DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/28/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection Arguments
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 1, that claims 1 and 11 have been amended to recite in part “wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user.” In addition to the foregoing, Applicant respectfully submits that the additional limitations added to claims 1 and 11 further recite patent-eligible subject matter.
Examiner response:
In view of the new rejection, Examiner agrees with applicant that we did omit dependent claims 2, 5, 7, and 8; However, Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the rejection has been updated to include the omitted limitations.
103 Rejection Arguments
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 1, that Kartoun, Joske and/or Adrienne, alone or in combination, do not teach, suggest or motivate “wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data, discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data, recording the at least one discarded element of machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure and generating the updated descriptor trail” as recited in part by amended claim 1.
Examiner response:
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 11 is rejected under similar reasons to claims 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In reference to claim 1:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“generate an updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a updated descriptor trail as a result of the advisor input.
“discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could discard/pick out at least one element of the machine learning data as a function of the user physical data.
“recording the at least one discarded element of the machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure; and” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could record the discarded element to memory as a descriptor trail data structure.
“generating the updated descriptor trail;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate an updated descriptor trail.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A system for updating a descriptor trail using artificial intelligence, the system comprising a processor connected to a memory, wherein the processor is designed and configured to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“display, on a graphical user interface, a descriptor trail wherein the descriptor trail includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user including a prognostic output and a correlated ameliorative output and an element of machine-learning data;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receive an element of user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“prompt, at an advisor client device, an advisor input based on the discovery center experience score;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receive, from the advisor client device, the advisor input containing an element of advisory data wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“and display the updated descriptor trail on the graphical user interface.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A system for updating a descriptor trail using artificial intelligence, the system comprising a processor connected to a memory, wherein the processor is designed and configured to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“display, on a graphical user interface, a descriptor trail wherein the descriptor trail includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user including a prognostic output and a correlated ameliorative output and an element of machine-learning data;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d) Receiving or transmitting data over a network)
“receive an element of user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d) Receiving or transmitting data over a network)
“prompt, at an advisor client device, an advisor input based on the discovery center experience score;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d) Receiving or transmitting data over a network)
“receive, from the advisor client device, the advisor input containing an element of advisory data wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d) Receiving or transmitting data over a network)
“wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d) Receiving or transmitting data over a network)
“and display the updated descriptor trail on the graphical user interface.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d) Receiving or transmitting data over a network)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 2:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 1, wherein: the correlated ameliorative output comprises a plurality of ameliorative outputs; and” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“the element of user constitutional data comprises an element of adherence data.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 1, wherein: the correlated ameliorative output comprises a plurality of ameliorative outputs; and” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“the element of user constitutional data comprises an element of adherence data.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 3:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“select a first ameliorative output from the plurality of ameliorative outputs as a function of the element of adherence data;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could select a first ameliorative output from plurality of ameliorative outputs as a function of adherence data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further designed and configured to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and display the first ameliorative output on the graphical user interface.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further designed and configured to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and display the first ameliorative output on the graphical user interface.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 4:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“generate a second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data, wherein the advisory data comprises an element of advisory data modifying the first ameliorative output.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further designed and configured to” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further designed and configured to” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 5:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 1, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input, wherein the advisor input comprises user physical data.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 1, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input, wherein the advisor input comprises user physical data.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 6:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The system of claim 1, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate an updated discovery center experience score.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 8:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 1, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 1, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 9:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 1, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 1, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 10:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The system of claim 1, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The system of claim 1, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 11:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“generating by the processor an updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a updated descriptor trail as a result of the advisor input.
“discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could discard/pick out at least one element of the machine learning data as a function of the user physical data.
“recording the at least one discarded element of the machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure; and” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could record the discarded element to memory as a descriptor trail data structure.
