DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 1/22/2026. Claims 2 and 11-14 are cancelled. Claims 21-22 are new. The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the Specification have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-10 and 16-22 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, the recitation of “a thermoelectric module placing portion” has insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims.
In particular, claim 1 also recites “a thermoelectric module placing portion”. Therefore, it is unclear to which placing portion the claim is referring.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 9, the recitation of “a thermoelectric module placing portion” has insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims.
In particular, claim 1 also recites “a thermoelectric module placing portion”. Therefore, it is unclear to which placing portion the claim is referring.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 16, the recitation of “the supporting unit” has insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims.
In particular, amended claim 15 clarifies the supporting unit has a first supporting unit and a second supporting unit. Therefore, it is unclear to which supporting unit the claim is referring.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 17, the recitation of “the supporting unit” has insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims.
In particular, amended claim 15 clarifies the supporting unit has a first supporting unit and a second supporting unit. Therefore, it is unclear to which supporting unit the claim is referring.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Further Regarding Claim 17, the recitation of “a heat diffusion block” has insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims.
In particular, amended claim 15 also recites “a heat diffusion block”. Therefore, it is unclear to which heat diffusion block the claim is referring.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the recitation “a heat diffusion block” is interpreted as - - the heat diffusion block - - for clarity.
Regarding Claim 18, the recitation of “a first supporting unit” and “a second supporting unit” has insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims.
In particular, claim 15 also recites “a first supporting unit” and “a second supporting unit. Therefore, it is unclear to which supporting units the claim is referring.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the recitation “a first supporting unit and a second supporting unit” is interpreted as - - the first supporting unit and the second supporting unit - - for clarity.
.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AMENDMENTS TO THE CLAIMS This listing of claims will replace all prior versions, and listings, of claims in the application:
Claim 10 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Culp et al. (US20060000221A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Culp discloses an insulated storage [container 20, Figure 1; 0024], comprising:
a first plate [a first plate, annotated Figure 4];
a second plate [a second plate, annotated Figure 4];
a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate [where the insulated container 22 may include insulation formed from vacuum panels; 0025];
a supporting unit [thermoelectric unit 30 , Figure 2] provided to support the vacuum space [where thermal tape 44 may be provided so as to ensure close contact between the thermal tape 44 and the internal sides of the hole 28 and to minimize heat leakage; 0032]; and
a thermoelectric module [thermoelectric module 36, Figure 3] that exchanges heat with the second plate [via side heat sink 34, Figure 4], wherein the first plate or the second plate includes a first portion extending in a first direction [hole 28, Figure 2], wherein the supporting unit includes a portion extending in the first direction [where the opening in insulation 42 of thermoelectric unit 30 aligns with hole 28, Figure 2; a first direction, annotated Figure 4], wherein the supporting unit includes a first supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62] and a second supporting unit [insulation 42, Figure 3] provided not to be integrated with the first supporting unit [where fan covers 60 and 62 are not integral with the thermoelectric unit 30, as in the fan covers 60 and 62 and thermoelectric 30 are separable and not one piece; 0046], wherein the second supporting unit includes a first supporting unit placing portion [where the opening in thermoelectric unit 30 aligns with hole 28, Figure 2 and annotated Figure 4], and wherein the first supporting unit placing portion is provided so that at least a part of the first supporting unit is placed open with respect to the second supporting unit without being covered by the second supporting unit [where thermoelectric module 36 is surrounded by insulation 42; 0032; where thermoelectric module 36 is not covered by insulation 42 in the direction of a first direction, Figure 3 and annotated Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 15, Culp discloses an insulated storage [container 20, Figure 1; 0024] comprising:
