DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Some sections of applicant’s arguments filed on 6/29/2026, regarding newly added limitations, with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the first set prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Other sections of applicant’s arguments filed on 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20, the applicant argued that, “…Regarding the first rejection…As can be seen, in the cited passages (and elsewhere), it appears that the scenario disclosed by Kim is different from the present application. Specifically, Kim discloses that the UE may apply MIB information and the SIB information received through the RRC message. However, it appears that Kim does not explicitly disclose that the UE may store the MIB information and the SIB information. In addition, Kim does not explicitly disclose the "ever-camped cells" and/or "ever-detected cells". In contrast, in the present application, the stored information is related to at least one of one or more ever-camped cells having been camped on by the apparatus previously, and one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously. That is, the stored information is not directly from the broadcast MIB or SIB. Instead, the stored information is from ever-camped cells or ever-detected cells. In addition, although Kim discloses that the UE calculates the SFN value to be applied to the SCG using the SFN information broadcast through the PCell of the MCG and the SFN offset received through the RRC message, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the SFN value is calculated using time information from the stored information …” in pages 10-18. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The broad claim is constructed based on its broadly recited limitation, in light of the specification1, as such “…An apparatus…storing, in the memory, information related to at least one of one or more ever-camped cells having been camped on by the apparatus previously and one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously” have interpreted accordingly. [Emphasis added].
Regarding storing information, the broad claim merely recites an apparatus storing information related to the cells, and there is no detail in the claim concerning what/how such information are being stored in such a way that is patentable. In this case, Kim discloses a user equipment with a memory that is couple to processor 1115 (see FIG. 11) receiving cell information and add/store in the memory accordingly in order to perform cell selecting/re-selection process recited in FIG. 2-3 (e.g. Step 200/300 “Add Scell”). A person of skill in the ordinary art (hereinafter POSITA) can clearly see that every UE/mobile communicates with eNB/Base station and stored receive cell information in its memory, and this fact is clearly shown, Inter alia, by Kim’s ¶¶ 64, 78, 83.
Regarding ever-camped cells and ever-detected, the broad merely recites UE stores one or more cell which have been camped/reside/home/shelter or detected. The term “previously” does not limit the claim in this claim context. As soon as UE receives and stores the cell information from eNodeB(s), which represent the cell(s), such cell(s) information become camped/resided/home/sheltered or detected cell(s) by said UE. Moreover, there is no detail in the claim concerning what/how such “ever-camped cells and ever-detected cells” are being stored in such a way that is patentable. Note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims2. In this case, Kim discloses storing acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/seNBs in Master Cell Group (MCG) or Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305.
In response to “the stored information is not directly from the broadcast MIB or SIB” argument that Kim fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,. Not directly from the broadcast MIB or SIB) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Moreover, nowhere in the original disclosure provides “any specific or detail format or specific method” of storing information from MIB or SIB. Thus, the argument is immaterial.
In response to “the SFN value is calculated using time information from the stored information” argument, the broad claim recites performing cell selection process by calculating/determining SFN using time information from the stored information related to cells. Again, there is no detail in the claim concerning what constitute “time information”, nor how does “store information relate to camped/detected cells” in such a way that is patentable. In this case, Kim’s FIG. 1, 3, 13, and 14 clearly derive/calculate a system frame number (SFN) using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN (of PCell) and offset value; note that acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN is occurrence timing/scheduling information and also SFN offset values is based on absolute time information; related/associated with one of more cell information which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 81, 83; also see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; see FIG. 3, step 340, also see FIG. 13, steps 1340, FIG. 14.
