DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Higuchi U.S. PAP 2015/0103253 A1.
Regarding claim 1 Higuchi teaches a control method by an electronic apparatus connected with a source device and a sound output device ( a device control apparatus including an information acquisition section configured to acquire designation information for designating an output destination of a sound input from an external device, and an output control section configured to, in a case where the designation information designates, out of one sound output apparatus and another sound output apparatus, see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, by the electronic apparatus, content of the source device and providing audio data of the content to the sound output device (acquire designation information for designating an output destination of a sound input from an external device, see par. [0007]);
diagnosing, by the electronic apparatus, based on audio data of the content not being output from the sound output device, at least one output error, from among the source device and/or the sound output device, based on an audio mode of the electronic apparatus (When the device control apparatus 800 is in a system audio mode of OFF, the sound by the output audio signal of the video recorder 400 is output from a speaker (not shown) of the television receiver 200, see par. [0089]);
performing reconnection of at least one from among the source device and/or the sound output device based on the diagnosis result ( in a case where the designation information designates, out of one sound output apparatus and another sound output apparatus, the another sound output apparatus, cause each of the one sound output apparatus and the another sound output apparatus to output the sound, see par. [0007]);
and changing the audio mode, based on audio data of the content not being output from the sound output device even after the reconnection (cause each of the one sound output apparatus and the another sound output apparatus to output the sound, see par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 2 Higuchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the diagnosing comprises:
checking whether an audio processor comprised in the electronic apparatus receives the audio data through a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) (the output video signal of the video recorder 400 is supplied to the television receiver 200 via the HDMI cable 703, see par. [0088]);
identifying whether the audio data comprises audio data that is changeable to a format suitable to the audio mode of the electronic apparatus using at least channel status bits information comprised in the audio data (When the device control apparatus 800 is in the system audio mode of ON, the sound by the output audio signal of the video recorder 400 is output from the headphones 900 connected to the device control apparatus 800. In this case, the output audio signal of the video recorder 400 is supplied to the device control apparatus 800 via the HDMI cable 703, see par. [0090]);
and diagnosing as an output error of the source device based on the audio processor not receiving the audio data, and/or the audio data not being changeable to a format suitable to the audio mode of the electronic apparatus ( there is a demand to listen to sounds in different volumes and sound fields simultaneously by listening to a sound output from the television receiver 200 while listening to a sound output from the headphones 900. In order to satisfy such a demand, it has been necessary that the system audio mode be set to OFF and then an operation to cancel the mute state of the headphones 900 be performed, see par. [0257]).
Regarding claim 3 Higuchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the diagnosing comprises:
checking, based on an audio processor comprised in the electronic apparatus receiving the audio data through the HDMI, whether the audio data is changed to audio data suitable to the audio mode and output to the sound output device ( when each device present in an HDMI network is recognized as a CEC-compatible device corresponding to an assigned logical address, an operation on the recognized CEC-compatible device can be performed, see par. [0066]);
and diagnosing as an output error of the sound output device based on the identification result ( In the HDMI-CEC standard, <Active Source> is defined as a CEC message to indicate the device having images displayed in the television receiver. According to the definition, for example, when a user operates a playback button of a video disc player compatible with the HDMI standard, the video disc player outputs an AV stream if the player itself is in a state (i.e., active state) of being capable of outputting stable video signals, see par. [0067]).
Regarding claim 4 Higuchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the diagnosing comprises: identifying, based on the audio data being changed to audio data suitable to the audio mode and verified as being output to the sound output device, whether the changed audio data is audio data that is reproducible from the sound output device ( In the HDMI-CEC standard, <Active Source> is defined as a CEC message to indicate the device having images displayed in the television receiver. According to the definition, for example, when a user operates a playback button of a video disc player compatible with the HDMI standard, the video disc player outputs an AV stream if the player itself is in a state (i.e., active state) of being capable of outputting stable video signals, see par. [0067]), and the control method further comprising:
requesting, based on the changed audio data being audio data that is not reproducible from the sound output device based on the identification result, information associated with audio data that is reproducible from the sound output device to the sound output device (device control apparatus 800 is a CEC-compatible device, and includes HDMI terminals 801, 802, 803, and 804, and an optical input terminal 805. To the device control apparatus 800, headphones 900 are connected, and it is configured such that an audio signal that is playback-processed in the device control apparatus 800 is output from the headphones 900, see par. [0074]).