“generating the updated descriptor trail;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate an updated descriptor trail.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A method of updating a descriptor trail using artificial intelligence the method comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“displaying, by a processor connected to a memory on a graphical user interface, a descriptor trail wherein the descriptor trail includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user including a prognostic output and a correlated ameliorative output and an element of machine-learning data;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receiving, by the processor from a user client device, an element of user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“prompting, at an advisor client device by the processor, an advisor input based on the discovery center experience score;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receiving, by the processor from and from the advisor client device, the advisor input containing an element of advisory data wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“and displaying by the processor the updated descriptor trail on the graphical user interface.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A method of updating a descriptor trail using artificial intelligence the method comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“displaying, by a processor connected to a memory on a graphical user interface, a descriptor trail wherein the descriptor trail includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user including a prognostic output and a correlated ameliorative output and an element of machine-learning data;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“receiving, by the processor from a user client device, an element of user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“prompting, at an advisor client device by the processor, an advisor input based on the discovery experience score;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“receiving, by the processor from and from the advisor client device, the advisor input containing an element of advisory data wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“and displaying by the processor the updated descriptor trail on the graphical user interface.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 12:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 11, wherein: the correlated ameliorative output comprises a plurality of ameliorative outputs; and” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“the element of user constitutional data comprises an element of adherence data” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 11, wherein: the correlated ameliorative output comprises a plurality of ameliorative outputs; and” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“the element of user constitutional data comprises an element of adherence data” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 13:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 12, further comprising: selecting, by the processor, a first ameliorative output from the plurality of ameliorative outputs as a function of the element of adherence data;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could select a first ameliorative output from plurality of ameliorative outputs as a function of adherence data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“and displaying, by the processor, the first ameliorative output on the graphical user interface.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“and displaying, by the processor, the first ameliorative output on the graphical user interface.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 14:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 13, further comprising generating, by the processor, a second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data, wherein the advisory data comprises an element of advisory data modifying the first ameliorative output.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 15:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 11, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input, wherein the advisor input comprises user physical data.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 11, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input, wherein the advisor input comprises user physical data.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 16:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 11, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate an updated discovery center experience score.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 18:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 11, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 11, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 19:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 11, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 11, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 20:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 11, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input.” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 11, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input.” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uri Kartoun et al; US 20190180870 A1 (hereinafter “Kartoun”) in view of Joske et al; “Predicting treatment benefit in multiple myeloma through simulation of alternative treatment effects” (hereinafter “Joske”) in further view of Adrienne et al; “Building a Patient Experience Program” (hereinafter “Adrienne”) in further view of Fei Wang et al; US 20170091595 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kartoun teaches A system for updating a descriptor trail using artificial intelligence, the system comprising a processor connected to a memory, wherein the processor is designed and configured to: (Kartoun Fig 3 shows processor (306) connected to a memory (308))
display, on a graphical user interface, a descriptor trail (Kartoun Paragraph 0058; "the patient EMR data 131 to determine the impact of the patient's lifestyle choices, habits, and activities on the patient's health, medical conditions, and treatments." Kartoun Paragraph 0069; " The physician interface may comprise portions of a graphical user interface that set forth the relevant patient clinical data 133" Examiner notes that the graphical user interface displays a descriptor trail (EMR data); patient clinical data is being interpreted as being part of EMR data so by displaying clinical data it is displaying EMR data)
wherein the descriptor trail includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user including a prognostic output and a correlated ameliorative output and an element of machine-learning data; (Kartoun Paragraph 0059; “The patient EMR data 131 may comprise various types of patient clinical data and other patient information from a variety of different source computing systems associated with health service providers, medical product providers, pharmacies, insurance companies, and the like.” Kartoun Paragraph 0067; “the patient's current medical conditions, treatments, etc., may be retrieved from the EMR data… the cognitive analysis pipelines 136 may correlate increased cholesterol measurements present in patient EMR data with an unhealthy nutritional behavior pattern of the patient and an inactive activity level of the patient as identified from the analysis of the commercial transaction data.” Examiner notes that the descriptor trail (EMR data) includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user (various types of patient clinical data and other patient information) including a prognostic output (current medical conditions) and a correlated ameliorative output (treatments) and an element of machine learning data (cholesterol measurements present in patient EMR data is fed into cognitive analysis pipelines as machine learning data))
receive an element of user constitutional data [comprising a discovery center experience score wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of a user.]; (Kartoun Paragraph 0068; "the patient may report to the physician that they have had multiple occurrence of dizziness in the past month, and this may be recorded in the patient EMR." Examiner notes that physician receives an element of user constitutional data (patient report))