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20, the applicant argued that, “…Regarding the second rejection… With respect to the 103 rejections, the examiner opined that Akkapally does not explicitly disclose calculating a "system frame number (SFN)". Therefore, Kim is proposed. For reference, a copy of the cited passages of Kim is provided above. As can be seen, in the cited passages (and elsewhere), Kim has disclosed that the UE calculates the SFN value to be applied to the SCG using the SFN information broadcast through the PCell of the MCG and the SFN offset received through the RRC message. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the SFN value is calculated using time information from the stored information…” in page 15-18. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the arguments are directed toward Kim, the responses set forth above are hereby incorporated.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 11-13, the applicant argued that, “…Regarding the third rejection… With respect to the 103 rejections, the examiner opined that Lee does not explicitly disclose calculating a "system frame number (SFN)". Therefore, Kim is proposed. For reference, a copy of the cited passages of Kim is provided above. As can be seen, in the cited passages (and elsewhere), Kim has disclosed that the UE calculates the SFN value to be applied to the SCG using the SFN information broadcast through the PCell of the MCG and the SFN offset received through the RRC message. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the SFN value is calculated using time information from the stored information..” in pages 15-18.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the arguments are directed toward Kim, the responses set forth above are hereby incorporated.
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20, the applicant argued that, “…In addition, in amended Claim 1, Applicant further stresses that in amended Claim 1, the stored information for calculating SFN is related to at least one of the one or more ever-camped cells having been camped on by the apparatus previously and the one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously. It appears that Kim does not explicitly disclose that the information from the eNB for calculating the SFN value is related to at least one of the one or more ever-camped cells having been camped on by the UE previously and the one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the UE previously. Thus, Kim, Akkapally, and Lee are deficient with respect to amended Claim 1 as Kim, Akkapally, and Lee do not disclose each and every limitation of Claim 1. Therefore, amended Claim 1 is allowable over the prior art, including Kim, Akkapally, and Lee…” in page 16. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendment limitation are being addressed in view of new grounds rejections set forth below.
In conclusion, the broad claim invention, even as amended, are still clearly and precisely disclosed by (1) Kim in view of Lee, (2) Akkapally in view of Kim, and (3) Lee in view of Kim, respectively. Therefore, the rejections are hereby sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2015/0358957) in view of Lee (US 20130109391).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Kim discloses a method and apparatus (see FIG. 1, 11, User Equipment) of ultrafast cell selection (see ¶¶ 59,60, Cell selection/reselection), comprising:
a wireless interface (see FIG. 11, Transceiver 1100; see ¶64);
a memory (see FIG. 11, UE has a memory; see ¶¶ 64, 81); and
a processor coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (see FIG. 11, Processor 1115 connects to a memory; see ¶¶ 64, 81), the processor configured to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory by a processor of an apparatus, information (see FIG. 1, 11, processor store/add cell information; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 83) related to at least one of :
one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/seNBs in Master Cell Group (MCG) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305);
one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/SeNBs in Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305); and
performing, by the processor, a cell selection procedure (see FIG. 3, steps 310-345, FIG. 14, Steps 1315-1335; performing Scells/SeNBs selecting/reselection/adding process; see ¶¶ 38-42 , 68-75) using the stored information responsive to occurrence of an event (FIG. 3, Steps 310, 315, 330, 335: using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information according to RRC message/event; see ¶¶ 39-54; also see FIG. 13-14, ¶¶ 68-75),
wherein, in performing the cell selection procedure, the processor is further configured to calculate a system frame number (SFN) using time information from the stored information (see FIG. 3, step 340, also see FIG. 13, steps 1340, FIG. 14; Derive/calculate a system frame number (SFN)using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN (of PCell) and offset value; note that acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN is occurrence timing/scheduling information and also SFN offset values is based on absolute time information; see ¶¶ 41-42, 67-75) related to at least one of the one or more cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see FIG. 1, 11, related/associated with one of more cell information which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 81, 83; also see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60).