a first plate [a first plate, annotated Figure 4];
a second plate [a second plate, annotated Figure 4];
a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate [where the insulated container 22 may include insulation formed from vacuum panels; 0025];
a supporting unit [thermoelectric unit 30 , Figure 2] provided to support the vacuum space [where thermal tape 44 may be provided so as to ensure close contact between the thermal tape 44 and the internal sides of the hole 28 and to minimize heat leakage, Figure 4; 0032]; and
a thermoelectric module [thermoelectric module 36, Figure 3] that exchanges heat with the second plate [via side heat sink 34, Figure 4]; and
a heat diffusion block [conductive block 38, Figure 4] that exchanges heat with the thermoelectric module [Figure 4; 0030], wherein the first plate or the second plate includes a first portion extending in a first direction [hole 28, Figure 2 and annotated Figure 4], and wherein the supporting unit includes a portion extending in the first direction [where conductive block 38 and thermoelectric module 36 are inside insulation 42, Figure 3 and annotated Figure 4], and wherein the supporting unit includes:
a first supporting unit [insulation 42, Figure 3] provided on a portion on which the thermoelectric module and the heat diffusion block are provided [where conductive block 38 and thermoelectric module 36 are inside insulation 42 in hole 28, Figure 3 and annotated Figure 4]; and
a second supporting unit [fan covers 60 and 62, Figure 2] provided on a portion facing the first plate and the second plate [where fan cover 62 covers hole 28 on the exterior of container 22, first plate, where fan cover 60 covers hole 28 on the interior of container 22, second plate, Figure 2 and annotated Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 16, Culp discloses the invention of claim 15 and further discloses where the supporting unit [thermoelectric unit 30, Figure 2] includes a thermoelectric module placing portion [where thermoelectric module 36 is surrounded by insulation 42, Figure 3], wherein the thermoelectric module placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the thermoelectric module is placed open with respect to the supporting unit without being covered by the supporting unit [where insulation 42 does not cover thermoelectric module the front and back of the thermoelectric module 36 in the first direction, annotated Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 17, Culp discloses the invention of claim 15 and further discloses where a heat diffusion block [conductive block 38, Figure 3] that exchanges heat with the thermoelectric module [where the thermally conductive block 38 is utilized to transfer heat between the thermoelectric module 36 and the cold side heat sink 40, Figure 4; 0030], wherein the supporting unit includes a heat diffusion block placing portion [where the thermally conductive block 38 attaches to one side of thermoelectric module 36 and is surrounded by insulation 42 as well, Figure 3 and Figure 4], wherein the heat diffusion block placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the heat diffusion block is placed open with respect to the supporting unit without being covered by the supporting unit [where insulation 42 does not cover thermoelectric module the front and back of the conductive block 38 in the first direction, annotated Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 18, Culp discloses the invention of claim 17 and further discloses where the supporting unit [thermoelectric unit 30 , Figure 2] includes a first supporting unit [insulation 42, Figure 3] and a second supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62] not to be integrated with from the first supporting unit [where fan covers 60 and 62 are not integral with the thermoelectric unit 30, as in the fan covers 60 and 62 and thermoelectric 30 are separable and not one piece; 0046].
Regarding Claim 19, Culp discloses the invention of claim 18 and further discloses where the second supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62, Figure 2] includes a first support plate [side fan cover 62, Figure 2] and a second support plate [side fan cover 60, Figure 2] disposed farther from the thermoelectric module than the first support plate [where thermoelectric module 36 is closer to the side fan cover 62, Figure 2 and Figure 3].
Regarding Claim 20, Culp discloses the invention of claim 18 and further discloses wherein the second supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62, Figure 2] includes a first support plate [cover 62, Figure 2] and a second support plate [cover 60, Figure 2] disposed farther from the first plate [annotated Figure 4] than the first support plate [where the first plate is on the exterior of side of insulated container 22, annotated Figure 4; where fan cover 62 is on the exterior of container 22 and fan cover 60 is on the interior of the container 22, Figure 2; 0045].
