DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 5 and 7-8 show “number of measuring points” as the x axis of the graph. This presumably should be time based on Fig. 4 as the number of measuring points wouldn’t be tied to the voltage value, i.e. measuring the voltage with 500 measuring points or 2000 measuring points, the voltage would be essentially the same.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 11 recites “a second battery cell”, claims 11 and 15 both recite “a first battery cell”, and claim 15 recites “a further multitude of battery modules” twice. It is unclear if these are the same or new first and second battery cells and a further multitude of battery modules from claim 1 and 15 respectively. For the purposes of examining, they are considered to be the same.
Claim 12 is rejected based on it’s inherited issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under step 1, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category.
Under Step 2A prong 1, the claims as a whole are identified as being directed to a judicial exception as claim 1 recite(s) “classifying a battery module” and “determine a reference voltage curve on the basis of a mean voltage value from the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve, wherein the reference voltage curve has a first reference voltage curve section and a second reference voltage curve section; compare the first voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a first metric, which indicates a first voltage deviation between the first voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section and a second voltage deviation between the second voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section; compare the second voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a second metric, which indicates a third voltage deviation between the third voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section and a fourth voltage deviation between the fourth voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section; assign to the first voltage curve section a first electrical characteristic and to the second voltage curve section a second electrical characteristic if the first metric is greater than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the first electrical characteristic and the second electrical characteristic; and assign to the third voltage curve section a third electrical characteristic and to the fourth voltage curve section a fourth electrical characteristic if the first metric is smaller than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the third electrical characteristic and the fourth electrical characteristic” which are directed to mathematical concepts and/or mental processes in light of applicant’s specification see pages 22-29, notably the equations used.
Under Step 2A prong 2, evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application of that exception, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “a battery management system for” and “wherein the battery module has a first battery cell and a second battery cell, the battery management system comprising: an interface configured to” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The elements of “obtain a first voltage curve over the first battery cell and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell, wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section, and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section;” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The elements of “a processor configured to:” are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
Under Step 2B, evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept both individually and in combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “a battery management system for” and “wherein the battery module has a first battery cell and a second battery cell, the battery management system comprising: an interface configured to” are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record). The elements of “obtain a first voltage curve over the first battery cell and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell, wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section, and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section;” are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art of record). The element of “a processor configured to:” is well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record).
Under step 1, claim 16 belongs to a statutory category.
Under Step 2A prong 1, the claims as a whole are identified as being directed to a judicial exception as claim 16 recite(s) “determining a reference voltage curve on the basis of a mean voltage value from the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve, wherein the reference voltage curve has a first reference voltage curve section and a second reference voltage curve section; comparing the first voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a first metric, which indicates a first voltage deviation between the first voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section and a second voltage deviation between the second voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section; comparing the second voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a second metric, which indicates a third voltage deviation between the third voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section and a fourth voltage deviation between the fourth voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section; and at least one of the following: assigning a first electrical characteristic to the first voltage curve section and a second electrical characteristic to the second voltage curve section if the first metric is greater than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the first electrical characteristic and the second electrical characteristic; or assigning a third electrical characteristic to the third voltage curve section and a fourth electrical characteristic to the fourth voltage curve section if the first metric is smaller than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the third electrical characteristic and the fourth electrical characteristic” which are directed to mathematical concepts and/or mental processes in light of applicant’s specification see pages 22-29, notably the equations used.
Under Step 2A prong 2, evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application of that exception, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “a method for battery management, the method comprising of the following steps” and “a first battery cell of a battery module” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The elements of “obtaining a first voltage curve over a first battery cell of a battery module and a second voltage curve over a second battery cell of the battery module, wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section, and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section;” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
Under Step 2B, evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept both individually and in combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “a method for battery management, the method comprising of the following steps” and “a first battery cell of a battery module” are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record). The elements of “obtaining a first voltage curve over a first battery cell of a battery module and a second voltage curve over a second battery cell of the battery module, wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section, and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section;” are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art of record).
Claims 3-4, 6-10, 12-15 are considered to also be directed to the abstract ideas cited above.
Claims 2, 5 and 11 the elements of “determine the reference voltage curve on the basis of the first voltage curve, the second voltage curve, and the third voltage curve” and “classify each battery module of the multitude of battery modules in order to form a reference group on the basis of the classification” are considered to also be directed to the abstract ideas cited above.
