DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/108,265 filed on 09/16/2022 is presented for examination. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 02/10/2023, 08/30/2023 and 05/14/2024 are acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR on 12/22/2017. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2017-0178483 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to:
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,616,368 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a DC-DC converter comprising: a bridge circuit unit electrically connected to a DC link capacitor and comprising at least one full bridge circuit … with swit6ching and a sensing unit for sensing a voltage between the bridge circuit unit and the DC link capacitor. The patented application anticipates the instant application claimed.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim 1 of instant application: 18/108,265
Claim 1 of paten’d application US 11,616,368
A DC-DC converter comprising: a bridge circuit unit electrically connected to a DC link capacitor and comprising at least one full bridge circuit comprising switching elements; a sensing unit for sensing a voltage between the bridge circuit unit and the DC link capacitor; and a control unit for controlling the bridge circuit unit according to the sensed voltage, wherein a power of one end of a battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage, wherein the DC-DC converter further comprises an inductor and a capacitor electrically connected to the bridge circuit unit, the inductor is connected to one end of a battery, the capacitor is connected to one end of the battery and a node on the other end of the battery, and the node is connected to and arranged between the inductor and the battery.
2. …. a first power is supplied to the battery when the sensed voltage is greater than or equal to a first voltage.
A DC-DC converter comprising: a bridge circuit electrically connected to a DC link capacitor; an inductor and a capacitor electrically connected to the bridge circuit, wherein the inductor is connected to a first end of a battery, and the capacitor is connected to the first end and a second end of the battery; a sensor configured to sense a voltage between the bridge circuit and the DC link capacitor; and a controller configured to control switching operations of the bridge circuit so that a first power output by the DC-DC converter and supplied to the first end of the battery has a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage, and when the sensed voltage is greater than or equal to a first voltage, the first power corresponds to a product of a preset charging slope constant and a first delta voltage that is a difference between the sensed voltage and the first voltage.
Claim 2 is also rejected same by patented claim 1 as indicated in the above table comparison.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,616,368 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a DC-DC converter comprising: a first bridge circuit; a second bridge circuit; a transformer connected between the first bridge circuit and the second bridge circuit; an LC circuit connected to the second bridge circuit, wherein the LC circuit is connected to a battery; a sensor configured to sense a voltage of a first end of the first bridge circuit. The patented application anticipates the instant application claimed.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim 11 of instant application: 18/108,265
Claim 8 of paten’d application US11,616,368
A DC-DC converter comprising: a first bridge circuit unit; a second bridge circuit unit a transformer connected between the first bridge circuit unit and the second bridge circuit unit; an LC circuit connected to the second bridge circuit, wherein the LC circuit is connected to a battery; a sensing unit for sensing a voltage a first end of the first bridge circuit unit; and a control unit for controlling the second bridge circuit unit according to the sensed voltage, wherein a power of one end of a battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage, wherein the LC circuit includes an inductor and a capacitor electrically connected to the second bridge circuit unit, the inductor is connected to one end of a battery, the capacitor is connected to one end of the battery and a node on the other end of the battery, and the node is connected to and arranged between the inductor and the battery.
12. … the control unit configured to control switching operations of the second bridge circuit so that a charging power corresponding to a first power supplied to the battery has a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage.
A DC-DC converter comprising: a first bridge circuit; a second bridge circuit; a transformer connected between the first bridge circuit and the second bridge circuit; an LC circuit connected to the second bridge circuit, wherein the LC circuit is connected to a battery; a sensor configured to sense a voltage of a first end of the first bridge circuit; and a controller configured to: control switching operations of the second bridge circuit so that a charging power corresponding to a first power supplied to the battery has a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage, and when the sensed voltage is greater than or equal to a first voltage, the first power corresponds to a product of a preset charging slope constant and a first delta voltage that is a difference between the sensed voltage and the first voltage.
Claim 12 is also rejected the same by patented claim 8 as indicated in the above table comparison.
Method Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting over method claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,616,368 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a control method of charging/discharging of a battery of a DC-DC converter including a DC link capacitor, the battery, and a bridge circuit unit disposed between the DC link capacitor and the battery, wherein the bridge circuit unit comprises at least one full bridge circuit with switching elements.
