DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the claim amendments and Applicant’s Remarks filed 22 January 2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1 and 9, and the cancelation of claim 20. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 should read “wherein the small sample dispense device is connected to the patient connector” [lines 2-3].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner Notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,145 (hereinafter Burkholz ‘145) [which the Examiner notes incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 therein] in view of Burkholz (US-20140309551-A, previously presented).
Conflicting claim 3 of Burkholz ‘145 is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 1 of the instant application [see comparison below], except for the limitations “a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing” and wherein the blood collection device is “connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device”, wherein the blood collection container is an “evacuated” blood collection container, and “wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample”.
Burkholz ‘551 teaches a blood sample collection system comprising: a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1)]; a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1); The blood sampling device 110 is configured as part of a larger extravascular system 10, and is configured to receive the fluid sample from a separate vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶0033, Fig. 1), wherein as depicted in Burkholz Fig. 1, the blood sampling device is connected to the proximal end of the vascular access device 12 (housing) via the extension tubing 20; the sampling device 110 may be directly connected to an intravenous catheter hub, without additional components such as extension tubing 20, to reduce the number of components and simplify the collection and sampling process (Burkholz ‘551 ¶0034)]; and a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 5); the sampling device 110 is instead connected to the sample container collection device 112 through the threaded port 128 and outflow lumen 126. The sample container collection device 112 may be a vacuum tube collection system (e.g., a Vacutainer). A sample container 138 may be a vacuum evacuated test tube having a pierceable closure or other suitable medical container, as is known in the art (Burkholz ‘551 ¶0046); The sample container collection device 112 includes a generally cylindrical body 140 having a fastener 142 for connecting the collection device 112 to the body of the sampling device 110. For example, the collection device 112 may be configured to attach to the threaded port 128 of the sampling device 110 through a corresponding threaded cap 144. The cylindrical body 140 defines an interior region 146 having an open end 148 which receives the sample container 138 (Burkholz ¶0047, Fig. 5); Once the blood sampling device 110 is removed from the extravascular system 10, blood may be expelled from the sampling device 110, as described in greater detail below, to a point-of-care testing device 30 (shown in FIG. 14) such as a test strip, glass slide, diagnostic cartridge, or other testing device for testing and analysis (Burkholz ‘551 ¶0037); In certain configurations, the sampling device 110 is configured to retain blood when uncompressed and to eject an amount of blood when compressed. As such, once removed from the extravascular system 10, blood is naturally retained within the reservoir 118 of the blood sampling device 110 until the compressible portion 134 is compressed by a clinician (Burkholz ‘551 ¶0043)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Burkholz ‘145 to employ a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, and wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample, so as to facilitate point-of-care testing of collected blood samples [Burkholz ‘551 ¶0037]; and it would have been further obvious to employ an evacuated blood collection container, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Conflicting claim 3 of the modified Burkholz ‘145 in view of Burkholz ‘551 is further considered to render obvious instant dependent claims 5-7 [see Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0036, 0042-0043, 0047].
Conflicting claim 3 of Burkholz ‘145 is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 9 of the instant application [see comparison of claim 1 of the instant application below; wherein a “vascular access device” (instant claim 9) is considered to be broader than “a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end; an instrument disposed within the housing; an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing” (instant claim 1)], except for the limitations “a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing” and wherein the blood collection device is “connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device”, wherein the blood collection container is an “evacuated” blood collection container, “wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample”, and “wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device”.
Burkholz ‘551 teaches a blood sample collection system comprising: a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1)]; a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0033, 0034, Fig. 1)]; and a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037, 0043, 0046-0047, Fig. 5)], and wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device [This is because the blood sampling device 110 combines the ability to perform the processes of venting the extravascular system and obtaining a blood sample into a single device. More specifically, the blood sampling device 110 is configured to vent air from the extravascular system 10, thereby drawing blood from the vascular access device 12 through extension tubing 20 to the sampling device 110 (Burkholz ¶0036), wherein the Examiner notes that based on the Applicant’s reference to “flashback” in the Applicant’s Specification merely referring to blood being present for the purposes of confirming placement of a needle/catheter in a blood vessel (Applicant’s Specification ¶0005), the recited limitation is anticipated as Burkholz discloses venting to allow for blood flow into the blood sampling device 110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Burkholz ‘145 to employ a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample, and wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device, so as to allow for air to be vented during collection of small volumes of blood samples and to facilitate point-of-care testing of collected blood samples [Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037-0038]; and it would have been further obvious to employ an evacuated blood collection container, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Conflicting claim 3 of the modified Burkholz ‘145 in view of Burkholz ‘551 is further considered to render obvious instant dependent claims 16-18 and 20 [see Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0036, 0042-0043, 0047].