Although Kim discloses calculating a system frame number (SFN) using time information from the stored information related to at least one of the one or more cells as set forth above, Kim does not explicitly disclose calculating “related” to at least one of one or more “ever-camped” cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more “ever-detected” cells having been detected by the apparatus previously [Emphasis added]
However, Lee discloses a method and apparatus of ultrafast cell selection (see FIG. 3, User Equipment 300), comprising:
a wireless interface (see FIG. 3, Transceiver 350; see ¶¶24-25);
a memory (see FIG. 3, storage unit ¶¶ 24-25) and
a processor (see FIG. 3, processor 340) coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (see FIG. 3, communication with a storge unit; see ¶¶ 24-25), the processor configured to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory by a processor of an apparatus, information (see FIG. 3, storage unit stores/records network/cell information, see ¶¶ 24, 33-38, 40) related to at least one of :
one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 26, 33-38,40; one more cell-level/network-level cells where UE has been camped previously);
one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 26, 33-38,40; one or more network-level/cell-level cells which UE where UE has received/detected information previously)); and
performing, by the processor, a cell selection procedure (see FIG. 3, performing cell selection/re-selection process; see ¶¶ 26-27, 30-31,38-40) using the stored information responsive to occurrence of an event (see ¶¶ 6-8; 26-40; using stored/record network/cell information upon RRC state being idle state while monitoring paging channel; also see FIG. 9),
wherein, in performing the cell selection procedure, the processor is further configured to calculate frame numbers/information using time information from the stored information (see ¶¶ 31, 33, 35, 39, 40; derive/calculate frame numbers/information from stored/recorded time/schedule information; also see FIG. 9) related to at least one of the one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see FIG. 3, storage unit stores/records related/associated to network/cell information one more cell-level/network-level cells where UE has been camped previously or one or more network-level/cell-level cells which UE where UE has received/detected information previously, see ¶¶ 24, 33-38, 40).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide calculating “related” to at least one of one or more “ever-camped” cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more “ever-detected” cells having been detected by the apparatus previously as taught by Lee in the system of Kim so that it would provide cell selection/reselection without paging lost (see Lee ¶9).
Regarding claims 2, 12, Kim discloses an event comprises one of radio resource control (RRC) (FIG. 3, Steps 310, 315, 330, 335: using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information according to RRC message; see ¶¶ 39-54; also see FIG. 13-14, ¶¶ 68-75,).
Although Kim discloses an event comprises Radio resource control (RRC) as set forth above, Kim does not explicitly disclose radio resource control (RRC) “release to idle search”. [Emphasis added]
Lee discloses the event comprising RRC release to idle search (see ¶ 6; the event comprises RRC being Idle state/mode while monitoring paging channel in order to perform cell selection/reselection).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide radio resource control (RRC) “release to idle search” as taught by Lee in the system of Kim for the same reason as set forth in claims 1 and 11 above.
Regarding claims 3, 13, Kim discloses the stored information comprises at least one of: master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information (see ¶¶ 35, 39, 42, 68, 78, acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information is MIB and SIB). Lee also discloses the stored information comprises at least one of: master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information (see ¶¶ 35 and 40; stored cell-level information include MIB and SIB).
Claim(s) 4-7, 10, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee and further in view of Su et. al. (US 20150056997 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Kim discloses selecting a cell using the frequency of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells. (see ¶¶ 34-35. 45, 57, 59, 60; performing selecting/reselection/adding Scells/SeNBs using frequency of Master Cell Group (MCG) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before, OR Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before). Lee also discloses selecting a cell using the frequency of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells (see ¶¶ 31, 36, 37, 40; Cell selecting using frequence of one more cell-level/network-level cells of one or more network-level/cell-level cells which UE where UE has received/detected information).
Although the combined system of Kim and Lee discloses selecting a cell using the frequency of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells as set forth above, the combined system does not explicitly disclose selecting using the “PCI”. [Emphasis added]
However, Su discloses selecting a cell using the frequency and the PCI3 of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells (see ¶ 33: UE stores information related to candidate cells including a cell ID, a frequency, and a PCI, sorts the list to provide a re-selection criteria; see ¶ 48: candidate list component is configured to indicate that sorting and ranking of the strongest candidate cells in candidate list has been completed and provides the highest-ranked strongest candidate cell).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting using the “PCI” as taught by Su in the combined system of Kim and Lee so that it would reduce the amount of time it takes for a UE to acquire service from a new cell (see Su ¶ 29).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Kim discloses selecting the cell using: the MIB and SIB information from the stored information, or the SIB information from the stored information. (see ¶¶ 35, 39, 42, 68, 78, selection/reselection from acquisitioned/accessed/ stored MIB and SIB or SIB information.) Lee also discloses selecting the cell using: the MIB and SIB information from the stored information, or the SIB information from the stored information (see ¶¶ 35 and 40; cell selection using stored cell-level information include MIB and SIB).
