DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 3-15, and 17-20 and the cancellation of claims 2, 16, 21, and 22 filed September 11, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 3 and 4, the phrase “wherein the elongated opening surrounds the protrusion slidably received therein” should be removed since this phrase does not further limit amended claim 15. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 19, it is unclear how the limitation “wherein the elongated opening surrounds the protrusion slidably received therein” further limits claim 15, since claim 15 now recites that the elongated opening completely surrounds on all sides of the protrusion and the limitation of claim 19 is broader than the language of claim 15. For examination purposes, claim 19 has been examined without the limitation regarding the elongated opening. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 20, this claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it depends from claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241).
In regards to claim 1, Huang discloses a door handle assembly for a vehicle door, the door handle assembly comprising: a housing 11; and a door 21 moveably secured to the housing for movement between a closed position (Figure 10) and an open position (Figure 9), the door providing access to an interior cavity (cavity at the indicator line for reference character 11 in Figure 9) of the housing when the door is in the open position, wherein the door moves inwardly and upwardly into the housing in order to transition from the closed position to the open position (the door as a whole moves inwardly and at least a portion of the door at the indicator line for reference character 21 moves inwardly and upwardly from the position in the closed position to the position in the open position in the direction indicated in annotated Figure 9 below), the interior cavity being inaccessible and covered by the door when the door is in the closed position (Figure 10), and the door is operatively coupled to a door lever 33, the door lever being pivotally secured to a portion of the housing (Figure 8) and has a protrusion (see Figure 9 below) slidably received within an elongated opening (see Figure 9 below) defined by an uninterrupted wall (uninterrupted wall shown in Figure 9 below). Huang fails to disclose that the elongated opening completely surrounds all sides of the protrusion slidably received within the elongated opening. Lesueur et al. teaches the use of a protrusion 46 and enclosed elongated opening 44 connection between a door 14 and a movable component 40 of a door handle assembly, with the elongated opening defined by an uninterrupted wall that completely surrounds on all sides of the protrusion slidably received within the elongated opening (the protrusion is connected to a component 48, such that the protrusion extends into the elongated opening and is completely surrounded on all sides of the protrusion within the elongated opening, Figures 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a wall on the elongated opening of Huang so as to create an enclosed elongated opening or slot completely surrounding on all sides of the protrusion and in which the protrusion is slidably received so as to aid in guiding the engagement of the protrusion with the elongated opening of Huang.
In regards to claim 4, Huang discloses that the door has a pair of protrusions (see Figure 7 below) that are slidably received in elongated slots (see Figure 7 below, the pair of protrusions slide or “move or pass smoothly or easily,” as defined by Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, within the elongated slots when the door is moved between the closed and open positions of Figures 9 and 10) of the housing as the door moves from the closed position to the open position and vice versa.
In regards to claim 9, Huang discloses that the housing is angled inwardly with respect to an outer shell of the vehicle door (Figure 5).
In regards to claim 15, Huang discloses a method for operating a door handle assembly of a vehicle door, the method comprising: moveably mounting a door 21 to a housing 11 of the door handle assembly, the door capable of movement between a closed position (Figure 10) and an open position (Figure 9), the door providing access to an interior cavity (cavity at the indicator line for reference character 11 in Figure 9) of the housing when the door is in the open position, wherein the door moves inwardly and upwardly into the housing in order to transition from the closed position to the open position (the door as a whole moves inwardly and at least a portion of the door at the indicator line for reference character 21 moves inwardly and upwardly from the position in the closed position to the position in the open position in the direction indicated in annotated Figure 9 on Page 4 of the current Office Action), the interior cavity being inaccessible and covered by the door when the door is in the closed position (Figure 10), and the door is operatively coupled to a door lever 33, the door lever being pivotally secured to a portion of the housing (Figure 8) and has a protrusion (see Figure 9 on Page 4 of the current Office Action) slidably received within an elongated opening (see Figure 9 on Page 4 of the current Office Action) of the door, wherein the elongated opening is defined by an uninterrupted wall (uninterrupted wall shown in Figure 9 on Page 4 of the current Office Action). Huang fails to disclose that the elongated opening completely surrounds all sides of the protrusion slidably received within the elongated opening. Lesueur et al. teaches the use of a protrusion 46 and enclosed elongated opening 44 connection between a door 14 and a movable component 40 of a door handle assembly, with the elongated opening defined by an uninterrupted wall that completely surrounds on all sides of the protrusion slidably received within the elongated opening (the protrusion is connected to a component 48, such that the protrusion extends into the elongated opening and is completely surrounded on all sides of the protrusion within the elongated opening, Figures 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a wall on the elongated opening of Huang so as to create an enclosed elongated opening or slot completely surrounding on all sides of the protrusion and in which the protrusion is slidably received so as to aid in guiding the engagement of the protrusion with the elongated opening of Huang.