prompt, at an advisor client device, an advisor input [based on the discovery experience score]; (Kartoun Paragraph 0023 and Fig 4; "Thus, the mechanisms of the illustrative embodiments may be integrated in, or operate with, a decision support system, which may be implemented as a cognitive system, which provides notifications and/or the recommendations based on lifestyle decisions, habits, and activities to appropriate medical personnel to assist them in making decisions regarding the treatment of the patient so as to improve the likelihood of a desired result in the patient's medical condition(s)." Examiner notes that the advisor client device (health services computing system) prompts (sends notification) for an advisor input (decisions regarding the treatment from appropriate medical personnel))
receive, from an advisor client device, the advisor input [containing an element of advisory data wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;] (Kartoun Paragraph 0097; "For example, in one illustrative embodiment, in response to the physician 406 requesting to view a particular patient 402 EMR data, the request to review the EMR 407 may trigger the health services computing system 130 sending a request to the commercial transaction analysis system 100 to retrieve commercial transaction data for the patient from the data sources 140 and analyze it to provide lifestyle behavior information to be processed by the health services computing system 130" Examiner notes that advisor client device (health services computing system) receives the advisor input (request to review))
generate an updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input; (Kartoun Paragraph 0097; "This may be done automatically at periodic times, according to a schedule, or in response to a particular defined event. For example, in one illustrative embodiment, in response to the physician 406 requesting to view a particular patient 402 EMR data, the request to review the EMR 407 may trigger the health services computing system 130 sending a request to the commercial transaction analysis system 100 to retrieve commercial transaction data for the patient from the data sources 140 and analyze it to provide lifestyle behavior information to be processed by the health services computing system 130" Examiner notes that updated descriptor trail (latest/up to date EMR data) is generated/retrieved as a function/result of the advisor input (request for review))
and display the updated descriptor trail on the graphical user interface. (Kartoun Paragraph 0096; "The results of the evaluation take into account the most up-to-date and relevant lifestyle behavior information relevant to the particular patient's medical conditions, treatments, and/or reported symptoms and aids the physician or other medical personnel, or even the patient themselves" Kartoun Paragraph 0097; "the health services computing system 130, such as for use in presenting a physician interface to the physician 406." Examiner notes that updated descriptor trail is displayed/present on the graphical user interface (physician interface))
Kartoun does not teach the advisor input containing an element of advisory data
However, Adrienne does teach the advisor input containing an element of advisory data (Adrienne Section "Develop and implement your patient experience strategy" shows advisor input (strategy) containing an element of advisory data (processes or changes to implement))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun and Adrienne. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun and Adrienne to improve patient engagement, patient outcomes, and practice reputation and patient loyalty “A patient experience program can be utilized by practices of all sizes and is an effective way to:” (Adrienne Page 2 Paragraph 3).
Kartoun does not teach user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user;
an advisor input based on the discovery experience score;
wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;
However, Joske does teach user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score; (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that user constitutional data comprises a discovery center experience score (classification score); Classification score is associated with discovery center experience (simulated treatment))
wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user; (Joske Page 8 Paragraph 1; "Data and processing. We pooled gene expression and survival data from three phase III trials:" Examiner notes that discovery center experience score (classification score) comprises/accounts for biological extraction measurement of a use (gene expression))
an advisor input based on the discovery experience score; (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that advisor input is prompted based on the discovery center experience score (classification score);)
wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score; (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that advisory data is generated/defined as a function/result of the discovery center experience score (classification score);)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske to simulate the treatment to enable a more personalized approach to treatment “This demonstrates that STL can derive clinically actionable gene expression signatures that enable a more personalized approach to treatment.” (Joske Page 1 Paragraph 1).
Kartoun in view of Adrienne in further view of Joske does not teach wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data;
discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data;
recording the at least one discarded element of the machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure; and
generating the updated descriptor trail;
However, Wang does teach wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data; (Wang Paragraph 0007; “receive a biometric measurement signal generated by contact with a single individual” Examiner notes that an advisor input containing an element of user physical data (biometric measurement signal generated by contact with a single individual) is received)
discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data; (Wang Paragraph 0007; “determine second feature data from the first feature data by removing noisy data from the first feature data using RPCA determine whether a match exists between the second feature data and defined biometric data associated with a known individual by processing the second feature data and the defined biometric data using a machine learning technique” Examiner notes that the at least one element of the machine learning data as a function of the user physical data (noisy data from the first feature data using RPCA) is discarded/removed as a function of the user physical data (user physical data is machine learning data, where removed noisy data is used to determine second feature and processed by machine learning technique))
recording the at least one discarded element of the machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure; and (Examiner refers to previous mapping to show that the at least one discarded element of the machine learning data (removed noisy data) is recorded/used to determine a descriptor trail data structure (second feature data))
generating the updated descriptor trail; (Wang Paragraph 0007; “determine second feature data from the first feature data by removing noisy data from the first feature data using RPCA”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Wang. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Wang teaches method for processing a biometric measurement signal using a computing device. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Wang to reduce noise and outliers in the data “The use of the second feature data by RPCA effectively reduces noises and outliers from the first feature data.” (Wang Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 2, Kartoun teaches The system of claim 1, wherein: the correlated ameliorative output comprises a plurality of ameliorative outputs; (Kartoun Paragraph 0058; "the patient EMR data 131 to determine the impact of the patient's lifestyle choices, habits, and activities on the patient's health, medical conditions, and treatments." Examiner notes that "treatments" suggests a plurality of ameliorative outputs)
And the element of user constitutional data comprises an element of adherence data (Kartoun Paragraph 0068; "The patient's commercial transaction data shows that the patient has not filled their prescription for insulin in the last month and has been eating unhealthy with a high caloric intake.")