Regarding claims 6, 16, Kim discloses selecting one of the one or more ever-camped cells and the one or more ever-detected cells as the selected cell (see FIG. 3, steps 310-345, FIG. 14, Steps 1315-1335; selecting/reselection/adding one of Scells/SeNBs in Master Cell Group (MCG)/ Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before ; see ¶¶ 38-54 , 68-75).
Lee discloses estimating and selecting one of the one or more ever-camped cells and the one or more ever-detected cells as the selected cell (see ¶¶ 26, 27, 30, 31, 38-40; monitoring and storing information in order to determine/compute/assess/estimate for cell selecting of one more cell-level/network-level cells where UE has been camped and one or more network-level/cell-level cells which UE where UE has received/detected information).
Su discloses estimating and selecting a cell (see ¶ 30: UE determines/estimates the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired).
Regarding claims 7, 17, Kim discloses performing downlink synchronization to obtain a frame timing of the selected cell using the stored information (see FIG. 13, Step 1335, 1340; see FIG. 14, performing downlink from MeNB by using SFN offset timing/synchronization a selected/derived SeNB using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored current SFN; see ¶¶ 41-42, 67-75). Lee also discloses performing downlink synchronization to obtain a frame timing of the selected cell using the stored information (FIG. 4, performing downlink time and frequency alignment/synchronization to obtain/get frame/sub-frame timing/alignment of the selected/re-selected cell using stored cell information; see ¶¶ 28-33).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Kim discloses SIB information comprises SIB for a Long term evolution (LTE) cell (see ¶¶ 35,39,42, 55,57,59,60,70; SIB use for LTE).
Although the Kim discloses SIB information comprises SIB for a Long term evolution (LTE) cell as set forth above, Kim does not explicitly disclose “SIB1 and SIB2” for a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) cell. [Emphasis added]
However, Lee discloses SIB comprising SIB1 and SIB2 for LTE cell (see ¶¶ 26,31-32, System information messages (SIB1 and SIB2) for LTE cells/system).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “SIB1 and SIB2” for a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) cell as taught by Lee in the combined system of Kim for the same as reason as set forth above.
Claim(s) 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Lee and Su , and further in view of Hapsari et. al. (US 20210336744 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 18, Kim discloses using of the MIB information comprising copying a MIB (see ¶¶ 35, 39, 42, 64, 68, 78, 83; received MIB information is copied/stored into a UE memory) and SFN as set forth above. Lee discloses using of the MIB information comprising copying a MIB (see ¶¶ 35 and 40; received MIB is stored/copied into UE storage/memory).
Although the combined system of Kim, Lee and Su, discloses using of the MIB information comprises copying a MIB, and SFN as set forth, the combined system does not explicitly disclose MIB “excluding” the SFN. [Emphasis added]
However, Hapsari discloses an MIB excluding a system frame number (SFN) (see ¶ 45, 48: information element included in MIB includes system frame number (SFN), SFN can be omitted/excluded).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide MIB “excluding” the SFN as taught by Hapsari in the combined system of Kim, Lee and Su so that it would perform initial cell setting (see Hapsari ¶ 35).
