Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goto discloses an article storage system as claimed in claim 1, comprising: a stage (11a; see Fig. 1) provided with a seating surface on which a carrier containing articles (2) is seated (see Para. 0066); a transport module (40; see Fig. 1) configured to: move up and down through a passage hole formed at the seating surface of the stage (see Para. 0121), and transport the carrier by supporting a lower surface of the carrier; and a controller (see Para. 0097) configured to control the transport module (40), and wherein the controller (see Para. 0097) controls the transport module (40) to rise to a height of the seating surface of the stage and stand by before the carrier is seated on the seating surface of the stage (see Fig. 1), so that when the carrier is seated, the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module are engaged with each other to attach the carrier to the transport module (see Para. 0082).
Regarding claim 5, Goto discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the transport module comprises: a hand (49; see Fig. 3) configured to support the lower surface of the carrier and have the positioning pins on the upper surface thereof corresponding to the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier (see Para. 0082); and a drive unit (42; see Fig. 3) configured to move the hand (see Para. 0083).
Regarding claim 6, Goto in view of Inui discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below) in which the transport module (40) is accommodated; and a rail unit (41) configured to horizontally move the housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 8, Goto discloses an article storage system comprising, a carrier transport unit (50) configured to transport a carrier in which an article is stored (see Para. 0070); and a storage unit (10) configured to have a plurality of shelves (11) for loading the carrier, wherein the carrier transport unit (50) comprises: a load port (LP) configured to include a stage provided with a seating surface on which the carrier is seated (see Para. 0089); a transport module (40) configured to move up and down through a passage hole formed at the seating surface of the stage and transport the carrier by supporting a lower surface of the carrier (see Para. 0121); and a controller (see Para. 0097) configured to control the transport module, wherein the transport module (40) includes positioning pins corresponding to positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier (see Para. 0082), wherein the positioning pins are provided at an upper surface of the transport module (see Para. 0082), wherein the controller (see Para. 0097) controls the transport module to rise to a height of the seating surface of the stage and stand by before the carrier is seated on the seating surface of the stage (see Fig. 3), so that when the carrier is seated, the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module are engaged with each other to attach the carrier to the transport module (see Para. 0082).
Regarding claim 13, Goto discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the transport module comprises: a hand (49; see Fig. 3) configured to support the lower surface of the carrier and have the positioning pins on the upper surface thereof corresponding to the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier (see Para. 0082); and a drive unit (42; see Fig. 3) configured to move the hand (see Para. 0083).
Regarding claim 14, Goto in view of Inui discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 8, further comprising: a housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below) in which the transport module (40) is accommodated; and a rail unit (41) configured to horizontally move the housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 15, Goto discloses a method for seating a carrier (2) in an article storage system, which is a method for properly seating the carrier on a stage provided with a seating surface on which the carrier containing an article is seated (see Para. 0082-0083), the method comprising: a first step of locating a transport module (40) for moving up and down through a passage hole formed at the seating surface of the stage (see Para. 0081-0083 and Fig. 3) and transporting the carrier by supporting a lower surface of the carrier at a same height as the seating surface (see Para. 0082 and Fig. 3); a second step of seating the carrier on the stage (see Para. 0082 and Fig. 3); and a third step of transporting the carrier by the transport module (see Para. 0083).
Regarding claim 16, Goto discloses a method as claimed in claim 15, wherein the second step comprises: engaging positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier with positioning pins provided at an upper surface of the transport module, respectively (see Para. 0082-0083).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Yoon (KR 20210010041 A).
Regarding claim 2, Goto discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 1.
Goto fails to disclose wherein the controller comprises: an alarm module configured to generate an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage.
However, Yoon teaches an object transport system wherein the controller comprises: an alarm module configured to generate an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage (see Page 4, Para. 11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the controller comprises: an alarm module configured to generate an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage on the article storage system of Goto as taught by Yoon in order to quickly process the article that has an abnormality and prevent other articles from being congested (see Page 4, Para. 10).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Yoon (KR 20210010041 A), further in view of Nakamura (US 20210028043 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Goto in view of Yoon, disclose the article storage device as claimed in claim 2.
Goto as modified by Yoon fails to disclose wherein the stage comprises: a first sensor configured to detect a presence of the carrier; and a second sensor configured to detect an alignment state of carriers.
However, Nakamura teaches an article storage system wherein the stage (52) comprises: a first sensor (522B and 522C) configured to detect a presence of the carrier (see Para. 0093); and a second sensor (527) configured to detect an alignment state of carriers (see Para. 0096).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the stage comprises: a first sensor configured to detect a presence of the carrier; and a second sensor configured to detect an alignment state of carriers on the article storage system of Goto as modified by Yoon, as taught by Nakamura in order to detect whether the container main body portion is placed on the elevating table (see Para. 0093).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon further teaches an object transport system wherein the alarm module generates an alarm when it is determined that a seating state of the carrier detected by the first sensor and the second sensor is abnormal (see Page 4, Para. 1).