Regarding claim 3, Kartoun teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further designed and configured to: select a first ameliorative output from the plurality of ameliorative outputs as a function of the element of adherence data; (Kartoun Paragraph 0072; " The cognitive analysis pipelines 136 may determine a treatment for a medical condition of the patient based on the application of medical guidelines documents and the like from a corpus and may then evaluate the patient's ability to adhere to the treatment based on their lifestyle behavior patterns… determine an adjustment to bring the patient back into conformance with the prescribed treatment, e.g., increase activity by getting a gym membership and using it, reducing calorie intake by being on a low fat diet, etc. These recommendations may be generated through cognitive analysis by the cognitive analysis pipelines 136 and presented to the physician or other medical personnel via the physician interface generated by the physician interface engine 132." Examiner notes that a first ameliorative output (adjustment/recommendation) is selected/determined from the plurality of ameliorative outputs (these recommendations) as a function/result of the element of adherence data)
and display the first ameliorative output on the graphical user interface. (Kartoun Paragraph 0072; "These recommendations may be generated through cognitive analysis by the cognitive analysis pipelines 136 and presented to the physician or other medical personnel via the physician interface generated by the physician interface engine 132." Examiner notes that first ameliorative output (listed in recommendations) is displayed on the graphical user interface (physician interface))
Regarding claim 4, Kartoun teaches The system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further designed and configured to generate a second ameliorative output (Kartoun Paragraph 0026; "This information may then be presented to the medical professional when treating the patient, used by a computing system to automatically interact with the patient and/or medical professional, used by a cognitive system to generate treatment recommendations or recommendations for modifications in the patients' current treatment(s), etc." Examiner notes that processor (computing system) is further designed and configured to generate a second ameliorative output (treatment recommendations or recommendations for modifications in the current treatment))
Kartoun does not teach second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data, wherein the advisory data comprises an element of advisory data modifying the first ameliorative output.
However, Adrienne does teach second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data, wherein the advisory data comprises an element of advisory data modifying the first ameliorative output. (Adrienne Page 6 Paragraph 1; "Work with your patient experience program team to determine which processes or changes to implement first. To ensure success, start small and pick an option that is sustainable and scalable for your practice." Examiner notes that second ameliorative output is generated as a function/result of advisory data (processes or changes to implement) wherein the advisory data comprises and element of advisory data modifying (processes or changes to implement) the first ameliorative output (for your practice))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun and Adrienne. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun and Adrienne to improve patient engagement, patient outcomes, and practice reputation and patient loyalty “A patient experience program can be utilized by practices of all sizes and is an effective way to:” (Adrienne Page 2 Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kartoun teaches The system of claim 1, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input, wherein the advisor input comprises user physical data. (Kartoun Paragraph 0098; "The resulting physician interface 408 setting forth relevant patient lifestyle and EMR data may be used by the physician 406 to target the physician's interaction with the patient 402 via a question/response exchange 414, 416 so as to tailor the encounter with the patient 402 to the most up-to-date understanding of the patient's lifestyle as it contributes to the patient's overall health, specific medical conditions, and treatments." Examiner notes that advisor input comprises/accounts for physical data (patient's overall health and specific medical conditions))
Regarding claim 6, Kartoun does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score.