Second Rejection
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkapally et. al. (US 20150215860 A1) in view of Kim (US 2015/0358957).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Akkapally discloses a method and apparatus (see Fig. 1: UE 100; see ¶ 19: apparatus is a UE 100) of ultrafast cell selection (see ¶ 18: systems and methods to reduce cell reacquisition/selection time), comprising:
a wireless interface (see Fig. 1: communication unit 120, antenna 130; see ¶ 19: UE 100 includes a communications unit 120 and antenna 130);
a memory (see Fig. 1: Storage 180; see ¶19); and
a processor coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (see Fig. 1: control unit 110; see ¶ 21: control unit 110 is a microprocessor), the processor configured to perform operations comprising:
storing, by a processor of an apparatus, information (see Fig. 1: control unit 110, storage 180; see Fig. 3 block 315: store SIB info and value of MIB value tag in UE memory; see ¶ 29: the control unit 110 causes a decoded value of the MIB value tag and decoded information from the SIBs to be stored in the storage 180; also see ¶24) related to:
one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶ 23: UE cycles through and decodes the MIB and SIBs of all the cells, and cell information are detected and stored by the UE in UE memory; also see ¶24); and
performing, by the processor, a cell selection procedure using the stored information responsive to occurrence of an event (see Fig. 3, block 320-345; performing cell selection procedure, by determining the cell with the strongest signal and reacquiring connection with the determined cell, responsive to the occurrence of an event (i.e., the call being released); see ¶ 30-31: when the call is released, control unit of the UE determines the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired, the cell whose SIB information was read from storage is reacquired by the UE; also see ¶23-24);
wherein the performing of the cell selection procedure further comprises calculating a system information using time information from the stored information (see FIG. 3, Steps 325-350, performing cell selection procedure by determining/calculation system information using/reading stored time information (i.e. SIB14); also see ¶¶ 26-32) related to at least one of the one or more every-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see Fig. 1: control unit 110, storage 180; related/associated to cell information which are detected and stored by the UE in UE memory; see ¶¶ 18, 23, 26, 28, 31, 29, 32).
Although Akkapally discloses performing of the cell selection procedure further comprises calculating a system information using time information from the stored information as set forth above,
Akkapally does not explicitly disclose calculate a system “frame number (SFN)”. [Emphasis added]
However, Kim discloses a method and apparatus (see FIG. 1, 11, User Equipment) of ultrafast cell selection (see ¶¶ 59,60, Cell selection/reselection), comprising:
a wireless interface (see FIG. 11, Transceiver 1100; see ¶64);
a memory (see FIG. 11, UE has a memory; see ¶¶ 64, 81); and
a processor coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (see FIG. 11, Processor 1115 connects to a memory; see ¶¶ 64, 81), the processor configured to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory by a processor of an apparatus, information (see FIG. 1, 11, processor store/add cell information; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 83) related to at least one of :
one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/seNBs in Master Cell Group (MCG) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305);
one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/SeNBs in Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305); and
performing, by the processor, a cell selection procedure (see FIG. 3, steps 310-345, FIG. 14, Steps 1315-1335; performing Scells/SeNBs selecting/reselection/adding process; see ¶¶ 38-42 , 68-75) using the stored information responsive to occurrence of an event (FIG. 3, Steps 310, 315, 330, 335: using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information according to RRC message/event; see ¶¶ 39-54; also see FIG. 13-14, ¶¶ 68-75),
wherein, in performing the cell selection procedure, the processor is further configured to calculate a system frame number (SFN) using time information from the stored information (see FIG. 3, step 340, see FIG. 13, steps 1340, FIG. 14; Derive/calculate a system frame number (SFN)using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN (of PCell) and offset value; note that acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN is occurrence timing/scheduling information and also SFN offset values is based on absolute time information; see ¶¶ 41-42, 67-75) related to at least one of the one or more cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see FIG. 1, 11, related/associated with one of more cell information which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 81, 83; also see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide calculate a system “frame number (SFN)” as taught by Kim in the system of Akkapally , so that it would provide the advantage of applying different SFNs to different cells groups thereby overcoming handover failure ; see Kim ¶¶ 4, 12.
Regarding claims 3, 13, Akkapally discloses the stored information comprises some of: master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information (see ¶ 29: control unit 110 causes a decoded value of the MIB value tag/MIB information and decoded information from the SIBs to be stored in the storage 180). Kim also discloses the stored information comprises at least one of: master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information (see ¶¶ 35, 39, 42, 68, 78, acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information is MIB and SIB).
Claim(s) 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkapally in view of Kim, and further in view of Drevon et. al. (US 20150296420 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 12, Akkapally discloses an event triggering a cell selection procedure (see ¶ 30-31: when the call is released, control unit of the UE determines the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired,). Kim discloses an event comprises one of radio resource control (RRC) (FIG. 3, Steps 310, 315, 330, 335: using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information according to RRC message/event; see ¶¶ 39-54; also see FIG. 13-14, ¶¶ 68-75,).