Claim 1 of the Instant Application
Claim 3 of Conflicting Burkholz Patent 12,343,145 (hereinafter Burkholz ‘145) [which the Examiner notes incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 therein]
An instrument advancement device comprising:
An extension set to provide access to a patient’s vascular system, comprising:… an instrument… a translation handle… wherein the translation handle is configured to… translate the distal end of the instrument between a retracted position and an advanced position [Burkholz ‘145 Col 11:62-63, 66; Col 12:1, 2, 4-6, wherein the Examiner notes that the extension set of Burkholz ‘145 being configured to advance an instrument is considered to define an “instrument advancement device”]
a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end;
a tube, comprising a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface [Burkholz ‘145 Col 11:64-65]
an instrument disposed within the housing;
an instrument disposed within the tube, the instrument comprising a proximal end and a distal end [Burkholz ‘145 Col 11:66-67]
an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing;
a translation handle coupled to the outer surface of the tube, wherein the translation handle is configured to move along the outer surface of the tube between a proximal position and a distal position to translate the distal end of the instrument between a retracted position and an advanced position, wherein in response to the distal end of the instrument being in the advanced position, the distal end of the instrument extends beyond the distal end of the tube [Burkholz ‘145 Col 12:1-9]
a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is configured to receive a blood collection container.
an extension tube is coupled to the proximal end of the instrument and wherein the proximal end of the fluid path assembly comprises a proximal connector configured to connect to a blood collection device [Burkholz ‘145 Col 12:27-30, wherein the proximal connector is considered to read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of a blood collection device, as the proximal connector is similarly configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container/device (blood collection device of Burkholz ‘145)]
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,800 [which the Examiner notes incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 therein] in view of Burkholz ‘551.
Conflicting claim 3 of Scherich is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 1 of the instant application [see comparison below], except for the limitations “a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing” and wherein the blood collection device is “connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device”, wherein the blood collection container is an “evacuated” blood collection container, and “wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample”.
Burkholz ‘551 teaches a blood sample collection system comprising: a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1)]; a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0033-0034, Fig. 1)]; and a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037, 0043, 0046-0047, Fig. 5)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Scherich to employ a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, and wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample, so as to facilitate point-of-care testing of collected blood samples [Burkholz ‘551 ¶0037]; and it would have been further obvious to employ an evacuated blood collection container, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Conflicting claim 3 of the modified Scherich in view of Burkholz ‘551 is further considered to render obvious instant dependent claims 5-7 [see Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0036, 0042-0043, 0047].
Conflicting claim 3 of Scherich is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 9 of the instant application [see comparison of claim 1 of the instant application below; wherein a “vascular access device” (instant claim 9) is considered to be broader than “a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end; an instrument disposed within the housing; an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing” (instant claim 1)], except for the limitations “a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing” and wherein the blood collection device is “connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device”, wherein the blood collection container is an “evacuated” blood collection container, “wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample”, and “wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device”.
Burkholz ‘551 teaches a blood sample collection system comprising: a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1)]; a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0033, 0034, Fig. 1)]; and a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037, 0043, 0046-0047, Fig. 5)], and wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device [Burkholz ¶0036, wherein the Examiner notes that based on the Applicant’s reference to “flashback” in the Applicant’s Specification merely referring to blood being present for the purposes of confirming placement of a needle/catheter in a blood vessel (Applicant’s Specification ¶0005), the recited limitation is anticipated as Burkholz discloses venting to allow for blood flow into the blood sampling device 110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Scherich to employ a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample, and wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device, so as to allow for air to be vented during collection of small volumes of blood samples and to facilitate point-of-care testing of collected blood samples [Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037-0038]; and it would have been further obvious to employ an evacuated blood collection container, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Conflicting claim 3 of the modified Scherich in view of Burkholz ‘551 is further considered to render obvious instant dependent claims 16-18 and 20 [see Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0036, 0042-0043, 0047].