However, Joske does teach The system of claim 1, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score. (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score (perform again algorithm to obtain updated classification score with new data))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske to simulate the treatment to enable a more personalized approach to treatment “This demonstrates that STL can derive clinically actionable gene expression signatures that enable a more personalized approach to treatment.” (Joske Page 1 Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kartoun teaches A method of updating a descriptor trail using artificial intelligence the method comprising: displaying, by a processor connected to a memory on a graphical user interface, a descriptor (Kartoun Fig 3 shows processor (306) connected to a memory (308) Kartoun Paragraph 0058; "the patient EMR data 131 to determine the impact of the patient's lifestyle choices, habits, and activities on the patient's health, medical conditions, and treatments." Kartoun Paragraph 0069; " The physician interface may comprise portions of a graphical user interface that set forth the relevant patient clinical data 133" Examiner notes that the graphical user interface displays a descriptor trail (EMR data); patient clinical data is being interpreted as being part of EMR data so by displaying clinical data it is displaying EMR data)
wherein the descriptor trail includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user including a prognostic output and a correlated ameliorative output and an element of machine-learning data; (Kartoun Paragraph 0059; “The patient EMR data 131 may comprise various types of patient clinical data and other patient information from a variety of different source computing systems associated with health service providers, medical product providers, pharmacies, insurance companies, and the like.” Kartoun Paragraph 0067; “the patient's current medical conditions, treatments, etc., may be retrieved from the EMR data… the cognitive analysis pipelines 136 may correlate increased cholesterol measurements present in patient EMR data with an unhealthy nutritional behavior pattern of the patient and an inactive activity level of the patient as identified from the analysis of the commercial transaction data.” Examiner notes that the descriptor trail (EMR data) includes an element of diagnostic data pertaining to a user (various types of patient clinical data and other patient information) including a prognostic output (current medical conditions) and a correlated ameliorative output (treatments) and an element of machine learning data (cholesterol measurements present in patient EMR data is fed into cognitive analysis pipelines as machine learning data))
receiving, by the processor from a user client device, an element of user constitutional data [comprising a discovery center experience score wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user;] (Kartoun Paragraph 0068; "the patient may report to the physician that they have had multiple occurrence of dizziness in the past month, and this may be recorded in the patient EMR." Kartoun Paragraph 0081; “The network 202 includes multiple computing devices 204A-D, which may operate as server computing devices, and client computing devices 210-212, in communication with each other and with other devices” Examiner notes that physician receives an element of user constitutional data (patient report); report is received from the processor from a user client device (client computing devices))
prompting, at an advisor client device by the processor, an advisor input [based on the discovery center experience score;] (Kartoun Paragraph 0023 and Fig 4; "Thus, the mechanisms of the illustrative embodiments may be integrated in, or operate with, a decision support system, which may be implemented as a cognitive system, which provides notifications and/or the recommendations based on lifestyle decisions, habits, and activities to appropriate medical personnel to assist them in making decisions regarding the treatment of the patient so as to improve the likelihood of a desired result in the patient's medical condition(s)." Examiner notes that the advisor client device (health services computing system) prompts (sends notification) for an advisor input (decisions regarding the treatment from appropriate medical personnel))
receiving, by the processor from and from the advisor client device, the advisor input [containing an element of advisory data wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score]; (Kartoun Paragraph 0097; "For example, in one illustrative embodiment, in response to the physician 406 requesting to view a particular patient 402 EMR data, the request to review the EMR 407 may trigger the health services computing system 130 sending a request to the commercial transaction analysis system 100 to retrieve commercial transaction data for the patient from the data sources 140 and analyze it to provide lifestyle behavior information to be processed by the health services computing system 130" Examiner notes that advisor client device (health services computing system) receives the advisor input (request to review))
generating by the processor an updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input; (Kartoun Paragraph 0097; "This may be done automatically at periodic times, according to a schedule, or in response to a particular defined event. For example, in one illustrative embodiment, in response to the physician 406 requesting to view a particular patient 402 EMR data, the request to review the EMR 407 may trigger the health services computing system 130 sending a request to the commercial transaction analysis system 100 to retrieve commercial transaction data for the patient from the data sources 140 and analyze it to provide lifestyle behavior information to be processed by the health services computing system 130" Examiner notes that updated descriptor trail (latest/up to date EMR data) is generated/retrieved as a function/result of the advisor input (request for review))
and displaying by the processor the updated descriptor trail on the graphical user interface. (Kartoun Paragraph 0096; "The results of the evaluation take into account the most up-to-date and relevant lifestyle behavior information relevant to the particular patient's medical conditions, treatments, and/or reported symptoms and aids the physician or other medical personnel, or even the patient themselves" Kartoun Paragraph 0097; "the health services computing system 130, such as for use in presenting a physician interface to the physician 406." Examiner notes that updated descriptor trail is displayed/present on the graphical user interface (physician interface))
Kartoun does not teach the advisor input containing an element of advisory data
However, Adrienne does teach the advisor input containing an element of advisory data (Adrienne Section "Develop and implement your patient experience strategy" shows advisor input (strategy) containing an element of advisory data (processes or changes to implement))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun and Adrienne. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun and Adrienne to improve patient engagement, patient outcomes, and practice reputation and patient loyalty “A patient experience program can be utilized by practices of all sizes and is an effective way to:” (Adrienne Page 2 Paragraph 3).