Although the combined system of Akkapally and Kim discloses an event triggered cell selection procedure comprises one of radio resource control (RRC) as set forth above, the combined system does not explicitly disclose radio resource control (RRC) “release to idle search”. [Emphasis added]
However, Drevon discloses an event triggered cell selection procedure, the event comprising RRC release to idle search (see ¶ 87: RRC Connection Release message triggers a cell re-selection).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide RRC “release to idle” as taught by Drevon in the combined system of Akkapally and Kim so that it avoid loss of connectivity (see Drevon ¶ 144).
Claim(s) 4-7, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkapally in view of Kim and further in view of Su et. al. (US 20150056997 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Akkapally discloses performing cell selection procedure of one or more ever-detected cells (see ¶¶ 30-31: when the call is released, control unit of the UE determines the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired, the cell whose SIB information was read from storage is reacquired by the UE). Kim also discloses selecting a cell using the frequency of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells. (see ¶¶ 34-35. 45, 57, 59, 60; performing selecting/reselection/adding Scells/SeNBs using frequency of Master Cell Group (MCG) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before, OR Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before).
Although the combined system of Akkapally and Kim discloses selecting a cell using the frequency of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells as set forth above, the combined system does not explicitly disclose selecting using the “PCI”. [Emphasis added]
However, Su discloses selecting a cell using the frequency and the PCI5 of one of the one or more ever-camped cells or one of the one or more ever-detected cells (see ¶ 33: UE stores information related to candidate cells including a cell ID, a frequency, and a PCI, sorts the list to provide a re-selection criteria; see ¶ 48: candidate list component is configured to indicate that sorting and ranking of the strongest candidate cells in candidate list has been completed and provides the highest-ranked strongest candidate cell).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting using the “PCI” as taught by Su in the combined system of Akkapally and Kim so that it would reduce the amount of time it takes for a UE to acquire service from a new cell (see Su ¶ 29).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Akkapally discloses performing of the cell selection procedure further comprises selecting the cell using: the MIB and SIB information from the stored information (see ¶ 30-31: control unit of the UE determines the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired, the value of the MIB value tag stored in the storage 180 is compared to a broadcast MIB value tag, if the values are the same then SIB information is released from storage and is reacquired by the UE). Kim also discloses selecting the cell using: the MIB and SIB information from the stored information, or the SIB information from the stored information. (see ¶¶ 35, 39, 42, 68, 78, selection/reselection from acquisitioned/accessed/ stored MIB and SIB or SIB information.)
Regarding claims 6, 16, Akkapally discloses performing of the cell selection procedure (see Fig. 3 block 320-345; see ¶ 30-31: control unit of the UE determines the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired; determining the cell with the strongest signal is a cell selection procedure) and selecting one of the one or more ever-camped cells and the one or more ever-detected cells as the selected cell (see ¶ 30-31: the cell is reacquired/selected by the UE). Kim also discloses selecting one of the one or more ever-camped cells and the one or more ever-detected cells as the selected cell (see FIG. 3, steps 310-345, FIG. 14, Steps 1315-1335; selection selecting/reselection/adding one of Scells/SeNBs in Master Cell Group (MCG)/ Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before ; see ¶¶ 38-54 , 68-75).
Although the combined system of Akkapally and Kim discloses selecting one of the one or more ever-camped cells and the one or more ever-detected cells as the selected cell as set forth above, the combined system does not explicitly disclose “estimating”. [Emphasis added]
However, Su discloses estimating and selecting a cell (see ¶ 30: UE determines/estimates the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide estimating a cell as taught by Su in the combined system of Akkapally and Kim so that it would reduce the amount of time it takes for a UE to acquire service from a new cell (see Su ¶ 29).
Regarding claims 7, 17, Akkapally discloses performing downlink synchronization of the selected cell using the stored information (see FIG. 1-2, ; see ¶ 24, 29-31: performing downlink (from base station) scheduling/synchronization of selected/acquired/reacquired cell by using stored SIB information; also see Fig. 3 block 315-345; information from MIB value tag and decoded information from the SIBs are stored, control unit of the UE determines the cell with the strongest signal as a target cell to be reacquired and compares stored MIB tag value current MIB value, SIB scheduling/synchronization is read from storage, UE reacquires connection with the determined cell).