Claim 16 of instant application: 18/108,265
Claim 12 of paten’d application US 11,616,368
A control method of charging/discharging of a battery of a DC-DC converter including a DC link capacitor, the battery, and a bridge circuit unit disposed between the DC link capacitor and the battery, wherein the bridge circuit unit comprises at least one full bridge circuit with switching elements; wherein the DC-DC converter further comprises an inductor and a capacitor electrically connected to the bridge circuit unit, wherein the inductor is connected to one end of a battery, wherein the capacitor is connected to one end of the battery and a node on the other end of the battery, and wherein the node is connected to and arranged between the inductor and the battery, wherein the control method of the DC-DC converter comprises: sensing a voltage between the DC link capacitor and the bridge circuit; and controlling the bridge circuit unit based on the sensed voltage, wherein charge/discharge power of the battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage.
A method of controlling a DC-DC converter for a charging/discharging of a battery, the DC-DC converter including a DC link capacitor and a bridge circuit disposed between the DC link capacitor and the battery, the method comprising sensing, via a sensor of the DC-DC converter, a voltage between the DC link capacitor and the bridge circuit; controlling, via a controller of the DC-DC converter, switching operations of the bridge circuit so that a power corresponding to a first power is supplied to the battery and the battery is charged with the first power when the sensed voltage is greater than or equal to a first voltage; and discharging the battery with a second power when the sensed voltage is less than or equal to a second voltage, wherein the first power corresponds to a product of a preset charging slope constant and a first delta voltage that is a difference between the sensed voltage and the first voltage, and wherein the second power corresponds to a product of a preset discharging slope constant and a second delta voltage that is a difference between the sensed voltage and the second voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyasu et al. (US 2013/0093394) in view of Shim (US 2016/0268818).
With respect to claim 1, Iyasu discloses a DC-DC converter (Fig. 1, 200: dc-dc converter,40) comprising: a bridge circuit unit electrically connected to a DC link capacitor (Fig. 1, 250/210 and 220; D5-D8 connected to C0; Para. 0053) and comprising at least one full bridge circuit (Fig. 1, 250 and 210) comprising switching elements (Para. # 0038); a sensing unit for sensing a voltage between the bridge circuit unit and the DC link capacitor (Fig. 1, 302/307; Para. # 0044); and a control unit for controlling the bridge circuit unit according to the sensed voltage(Fig. 1, 300; Para. # 0045), wherein the DC-DC converter further comprises an inductor and a capacitor (Fig. 1, L1 and C1) electrically connected to the bridge circuit unit, the inductor is connected to one end of a battery (Fig. 1, 10), the capacitor is connected to one end of the battery and a node on the other end of the battery and the node is connected to and arranged between the inductor and the battery (Fig. 1, battery 10 connected to cap C1 through SW or relay 60).
Iyasu, does not expressly disclose, wherein a power of one end of a battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage.
Shim, on the other hand, discloses a wherein a power of one end of a battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage (Para. # 0061, 0065-0068: control unit 111 may be determined according to the droop curve; since the charging/discharging of the batteries is controlled according to one system droop curve, the frequency or the SOC level of each battery may be maintained equally.).
Iyasu and Shim and are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely charging device for vehicle and electricity providing system with battery energy system.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have included a controller configured to control a power output supplied to the first end of the battery that has a droop curved-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage as taught by Iyasu in view of Shim to improve stability of the battery charging/discharging cycle system (Para. # 0067-0068).
With respect to claim 2, the combined references of Iyasu and Shim disclose the DC-DC converter as described above, further Iyasu discloses the control unit controls the bridge circuit unit so that a first power is supplied to the battery when the sensed voltage is greater than or equal to a first voltage (Para. # 0057, 0065-0069: converter 250 is controlled so as to bring the direct-current voltage vdc into coincidence with a target voltage vdc*. The target voltage vdc* during external charging is set so as to be at least higher than the peak value of the power supply voltage vac (for example, about 300 to 400 V)) .
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyasu et al. (US 2013/0093394) in view of Inoue (US 2015/0138843).
With respect to claim 11, Iyasu discloses a DC-DC converter (Fig. 1, 200: dc-dc converter,40) comprising: a bridge circuit unit electrically connected to a DC link capacitor (Fig. 1, 250/210 and 220; D5-D8 connected to C0; Para. 0053) and comprising at least one full bridge circuit (Fig. 1, 250 and 210) comprising switching elements (Para. # 0038); a sensing unit for sensing a voltage between the bridge circuit unit and the DC link capacitor (Fig. 1, 302/307; Para. # 0044); and a control unit for controlling the bridge circuit unit according to the sensed voltage(Fig. 1, 300; Para. # 0045), wherein the DC-DC converter further comprises an inductor and a capacitor (Fig. 1, L1 and C1) electrically connected to the bridge circuit unit, the inductor is connected to one end of a battery (Fig. 1, 10), the capacitor is connected to one end of the battery and a node on the other end of the battery and the node is connected to and arranged between the inductor and the battery (Fig. 1, battery 10 connected to cap C1 through SW or relay 60).
