Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/9/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues Liang fails to teach the amended claim features: “wherein the first network score applies to the first geographic region and does not apply to the second geographic region, the second geographic region having a second network score”.
However, Liang discloses these features. For example, Liang discloses using “geo-fence” and “geo-block” regions where each of a first and second region has a respective score (Liang, abstract, see also ¶ 39, 41, 44, 58, 67, 72-74, and 104. A
Applicant argues Liang fails to teach: “generating a first network score for a first geographic region based on a first key performance indicator (KPI) data of the first geographic region and second KPI data of a second geographic region”. However, Liang discloses these features in at least the abstract and ¶ 39, 41, 44, 58, 67, 72-74, and 104 which describe scoring for a region based on KPIs and a scoring of second region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4-7, 9-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170127233 to Liang in view of US 20140355566 to Walley.
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating a network score for a first geographic region based on a first key performance indicator (KPI) data of the first geographic region and second KPI data of a second geographic region (abstract, ¶ 39, 41, 44, 58, 67, 72-74 104, score for region based on KPIs and score of second region), wherein the first network score applies to the first geographic region and does not apply to the second geographic region, the second geographic region having a second network score (abstract, scored regions each with respective scoring; see also ¶ 39, 41, 44, 58, 67, 72-74 104);
causing a user interface to be displayed on a second UE that depicts a ranking of the first geographic region with respect to the second geographic region based on the first network score and the second network score (fig. 15, ¶ 93-95, representation of regions including scored geo-blocks; ¶ 72-4 and fig. 9).
Liang fails to teach:
instructing a network equipment of a core network that provides communication services to a user equipment (UE) via an access network to adjust an operational parameter based at least in part on the first network score
However, Walley teaches:
instructing a network equipment of a core network that provides communication services to a user equipment (UE) via an access network to adjust an operational parameter based at least in part on a first network score (adjusting service network based on scoring- claims 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Walley. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Walley would have been advantageous in terms of optimizing access to communication networks (Walley, ¶ 17).
Regarding claim 4, 14,
Liang teaches:
wherein the user interface includes a shape corresponding to the first geographic region, wherein selection of the shape causes the user interface to display at least a portion of the first KPI data (¶ 94, color coded blocks according to scoring/KPI).
Regarding claim 5, 15, 19,
Liang teaches:
wherein the user interface includes a shape corresponding to the first geographic region that depicts the first network score and an indication of a trend in the first network score (¶ 93-94, color code blocks representation of kpi./threshold/scoring trends).
Regarding claim 6, 16,
Liang teaches:
wherein the first KPI data comprises a first value of the first KPI for the first geographic region, and wherein the user interface further depicts a ranking of the first value in a table format (¶ 71, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 7, 17, 20,
Liang fails to teach: wherein the user interface comprises a vertical bar graph and a horizontal bar graph, wherein the vertical bar graph depicts an indication of the ranking of the first geographic region with respect to the second geographic region, and wherein the horizontal bar graph depicts an indication of a trend of the first network score over a period of time.
However, Liang discloses the regions, rankings, and logging the historical data over time (¶ 75, 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to include: “wherein the user interface comprises a vertical bar graph and a horizontal bar graph, wherein the vertical bar graph depicts an indication of the ranking of the first geographic region with respect to the second geographic region, and wherein the horizontal bar graph depicts an indication of a trend of the network score over a period of time” in order to visualize the historical trends and since bar graphs are well-known expedients in the art for visualizing data.
Regarding claim 9,
Liang fails to teach but Walley teaches:
wherein the network equipment comprises one of a component of a public switched telephone network, a component of an Internet protocol multimedia subsystem, or a call routing system (fig. 1, claims 1-3). Motivation to include Walley is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 10,
Liang teaches:
wherein the first KPI data comprises at least one of voice accessibility data, voice drop call rate data, session initiation protocol (SIP) drop call rate data, combined drop call rate data, UE downlink throughput data, UE uplink throughput data, leakage data, network interference data, signal strength data, voice traffic data, or data traffic data (¶ 39, 41, 44, 58, 67, 74 104).
Claim 11, 18 are addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 2-3, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang and Walley in view of US 20130196685 to Griff.
Regarding claim 2, 12,
Liang fails to teach but Griff teaches:
applying the first network score as an input to a machine learning model, wherein execution of the machine learning model results in an identification of the network equipment and the adjustment to the operational parameter. (¶ 102, application of statistical modeling, see fig. 6C, based on score KPI is collected and stored from network devices, network equipment adjusted in order to effect more accurate scoring — see ¶ 99, 144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Griff. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Griff would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating performance forecasts (Griff, ¶ 7, abstract).
Regarding claim 3, 13,
Liang fails to teach but Griff teaches:
wherein the machine learning model is trained based on training data that comprises at least one of information identifying a past network score of a third geographic region, a past KPI value of the third geographic region, an identification of a third network equipment that was reconfigured in the third geographic region, a second operational parameter that was adjusted, an indication of a change in a second network score of the third geographic region in response to adjustment of the second operational parameter, network score trend data, or KPI trend data (¶ 287-292, KPI trend data over time; regions). Motivation to include Griff is the same as presented above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang and Walley in view of US 20160105325 to Fletcher.
Regarding claim 8,
Liang fails to teach but Fletcher teaches:
wherein the user interface comprises a horizontal graph that depicts an indication of a portion of the first KPI data that one of positively or negatively contributed to the first network score (abstract, ¶ 91, fig. 62B, 65, 72A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Fletcher. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Fletcher would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating the analysis of performance information (Fletcher, abstract, ¶ 213).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445