Although Akkapally discloses performing downlink synchronization using the stored information as set forth above, the combined system does not explicitly disclose performing downlink synchronization “to obtain a frame timing” of the selected cell. [Emphasis added]
Kim discloses performing downlink synchronization to obtain a frame timing of the selected cell using the stored information (see FIG. 13, Step 1335, 1340; see FIG. 14, performing downlink from MeNB by using SFN offset timing/synchronization a selected/derived SeNB using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored current SFN; see ¶¶ 41-42, 67-75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing downlink synchronization “to obtain a frame timing” of the selected cell as taught by Kim in the system of Akkapally , so that it would provide the advantage of applying different SFNs to different cells groups thereby overcoming handover failure ; see Kim see ¶¶ 4, 12.
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkapally in view of Kim and Su and further in of Hapsari et. al. (US 20210336744 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 18, Akkapally discloses using of the MIB information (see ¶ 30-31: the value of the MIB value tag stored in the storage 180 is compared to a broadcast MIB value tag). Kim discloses using of the MIB information comprising copying a MIB (see ¶¶ 35, 39, 42, 64, 68, 78, 83; received MIB information is copied/stored into a UE memory) and SFN as set forth above.
Although the combined system of Akkapally, Kim and Su, discloses using of the MIB information comprises copying a MIB, and SFN as set forth, the combined system does not explicitly disclose MIB “excluding” the SFN. [Emphasis added]
However, Hapsari discloses an MIB excluding a system frame number (SFN) (see ¶ 45, 48: information element included in MIB includes system frame number (SFN), SFN can be omitted/excluded).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide MIB “excluding” the SFN as taught by Hapsari in the combined system of Akkapally, Kim and Su so that it would perform initial cell setting (see Hapsari ¶ 35).
Claim(s) 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkapally in view of Su and Kim, and further in view of Moniem-Tech (“The Difference between SIBs in 4G and 5G”, Moniem-Tech. (2021, October 8)).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Akkapally discloses SIB information comprises SIB1 for one network and SIB and SIB2 for another network (see ¶ 24:Table 1, SIB1, and SIB2). Kim discloses SIB information comprises SIB for a Long term evolution (LTE) cell (see ¶¶ 35,39,42, 55,57,59,60,70; SIB use for LTE).
While the combined system of Akkapally, Kim and Su discloses SIB information comprises SIB for a Long term evolution (LTE) cell as set forth above, the combined system does not explicitly disclose “SIB1 for New Radio (NR) cell” or “SIB1 and SIB2” for a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) cell. [Emphasis added]
However, Moniem-Tech discloses SIB comprising SIB1 for NR cell, and SIB1 and SIB2 for LTE cell (see Section 1, “Difference Number 1”: LTE MIB, SIB1, and SIB2 are mandatory for the UE to access a cell, in 5G, UE should receive as a minimum MIB and SIB1 and does not need to receive other SIBs).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide SIB1 for New Radio (NR) cell” or “SIB1 and SIB2” for a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) cell as taught by Moniem-Tech in the combined system of Akkapally , Kim and Su to provide access to the network (see Moniem-Tech opening paragraph).
Third Rejection:
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130109391) in view of KIM (US 2015/0358957).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Lee discloses a method and apparatus of ultrafast cell selection (see FIG. 3, User Equipment 300), comprising:
a wireless interface (see FIG. 3, Transceiver 350; see ¶¶24-25);
a memory (see FIG. 3, storage unit ¶¶ 24-25) and
a processor (see FIG. 3, processor 340) coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (see FIG. 3, communication with a storge unit; see ¶¶ 24-25), the processor configured to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory by a processor of an apparatus, information (see FIG. 3, storage unit stores/records network/cell information, see ¶¶ 24, 33-38, 40) related to at least one of :
one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 26, 33-38,40; one more cell-level/network-level cells where UE has been camped previously);
one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 26, 33-38,40; one or more network-level/cell-level cells which UE where UE has received/detected information previously)); and
performing, by the processor, a cell selection procedure (see FIG. 3, performing cell selection/re-selection process; see ¶¶ 26-27, 30-31,38-40) using the stored information responsive to occurrence of an event (see ¶¶ 6-8; 26-40; using stored/record network/cell information upon RRC state being idle state while monitoring paging channel; also see FIG. 9),
wherein, in performing the cell selection procedure, the processor is further configured to calculate frame numbers/information using time information from the stored information (see ¶¶ 31, 33, 35, 39, 40; derive/calculate frame numbers/information from stored/recorded time/schedule information; also see FIG. 9) related to at least one of the one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see FIG. 3, storage unit stores/records related/associated to network/cell information one more cell-level/network-level cells where UE has been camped previously or one or more network-level/cell-level cells which UE where UE has received/detected information previously, see ¶¶ 24, 33-38, 40).