Claim 1 of the Instant Application
Claim 3 of Conflicting Scherich Patent 12,201,800 [which the Examiner notes incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 therein]
An instrument advancement device comprising:
An extension set to provide access to a patient’s vascular system, comprising:… an instrument… a translation handle… wherein the translation handle is configured to… translate the distal end of the instrument [Scherich Col 16:27-28, 31, 35, 36, 38-40, wherein the Examiner notes that the extension set of Scherich being configured to advance an instrument is considered to define an “instrument advancement device”]
a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end;
a tube, comprising a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface [Scherich Col 16:29-30]
an instrument disposed within the housing;
an instrument disposed within the tube, the instrument comprising a proximal end and a distal end [Scherich Col 16:31-32]
an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing;
a translation handle coupled to the outer surface of the tube, wherein the translation handle is configured to move along the outer surface of the tube between a proximal position and a distal position to translate the distal end of the instrument between a retracted position and an advanced position, wherein the distal end of the instrument is configured to extend beyond the distal end of the tube when the instrument is in the advanced position [Scherich Col 16:35-43]
a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is configured to receive a blood collection container.
an extension tube is coupled to the proximal end of the instrument, and wherein the fluid path assembly comprises a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end of the fluid path assembly comprising a proximal connector configured to connect to a blood collection device [Scherich Col 16:55-60, wherein the proximal connector is considered to read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of a blood collection device, as the proximal connector is similarly configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container (blood collection device of Scherich)]
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 16-18, and 20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/603,324 (hereinafter Burkholz ‘324) [which the Examiner notes incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 therein] in view of Burkholz ‘551.
Conflicting claim 3 of Burkholz ‘324 is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 1 of the instant application [see comparison below], except for the limitations “a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing”, wherein the blood collection device is “connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device”, and “wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample”.
Burkholz ‘551 teaches a blood sample collection system comprising: a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1)]; a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0033-0034, Fig. 1)]; and a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037, 0043, 0046-0047, Fig. 5)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Burkholz ‘324 to employ a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, and wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample, so as to facilitate point-of-care testing of collected blood samples [Burkholz ‘551 ¶0037].
Conflicting claim 3 of the modified Burkholz ‘324 in view of Burkholz ‘551 is further considered to render obvious instant dependent claims 5-7 [see Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0036, 0042-0043, 0047].
Conflicting claim 3 of Burkholz ‘324 is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 9 of the instant application [see comparison of claim 1 of the instant application below; wherein a “vascular access device” (instant claim 9) is considered to be broader than “a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end; an instrument disposed within the housing; an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing” (instant claim 1)], except for the limitations “a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing” and wherein the blood collection device is “connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device”, “wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample”, and “wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device”.
Burkholz ‘551 teaches a blood sample collection system comprising: a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ‘551 Fig. 1)]; a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0033, 0034, Fig. 1)]; and a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037, 0043, 0046-0047, Fig. 5)], and wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device [Burkholz ¶0036, wherein the Examiner notes that based on the Applicant’s reference to “flashback” in the Applicant’s Specification merely referring to blood being present for the purposes of confirming placement of a needle/catheter in a blood vessel (Applicant’s Specification ¶0005), the recited limitation is anticipated as Burkholz discloses venting to allow for blood flow into the blood sampling device 110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Burkholz ‘324 to employ a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing, wherein the blood collection device is connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample, and wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device, so as to allow for air to be vented during collection of small volumes of blood samples and to facilitate point-of-care testing of collected blood samples [Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0037-0038].
Conflicting claim 3 of the modified Burkholz ‘324 in view of Burkholz ‘551 is further considered to render obvious instant dependent claims 16-18 and 20 [see Burkholz ‘551 ¶¶0036, 0042-0043, 0047].