Regarding Claim 21, Culp discloses the invention of claim 1 and discloses where the thermoelectric module [thermoelectric module 36, Figure 3] has a structure in which semiconductors having different polarities [where a typical thermoelectric module is manufactured with a series of proton (P) and neutron (N) doped bismuth-telluride semiconductor materials sandwiched between them, where the N type material has an excess of electrons and the P type material has a deficit of electrons; 0007] are connected in series to each other [where one P and one N make a couple and the thermoelectric couples in a thermoelectric module are connected electrically in series and thermally in parallel; 0007].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US20060000221A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Culp discloses an insulated storage [container 20, Figure 1; 0024], comprising:
a first plate to have a first temperature [a first plate of side 26, annotated Figure 4, where insulation has sufficient thermal insulating qualities to reduce heat loss; 0025, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a temperature differential between the interior and exterior of container 22 ];
a second plate to have a second temperature that is different from the first temperature [a second plate of side 26, annotated Figure 4, where insulation has sufficient thermal insulating qualities to reduce heat loss; 0025, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a temperature differential between the interior and exterior of container 22];
a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate [where the insulated container 22 may include insulation formed from vacuum panels; 0025] to have a temperature between the first temperature and the second temperature [where the insulation preferably has sufficient thermal insulating qualities so that an insignificant amount of heat is lost though the sides 26 and top 24 of the insulated container 22; 0025, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a thermal gradient is maintained between the first and second wall];
a supporting unit [thermoelectric unit 30 , Figure 2] provided to support the vacuum space [where thermal tape 44 may be provided so as to ensure close contact between the thermal tape 44 and the internal sides of the hole 28 and to minimize heat leakage, Figure 4; 0032]; and
a thermoelectric module [thermoelectric module 36, Figure 3] that exchanges heat with the second plate [via side heat sink 34, Figure 4], wherein the first plate and the second plate includes a first portion [hole 28, Figure 2 and annotated Figure 4] extending in a first direction [a direction extending through side 26, annotated Figure 4], wherein the supporting unit includes a portion [where conductive block 38 and thermoelectric module 36 are inside insulation 42, Figure 3] extending in the first direction [where the opening in insulation 42 of thermoelectric unit 30 aligns with hole 28, Figure 2], and wherein the supporting unit includes a first supporting unit [insulation 42, Figure 3] and a second supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62] provided not to be integrated with the first supporting unit [where fan covers 60 and 62 are not integral with the thermoelectric unit 30, as in the fan covers 60 and 62 and thermoelectric 30 are separable and not one piece; 0046], wherein the first supporting unit includes a thermoelectric module placing portion [where the opening in thermoelectric unit 30 aligns with hole 28, Figure 2 and annotated Figure 4], and wherein the thermoelectric module placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the thermoelectric module is not covered by the first supporting unit and is placed open with respect to the first supporting unit [where thermoelectric module 36 is surrounded by insulation 42; 0032; where thermoelectric module 36 is not covered by insulation 42 in the direction of a first direction, Figure 3 and annotated Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 3, Culp discloses the invention of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62, Figure 2] includes a first support plate [side fan cover 62, Figure 2] and a second support plate [side fan cover 60, Figure 2] disposed farther from the thermoelectric module than the first support plate [where thermoelectric module 36 is closer to the side fan cover 62, Figure 2 and Figure 3].
Regarding Claim 5, Culp discloses the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the second supporting unit [fan covers 60 and 62, Figure 2] includes a first support plate [fan cover 62, Figure 2] and a second support plate [fan cover 60, Figure 2] disposed farther from the first plate than the first support plate [where first plate is on the exterior of side of insulated container 22, annotated Figure 1; where fan cover 62 is on the exterior of container 22 and fan cover 60 is on the interior of the container 22, Figure 2; 0045].
Regarding Claim 6, Culp discloses the invention of claim 3 and further discloses where the first support plate [cover 62, Figure 2] includes a thermoelectric module placing portion [where fan cover 62 attaches to the thermoelectric unit 30; 0046; and covers the hole 28 for thermoelectric unit 30, Figure 2], and wherein the thermoelectric module placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the thermoelectric module is placed open with respect to the first support plate without being covered by the first support plate [where the fan cover include venting openings, Figure 2].