Iyasu, does not expressly disclose, a second full bridge circuit including multiple switching elements, wherein the DC-DC converter further includes a transformer including first and second bridge circuits.
Inoue, on the other hand, discloses a second full bridge circuit (Fig. 2, 42) including multiple switching elements, wherein the DC-DC converter further includes a transformer including first and second bridge circuits (Para. # 162: operations of the first power converter 41 and the second power converter 42, thus providing an effect that the control method can be switched seamlessly and smoothly).
Iyasu and Inoue and are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely charging device for vehicle and electric-power conversion device.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit of Iyasu to include a transformer including first and second bridge circuits as taught by Inoue to provide power conversion device for exchanging power energy between two DC power sources bidirectionally through a transformer so as to improve efficiency and isolation as well as stability to the output power.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyasu et al. (US 2013/0093394) in view of Inoue (US 2015/0138843) further in view of Shim.
With respect to claim 12, the combined references of Iyasu and Inoue disclose the DC-DC converter as disclosed above, but does not expressly disclose a charging power corresponding to a first power supplied to the battery has a drop curve-shaped power value according to the second voltage.
Shim, on the other hand, discloses a wherein a power of one end of a battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage (Para. # 0061, 0065-0068: control unit 111 may be determined according to the droop curve; since the charging/discharging of the batteries is controlled according to one system droop curve, the frequency or the SOC level of each battery may be maintained equally.).
Iyasu, Inoue and Shim and are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely charging device for vehicle, electricity providing system and electric power conversion device.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have included a controller configured to control a power output supplied to the first end of the battery that has a droop curved-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage as taught by Iyasu and Inoue in view of Shim to improve stability of the battery charging/discharging cycle system (Para. # 0067-0068).
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyasu et al. (US 2013/0093394) in view of Shim (US 2016/0268818).
With respect to claim 16, control method of charging/discharging of a battery of a DC-DC converter (Fig. 1, 200) including a DC link capacitor (220), the battery (10), and a bridge circuit unit disposed between the DC link capacitor and the battery (Fig. 1, 250 and 210) , wherein the bridge circuit unit comprises at least one full bridge circuit with switching elements (Fig. 1, 250 with switching circuitries Q1-Q4 of 200); wherein the DC-DC converter further comprises an inductor (L1 ) and a capacitor electrically connected to the bridge circuit unit (C1 connected to 250), wherein the inductor is connected to one end of a battery (10), wherein the capacitor is connected to one end of the battery and a node on the other end of the battery (Fig. 1, L1 connected to node on battery 10), and wherein the node is connected to and arranged between the inductor and the battery (Fig. 1, C1 to the other node of battery 10),
wherein the control method of the DC-DC converter comprises: sensing a voltage between the DC link capacitor and the bridge circuit (Fig. 1, 302; para. # 0084: voltage
vdc detected by the voltage sensor 307 from the target voltage vdc of the direct-current voltage vdc); and controlling the bridge circuit unit based on the sensed voltage (Fig. 1, control 300, 250 and 302).
Shim, on the other hand, discloses a wherein a power of one end of a battery is controlled to a droop curve-shaped power value according to the sensed voltage (Para. # 0061, 0065-0068: control unit 111 may be determined according to the droop curve; since the charging/discharging of the batteries is controlled according to one system droop curve, the frequency or the SOC level of each battery may be maintained equally.).
Iyasu and Shim and are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely wearable device and portable electronic device.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added an external or removable power sources that indicates in light forms for multiple responses from plurality of LEDs to identifies different output or signals so as to maintain the usefulness of the light signals indicating different activities of the circuitries such as keeping rechargeable battery from being depleted or keep the capacity of the internal power source to the optimum.
With respect to claim 20, the combined references of Iyasu and Shim disclose the control method of DC-DC converter as described above, further Iyasu discloses wherein the charging or discharging of the battery is stopped when the sensed voltage is a voltage between the first voltage and the second voltage (Para. # 117-118).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, including overcoming the non-statutory double patenting rejection sated above. Claims 4, 6-10, 14-15 and 18-19 are depend on the above objected claims 3, 5, 13 and 17 respectively.
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859