Claim 1 of the Instant Application
Claim 3 of Conflicting Burkholz Patent Application 18/603,324 (hereinafter Burkholz ‘324) [which the Examiner notes incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 therein]
An instrument advancement device comprising:
the blood draw device comprising: a catheter tube… an advancement member movably coupled to the housing and configured to move relative to the housing to move the catheter tube [Burkholz ‘324 claim 1, lines 2-4, 8-10, wherein the Examiner notes that the device of Burkholz ‘324 being configured to advance an instrument is considered to define an “instrument advancement device”]
a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end;
the blood draw device comprising: a catheter tube; a housing having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion and defining an inner volume configured to movably receive the catheter tube [Burkholz ‘324 claim 1, lines 2-7]
an instrument disposed within the housing;
a catheter tube [Burkholz ‘324 claim 1, line 4]
an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing;
an advancement member movably coupled to the housing and configured to move relative to the housing to move the catheter tube between a first position, in which the catheter tube is disposed within the housing, and a second position, in which a distal end of the catheter tube is disposed beyond the distal end portion of the housing and past a distal tip of the indwelling arterial catheter [Burkholz ‘324 claim 1, lines 8-15]
a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the instrument, wherein the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container.
a secondary catheter coupled to the advancement member and extending out proximally therefrom and out through the proximal end portion of the housing, the secondary catheter in fluid communication with the catheter tube; and a collection device coupled to the proximal end of the secondary catheter, so as to be in fluid communication with the secondary catheter and the catheter tube [Burkholz ‘324 claim 1, lines 16-23]
wherein the blood draw device comprises a coupler connected to a proximal end of the secondary catheter, and wherein the collection device is connected to the coupler [Burkholz ‘324 claim 2, lines 1-4]
wherein the collection device comprises a vacuum-assisted collection device [Burkholz ‘324 claim 3, lines 1-2]
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burkholz (US-20140309551-A1, previously presented), hereinafter “Burkholz” in § 102 / § 103 sections.
Regarding claim 9, Burkholz teaches
A blood sample collection system comprising:
a vascular access device [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz Fig. 1)];
a small sample dispense device connected to the vascular access device [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz Fig. 1); The blood sampling device 110 is configured as part of a larger extravascular system 10, and is configured to receive the fluid sample from a separate vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ¶0033, Fig. 1), wherein as depicted in Burkholz Fig. 1, the blood sampling device is connected to the proximal end of the vascular access device 12 (housing) via the extension tubing 20; the sampling device 110 may be directly connected to an intravenous catheter hub, without additional components such as extension tubing 20, to reduce the number of components and simplify the collection and sampling process (Burkholz ¶0034)]; and
a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, wherein the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the vascular access device and is configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz Fig. 5); the sampling device 110 is instead connected to the sample container collection device 112 through the threaded port 128 and outflow lumen 126. The sample container collection device 112 may be a vacuum tube collection system (e.g., a Vacutainer). A sample container 138 may be a vacuum evacuated test tube having a pierceable closure or other suitable medical container, as is known in the art (Burkholz ¶0046); The sample container collection device 112 includes a generally cylindrical body 140 having a fastener 142 for connecting the collection device 112 to the body of the sampling device 110. For example, the collection device 112 may be configured to attach to the threaded port 128 of the sampling device 110 through a corresponding threaded cap 144. The cylindrical body 140 defines an interior region 146 having an open end 148 which receives the sample container 138 (Burkholz ¶0047, Fig. 5); Once the blood sampling device 110 is removed from the extravascular system 10, blood may be expelled from the sampling device 110, as described in greater detail below, to a point-of-care testing device 30 (shown in FIG. 14) such as a test strip, glass slide, diagnostic cartridge, or other testing device for testing and analysis (Burkholz ¶0037); In certain configurations, the sampling device 110 is configured to retain blood when uncompressed and to eject an amount of blood when compressed. As such, once removed from the extravascular system 10, blood is naturally retained within the reservoir 118 of the blood sampling device 110 until the compressible portion 134 is compressed by a clinician (Burkholz ¶0043)],
wherein the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device [This is because the blood sampling device 110 combines the ability to perform the processes of venting the extravascular system and obtaining a blood sample into a single device. More specifically, the blood sampling device 110 is configured to vent air from the extravascular system 10, thereby drawing blood from the vascular access device 12 through extension tubing 20 to the sampling device 110 (Burkholz ¶0036), wherein the Examiner notes that based on the Applicant’s reference to “flashback” in the Applicant’s Specification merely referring to blood being present for the purposes of confirming placement of a needle/catheter in a blood vessel (Applicant’s Specification ¶0005), the recited limitation is anticipated as Burkholz discloses venting to allow for blood flow into the blood sampling device 110].