Regarding claim 8 Higuchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing reconnection comprises: performing reconnection with the source device and/or the sound output device at least by changing a hot plug detect signal associated with communication with at least one from among the source device and/or the sound output device from a low state to a high state (When TV+HP Audio Out is switched from OFF to ON (step S224), the output control section 8212 controls the radio communication section 818 to be in the mute OFF state (step S225), and transmits a message <Report Audio Status>[Muting Off] to the television receiver 200 (step S226), see par. [0300]).
Regarding claim 9 Higuchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the diagnosing an output error comprises: checking whether the audio data is output from the sound output device using at least one from among a feedback signal received from the sound output device, audio data that is transmitted from the electronic apparatus to the sound output device, and a volume value of the electronic apparatus (According to such a configuration, the demand to listen to sounds in different volumes and sound fields simultaneously can be satisfied with an easy technique, by listening to the sound output from the television receiver 200 while listening to the sound output from headphones 900, see par. [0323]); and diagnosing, based on verifying that the audio data is not being output from the sound output device, at least one output error from among the source device and/or the sound output device based on the audio mode of the electronic apparatus (when the switching is performed from the output destination of the sound including the another sound output apparatus to the output destinations including the one sound output apparatus and the another sound output apparatus, in a case where there is a request to stop outputting the sound from the one sound output apparatus, the output control section sends back a response that the output of the sound from the one sound output apparatus is continued, see par. [0336]).
Regarding claim 10 Higuchi teaches an electronic apparatus( a device control apparatus including an information acquisition section configured to acquire designation information for designating an output destination of a sound input from an external device, and an output control section configured to, in a case where the designation information designates, out of one sound output apparatus and another sound output apparatus, see abstract), comprising:
a communication interface, comprising circuitry, configured to perform communication with a source device and a sound output device (a high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), see par. [0064]);
and a processor (DSP, see par. [0117]) configured to:
control the communication interface to receive a content of the source device and provide audio data of the content to the sound output device (acquire designation information for designating an output destination of a sound input from an external device, see par. [0007]);
diagnose, based on audio data of the content not being output from the sound output device, at least one output error from among the source device and/or the sound output device based on an audio mode of the electronic apparatus (When the device control apparatus 800 is in a system audio mode of OFF, the sound by the output audio signal of the video recorder 400 is output from a speaker (not shown) of the television receiver 200, see par. [0089]);
perform reconnection of at least one from among the source device and/or the sound output device based on the diagnosis result ( in a case where the designation information designates, out of one sound output apparatus and another sound output apparatus, the another sound output apparatus, cause each of the one sound output apparatus and the another sound output apparatus to output the sound, see par. [0007]);
and change the audio mode, based on audio data of the content not being output from the sound output device even after the reconnection (cause each of the one sound output apparatus and the another sound output apparatus to output the sound, see par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 11 Higuchi teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 10, further comprising: an audio processor, wherein the communication interface comprises a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), and wherein the processor is configured to: check whether the audio processor receives the audio data through the HDMI (the output video signal of the video recorder 400 is supplied to the television receiver 200 via the HDMI cable 703, see par. [0088]), identify whether the audio data comprising audio data that is changeable to a format suitable to an audio mode of the electronic apparatus using channel status bits information comprised in the audio data (When the device control apparatus 800 is in the system audio mode of ON, the sound by the output audio signal of the video recorder 400 is output from the headphones 900 connected to the device control apparatus 800. In this case, the output audio signal of the video recorder 400 is supplied to the device control apparatus 800 via the HDMI cable 703, see par. [0090]), and diagnose as an output error of the source device based on the audio processor not receiving audio data, and/or the audio data not being changeable to a format suitable to an audio mode of the electronic apparatus (there is a demand to listen to sounds in different volumes and sound fields simultaneously by listening to a sound output from the television receiver 200 while listening to a sound output from the headphones 900. In order to satisfy such a demand, it has been necessary that the system audio mode be set to OFF and then an operation to cancel the mute state of the headphones 900 be performed, see par. [0257]).