In regards to claim 18, Huang discloses that the door has a pair of protrusions (see Figure 7 on Page 5 of the current Office Action) that are slidably received in elongated slots (see Figure 7 on Page 5 of the current Office Action, the pair of protrusions slide or “move or pass smoothly or easily,” as defined by Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, within the elongated slots when the door is moved between the closed and open positions of Figures 9 and 10) of the housing as the door moves from the closed position to the open position and vice versa.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241) as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Despreaux (WO 2019/002469 A1). Huang discloses that the door lever is driven to rotate by a motor 31, with a shaft of the motor directly engaging with the door lever (Figure 8), but fails to disclose that the door lever has a plurality of teeth that meshingly engage a gear train that is operably coupled to a gear that is driven by the motor. Despreaux teaches a rotatable lever 200 having a plurality of teeth 33 that meshingly engage a gear train that is operably coupled to a gear that is driven by a motor 7 (the gear being one of the gears of the reduction mechanism 9 and the gear train being the remaining gears of the reduction mechanism, Page, 10, lines 16-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize a gear, gear train, and teeth connection between the motor and the door lever to rotate the door lever, with reasonable expectation of success, since it is known in the art that a direct connection between a motor and a component to be rotated, as disclosed by Huang, and a gear connection between a motor and a component to be rotated, as taught by Despreaux are equivalents in the mechanical connection art between a motor and a component to yield the predictable result of rotating a rotatable component or the door lever.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241) as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Blount et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0078360).
In regards to claim 5, Huang discloses that the door handle assembly cooperates with a latch (Paragraph 51 of the Computer Generated Translation), but fails to disclose a sensor located within the interior cavity, the sensor being operably coupled to the latch such that upon activation of the sensor, the latch is opened. Blount et al. teaches a door handle assembly having a sensor 18 located within an interior cavity 11 of a housing (Figure 4a), with the sensor being operably coupled to a latch such that upon activation of the sensor, the latch is opened (Paragraph 62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a sensor within the interior cavity, with reasonable expectation of success, so as to allow a user to control the latch from the interior cavity.
In regards to claim 6, Huang discloses that the latch is an electronic latch associated with the vehicle door (Paragraph 51 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 7, Blount et al. teaches that the sensor is a capacitive sensor (Paragraph 62).
In regards to claim 12, Huang discloses that door handle assembly cooperates with a latch (Paragraph 51 of the Computer Generated Translation), but fails to disclose a mechanical release located in the interior cavity, the mechanical release is operatively coupled to the latch via linkage such that once the mechanical release is actuated, the latch is opened. Blount et al. teaches a door handle assembly having a mechanical release 15 located in an interior cavity 11 of a housing (Figure 4a), with the mechanical release being operatively coupled to a latch 23 via linkage 16 such that once the mechanical release is actuated, the latch is opened (Paragraphs 61 and 62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a mechanical release in the interior cavity, with reasonable expectation of success, so as to allow a user to mechanically open the latch when the electrical opening of the latch has faulted.
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241) as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Peterson et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0332619).