Although Lee discloses performing the cell selection procedure, the processor is further configured to calculate frame numbers/information using time information from the stored information as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose calculate “a system frame number (SFN)”. [Emphasis added]
However, Kim discloses a method and apparatus (see FIG. 1, 11, User Equipment) of ultrafast cell selection (see ¶¶ 59,60, Cell selection/reselection), comprising:
a wireless interface (see FIG. 11, Transceiver 1100; see ¶64);
a memory (see FIG. 11, UE has a memory; see ¶¶ 64, 81); and
a processor coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (see FIG. 11, Processor 1115 connects to a memory; see ¶¶ 64, 81), the processor configured to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory by a processor of an apparatus, information (see FIG. 1, 11, processor store/add cell information; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 83) related to at least one of :
one or more ever-camped cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/seNBs in Master Cell Group (MCG) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305);
one or more ever-detected cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60; acquisition/accessing/storing Scells/SeNBs in Secondary Cell Group (SCGBC) which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; also see FIG. 2, Steps 200, 205; see FIG. 3, Steps 300, 305); and
performing, by the processor, a cell selection procedure (see FIG. 3, steps 310-345, FIG. 14, Steps 1315-1335; performing Scells/SeNBs selecting/reselection/adding process; see ¶¶ 38-42 , 68-75) using the stored information responsive to occurrence of an event (FIG. 3, Steps 310, 315, 330, 335: using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information according to RRC message/event; see ¶¶ 39-54; also see FIG. 13-14, ¶¶ 68-75),
wherein, in performing the cell selection procedure, the processor is further configured to calculate a system frame number (SFN) using time information from the stored information (see FIG. 3, step 340, see FIG. 13, steps 1340, FIG. 14; Derive/calculate a system frame number (SFN)using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN (of PCell) and offset value; note that acquisitioned/accessed/ stored SFN is occurrence timing/scheduling information and also SFN offset values is based on absolute time information; see ¶¶ 41-42, 67-75) related to at least one of the one or more cells having been detected by the apparatus previously or one or more cells having been detected by the apparatus previously (see FIG. 1, 11, related/associated with one of more cell information which have been detected/acquisitioned by the UE before; see ¶¶ 64, 78, 81, 83; also see ¶¶ 34, 36, 39, 42, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide calculate “a system frame number (SFN)” as taught by Kim in the system of Lee, so that it would provide the advantage of applying different SFNs to different cells groups thereby overcoming handover failure ; see Kim see ¶¶ 4, 12.
Regarding claims 2, 12, Lee discloses the event comprising RRC release to idle search (see ¶ 6; the event comprises RRC being Idle state/mode while monitoring paging channel in order to perform cell selection/reselection). Kim discloses an event comprises one of radio resource control (RRC) (FIG. 3, Steps 310, 315, 330, 335: using acquisitioned/accessed/ stored cell information according to RRC message; see ¶¶ 39-54; also see FIG. 13-14, ¶¶ 68-75,).
Regarding claims 3, 13, Lee discloses the stored information comprises at least one of: master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information (see ¶¶ 31-38, 40, stored/record network/cell information comprises MIB and SIB).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
2 See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993)
3 PCI=Physical-layer Cell Identity
4 Per Table 1: SIB1= The system information block type 1 contains NAS system information as well as UE timers and counters to be used in idle mode and in connected mode.
5 PCI=Physical-layer Cell Identity