DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant's reply of 12/23/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2-5, 9-12, 16, and 18-19 are amended due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are pending.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made, necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Insofar as the arguments apply to the new grounds of rejection outlined below, the applicant's arguments on pages 13-18 of the reply dated 12/23/2025 with respect to the rejections of record have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on page 17 that the homogenous mixture of the Shi reference and the homogenous mixture of the Ghosh reference are both taught as being formed from at least one host and at least one dopant and because such a mixture would necessarily include a dopant, it would fail to correspond with the organic alloy recited in the instant claim 1, which does not include a dopant.
Examiner's response – The invention of the prior art is not limited to or defined by only those embodiments disclosed in the examples. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2123. While Shi and Gosh teaches examples wherein the method is applied to a light emitting layer formed from a host and dopant, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the technique of Shi in view of Gosh (vaporize the compounds, solidify the vapor, and grind the solidified mixture into a powder) to two host compounds in order to obtain a device with strongly bonded components that is consistent and avoids problems associated with co-evaporation, as taught by Shi and Gosh, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the applicant's specification does not appear to provide a special definition for "organic alloy." Since there is a presumption that claim terms are given their plain meaning, and the use of special definitions is an exception, the applicant must point to where the specification as filed provides a clear and intentional use of a special definition for the claim term to be treated as having a special definition. See MPEP 2173.01(I). To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. See MPEP 2111.01(IV).
For purposes of examination, "organic alloy" is interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation as an intimate mixture, such as a mixture formed from solidifying a melt, a solution, or vapor mixture, of organic molecules that has at least one property that is improved in comparison to its individual constituents. See Patent Board Decision of 12/16/202 in parent application no. 14/903,197, pages 5-9.
It is further noted that the recitation “organic alloy…, which is a material obtained by pre-treating at least two kinds of organic compounds, wherein: the at least two kinds of organic compounds includes a first organic compound and a second organic compound… the pre-treating includes heating the first organic compound and the second organic compound together to form a melted first organic compound and second organic compound and then cooling and solidifying the melted first organic compound and second organic compound to form the organic alloy" is a process limitation that only limits the organic alloy material in so far as the process step of pretreating limits the composition and structure of the organic alloy material. The focus remains on the composition or product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, the claims recite "the organic alloy does not include a dopant". The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what is and is not encompassed by a dopant. One having ordinary skill in the art recognizes "a dopant" in the art of organic electroluminescent devices as a compound introduced in a smaller amount into another compound. Would any compound in a minority amount read on a dopant? Or because the first and second organic compounds are now required to be host compounds, does a dopant refer to a light emitting dopant, such as a phosphorescent dopant as recited on page 51 of the specification?
For purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted as excluding a light emitting dopant from the organic alloy.
Claims 2-6 and 10-17 are rejection as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 19-20 are rejection as being dependent on indefinite claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. US-20040016907-A1 (hereinafter "Shi") in view of Gosh et al. US-20050056960-A1 (hereinafter "Gosh").
Regarding claims 1-2 and 9-10, Shi teaches manufacturing an organic light emitting device by providing a homogeneous solid mixture capable of being deposited which includes two organic materials; and depositing the homogeneous solid mixture to form a layer in an organic light emitting device (Abstract, ¶ [0014]-[0015]). Shi teaches that this method uses a single evaporation deposition source and therefore the organic layer can be formed in an organic light-emitting device that is consistent from device to device (¶ [0017]). Shi teaches wherein the organic layer is formed by heat-treating a mixture of first and second organic compounds, cooling the mixture to ambient temperatures to solidify, and evaporative dry coating employing the solid mixture as a source to form the organic layer (FIG. 1, ¶ [0021]-[0022], [0026], [0040], [0053]). According to Shi, the evaporation temperature of the mixture constituents must be identical or relatively closely matched to prevent separation during evaporation (¶ [0037]-[0039]). Shi teaches mixing first and second organic compounds at amounts within the claimed ratios and comprising host compound with electron characteristics together with a host compound with hole characteristics (see examples 1 to 4 on pages 4-5).
Shi does not specifically teach grinding the solidified organic mixture to form a powder. However, Ghosh teaches forming homogeneous mixtures of organic compounds to serve as evaporative coating sources in the production of organic layers for organic light emitting devices and teaches melting the mixture under vacuum, solidifying the mixture, and pulverizing the mixture into a powder (Abstract; ¶ [0002], [0026]-[0034]). Gosh teaches that the powder materials possess strongly bonded components and allows for single-source vaporization, which avoids problems associated with co-evaporation (¶ [0036]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have ground solidified mixtures of Shi into a powder material as taught by Gosh. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid problems associated with co-evaporation during formation of an organic layer of an organic light-emitting device and to obtain strongly bonded components, as taught by Gosh.
Given that Shi and Gosh teach evaporation of the two organic materials to vaporize them, solidifying the vapor, and grinding the solidified mixture into a powder, the process results in a blended powder product, i.e., an intimate mixture of the two compounds. Thus, it is reasonable to conclude that the intimate mixture is an organic alloy with the same or substantially the same properties as the claimed organic alloy. The burden is shifted to the applicant to show with objective evidence that, in fact, the prior art process does not produce an organic alloy inherently having the claimed properties. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786