The additional elements are not considered to be integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the judicial exception as the elements of “a memory configured to store a multitude of electrical characteristics, wherein the processor is configured to read out a respective electrical characteristic from the memory” and “the processor is further configured to” are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer and well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record). The elements of “wherein the battery module has a third battery cell, and the interface is configured to obtain a third voltage curve over the third battery cell” and “wherein: the interface is further configured to obtain a first multitude of voltage curves and a second multitude of voltage curves, wherein each of the first multitude of voltage curves of a first battery cell corresponds to one of a multitude of battery modules and each of the second multitude of voltage curves of a second battery cell corresponds to one of a multitude of battery modules, and manage as flawless the multitude of battery modules;” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (WO 2021118312 A1) of which Lee (US 20240079892 A1) will be referenced, as it is considered to be a translation, in view of Takeuchi (US 5614331 A).
In claim 1, Lee discloses a battery management system (see title) for classifying a battery module (Fig. 1, B), wherein the battery module has a first battery cell and a second battery cell (Par. 43 “at least one battery cell), the battery management system comprising: an interface (Fig. 1, 110) configured to obtain a first voltage curve (Fig. 2, 201) and a second voltage curve (Fig. 2, 202); wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 201 has several identified sections), and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 202 has several identified sections); a processor (Fig. 1, 150) configured to: determine a reference voltage curve (Fig. 2, 203) on the basis of a mean voltage value from the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve (Par. 55 an average of the first relationship and the second relationship), wherein the reference voltage curve has a first reference voltage curve section and a second reference voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 203 has several identified sections); compare the first voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a first metric (Fig. 3, Par. 62-64 difference between Vx), which indicates a first voltage deviation between the first voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section (Par. 62-64 difference between Vx and V1) and a second voltage deviation between the second voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section (Par. 62-64 difference between Vx and V2); compare the second voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a second metric (Fig. 4, Par. 65-68 difference between Vy), which indicates a third voltage deviation between the third voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section (Par. 65-68 difference between Vy and V2) and a fourth voltage deviation between the fourth voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section (Par. 65-68 difference between Vy and V3);
Examiner notes that the following limitations are considered to be contingent limitations and not required by the BRI of the claim, per MPEP 2111.04(II), “a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met”;
assign to the first voltage curve section a first electrical characteristic (See Fig. 3) and to the second voltage curve section a second electrical characteristic (See Fig. 3) if the first metric is greater than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the first electrical characteristic and the second electrical characteristic (Par. 62-64); and assign to the third voltage curve section a third electrical characteristic (see Fig. 4) and to the fourth voltage curve section a fourth electrical characteristic (See Fig. 4) if the first metric is smaller than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the third electrical characteristic and the fourth electrical characteristic (Par. 65-68).
Lee does not explicitly disclose obtain a first voltage curve over the first battery cell and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell.
Takeuchi teaches a battery module (Fig. 3, 10) wherein the battery module has a first battery cell (Column 1 Lines 1-25 and Column 9 Lines 24-45 “high rate cells”, examiner considers the first of these cells to be said first cell) and a second battery cell Column 9 Lines 24-45 “medium rate cells”, examiner considers the second of these cells to be said first cell), a first voltage curve over the first battery cell (Fig. 6, Column 9 Lines 24-45 “Curve 126 was constructed from the average discharge curve of the medium rate cells” examiner considers the voltage curve of the first cell to be said first voltage curve) and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell (Fig. 6, Column 9 Lines 24-45 “Curve 126 was constructed from the average discharge curve of the medium rate cells” examiner considers the voltage curve of the second cell to be said second voltage curve), wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section (See Fig. 5 and 6, 126 examiner notes the curves have several sections Fig. 5 showing an example of a single cell which the examiner considers to be consistent with the first cell while 126 shows the average of all the curves), and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section (See Fig. 5 and 6, 126 examiner notes the curves have several sections Fig. 5 showing an example of a single cell which the examiner considers to be consistent with the second cell while 126 shows the average of all the curves); determine a reference voltage curve on the basis of a mean voltage value from the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve (Fig. 6, 126 Column 9 Lines 24-45), wherein the reference voltage curve has a first reference voltage curve section and a second reference voltage curve section (See Fig. 6, 126 examiner notes the curve has several sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to obtain a first voltage curve over the first battery cell and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell based on the teachings of Takeuchi to the battery measurements of Lee in order to accurately determine the battery voltage of a multi cell battery when both cell couples need not necessarily be identical (Takeuchi Column 1 Lines 35-51), thus leading to more accurate battery voltage measurements.