Kartoun does not teach user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user;
an advisor input based on the discovery experience score;
wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score;
However, Joske does teach user constitutional data comprising a discovery center experience score; (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that user constitutional data comprises a discovery center experience score (classification score); Classification score is associated with discovery center experience (simulated treatment))
wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a biological extraction measurement of the user; (Joske Page 8 Paragraph 1; "Data and processing. We pooled gene expression and survival data from three phase III trials:" Examiner notes that discovery center experience score (classification score) comprises/accounts for biological extraction measurement of a use (gene expression))
an advisor input based on the discovery experience score; (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that advisor input is prompted based on the discovery center experience score (classification score);)
wherein the advisory data is generated as a function of the discovery center experience score; (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that advisory data is generated/defined as a function/result of the discovery center experience score (classification score);)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske to simulate the treatment to enable a more personalized approach to treatment “This demonstrates that STL can derive clinically actionable gene expression signatures that enable a more personalized approach to treatment.” (Joske Page 1 Paragraph 1).
Kartoun in view of Adrienne in further view of Joske does not teach wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data;
discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data;
recording the at least one discarded element of the machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure; and
generating the updated descriptor trail;
However, Wang does teach wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises: receiving an advisor input containing an element of user physical data; (Wang Paragraph 0007; “receive a biometric measurement signal generated by contact with a single individual” Examiner notes that an advisor input containing an element of user physical data (biometric measurement signal generated by contact with a single individual) is received)
discarding at least one element of the machine-learning data as a function of the user physical data; (Wang Paragraph 0007; “determine second feature data from the first feature data by removing noisy data from the first feature data using RPCA determine whether a match exists between the second feature data and defined biometric data associated with a known individual by processing the second feature data and the defined biometric data using a machine learning technique” Examiner notes that the at least one element of the machine learning data as a function of the user physical data (noisy data from the first feature data using RPCA) is discarded/removed as a function of the user physical data (user physical data is machine learning data, where removed noisy data is used to determine second feature and processed by machine learning technique))
recording the at least one discarded element of the machine-learning data in a descriptor trail data structure; and (Examiner refers to previous mapping to show that the at least one discarded element of the machine learning data (removed noisy data) is recorded/used to determine a descriptor trail data structure (second feature data))
generating the updated descriptor trail; (Wang Paragraph 0007; “determine second feature data from the first feature data by removing noisy data from the first feature data using RPCA”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Wang. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Wang teaches method for processing a biometric measurement signal using a computing device. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Wang to reduce noise and outliers in the data “The use of the second feature data by RPCA effectively reduces noises and outliers from the first feature data.” (Wang Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 12, Kartoun teaches The method of claim 11, wherein: the correlated ameliorative output comprises a plurality of ameliorative outputs; (Kartoun Paragraph 0058; "the patient EMR data 131 to determine the impact of the patient's lifestyle choices, habits, and activities on the patient's health, medical conditions, and treatments." Examiner notes that "treatments" suggests a plurality of ameliorative outputs)
And the element of user constitutional data comprises an element of adherence data (Kartoun Paragraph 0068; "The patient's commercial transaction data shows that the patient has not filled their prescription for insulin in the last month and has been eating unhealthy with a high caloric intake.")
Regarding claim 13, Kartoun teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising: selecting, by the processor, a first ameliorative output from the plurality of ameliorative outputs as a function of the element of adherence data; (Kartoun Paragraph 0072; " The cognitive analysis pipelines 136 may determine a treatment for a medical condition of the patient based on the application of medical guidelines documents and the like from a corpus and may then evaluate the patient's ability to adhere to the treatment based on their lifestyle behavior patterns… determine an adjustment to bring the patient back into conformance with the prescribed treatment, e.g., increase activity by getting a gym membership and using it, reducing calorie intake by being on a low fat diet, etc. These recommendations may be generated through cognitive analysis by the cognitive analysis pipelines 136 and presented to the physician or other medical personnel via the physician interface generated by the physician interface engine 132." Examiner notes that a first ameliorative output (adjustment/recommendation) is selected/determined from the plurality of ameliorative outputs (these recommendations) as a function/result of the element of adherence data)
and displaying, by the processor, the first ameliorative output on the graphical user interface. (Kartoun Paragraph 0072; "These recommendations may be generated through cognitive analysis by the cognitive analysis pipelines 136 and presented to the physician or other medical personnel via the physician interface generated by the physician interface engine 132." Examiner notes that first ameliorative output (listed in recommendations) is displayed on the graphical user interface (physician interface))
Regarding claim 14, Kartoun teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising generating, by the processor, a second ameliorative output (Kartoun Paragraph 0026; "This information may then be presented to the medical professional when treating the patient, used by a computing system to automatically interact with the patient and/or medical professional, used by a cognitive system to generate treatment recommendations or recommendations for modifications in the patients' current treatment(s), etc." Examiner notes that processor (computing system) is further designed and configured to generate a second ameliorative output (treatment recommendations or recommendations for modifications in the current treatment))
Kartoun does not teach second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data, wherein the advisory data comprises an element of advisory data modifying the first ameliorative output.