In regards to claim 8, Huang discloses a motor 31 for moving the door between the closed position and the open position, with the motor being activated by a shutter activation and unlock signal of the door handle assembly that is actuated (the unlock signal, Paragraph 51 of the Computer Generated Translation). Huang fails to disclose that the shutter activation and unlock signal is from a shutter activation and unlock switch that is actuated through contact of a portion of the door when the door is pivoted inwardly into the housing. Peterson et al. teaches a door handle assembly having a door 14 that is pivoted inwardly into a housing (Figure 5) by a motor 20, with the motor being activated by a shutter activation and unlock switch that is actuated through contact of a portion of the door when the door is pivoted inwardly into the housing (the shutter activation and unlock switch being the switch or sensor of the passive entry system that detects the touch at the door or door handle portion 14 which causes at least some inward pivoting of the door when the door is touched, Paragraphs 44 and 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to activate the motor in response to a shutter activation and unlock switch, with reasonable expectation of success, since various types of switches and sensors for actuating electrical components, such as motors, are known in the art.
In regards to claims 10 and 11, Huang fails to disclose a lock switch which, when actuated, locks the vehicle door, with the lock switch being a capacitive sensor or any other switch technology. Peterson et al. teaches the use of a lock switch in a door handle assembly to lock a vehicle door, with the lock switch being a capacitive sensor or any other switch technology (Paragraphs 55 and 57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a lock switch, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow a user to control the locking of the latch of the vehicle door at the door handle assembly, as is known in the art.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241) as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Gröver (US Pub. No. 2022/0372798).
In regards to claim 13, Huang fails to disclose that the door handle assembly is operably coupled to sensors of a vehicle which are used for determining whether a crash is about to occur. Gröver teaches a door handle assembly coupled to sensors or detecting means of a vehicle which are used for determining whether a crash is about to occur (Paragraphs 61 and 79). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include sensors to determine whether a crash is about to occur, with reasonable expectation of success, such that the door handle assembly can be placed or remain in a state in which the door handle assembly and its components are protected (Paragraph 79 of Gröver).
In regards to claim 14, Gröver teaches that the sensors provide a signal to a microcontroller 300 of the door handle assembly.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241) as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Despreaux (WO 2019/002469 A1). Huang discloses that the door lever is driven to rotate by a motor 31, with a shaft of the motor directly engaging with the door lever (Figure 8), but fails to disclose that the door lever has a plurality of teeth that meshingly engage a gear train that is operably coupled to a gear that is driven by the motor. Despreaux teaches a rotatable lever 200 having a plurality of teeth 33 that meshingly engage a gear train that is operably coupled to a gear that is driven by a motor 7 (the gear being one of the gears of the reduction mechanism 9 and the gear train being the remaining gears of the reduction mechanism, Page, 10, lines 16-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize a gear, gear train, and teeth connection between the motor and the door lever to rotate the door lever, with reasonable expectation of success, since it is known in the art that a direct connection between a motor and a component to be rotated, as disclosed by Huang, and a gear connection between a motor and a component to be rotated, as taught by Despreaux are equivalents in the mechanical connection art between a motor and a component to yield the predictable result of rotating a rotatable component or the door lever.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 210370269 U) in view of Lesueur et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0170241) as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Blount et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0078360).
In regards to claim 19, Huang discloses that the door handle assembly cooperates with a latch (Paragraph 51 of the Computer Generated Translation), but fails to disclose a sensor located within the interior cavity, the sensor being operably coupled to the latch such that upon activation of the sensor, the latch is opened. Blount et al. teaches a door handle assembly having a sensor 18 located within an interior cavity 11 of a housing (Figure 4a), with the sensor being operably coupled to a latch such that upon activation of the sensor, the latch is opened (Paragraph 62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a sensor within the interior cavity, with reasonable expectation of success, so as to allow a user to control the latch from the interior cavity.
In regards to claim 20, Huang discloses that the latch is an electronic latch associated with the vehicle door (Paragraph 51 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, applicant is referred to the new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of at least amended independent claims 1 and 15 set forth in the current Office Action.
In light of applicant’s amendments to claim 15, a new claim objection and new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 19 and 20 are set forth in the current Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
December 5, 2025