In claim 2, Lee further discloses comprising a memory configured to store a multitude of electrical characteristics (Fig. 1 140), wherein the processor is configured to read out a respective electrical characteristic from the memory (Par. 49).
In claim 3, Lee further discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the reference voltage curve on the basis of the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve (Par. 55 an average of the first relationship and the second relationship).
In claim 4, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 3. Lee further discloses wherein the reference voltage curve comprises a median or an average of the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve (Par. 55 an average of the first relationship and the second relationship).
In claim 5, Lee further discloses the processor is configured to determine the reference voltage curve on the basis of the first voltage curve, the second voltage curve, and the third voltage curve (Par. 55).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery module has a third battery cell (Column 1 Lines 1-25 and Column 9 Lines 24-45 “high rate cells”, examiner considers the first of these cells to be said first cell) and the interface is configured to obtain a third voltage curve over the third battery cell.
Takeuchi teaches wherein the battery module has a third battery cell and the interface is configured to obtain a third voltage curve over the third battery cell (Fig. 6, Column 9 Lines 24-45 “Curve 126 was constructed from the average discharge curve of the medium rate cells” examiner considers the voltage curve of the third cell to be said first voltage curve).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the battery module has a third battery cell and the interface is configured to obtain a third voltage curve over the third battery cell based on the teachings of Takeuchi to the battery measurements of Lee in order to accurately determine the battery voltage of a multi cell battery when both cell couples need not necessarily be identical (Takeuchi Column 1 Lines 35-51), thus leading to more accurate battery voltage measurements.
In claim 6, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 5. Lee further discloses wherein the reference voltage curve comprises a median, an average, or a mode of the first voltage curve, the second voltage curve, and the third voltage curve (Par. 55).
In claim 8, Lee further discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine a first electrical feature on the basis of the first voltage curve section of the first voltage curve (Fig. 3 see discharge), a second electrical feature on the basis of the second voltage curve section of the first voltage curve (Fig. 3 rest), a third electrical feature on the basis of the third voltage curve section of the second voltage curve (Fig. 3 delta c1), a fourth electrical feature on the basis of the fourth voltage curve section of the second voltage curve (Fig. 3 delta b1).
In claim 11, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein: the interface is further configured to obtain a first multitude of voltage curves (See Fig. 2, 201 has several voltage curves) and a second multitude of voltage curves (See Fig. 2, 202 has several identified sections), wherein each of the first multitude of voltage curves of a first battery cell (see claim 1 combination of Lee and Takeuchi) corresponds to one of a multitude of battery modules (Par. 53 “batteries”) and each of the second multitude of voltage curves of a second battery cell (see claim 1 combination of Lee and Takeuchi) corresponds to one of a multitude of battery modules (Par. 53 “batteries”), and manage as flawless the multitude of battery modules (Par. 72); and the processor is further configured to classify each battery module of the multitude of battery modules in order to form a reference group on the basis of the classification (Fig. 2, 203, Par. 55).
In claim 13, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the first voltage curve has a fifth voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 201 has several identified sections), and the second voltage curve has a sixth voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 202 has several identified sections), wherein the processor is configured to extract a fifth feature on the basis of the fifth voltage curve section of the first voltage curve (See Fig. 2) and a sixth feature on the basis of the sixth voltage curve section of the second voltage curve (See Fig. 2).
In claim 14, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 13. Lee further discloses wherein the fifth feature corresponds to a capacity of the first battery cell (See Fig. 2 SOC) and the sixth feature corresponds to a further capacity of the second battery cell (See Fig. 2 SOC).
In claim 15, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein: the interface is configured to: obtain a number of groups to be generated (Par. 53), a further first multitude of voltage curves (See Fig. 2, 201), and a further second multitude of voltage curves (See Fig. 2, 202), each of the further first multitude of voltage curves corresponds to a first battery cell (see claim 1 combination of Lee and Takeuchi) of one of a further multitude of battery modules (Par. 53), and each of the further second multitude of voltage curves corresponds to a second batter cell (see claim 1 combination of Lee and Takeuchi)of a further multitude of battery modules (Par. 53), and the processor is configured to assign each battery module of the further multitude of battery modules based on a classification algorithm (Par. 56-57) to a multitude of groups (See Fig. 3, 4 and 5, S570/S580), wherein a quantity of the multitude of groups is equal to the number of groups to be generated (Fig. S570/S580).