However, Adrienne does teach second ameliorative output as a function of the advisory data, wherein the advisory data comprises an element of advisory data modifying the first ameliorative output. (Adrienne Page 6 Paragraph 1; "Work with your patient experience program team to determine which processes or changes to implement first. To ensure success, start small and pick an option that is sustainable and scalable for your practice." Examiner notes that second ameliorative output is generated as a function/result of advisory data (processes or changes to implement) wherein the advisory data comprises and element of advisory data modifying (processes or changes to implement) the first ameliorative output (for your practice))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun and Adrienne. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun and Adrienne to improve patient engagement, patient outcomes, and practice reputation and patient loyalty “A patient experience program can be utilized by practices of all sizes and is an effective way to:” (Adrienne Page 2 Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kartoun teaches The method of claim 11, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input, wherein the advisor input comprises user physical data. (Kartoun Paragraph 0098; "The resulting physician interface 408 setting forth relevant patient lifestyle and EMR data may be used by the physician 406 to target the physician's interaction with the patient 402 via a question/response exchange 414, 416 so as to tailor the encounter with the patient 402 to the most up-to-date understanding of the patient's lifestyle as it contributes to the patient's overall health, specific medical conditions, and treatments." Examiner notes that advisor input comprises/accounts for physical data (patient's overall health and specific medical conditions))
Regarding claim 16, Kartoun does not teach The method of claim 11, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score.
However, Joske does teach The method of claim 11, wherein generating the updated descriptor trail as a function of the advisor input comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score. (Joske Page 9 Paragraph 2; "For an ensemble classifier containing s gene sets, this defines a classification score between 0 and s per patient. This score is thresholded by threshold T, which determines whether a patient is to benefit from the treatment of interest, where a patient with a score below the threshold is classified as not benefitting from treatment (“no benefit” class)." Examiner notes that wherein generating the updated descriptor trail comprises generating an updated discovery center experience score (perform again algorithm to obtain updated classification score with new data))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, and Joske to simulate the treatment to enable a more personalized approach to treatment “This demonstrates that STL can derive clinically actionable gene expression signatures that enable a more personalized approach to treatment.” (Joske Page 1 Paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uri Kartoun et al; US 20190180870 A1 (hereinafter “Kartoun”) in view of Adrienne et al; “Building a Patient Experience Program” (hereinafter “Adrienne”) in further view of Joske et al; “Predicting treatment benefit in multiple myeloma through simulation of alternative treatment effects” (hereinafter “Joske”) in further view of Fei Wang et al; US 20170091595 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”) in further view of Ari et al; US 20160055236 A1 (hereinafter “Ari”).
Regarding claim 8, Kartoun does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight.
However, Ari does teach The system of claim 1, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight. (Ari Paragraph 1528; "a measurement utilized to compute both the first and second satisfaction scores has a first weight when utilized to compute the first satisfaction score and the measurement has a second weight, different from the first weight, when utilized to compute the second satisfaction score." Examiner notes that discovery center experience score (satisfaction scores) comprises a weight (first weight))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Ari teaches adding weights to measurements. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari to bias towards current/more recent measurements than historical ones “by giving higher weights to more recent measurements (thus enabling a result computed based on the measurements 110 to be more biased towards the current state rather than an historical one).” (Ari Paragraph 0164).
Regarding claim 9, Kartoun does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device.
