Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8,397,400 to Choo.
In Reference to Claim 1
Choo discloses a method of producing treated wood, comprising the steps of: providing one or more wood-based pieces (Col. 2, Line 39-40); inserting the one or more wood-based pieces into a kiln (Fig. 3, 30, a kiln); heating the one or more wood-based pieces to a set temperature under prescribed moisture conditions; maintaining the one or more wood-based pieces at the set temperature for a prescribed period of time (Abstract: provide and maintain a stable and sustained temperature environment within the chamber, humidification means to provide and maintain a predetermined equilibrium moisture content within the chamber); and cooling the one or more wood-based pieces to a set cooling temperature. (Col. 6, Line 28-30: the lumber stack are allowed to cool in an ambient temperature air stream)
In Reference to Claims 4-8
Cho discloses the set temperature for drying is not less than 120 degree and up to 200 degree.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo in view of US Patent 8,468,715 to Thomas.
In Reference to Claims 2, 3, 11 and 12
Choo discloses a method of drying lumber.
Choo does not teach detail of the lumber.
Thomas teaches a method for drying wood product, the product is an engineered wood (Abstract) such as strand board (Col. 1, Line 16-17)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed, to incorporate teachings from Thomas into the design of Choo. Doing so, would result in the engineered wood such as strand board being used in the drying process. The Office considers “engineered wood" as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since the Choo discloses the drying process for wood product, it must provide the drying function which is able to dry any kind of wood product. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo in view of US Patent 3,902,253 to Sabuzawa.
In Reference to Claims 9 and 10
Choo discloses the drying process for the lumber.
Choo does not teach the time of the drying process.
Sabuzawa teaches the lumber drying apparatus having a plurality of drying compartments. The retention time for each drying compartment was set upto 4 hours.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed, to incorporate teachings from Sabuzawa into the design of Choo. Doing so, would result in the drying time in the drying compartment is set based on the material properties. Both inventions of Choo and Sabuzawa are in the same field of endeavor, Sabuzawa teaches that the retention time of drying process determined by the set temperature and the moisture content. The Office considers that the set time is merely an operation parameter.
Claims 1 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2010/0180987 to Park in view of Choo.
Park discloses a process to dry wood in the kiln to obtain a moisture content (Paragraph 27). The dry wood can be used for cabinet, floor, furniture, decorative objects (Paragraph 2)
Park does not teach the detail step of drying wood.
Choo teaches the drying step as taught in Claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed, to incorporate teachings from Choo into the design of Park. Doing so, would result in the drying wood process of Choo being used to drying the wood used in the process of Park, since Choo provide an effective method of obtaining high quality dry lumber (Col. 2, Line 25-30).
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 10/19/25