DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "and includes a second push stick and a second holder." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 3 is an independent claim and there is no mention of a first push stick or first holder in the claim. Examiner will examine the claim as if there are both a first and second push stick and holder present, for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakakuki (US 20140237808 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Nakakuki teaches the following elements:
An electrode replacement device (…configuration requirements described under item (2) as above, the separator electrode-plate stacking step of the stacked cell…a stacking-completion product can be replaced in a short time [0016])
for manufacturing a secondary battery, (The present invention relates to a stacked cell manufacturing method and an apparatus using the same [0003]),
comprising: an electrode plate supply unit (a positive-plate feeding-mechanism and a negative-plate feeding-mechanism [0035])
for supplying a circular electrode plate (a positive-plate 3 and a negative-plate 4 [0035]; A positive-plate feeder 403 is provided with positive-plate rolls [0071]; It is noted that shapes that can roll include circles)
to an electrode plate transfer unit, (transfer mechanisms 43, 44 [0041])
wherein the electrode plate supply unit (a positive-plate feeding-mechanism and a negative-plate feeding-mechanism [0035])
includes a rotary axis installed at a lower portion to be rotatable at 360 degrees, a support unit supporting the rotary axis, (a vacuum contact unit 404 having a rotary mechanism for receiving the positive-plates 3 from the drawing machine 405 [0071]; The drawing machine 405 is a support unit),
a first guide rail installed at a lower end of the support unit and moving the entirety of the electrode plate supply unit horizontally, (Thereafter, the negative-plate transfer head 2 makes the horizontal backward-motion (the retreat-motion) on the table 5, as shown in FIG. 1( h) [0057]; It is noted the negative-plate transfer head 2 is a first guide rail),
a second guide rail moving the entirety of the electrode plate supply unit forward and backward, (and in sync with this transfer, the positive-plate transfer head 1 makes the horizontal forward-motion (the advance-motion) on the table 5 by the intermediary of the horizontal uniaxial drive-mechanism 43 a (refer to FIG. 2) [0057]; It is noted positive-plate transfer head 1 is a second guide rail),
a first holder at an upper end of the rotary axis and inserted with a core of the circular electrode plate, a first push stick pushing the circular electrode plate held on the holder, (The positive-plate standby stage 40 is provided with a position-correcting mechanism for setting the position of the positive-plate 3 as transferred to a correct position [0049]),
and the circular electrode plate held on the first holder. (electrode-plate chucks 10, 20, for holding respective electrode-plates [0043]).
It is noted that the limitation “to be rotable at 360 degrees” is an intended use limitation.
It is noted that Nakakuki is silent about a circular electrode plate, however, they teach positive-plate rolls, and it would have been obvious to therefore form a circular electrode plate.
Regarding claim 3, Nakakuki teaches the following elements:
An electrode replacement device (…configuration requirements described under item (2) as above, the separator electrode-plate stacking step of the stacked cell…a stacking-completion product can be replaced in a short time [0016])
for manufacturing a secondary battery, comprising: (The present invention relates to a stacked cell manufacturing method and an apparatus using the same [0003]),
an electrode plate transfer unit receiving a circular electrode plate from an electrode plate supply unit and transferring the circular electrode plate to an electrode manufacturing unit; (“More specifically, the negative-plate feeder 406 is provided with a negative-plate roll (not shown) of a band-like negative-plate sheet, a cutting machine (not shown) for cutting a negative-plate sheet fed from the negative-plate roll, a drawing machine 408 for drawing out negative-plates 4 as sequentially cut into a size of the negative-plate by the cutting machine, and a vacuum contact unit 407 having a rotary mechanism for receiving the negative-plates 4 from the drawing machine 408 so as to be delivered to the negative-plate replenishing-delivery stage 402.” Nakakuki [0073]. In this case, the vacuum contact unit receiving the negative plates acts as the transfer unit receiving the electrode plate supply unit from the negative plate feeder, which functions as the electrode supply unit.)
and an electrode manufacturing unit having a left electrode and a right electrode, (“A negative-plate feeder 406 as well is made up in the same way as the positive-plate feeder 403.” [0073]. In this case, the positive and negative electrode feeders function as a manufacturing unit for a left and right electrode.)
and replacing an electrode transferred by the electrode plate transfer unit (The electrode-plate chuck 10′ transfers a positive-plate (for replenishment) 3 [0049])
and seamlessly manufacturing the electrode, (enabling a new stacking step to be concurrently taken [00013]),
wherein the electrode plate transfer unit receives and transfers the circular electrode plate while being vertically transferred along a vertical transfer rail, (…deliver the positive-plate 3 to the electrode-plate chuck 10′. This delivery is implemented by the vertical motion of the head 1 [0072])
and includes a second push stick and a second holder, (“A negative-plate feeder 406 as well is made up in the same way as the positive-plate feeder 403.” [0073]. In this case, the negative and positive plate feeders each have a method of removing the plate and transferring to the vacuum contact unit, which are analogous to a first and second push stick. There is no clear definition of push stick provided in the claims, and it is used in the specification as a tool to remove the electrode plate from one unit and transfer it to the next.)
and the electrode plate transfer unit receiving the circular electrode plate transfers the electrode along a guide rail, (“In the step of stacking, a positive-plate transfer head as a part of the positive-plate feeding-mechanism, and a negative-plate transfer head as a part of the negative-plate feeding-mechanism are set so as to alternately undergo a linearly reciprocating transfer in a horizontal direction at least on the table by the intermediary of respective transfer mechanisms, the direction of a horizontal and reciprocating transfer on the table, Nakakuki [0010]. In this case, the linear horizontal transfer functions as the transfer along the guide rail.)