Regarding claim 10, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9, wherein the vascular access device comprises a catheter adapter including a catheter [The vascular access device 12 may include numerous components such as an intravascular needle 14, an over-the-needle catheter 16 (Burkholz ¶0033), wherein the Examiner notes that the structure depicted in Fig. 1 and defined by the vascular access device as coupled to the catheter 16 is considered to read on a “catheter adapter”] and a patient connector [The vascular access device 12 may include numerous components such as… luer access adapter 22 (Burkholz ¶0033, Fig. 1)], the small sample dispense device connected to the patient connector [The housing body 114 of the biological sampling device 110 includes a narrow tubular portion 120 having an access lumen 122 configured to establish fluid communication with the separate vascular access device 12. For example, the narrow tubular portion 120 may be a male luer lock connection 124 adapted for insertion into the female luer access adapter 22 of the vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ¶0038, Fig. 2)].
Regarding claim 11, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 10, wherein the patient connector is connected to the catheter adapter via tubing [extension tubing 20 (Burkholz Fig. 1); thereby drawing blood from the vascular access device 12 through extension tubing 20 to the sampling device 110 (Burkholz ¶0036)].
Regarding claim 12, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 10, wherein the vascular access device comprises extension tubing [extension tubing 20 (Burkholz ¶0036, Fig. 1)].
Regarding claim 13, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9, wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to receive a volume of 0.3 to 500 microliters [The reservoir 118 is enclosed within the housing body 114 and includes an internal volume sufficient to contain enough blood for use in a diagnostic test, for example, an internal volume of between about 0.1 mL and about 10 mL. Because different blood tests require different quantities of blood, in some embodiments, the reservoir 118 is sized to retain a quantity of blood needed for a specific test or a specific number of tests (Burkholz ¶0038)].
Regarding claim 14, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9, wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to receive a volume of 0.3 to 100 microliters [Burkholz ¶0038, wherein the Examiner notes that it is understood that the reservoir 118 being configured to receive 0.1 mL (100 microliters) is considered to read on the reservoir 118 being configured to receive any amount of fluid between 0 μL and 100 μL, as blood is considered to flow into the reservoir 118 at a rate].
Regarding claim 16, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9, wherein the small sample dispense device is removably attached to the blood collection device [Burkholz ¶0047].
Regarding claim 17, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 16, wherein the small sample dispense device comprises a needle-free connector configured to be connected to the blood sample collection device [Burkholz ¶0047, wherein the body 140 having a fastener 142 configured to couple to threaded cap 144 of the sampling device 110 is considered to define a needle-free connector].