Regarding claim 12 Higuchi teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 10, further comprising: an audio processor, wherein the communication interface comprises a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), and wherein the processor is configured to: check, based on the audio processor receiving the audio data through the HDMI, whether the audio data is changed to audio data suitable to the audio mode and output to the sound output device, and diagnose as an output error of the sound output device based on the verification result ( In the HDMI-CEC standard, <Active Source> is defined as a CEC message to indicate the device having images displayed in the television receiver. According to the definition, for example, when a user operates a playback button of a video disc player compatible with the HDMI standard, the video disc player outputs an AV stream if the player itself is in a state (i.e., active state) of being capable of outputting stable video signals, see par. [0067]).
Regarding claim 13 Higuchi teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to: identify, based on the audio data being changed to audio data suitable to the audio mode and verified as being output to the sound output device, whether the changed audio data is audio data that is reproducible from the sound output device (In the HDMI-CEC standard, <Active Source> is defined as a CEC message to indicate the device having images displayed in the television receiver. According to the definition, for example, when a user operates a playback button of a video disc player compatible with the HDMI standard, the video disc player outputs an AV stream if the player itself is in a state (i.e., active state) of being capable of outputting stable video signals, see par. [0067])and control, based on the changed audio data being audio data that is not reproducible from the sound output device based on the verification result, the communication interface to transmit a signal requesting information on audio data that is reproducible from the sound output device to the sound output device (device control apparatus 800 is a CEC-compatible device, and includes HDMI terminals 801, 802, 803, and 804, and an optical input terminal 805. To the device control apparatus 800, headphones 900 are connected, and it is configured such that an audio signal that is playback-processed in the device control apparatus 800 is output from the headphones 900, see par. [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi U.S. PAP 2015/0103253 A1 in view of Lee U.S. PAP 2015/007633 A1.
Regarding claim 5 Higuchi does not teach the control method of claim 1, wherein the diagnosing comprises: sequentially checking, based on the audio mode of the electronic apparatus being in an enhanced Audio Return Channel (eARC) mode, whether the audio data is received in the audio processor, whether the audio data received from the source device is changeable, whether the audio data is output from the electronic apparatus, and audio information outputtable from the audio output device and diagnosing at least one output error from among the source device and/or the sound output device.
In a similar field of endeavor Lee teaches when a format of a video signal or an audio signal changes, a signal processing method changes accordingly, and consequently time required to process a signal can change. In this case, sync between a video signal and an audio signal becomes mis-aligned again, and therefore, a user has to re-set a delay value for an audio signal, see par. [0010]. an A/V receiving apparatus which checks time required to process a video signal in a display apparatus and delays output of an audio signal, a method thereof, and an A/V signal processing system, see par. [0012]. The audio signal return request may be a signal which activates a HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface)-based ARC (Audio Return Channel) function and requests the audio signal processed along with the video signal to return to the A/V receiving apparatus, see par. [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Higuchi invention with the teachings of Lee for the benefit of checking time required to process a video signal in a display apparatus and delays output of an audio signal, a method thereof, and an A/V signal processing system, see par. [0012].
Regarding claim 6 Higuchi does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the diagnosing comprises: sequentially checking, based on the audio mode of the electronic apparatus being in an Audio Return Channel (ARC) mode, whether the audio data is received in the audio processor, whether the audio data received from the source device is changeable, and whether the audio data is output from the electronic apparatus, and diagnosing at least one output error from among the source device and/or the sound output device.