Regarding Claim 7, Culp discloses the invention of claim 3 and further discloses a heat diffusion block [conductive block 38, Figure 4] that exchanges heat with the thermoelectric module [Figure 4; 0030], wherein the first support plate [fan cover 62, Figure 2] includes a heat diffusion block placing portion [where conductive block 38 is a part of thermoelectric unit 30, Figure 3; where fan cover 62 attaches to the thermoelectric unit 30; 0046; and covers the hole 28 for thermoelectric unit 30, Figure 2], wherein the heat diffusion block placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the heat diffusion block is placed open with respect to the first support plate without being covered by the first support plate [where the fan cover 62 include venting openings, Figure 2].
Regarding Claim 8, Culp discloses the invention of claim 3 and further teaches where the first support plate [fan cover 62, Figure 2] includes a first supporting unit placing portion [where fan cover 62 covers hole 28 and entire thermoelectric unit 30 including insulation 42, Figure 2], wherein the first supporting unit placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the first supporting unit is placed open with respect to the first supporting plate without being covered by the first supporting plate [where the fan cover 62 include venting openings, Figure 2].
Regarding Claim 9, Culp discloses the invention of claim 3 and further teaches where the second support plate [fan cover 60, Figure 2] includes a thermoelectric module placing portion [where fan cover 60 covers hole 28 and thermoelectric unit 30 including thermoelectric module 36, Figure 2], wherein the thermoelectric module placing portion is provided so that at least a portion of the thermoelectric module is placed open with respect to the second support plate without being covered by the second support plate [where the fan cover 60 include venting openings, Figure 2; 0044].
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US20060000221A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Corini (US3823567A).
Regarding Claim 4, Culp, discloses wherein the second supporting unit [side fan covers 60 and 62, Figure 2] includes a first support plate [side fan cover 62, Figure 2] and a second support plate [side fan cover 60, Figure 2], and does not teach a bar.
However, Corini teaches a vacuum insulated container [col. 1, lines 5-10] including a bar [spacers 18, Figure 2; col. 2, lines 34-44] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., maintain spacing between walls when evacuated to for a vacuum barrier [Corini; col. 2, lines 34-44]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Culp to have a bar in view of the teachings of Corini where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., maintain spacing between walls when evacuated to for a vacuum barrier [Corini; col. 2, lines 34-44]
Regarding Claim 22, Culp discloses a storehouse [container 20, Figure 1] comprising:
a main body [insulated container 22, Figure 1] having a space in which articles are stored [formed by sides 26, top 24 and a bottom (not shown); 0024, Figure 1] and at least one external opening [at top 24, Figure 1];
a door provided for a user to open and close the at least one external opening of the main body [where top 24 serves as a lid; 0025, Figure 1]; and
wherein the main body and the door are provided as or with the insulated 12 storage according to claim 1 [refer to the rejection of claim 1 above].
Culp does not teach the storehouse is for a vehicle, where a fitting part is provided for positioning the main body when the main body is mounted in the vehicle.
However, Corini teaches a storehouse [a vacuum insulated container 10, Figure 1, col. 1, lines 5-10] for a vehicle [where in transit, the D.C. current can be supplied from the generator of the vehicle within which the container is disposed; col. 4, lines 21-29], where a fitting part is provided for positioning the main body when the main body is mounted in the vehicle [where the container is positioned on legs as seen with DC and AC connectors in Figure 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintain the temperature of products, both while they are being transported, say for example, in a train, and while they are being stored [Corini; col. 1, lines 10-14].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Culp have to have where the storehouse is for a vehicle, where a fitting part is provided for positioning the main body when the main body is mounted in the vehicle in view of the teachings of Corini where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintain the temperature of products, both while they are being transported, say for example, in a train, and while they are being stored [Corini; col. 1, lines 10-14].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/22/2026 with respect to claim 1 on pages 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/22/2026 with respect to claim 10 on page 18 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/22/2026 with respect to claim 15 on page 18 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 3-9 and 16-20 except for their dependence upon claim 1 and 15. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nelson (US5505046A) discloses a thermoelectric refrigerator with enhanced insulation.
Taniguchi (JP2003202183A) discloses a cooler/warming cabinet that uses a thermoelectric module.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763