However, Ari does teach The system of claim 1, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device. (Ari Paragraph 0114; "Reporting a result computed based on measurements of affective response, such as the score 164, via a user interface may be done in various ways in different embodiments. In one embodiment, the score is reported by presenting, on a display of a device of a user (e.g., a smartphone's screen, augmented reality glasses) an indication of the score 164 and/or the certain experience." Examiner notes that discovery center experience score (score) is displayed on a graphical user interface (user interface) comprises transmitting/reporting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device (device of a user))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Ari teaches adding weights to measurements. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari to bias towards current/more recent measurements than historical ones “by giving higher weights to more recent measurements (thus enabling a result computed based on the measurements 110 to be more biased towards the current state rather than an historical one).” (Ari Paragraph 0164).
Regarding claim 18, Kartoun does not teach The method of claim 11, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight.
However, Ari does teach The method of claim 11, wherein the discovery center experience score comprises a weight. (Ari Paragraph 1528; "a measurement utilized to compute both the first and second satisfaction scores has a first weight when utilized to compute the first satisfaction score and the measurement has a second weight, different from the first weight, when utilized to compute the second satisfaction score." Examiner notes that discovery center experience score (satisfaction scores) comprises a weight (first weight))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Ari teaches adding weights to measurements. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari to bias towards current/more recent measurements than historical ones “by giving higher weights to more recent measurements (thus enabling a result computed based on the measurements 110 to be more biased towards the current state rather than an historical one).” (Ari Paragraph 0164).
Regarding claim 19, Kartoun does not teach The method of claim 11, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device.
However, Ari does teach The method of claim 11, wherein displaying, on the graphical user interface, the discovery center experience score comprises transmitting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device. (Ari Paragraph 0114; "Reporting a result computed based on measurements of affective response, such as the score 164, via a user interface may be done in various ways in different embodiments. In one embodiment, the score is reported by presenting, on a display of a device of a user (e.g., a smartphone's screen, augmented reality glasses) an indication of the score 164 and/or the certain experience." Examiner notes that discovery center experience score (score) is displayed on a graphical user interface (user interface) comprises transmitting/reporting the graphical user interface to the advisor client device (device of a user))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Ari teaches adding weights to measurements. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Ari to bias towards current/more recent measurements than historical ones “by giving higher weights to more recent measurements (thus enabling a result computed based on the measurements 110 to be more biased towards the current state rather than an historical one).” (Ari Paragraph 0164).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uri Kartoun et al; US 20190180870 A1 (hereinafter “Kartoun”) in view of Adrienne et al; “Building a Patient Experience Program” (hereinafter “Adrienne”) in further view of Joske et al; “Predicting treatment benefit in multiple myeloma through simulation of alternative treatment effects” (hereinafter “Joske”) in further view of Fei Wang et al; US 20170091595 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”) in further view of Erik et al; US 20190013103 A1 (hereinafter “Erik”).
Regarding claim 10, Kartoun does not teach The system of claim 1, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input.
However, Erik does teach The system of claim 1, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input. (Erik Paragraph 0055 and Fig 1; "the physician is prompted to enter any threshold value or amount. For example, a question or blank space is shown for the physician to respond to by entering the threshold value, percent, or amount." Examiner notes that physician is prompted for advisor input on the graphical user interface (display 50) containing space (blank space) for an advisor to enter the advisor input (entering the threshold value))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Erik. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Erik teaches a system for assisting a physician to determine an optimal treatment modality. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Erik to improve on picking which modality may be optimal “This is a substantial improvement over previous techniques to eye-ball, gut-feeling, or speculation to which modality may be optimal.” (Erik Paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 20, Kartoun does not teach The method of claim 11, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input.
However, Erik does teach The method of claim 11, wherein prompting the advisor input on the graphical user interface comprises displaying a field on the graphical user interface containing space for an advisor to enter the advisor input. (Erik Paragraph 0055 and Fig 1; "the physician is prompted to enter any threshold value or amount. For example, a question or blank space is shown for the physician to respond to by entering the threshold value, percent, or amount." Examiner notes that physician is prompted for advisor input on the graphical user interface (display 50) containing space (blank space) for an advisor to enter the advisor input (entering the threshold value))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Erik. Kartoun teaches a treatment recommendation decision support system. Adrienne teaches a program to utilize patient feedback in a medical setting. Joske teaches simulating treatments to predict patient’s treatment benefit. Erik teaches a system for assisting a physician to determine an optimal treatment modality. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Kartoun, Adrienne, Joske, and Erik to improve on picking which modality may be optimal “This is a substantial improvement over previous techniques to eye-ball, gut-feeling, or speculation to which modality may be optimal.” (Erik Paragraph 0086).
Conclusion
/D.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147