6.6%).
Regarding claim 3, Adams further discloses wherein the thickness of the second layer is less than 1 micron thick, which overlaps with the claimed range of from 0.5 to 1.5 µm ([0059]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Adams further discloses Adams discloses wherein the first layer has an average pore size from 0.01-1 microns, which overlaps with the claimed range of from 500 to 2000 nm ([0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 5, Adams discloses wherein the three-dimensional network structure includes a continuous pore structure ([0040] microporous polymer film has Gurley value of 200-500 seconds, thus at least some pore structure must be continuously interconnected to allow air to flow through).
Regarding claim 6, Adams discloses the polymer porous film including at least one selected from the group consisting of ethylene-(vinyl alcohol) copolymer ([0041] ethylenevinyl alcohol), polyvinylidene difluoride ([0041] PVDF), and polyvinyl alcohol ([0041] polyvinyl alcohols).
Regarding claim 7, Adams discloses the polymer porous film having an air permeability from 32 to 600 s/100ml ([0040] microporous polymer film has Gurley value of 200-500 seconds).
Regarding claim 8, Adams discloses the polymer porous film having a porosity from 50 to 72% ([0040] 50 to 70% porosity).
Regarding claim 9, Adams discloses having a thickness from 16 to 25 µm ([0043] microporous polymeric film is monolayer that is 15 microns thick; [0059] thickness of coating is less than 1 micron thick).
Regarding claim 10, Adams discloses a separator for a battery ([0037] battery separator comprising microporous polymeric film and coating layer), comprising the polymer porous film according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Adams discloses an electrode unit ([0084] composite comprising separator and electrode) comprising: the polymer porous film according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1); and an electrode ([0084] electrode in composite), wherein the polymer porous film is adhered to a surface of the electrode (implicit, since the separator and electrode in [0084] are layered in a composite).
Regarding claim 13, Adams discloses a battery (abstract, battery comprising described separator; [0169] lithium battery separator; [0084] composite with anode, cathode, separator) comprising:
a first electrode ([0084] cathode);
a separator ([0084] separator);
a second electrode ([0084] anode); and
an electrolyte solution ([0087] electrolyte salt in liquid solvent), wherein
the second electrode has a polarity that is different from a polarity of the first electrode ([0084] anode and cathode),
the separator separates the second electrode from the first electrode ([0084] anode and cathode each in direct contact with separator as part of composite), and
the separator includes the polymer porous film according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Adams further discloses wherein the second layer and the scaffold forming the three-dimensional network structure of the first layer are the same material ([0041] PVDF microporous polymeric film; [0057] PVDF coating).
Regarding claim 17, Adams further discloses wherein the second layer comprises pores with a maximum Feret diameter of 100 nm or less ([0061] coating layer may be nonporous).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754