Regarding claim 18, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9, wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be squeezed to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device [the blood sampling device 110 includes a compressible portion 134 (Burkholz ¶0042); the sampling device 110 is configured to retain blood when uncompressed and to eject an amount of blood when compressed. As such, once removed from the extravascular system 10, blood is naturally retained within the reservoir 118 of the blood sampling device 110 until the compressible portion 134 is compressed by a clinician (Burkholz ¶0043, Fig. 14)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz (US-20140309551-A, previously presented) in view of Devgon (US-20200100716-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 1, Burkholz teaches
A device comprising:
a housing comprising a fluid path, a distal end, and a proximal end [vascular access device 12 (Burkholz Fig. 1); drawing blood from the vascular access device 12 through extension tubing 20 to the sampling device 110 (Burkholz ¶0036), wherein the Examiner notes that the extension tubing 20 is considered to be coupled to a proximal end of the vascular access device 12 and the needle 14 is considered to be positioned at a distal end of the vascular access device 12 (see Burkholz Fig. 1)];
a small sample dispense device connected to the proximal end of the housing [blood sampling device 110 (Burkholz Fig. 1); The blood sampling device 110 is configured as part of a larger extravascular system 10, and is configured to receive the fluid sample from a separate vascular access device 12 (Burkholz ¶0033, Fig. 1), wherein as depicted in Burkholz Fig. 1, the blood sampling device is connected to the proximal end of the vascular access device 12 (housing) via the extension tubing 20; the sampling device 110 may be directly connected to an intravenous catheter hub, without additional components such as extension tubing 20, to reduce the number of components and simplify the collection and sampling process (Burkholz ¶0034)]; and
a blood collection device connected to a proximal end of the small sample dispense device, the blood collection device is configured to receive an evacuated blood collection container, wherein the small sample dispense device is detachable from the housing and configured to dispense a blood sample [body 140 (Burkholz Fig. 5); the sampling device 110 is instead connected to the sample container collection device 112 through the threaded port 128 and outflow lumen 126. The sample container collection device 112 may be a vacuum tube collection system (e.g., a Vacutainer). A sample container 138 may be a vacuum evacuated test tube having a pierceable closure or other suitable medical container, as is known in the art (Burkholz ¶0046); The sample container collection device 112 includes a generally cylindrical body 140 having a fastener 142 for connecting the collection device 112 to the body of the sampling device 110. For example, the collection device 112 may be configured to attach to the threaded port 128 of the sampling device 110 through a corresponding threaded cap 144. The cylindrical body 140 defines an interior region 146 having an open end 148 which receives the sample container 138 (Burkholz ¶0047, Fig. 5); Once the blood sampling device 110 is removed from the extravascular system 10, blood may be expelled from the sampling device 110, as described in greater detail below, to a point-of-care testing device 30 (shown in FIG. 14) such as a test strip, glass slide, diagnostic cartridge, or other testing device for testing and analysis (Burkholz ¶0037); In certain configurations, the sampling device 110 is configured to retain blood when uncompressed and to eject an amount of blood when compressed. As such, once removed from the extravascular system 10, blood is naturally retained within the reservoir 118 of the blood sampling device 110 until the compressible portion 134 is compressed by a clinician (Burkholz ¶0043)].
However, Burkholz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the device further comprises: an instrument disposed within the housing; an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing.
Devgon discloses an instrument advancement device comprising a housing [fluid transfer device 210 (Devgon Figs. 5-7); the fluid transfer device 210 includes at least an introducer 215, an actuator 220, and a catheter 230 (Devgon ¶0069)], an instrument disposed within the housing [catheter 230 (Devgon Fig. 7); Although not shown, the introducer 215 defines an inner volume within which at least a portion of the catheter 230 and at least a portion of the actuator 220 are movably disposed (Devgon ¶0070)]; an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to a distal end of the housing [actuator 220 (Devgon Figs. 5-7); As described in further detail herein, prior to use, the catheter 230 can be in a first position, configuration, and/or state in which the catheter 230 is disposed or substantially disposed within the inner volume of the introducer 215… In use, the catheter 230 can be transitioned to a second position, configuration, and/or state in which at least a portion of the catheter 230 is distal to and outside of the introducer 215 (Devgon ¶0070); The catheter 230 of the transfer device 210 is movably disposed within the inner volume defined by the introducer 215 and is coupled to the actuator 220. In some embodiments, the catheter 230 can be moved (e.g., via movement of the actuator 220) between a first position and a second position to transition the transfer device 210 between the first configuration and the second configuration, respectively (Devgon ¶0072)]; and a blood collection device coupled to a proximal end of the housing [a proximal end portion of the catheter 230 and/or the outlet or secondary catheter 245 can be coupled to a fluid reservoir, fluid source, syringe, and/or the like via a coupler 246, which in turn, places the catheter 230 in fluid communication therewith (Devgon ¶0074, Figs. 5-7)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Burkholz to define an instrument advancement device and employ an instrument disposed within the housing; an advancement element, wherein in response to movement of the advancement element with respect to the housing, the instrument is configured to advance distal to the distal end of the housing, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element [elements of the housing of Burkholz to place to fluidically couple the blood collection device with a fluid source] for another [instrument and advancement element of Devgon] with similar expected results [fluidically couple a blood collection device to a sampling location] [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 2, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 1, wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to receive a volume of 0.3 to 500 microliters [Burkholz ¶0038].