In claim 16, Lee discloses a method for battery management (see title), the method comprising of the following steps: obtaining a first voltage curve (Fig. 2, 201) of a battery module (Fig. 1, B) and a second voltage curve (Fig. 2, 202) of the battery module; wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 201 has several identified sections), and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 202 has several identified sections); determining a reference voltage curve (Fig. 2, 203) on the basis of a mean voltage value from the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve (Par. 55 an average of the first relationship and the second relationship), wherein the reference voltage curve has a first reference voltage curve section and a second reference voltage curve section (See Fig. 2, 203 has several identified sections); comparing the first voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a first metric (Fig. 3, Par. 62-64 difference between Vx), which indicates a first voltage deviation between the first voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section (Par. 62-64 difference between Vx and V1) and a second voltage deviation between the second voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section (Par. 62-64 difference between Vx and V2); compare the second voltage curve to the reference voltage curve in order to obtain a second metric (Fig. 4, Par. 65-68 difference between Vy), which indicates a third voltage deviation between the third voltage curve section and the first reference voltage curve section (Par. 65-68 difference between Vy and V2) and a fourth voltage deviation between the fourth voltage curve section and the second reference voltage curve section (Par. 65-68 difference between Vy and V3); Examiner notes that the following limitations are considered to be contingent limitations and not required by the BRI of the claim, per MPEP 2111.04(II), “a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met”;
assign to the first voltage curve section a first electrical characteristic (See Fig. 3) and to the second voltage curve section a second electrical characteristic (See Fig. 3) if the first metric is greater than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the first electrical characteristic and the second electrical characteristic (Par. 62-64); and assign to the third voltage curve section a third electrical characteristic (see Fig. 4) and to the fourth voltage curve section a fourth electrical characteristic (See Fig. 4) if the first metric is smaller than the second metric in order to classify the battery module based on the third electrical characteristic and the fourth electrical characteristic (Par. 65-68).
Lee does not explicitly disclose obtain a first voltage curve over the first battery cell of a battery module and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell of the battery module.
Takeuchi teaches a battery module (Fig. 3, 10) wherein the battery module has a first battery cell (Column 1 Lines 1-25 and Column 9 Lines 24-45 “high rate cells”, examiner considers the first of these cells to be said first cell) and a second battery cell Column 9 Lines 24-45 “medium rate cells”, examiner considers the second of these cells to be said first cell), a first voltage curve over the first battery cell (Fig. 6, Column 9 Lines 24-45 “Curve 126 was constructed from the average discharge curve of the medium rate cells” examiner considers the voltage curve of the first cell to be said first voltage curve) and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell (Fig. 6, Column 9 Lines 24-45 “Curve 126 was constructed from the average discharge curve of the medium rate cells” examiner considers the voltage curve of the second cell to be said second voltage curve), wherein the first voltage curve has a first voltage curve section and a second voltage curve section (See Fig. 5 and 6, 126 examiner notes the curves have several sections Fig. 5 showing an example of a single cell which the examiner considers to be consistent with the first cell while 126 shows the average of all the curves), and wherein the second voltage curve has a third voltage curve section and a fourth voltage curve section (See Fig. 5 and 6, 126 examiner notes the curves have several sections Fig. 5 showing an example of a single cell which the examiner considers to be consistent with the second cell while 126 shows the average of all the curves); determine a reference voltage curve on the basis of a mean voltage value from the first voltage curve and the second voltage curve (Fig. 6, 126 Column 9 Lines 24-45), wherein the reference voltage curve has a first reference voltage curve section and a second reference voltage curve section (See Fig. 6, 126 examiner notes the curve has several sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to obtain a first voltage curve over the first battery cell of a battery module and a second voltage curve over the second battery cell of the battery module based on the teachings of Takeuchi to the battery measurements of Lee in order to accurately determine the battery voltage of a multi cell battery when both cell couples need not necessarily be identical (Takeuchi Column 1 Lines 35-51), thus leading to more accurate battery voltage measurements.
Claim(s) 7, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of Takeuchi and in further view of Vittal (US 20120053983 A1).