See motivation statement in claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Kimoto (US 20020182037 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Goto discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 1.
Goto fails to disclose wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier.
However, Kimoto teaches a substrate processing apparatus wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier (see Para. 0023).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier on the article storage system of Goto as taught by Kimoto in order to permit manual or automatic operation (see Para. 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Goto discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 8.
Goto fails to disclose wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier.
However, Kimoto teaches a substrate processing apparatus wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier (see Para. 0023).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier on the article storage system of Goto as taught by Kimoto in order to permit manual or automatic operation (see Para. 0033).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Kimoto (US 20020182037 A1), further in view of Yoon (KR 20210010041 A).
Regarding claim 10, Goto in view of Kimoto discloses the article storage system as claimed in claim 9.
Goto as modified by Kimoto fails to disclose wherein the controller comprises: an alarm module configured to generate an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage.
However, Yoon teaches an object transport system wherein the controller comprises: an alarm module configured to generate an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage (see Page 4, Para. 11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the controller comprises: an alarm module configured to generate an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage on the article storage system of Goto as modified by Kimoto, as taught by Yoon in order to quickly process the article that has an abnormality and prevent other articles from being congested (see Page 4, Para. 10).
Claim(s) 11 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Kimoto (US 20020182037 A1), further in view of Yoon (KR 20210010041 A), further in view of Nakamura (US 20210028043 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Goto in view of Kimoto, further in view of Yoon, discloses the article storage device as claimed in claim 10.
Goto as modified by Kimoto and Yoon fails to disclose wherein the stage comprises: a first sensor configured to detect a presence of the carrier; and a second sensor configured to detect an alignment state of carriers.
However, Nakamura teaches an article storage system wherein the stage (52) comprises: a first sensor (522B and 522C) configured to detect a presence of the carrier (see Para. 0093); and a second sensor (527) configured to detect an alignment state of carriers (see Para. 0096).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the stage comprises: a first sensor configured to detect a presence of the carrier; and a second sensor configured to detect an alignment state of carriers on the article storage system of Goto as modified by Kimoto and Yoon, as taught by Nakamura in order to detect whether the container main body portion is placed on the elevating table (see Para. 0093).
Regarding claim 12, Yoon further teaches an object transport system wherein the alarm module generates an alarm when it is determined that a seating state of the carrier detected by the first sensor and the second sensor is abnormal (see Page 4, Para. 1). See motivation statement in claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Yoon (KR 20210010041 A).
Regarding claim 17, Goto discloses a method as claimed in claim 16.
Goto fails to disclose wherein the second step further comprises: generating an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage.
However, Yoon teaches a method for seating a carrier in an article storage system wherein the second step further comprises: generating an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage (see Page 4, Para. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the second step further comprises: generating an alarm in case the positioning grooves provided at the lower surface of the carrier and the positioning pins provided at the upper surface of the transport module do not fit to each other when the carrier is seated on the stage on the article storage system of Goto as taught by Yoon in order to quickly process the article that has an abnormality and prevent other articles from being congested (see Page 4, Para. 10).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Yoon (KR 20210010041 A), further in view of Nakamura (US 20210028043 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Goto in view of Yoon disclose the method as claimed in claim 17.
Goto as modified by Yoon fails to disclose wherein the second step further comprises: detecting a presence of the carrier; and detecting an alignment state of carriers.
However, Nakamura teaches wherein the second step further comprises: detecting a presence of the carrier; and detecting an alignment state of carriers (see Para. 0093-0096).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the second step further comprises: detecting a presence of the carrier; and detecting an alignment state of carriers on the article storage system of Goto as modified by Yoon, as taught by Nakamura in order to detect whether the container main body portion is placed on the elevating table (see Para. 0093).
Regarding claim 19, Yoon further teaches a method for seating a carrier in an article storage system wherein the second step further comprises: generating an alarm when at least one of the presences of the carrier and the alignment state of carriers is abnormal (see Page 4, Para. 1). See motivation statement in claim 17 above.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20210043487 A1) in view of Kimoto (US 20020182037 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Goto discloses the method as claimed in claim 15.
Goto fails to disclose wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier.
However, Kimoto teaches a substrate conveying method wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier (see Para. 0023).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the stage is included in a manual port configured to allow a user to manually seat the carrier on the article storage system of Nakamura as taught by Kimoto in order to permit manual or automatic operation (see Para. 0033).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654