Regarding claim 3, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 2, wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to receive a volume of 0.3 to 100 microliters [Burkholz ¶0038, wherein the Examiner notes that it is understood that the reservoir 118 being configured to receive 0.1 mL (100 microliters) is considered to read on the reservoir 118 being configured to receive any amount of fluid between 0 μL and 100 μL, as blood is considered to flow into the reservoir 118 at a rate].
Regarding claim 5, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 1, wherein the small sample dispense device is removably attached to the blood collection device [Burkholz ¶0047].
Regarding claim 6, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 5, wherein the small sample dispense device comprises a needle-free connector configured to be connected to the blood sample collection device [Burkholz ¶0047, wherein the body 140 having a fastener 142 configured to couple to threaded cap 144 of the sampling device 110 is considered to define a needle-free connector].
Regarding claim 7, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 1, wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be squeezed to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device [Burkholz ¶¶0042-0043, Fig. 14].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz in view of Devgon, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Bischof (US-6126618-A, previously presented).
Regarding claim 4, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 1.
However, while Burkholz discloses integrally forming portions of the blood sample collection system [It is also intended herein, that an integrated unit of both the luer access adapter 22 and the sampling device 110 may be provided within the scope of the present invention (Burkholz ¶0035)], Burkholz in view of Devgon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the small sample dispense device is formed integrally with the blood collection device.
Bischof discloses systems for obtaining liquid samples comprising a blood collection device configured to receive a blood collection container, wherein the blood collection device is integrally formed with a housing defining a fluid flow path from tubing to the blood collection device [In fact, in order to reduce the number of external components required for obtaining a liquid sample, it is preferred that housing 18 include the sleeve 32, piercing member 34 and receptacle 40 as a pre-assembled or otherwise integral unit (Bischof Col 5:15-19, Figs. 2-5)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blood sample collection system of Burkholz in view of Devgon to integrally form the small sample dispense device and the blood collection device, in order to reduce the number of external components required and as this modification is considered to merely be a matter of obvious engineering choice [In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B)].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz in view of Devgon, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Nishio (US-20160100786-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 8, Burkholz in view of Devgon teaches
The instrument advancement device of claim 1.
However, while Burkholz is considered to disclose the use of external sources for drawing blood into the sampling device 110 [External power sources such as motorized pumps, as are known in the art, may also be used to push blood through the extravascular system 10 to the sampling device 11 (Burkholz ¶0036)], Burkholz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be attached to a syringe barrel to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device.
Nishio discloses a blood sample collection system comprising a vascular access device [needle 69 (Nishio Fig. 18C)], a small sample dispense device [adapter 1 for blood sample dispensing (Nishio Figs. 2-3); an adapter 1 for blood sample dispensing according to the present embodiment has a piping structure, of which one end is a fitting portion 3 fitted to a distal portion 20a of a syringe 7 (that is, a syringe main body 20) and the other end is a nozzle portion 2, and a flange portion 4 on an outer circumference surface of the piping structure (Nishio ¶0046)], wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be attached to a syringe barrel to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device [Nishio ¶0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blood sample collection system of Burkholz to employ wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be attached to a syringe barrel to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device, so as to facilitate dispensing of the sample.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz, as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Bischof (US-6126618-A, previously presented).
Regarding claim 15, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9.
However, while Burkholz discloses integrally forming portions of the blood sample collection system [It is also intended herein, that an integrated unit of both the luer access adapter 22 and the sampling device 110 may be provided within the scope of the present invention (Burkholz ¶0035)], Burkholz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the small sample dispense device is formed integrally with the blood collection device.