In claim 7, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to, at least one of the following: determine the first electrical characteristic on the basis of the first voltage curve section of the first voltage curve and the second electrical characteristic on the basis of the second voltage curve section of the first voltage curve based on a principal component analysis, wherein the first electrical characteristic represents the first voltage curve section of the first voltage curve and the second electrical characteristic of the second voltage curve section; and determine the third electrical characteristic on the basis of the third voltage curve section of the second voltage curve and the fourth electrical characteristic on the basis of the fourth voltage curve section of the second voltage curve based on the principal component analysis, wherein the third electrical characteristic represents the third voltage curve section of the second voltage curve and the fourth electrical characteristic represents the fourth voltage curve section of the second voltage curve (emphasis added).
Vittal teaches determine the first electrical characteristic on the basis of the first voltage curve section of the first voltage curve and the second electrical characteristic on the basis of the second voltage curve section of the first voltage curve based on a principal component analysis (Par. 90)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the processor is further configured to, at least one of the following: determine the first electrical characteristic on the basis of the first voltage curve section of the first voltage curve and the second electrical characteristic on the basis of the second voltage curve section of the first voltage curve based on a principal component analysis, wherein the first electrical characteristic represents the first voltage curve section of the first voltage curve and the second electrical characteristic of the second voltage curve section; and determine the third electrical characteristic on the basis of the third voltage curve section of the second voltage curve and the fourth electrical characteristic on the basis of the fourth voltage curve section of the second voltage curve based on the principal component analysis, wherein the third electrical characteristic represents the third voltage curve section of the second voltage curve and the fourth electrical characteristic represents the fourth voltage curve section of the second voltage curve based on the teachings of Vittal in combination with Lee and Takeuchi in order to reduce the number of parameters to identify healthy values (Vittal Par. 90), thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 10, Lee further discloses wherein the processor is configured to classify the battery module based on a classification algorithm (Par. 56-57).
Lee does not explicitly disclose, wherein the classification algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a logistic regression, support vector machine, random forest, multilayer perceptron, and one-class support vector machine.
Vittal teaches wherein the classification algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a logistic regression, support vector machine, random forest, multilayer perceptron, and one-class support vector machine (Par. 41, “support vector machine” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the classification algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a logistic regression, support vector machine, random forest, multilayer perceptron, and one-class support vector machine as taught by Vittal in combination with Lee and Takeuchi in order to assign failure categories, (Vittal Par. 61), thus leading to a more accurate system.
In claim 12, Lee further discloses wherein: the processor is configured to classify the multitude of battery modules based on a further classification algorithm (Par. 56-57).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the further classification algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a logistical regression support vector machine, random forest, multilayer perceptron, and one-class support vector machine.
Vittal teaches the further classification algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a logistical regression support vector machine, random forest, multilayer perceptron, and one-class support vector machine (Par. 41, “support vector machine” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the classification algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a logistic regression, support vector machine, random forest, multilayer perceptron, and one-class support vector machine as taught by Vittal in combination with Lee and Takeuchi in order to assign failure categories, (Vittal Par. 61), thus leading to a more accurate system.
Claim(s) 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of Takeuchi and in further view of Tsujiko (US 20110012604 A1).
In claim 9, Lee in view of Takeuchi disclose all of claim 8. Lee further discloses wherein the first electrical feature corresponds to an offset voltage of the first battery cell (See fig 3, V1, Vx, V2) and the third electrical feature corresponds to a further offset voltage of the second battery cell (See fig 3, V1, Vx, V2).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the second electrical feature corresponds to an internal resistance of the first battery cell and the fourth electrical feature corresponds to a further internal resistance of the second battery cell (emphasis added).
Tsujiko teaches wherein the second electrical feature corresponds to an internal resistance of the first battery cell (Par. 41, 44 189-190, “estimate the degree of increase in internal resistance”) and the fourth electrical feature corresponds to a further internal resistance of the second battery cell (Par. 41, 44 189-190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to wherein the second electrical feature corresponds to an internal resistance of the first battery cell and the fourth electrical feature corresponds to a further internal resistance of the second battery cell based on the teachings of Tsujiko in combination with Lee and Takeuchi in order to correct the estimated charge amount (Tsujiko Par. 41) thus improving the accuracy of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190180831 A1, US 9816475 B1, US 20170168119 A1, US 20170153292 A1, US 20150260795 A1, US 20090197125 A1,
/B.J.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857