DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (GB 2 193 844) in view of Hussain (EP 2 777 468).
Regarding claim 1.
Collins discloses: A power electronics assembly of a domestic appliance comprising:
a first relay (RL1 )controlling an electrical contact between a first current-carrying conductor((Contact at bottom of fig 1, connected to RL1)) and an electric consumer of the domestic appliance(Load);
a semiconductor switching element (TR1)that switches the electrical contact between the first current-carrying conductor(Contact at bottom of Fig. 1 Connected to RL1) and the electric consumer(load) and is arranged in parallel with the first relay(Arranged in parallel); and
a controller(control circuit ) programmed to activate the semiconductor switching element to switch ON the electric consumer before the first relay is closed.(see page 1, 70-105 and page 2,7-37)
Collins does not disclose:
programmed to activate the semiconductor switching element to switch ON the electric consumer before the first relay is closed
in related art, Hussain discloses signaling the device on, and then closing one relay while leaving the other opened, at [0020]-[0025], and Figs 1-5. Hussain discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher. As such, it would have been obvious to operator the device of Collins as taught by Hussain for the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher.
Regarding claim 2.
Collins discloses:
The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to stop the activation of the semiconductor switching element after the first relay has closed. (see abstract and page 1, 75-118 page 1, 95-115)
Regarding claim 3.
Collins discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Collins does not discloses:
The power electronics assembly according to claim 1 further comprising a second relay controlling an electrical contact between a second current-carrying conductor and the electric consumer, wherein the controller is further programmed to close the second relay to switch ON the electric consumer before the semiconductor switching element is activated.
IN related art, Hussain discloses:
The power electronics assembly according to claim 1 further comprising a second relay controlling an electrical contact between a second current-carrying conductor and the electric consumer, wherein the controller is further programmed to close the second relay to switch ON the electric consumer before the semiconductor switching element is activated. (See Fig. 4, 212 then 220) in related art, Hussain discloses signaling the device on, and then closing one relay while leaving the other opened, at [0020]-[0025], and Figs 1-5. Hussain discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher. As such, it would have been obvious to operator the device of Collins as taught by Hussain for the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher.
Regarding claim 4. Collins discloses:
Collins discloses The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to activate the semiconductor switching element before the first relay has opened in order to switch OFF the electric consumer.(see abstract)
Regarding claim 5. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 4, wherein the controller is further programmed to stop the activation of the semiconductor switching element after the first relay has opened and before the second relay has opened in order to switch OFF the electric consumer. (See abstract)
Regarding claim 6.
Collins discloses:
The power electronics assembly according to claim 4, wherein the controller is further programmed to stop the activation of the semiconductor switching element after the first relay has opened in order to switch OFF the electric consumer. (See Abstract)
Regarding claim 7. Collins discloses:
The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor switching element includes a TRIAC. (See abstract, TR1 being a TRIAC)
Regarding claim 8. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first relay includes a monostable switching state.(RL1 and page 1, 100-120)
Regarding claim 9. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 3, wherein the first and the second relay each include a monostable switching state.(RL1, and page 1, 100-120)
Regarding claim 10. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a galvanic isolation between the current-carrying conductor(s) and the controller. (Q1)
Regarding claim 11. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a fusible link (FS1)in a connection line of the controller or a smoothing capacitor between connection lines of the controller(FS1 in connection line to control circuit between control circuit and Load).
Regarding claim 12. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electric consumer is an ohmic consumer. (Load being water heater, see abstract)
Regarding claim 13. Collins discloses: The power electronics assembly according to claim 12, wherein the ohmic consumer is a heating element. (Load being water heater, see abstract)
Regarding claim 14. Collins discloses: A domestic appliance comprising: an electric consumer(Load); a first relay(RL1) controlling an electrical contact between a first current-carrying conductor(conductor where RL1) and the electric consumer(Load);
a semiconductor switching element(TR1 that switches the electrical contact between the first current-carrying conductor and the electric consumer and is arranged in parallel with the first relay(TR1 switching between conductor of RL1); and a controller programmed(Control circuit)
Collins does not disclose:
to activate the semiconductor switching element to switch ON the electric consumer before the first relay is closed.
in related art, Hussain discloses signaling the device on, and then closing one relay while leaving the other opened, at [0020]-[0025], and Figs 1-5. Hussain discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher. As such, it would have been obvious to operator the device of Collins as taught by Hussain for the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher.
Regarding claim 15.
Collins disclose: The domestic appliance of claim 14, wherein the electric consumer is a heating element.(Load, see abstract)
Regarding claim 16. Collins discloses: The domestic appliance of claim 14, wherein the controller is further programmed to stop the activation of the semiconductor switching element after the first relay has closed. (see abstract and page 1, 75-118 page 1, 95-115)
Regarding claim 17.
Collins discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Collins does not discloses:
The domestic appliance according to claim 14 further comprising a second relay controlling an electrical contact between a second current-carrying conductor and the electric consumer, wherein the controller is further programmed to close the second relay to switch ON the electric consumer before the semiconductor switching element is activated.IN related art, Hussain discloses:
The power electronics assembly according to claim 1 further comprising a second relay controlling an electrical contact between a second current-carrying conductor and the electric consumer, wherein the controller is further programmed to close the second relay to switch ON the electric consumer before the semiconductor switching element is activated. (See Fig. 4, 212 then 220) in related art, Hussain discloses signaling the device on, and then closing one relay while leaving the other opened, at [0020]-[0025], and Figs 1-5. Hussain discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher. As such, it would have been obvious to operator the device of Collins as taught by Hussain for the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher.
Regarding claim 18. Collins discloses: The domestic appliance according to claim 17, wherein the controller is further programmed to activate the semiconductor switching element before the first relay has opened in order to switch OFF the electric consumer. (See Abstract)
Regarding claim 19.
Collins discloses:
A hot water heater comprising: an electric heating element(See Page 1, 5-10);
a first relay(RL1) controlling an electrical contact between a first current-carrying conductor and the heating element(RL1 and Load);
a semiconductor switching element(TR1) that switches the electrical contact between the first current-carrying conductor and the electric consumer and is arranged in parallel with the first relay(TR1 in parallel with RL1); and
a controller(Control circuit) programmed to activate the semiconductor switching element to switch ON the heating element before the first relay is closed.
Collins does not disclose:
to activate the semiconductor switching element to switch ON the electric consumer before the first relay is closed.
in related art, Hussain discloses signaling the device on, and then closing one relay while leaving the other opened, at [0020]-[0025], and Figs 1-5. Hussain discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher. As such, it would have been obvious to operator the device of Collins as taught by Hussain for the benefit of efficiently heating the water inside the dishwasher.
Regarding claim 20. Collins discloses: The hot water heater of claim 19, wherein the controller is further programmed to stop the activation of the semiconductor switching element after the first relay has closed. (see abstract and page 1, 75-118 page 1, 95-115)
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898