Bischof discloses systems for obtaining liquid samples comprising a blood collection device configured to receive a blood collection container, wherein the blood collection device is integrally formed with a housing defining a fluid flow path from tubing to the blood collection device [In fact, in order to reduce the number of external components required for obtaining a liquid sample, it is preferred that housing 18 include the sleeve 32, piercing member 34 and receptacle 40 as a pre-assembled or otherwise integral unit (Bischof Col 5:15-19, Figs. 2-5)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blood sample collection system of Burkholz to integrally form the small sample dispense device and the blood collection device, in order to reduce the number of external components required and as this modification is considered to merely be a matter of obvious engineering choice [In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B)].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz, as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Nishio (US-20160100786-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 19, Burkholz teaches
The blood sample collection system of claim 9.
However, while Burkholz is considered to disclose the use of external sources for drawing blood into the sampling device 110 [External power sources such as motorized pumps, as are known in the art, may also be used to push blood through the extravascular system 10 to the sampling device 11 (Burkholz ¶0036)], Burkholz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be attached to a syringe barrel to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device.
Nishio discloses a blood sample collection system comprising a vascular access device [needle 69 (Nishio Fig. 18C)], a small sample dispense device [adapter 1 for blood sample dispensing (Nishio Figs. 2-3); an adapter 1 for blood sample dispensing according to the present embodiment has a piping structure, of which one end is a fitting portion 3 fitted to a distal portion 20a of a syringe 7 (that is, a syringe main body 20) and the other end is a nozzle portion 2, and a flange portion 4 on an outer circumference surface of the piping structure (Nishio ¶0046)], wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be attached to a syringe barrel to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device [Nishio ¶0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blood sample collection system of Burkholz to employ wherein the small sample dispense device is configured to be attached to a syringe barrel to dispense fluid from the small sample dispense device, so as to facilitate dispensing of the sample.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks. p. 5, filed 22 January 2026, with respect to the previously presented claim objections have been fully considered but they are not entirely persuasive.
The Examiner notes that the previously presented objection to claim 10 was not specifically addressed.
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 5, with respect to the previously applied Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant requests that the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified in the present application. However, the Examiner notes that the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections will be maintained until patentable subject matter is identified in either the instant or co-pending applications. The Examiner notes that upon further consideration, the previously applied provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection of instant claims 1 and 9 unpatentable over claim 10 of copending application 17/539,711 (hereinafter Ma) is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 5-8, with respect to the previously applied rejections of claims 1 and 9 under § 102/103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant asserts that while Devgon does disclose that a user can couple a fluid reservoir to the coupler [Devgon ¶0082], Devgon does not suggest that the introducer may be coupled to a small sample dispense device, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to replace the vascular access device (12) of Burkholz with the introducer of Devgon. However, the Examiner disagrees, as the Examiner notes that Burkholz is generally directed towards the use of a small sample dispense device coupled to a vascular access device [Burkholz ¶0033] and Devgon is directed towards aspirating bodily fluid from a patient via a vascular access device [Devgon ¶¶0030, 0067], such that the modification of Burkholz in view of Devgon is considered to be applicable. The Examiner further notes that Devgon is not particular regarding the blood collection device and there is no language in Devgon limiting an amount of blood to be withdrawn and collected via a blood collection device.
Regarding claim 9, the Applicant asserts that Burkholz fails to teach or suggest the amended subject matter of claim 9 wherein “the small sample dispense device is vented to provide a blood flashback during use of the vascular access device”, wherein the Applicant notes that ¶0036 of Burkholz, which was previously cited in the § 102 rejection of previously presented claim 20, fails to mention blood “flashback”. However, the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s argument, as the Examiner notes that based on the Applicant’s reference to “flashback” in the Applicant’s Specification merely referring to blood being present for the purposes of confirming placement of a needle/catheter in a blood vessel [In order to verify proper placement of the introducer needle and/or the catheter in the blood vessel, a clinician generally confirms that there is “flashback” of blood in a flashback chamber of the catheter assembly (Applicant’s Specification ¶0005)], the disclosure of Burkholz ¶0036 stating that air is vented from blood sampling device 110 to draw blood from the vascular access device 12, through extension tubing 20, and into the sampling device 110 is considered to read on the argued limitation, as the sampled blood is present in each of vascular access device 12, extension tubing 20, and sampling device 110.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEVERO ANTONIO P LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3791