and replaces the electrode at the left electrode or right electrode. (“With the invention satisfying configuration requirements described under item (2) as above, the separator electrode-plate stacking step of the stacked cell, and the post-stacking step to be taken thereafter can be carried out by use of one rotator, so that facilities can be simplified, and furthermore, a stacking-completion product can be replaced in a short time.” Nakakuki [0016])
Regarding claim 6, Nakakuki teaches the following elements:
The electrode replacement device for manufacturing a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the electrode plate transfer unit recovers the electrode end portion and a bobbin of which using is completed while horizontally moving along the guide rail after replacing the electrode plate, (“At this point in time, the negative-plate transfer head 2 returns above the negative-plate standby stage 41, as the standby position, due to the horizontal backward-motion thereof, thereby making a fall-motion to thereby hold the negative-plate 4 at the standby position by adsorption by the intermediary of the electrode-plate chuck 20. Henceforth, the motions described in FIGS. 1(b) through 1(h) are repeated, whereupon a stacked body A of the positive-plate/the separator/the negative-plate is being formed (refer to FIG. 1(i)).” Nakakuki [0058]. In this case, the act of the negative-transfer head returning and repeating the process is analogous to the method described in the instant claims. Specifically, if the transfer unit returns and is able to repeat the same action over and over again, then any residual electrode film would be removed and it would effectively reset itself for a repeatable process.)
and discharges the electrode end portion to a predetermined place, and recovers the bobbin to a bobbin recovery port of the electrode plate supply unit through clips of which height are adjusted vertically. (“The positive-plate replenishing-delivery stage 401 is set to undergo a reciprocating transfer between a position directly underneath the electrode-plate chuck 10' when the positive-plate transfer head 1 is at the retreat-position and the vacuum contact unit 404, by the intermediary of the transfer mechanism, and when the positive-plate transfer head 1 is at the retreat-position, the positive-plate replenishing-delivery stage 401 is positioned directly underneath the electrode-plate chuck 10' to thereby deliver the positive-plate 3 to the electrode-plate chuck 10'. This delivery is implemented by the vertical motion of the head 1, and a vacuum-contact motion.” Nakakuki [0072]. It is clearly stated that the transfer unit is capable of vertical motion during the electrode replacement and resetting process.)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakakuki (US 20140237808 A1) in view of Hornbostel (US 20240173806 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Nakakuki teaches the following elements:
The electrode replacement device for manufacturing a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the electrode plate transfer unit includes a vacuum adsorption unit vacuum-adsorbing a portion of a tape attached to an electrode end portion of the circular electrode plate without an adhesive force, (“A positive-plate feeder 403 is provided with positive-plate rolls (not shown) of a coiled band-like positive-plate sheet, a cutting machine (not shown) for cutting the positive-plate sheet fed from the positive-plate rolls, a drawing machine 405 for drawing out positive-plates 3 sequentially cut into a size of the negative-plate by the cutting machine, and a vacuum contact unit 404 having a rotary mechanism for receiving the positive-plates 3 from the drawing machine 405 so as to be delivered to the positive-plate replenishing-delivery stage 401. The vacuum contact unit 404 is provided with a plurality of adsorbers,” Nakakuki [0071])
Nakakuki is silent on the following elements of claim 4:
and the vacuum adsorption unit vacuum-adsorbs the tape and simultaneously holds and withdraws the electrode by upper and lower clips.
However, Hornbostel teaches all of the elements of claim 4 that are not found in Nakakuki:
and the vacuum adsorption unit vacuum-adsorbs the tape and simultaneously holds and withdraws the electrode by upper and lower clips. (in the transfer unit pickup position, the setting piston grips the clip element by means of negative pressure. For this purpose, the piston can have at least one suction opening which can be connected to a vacuum source and with the aid of which the clip element can be brought into suction contact with a setting piston contact surface.” Hornbostel [0018])
Nakakuki and Hornbostel are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of machines used for battery production elements classified in H01M10/0404. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum adsorption element of Nakakuki to use clips to hold the electrode tape in place during the vacuuming process, as this is used in a similar process as a method of providing suction to a desired element in order to draw it out. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to understand that using clips to hold the electrode tape would be an effective method of providing a connection between the electrode transfer unit and the electrode tape in order to effectively adsorb the electrode tape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2: The electrode replacement device for manufacturing a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first push stick is installed at an outer periphery of the first holder and pushing and returning the circular electrode plate inserted into the first holder to an original position by a cylinder operation.
Claim 5: The electrode replacement device for manufacturing a secondary battery of claim 4, wherein the upper and lower clips have multiple air holes formed at upper and lower portions at a predetermined interval and simultaneously jet air simultaneously at the upper and lower portions and hold and withdraw the electrode while maintaining an adsorption state so that the vacuum-adsorbed tape is not returned to an original position.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2: in combination with claim 1, the prior art does not teach a push stick installed at an outer periphery and pushing and returning the circular electrode plate inserted into the first holder to an original position by a cylinder operation.
Regarding claim 5: in combination with claims 3 and 4, the prior art does not teach clips used for attaching electrode tape to a vacuum adsorption unit, where the clips have air holes that simultaneously jet air at the upper and lower portions and hold the electrode in place.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752