In the same field of endeavor Lee teaches The audio signal return request may be a signal which activates a HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface)-based ARC (Audio Return Channel) function and requests the audio signal processed along with the video signal to return to the A/V receiving apparatus, see par. [0016]. The signal processor 141 processes an audio signal received in the A/V signal receiving unit 110, for example, decoding processing can be performed according to a format of an audio signal, see par. [0055]. The delay unit 142 can delay and output an audio signal which is signal-processed in the signal processor 141 according to or as much as a preset delay value. In other words, any of a variety of predetermined delay values may be used by the delay unit to delay the audio signal according to the time required for processing a video signal in the display apparatus 200, see par. [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Higuchi invention with the teachings of Lee for the benefit of checking time required to process a video signal in a display apparatus and delays output of an audio signal, a method thereof, and an A/V signal processing system, see par. [0012].
Regarding claim 7 Lee teaches method of claim 1, wherein the source device and the audio output device are connected through at least a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), and the audio mode comprises at least one of: an Audio Return Channel (ARC) mode, an enhanced Audio Return Channel (eARC) mode, and an embedded speaker mode (the controller may activate a HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface)-based ARC (Audio Return Channel) function according to the audio signal return request, and return the signal-processed audio signal to the A/V receiving apparatus, see par. [0022]).
Regarding claim 14 Higuchi does not teach the e electronic apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to: sequentially check, based on the audio mode of the electronic apparatus being in an enhanced Audio Return Channel mode, whether the audio data is received in the audio processor, whether the audio data received from the source device is changeable, whether the audio data is output from the electronic apparatus, and audio information outputtable from the audio output device and diagnose at least one output error from among the source device and/or the sound output device.
In a similar field of endeavor Lee teaches when a format of a video signal or an audio signal changes, a signal processing method changes accordingly, and consequently time required to process a signal can change. In this case, sync between a video signal and an audio signal becomes mis-aligned again, and therefore, a user has to re-set a delay value for an audio signal, see par. [0010]. an A/V receiving apparatus which checks time required to process a video signal in a display apparatus and delays output of an audio signal, a method thereof, and an A/V signal processing system, see par. [0012]. The audio signal return request may be a signal which activates a HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface)-based ARC (Audio Return Channel) function and requests the audio signal processed along with the video signal to return to the A/V receiving apparatus, see par. [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Higuchi invention with the teachings of Lee for the benefit of checking time required to process a video signal in a display apparatus and delays output of an audio signal, a method thereof, and an A/V signal processing system, see par. [0012].
Regarding claim 15 Higuchi does not teach the electronic apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to: sequentially check, based on the audio mode of the electronic apparatus being in an Audio Return Channel (ARC) mode, whether the audio data is received in the audio processor, whether the audio data received from the source device is changeable, and whether the audio data is output from the electronic apparatus, and diagnose at least one output error from among the source device and/or the sound output device.
In the same field of endeavor Lee teaches The audio signal return request may be a signal which activates a HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface)-based ARC (Audio Return Channel) function and requests the audio signal processed along with the video signal to return to the A/V receiving apparatus, see par. [0016]. The signal processor 141 processes an audio signal received in the A/V signal receiving unit 110, for example, decoding processing can be performed according to a format of an audio signal, see par. [0055]. The delay unit 142 can delay and output an audio signal which is signal-processed in the signal processor 141 according to or as much as a preset delay value. In other words, any of a variety of predetermined delay values may be used by the delay unit to delay the audio signal according to the time required for processing a video signal in the display apparatus 200, see par. [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Higuchi invention with the teachings of Lee for the benefit of checking time required to process a video signal in a display apparatus and delays output of an audio signal, a method thereof, and an A/V signal processing system, see par. [0012].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent prior art available on form 892.
/MICHAEL ORTIZ-SANCHEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656