DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed 05/26/2026 have been entered. Amendments do overcome the 102 rejection the 103 rejection as previously presented in final office action mailed02/26/2026, see new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4, 8-13, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20140193670-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ahn’ in view of (US-20180315980-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20120148913-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chiba’
Regarding Claim 1,
An teaches a prismatic battery (Ahn, “A battery pack including a battery cell”, see Abstract), comprising: an electrode structure (Ahn, battery cell, 100, Fig. 1) ; a prismatic battery housing having an opening that accommodates the electrode structure (Ahn, case, 400, Fig. 1) ; and an electrolyte (The examiner notes that an electrolyte is an inherent feature of a battery cell see 2163.07 (a)) , wherein the electrode structure comprises: a first electrode assembly (Ahn, pouch, 110, Fig. 1) ; a second electrode assembly (Ahn, pouch, 110, Fig. 1); and a current collector plate comprising a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal (Ahn, PCM, 200, Fig. 1) , wherein each of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly comprises a plurality of unit cells, and each of the plurality of unit cells includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode and a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Ahn, “Alternatively, the electrode assembly may be formed by sequentially stacking the positive electrode plate, the separator, and the negative electrode plate a plurality of times”, see [0038]), wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode tab (Ahn, positive electrode tab, 121, Fig. 1) and the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode tab (Ahn, negative electrode tab, 122, Fig. 1) and wherein the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are disposed on a first side of the plurality of unit cells (Ahn, see Fig. 1), wherein the positive electrode tabs of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal, and the negative electrode tabs of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are electrically connected to the negative electrode terminal (Ahn, corresponding connection parts, 212, Fig. 1) , wherein the current collector plate seals the opening of the prismatic battery housing (Ahn, “the sealing member 250 may block (e.g., seal) the hole 450 in the case 400.”, see [0049]),
Ahn does not teach a positive electrode dummy tab, a negative electrode dummy tab, herein the positive electrode dummy tabs and the negative electrode dummy tabs are disposed on a side of the plurality of unit cells other than the first side wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are fixed to an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing to support the first and second electrode assemblies, and wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are electrically insulated from the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the current collector plate.
Inoue teaches
Lee teaches a positive electrode dummy tab, a negative electrode dummy tab, herein the positive electrode dummy tabs and the negative electrode dummy tabs are disposed on a side of the plurality of unit cells other than the first side wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are fixed to an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing to support the first and second electrode assemblies (Lee, “battery case adjacent to the fixing parts”, see [0073]).
Lee teaches that these dummy tabs can act to suppress swelling and relieve stress (Lee, “fixing parts with the same polarity are bonded to each other via welding or soldering while being arranged in parallel in up and down directions to suppress swelling and to relieve stress generated in an electrode assembly.”, see [0057]) (Lee, “the fixing parts 112 and 132 to effectively suppress widening of a gap between electrode plates compared with a conventional electrode assembly including only a tap-lead coupler.”, see [0058]).
Modified Ahn and Lee are analogous as they are both related to the field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dummy tabs as taught in Modified Ahn with the tabs as taught in Lee and attach them to the case as taught in Modified Ahn in order to support the electrode assembly and to suppress swelling and suppress widening between the pouch and the case.
Modified Ahn does not teach wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are electrically insulated from the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the current collector plate
Chiba teaches wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab (Chiba, “two tabs 101 b and 101 d, one of which may be referred to as a connecting tab and the other of which may be referred to as a dummy tab.”, see [0118]) are electrically insulated from the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the current collector plate (Chiba, “Upon connection to the terminals, while the tab 102 c, which is a dummy tab, is connected to the terminal using the dummy terminal 112, the tab 102 c may not be connected to the terminal.”, see [0126])
Chiba teaches that this arrangement prevents the tabs from contacting and causing a short circuit (Chiba, “At this time, because the tabs of the positive electrode plate 101 and the tabs of the negative electrode plate 102 are arranged not to overlap each other, the short circuit is prevented between the tab of the positive electrode plate 101 and the tab of the negative electrode plate 102.”, see [0098]).
Lee and Chiba are analogous as they are both of the same field of tabs and battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tabs to be insulated from the case in order to prevent a short circuit.
Regarding Claim 2,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 1, wherein a number of the unit cells in the first electrode assembly is the same as a number of the unit cells of the second electrode assembly(Ahn, pouch, 110, Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Ahn the prismatic battery of claim 1, wherein each of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly further comprises a half cell including a positive electrode or a negative electrode on a separator (Ahn, “Alternatively, the electrode assembly may be formed by sequentially stacking the positive electrode plate, the separator, and the negative electrode plate a plurality of times”, see [0038]).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 1, wherein both the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are disposed on a side of the plurality of unit cells opposite to the first side (Ahn, see Fig. 1) (Ahn, battery cell, 100, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are fixed to an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing. (Lee, “battery case adjacent to the fixing parts”, see [0073]).
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 8, wherein each of a pair of the positive electrode tab and the positive electrode dummy tab and a pair of the negative electrode tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are aligned in a straight line in a height direction of the prismatic battery housing (Lee, “battery case adjacent to the fixing parts”, see [0073])(Lee, see Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 8, wherein a pair of the positive electrode tab and the positive electrode dummy tab and a pair of the negative electrode tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are not aligned in a straight line in a height direction of the prismatic battery housing (Lee, “battery case adjacent to the fixing parts”, see [0073])(Lee, see Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Ahn teaches wherein each of a pair of the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode dummy tab and a pair of the negative electrode tab and the positive electrode dummy tab are aligned in a straight line in the height direction of the prismatic battery housing (Lee, “battery case adjacent to the fixing parts”, see [0073])(Lee, see Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Ahn teaches wherein one of the positive electrode dummy tab or the negative electrode dummy tab is electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing.
(Chiba, “Upon connection to the terminals, while the tab 102 c, which is a dummy tab, is connected to the terminal using the dummy terminal 112, the tab 102 c may not be connected to the terminal.”, see [0126])
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 13, wherein the one of the positive electrode dummy tab or the negative electrode dummy tab electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing is fixed to an insulator installed on an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing (Chiba, “Upon connection to the terminals, while the tab 102 c, which is a dummy tab, is connected to the terminal using the dummy terminal 112, the tab 102 c may not be connected to the terminal.”, see [0126])
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Ahn teaches the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing
(Chiba, “Upon connection to the terminals, while the tab 102 c, which is a dummy tab, is connected to the terminal using the dummy terminal 112, the tab 102 c may not be connected to the terminal.”, see [0126])
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Ahn teaches the prismatic battery of claim 18, wherein the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab are fixed to an insulator installed on an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing(Chiba, “Upon connection to the terminals, while the tab 102 c, which is a dummy tab, is connected to the terminal using the dummy terminal 112, the tab 102 c may not be connected to the terminal.”, see [0126])
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20140193670-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ahn’ in view of (US-20180315980-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20120148913-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chiba’ in view of (US-20110039131-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Moon’
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Ahn does not teach wherein the first and second electrode assemblies are folded toward the current collector plate with the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal as a center
Moon teaches wherein the first and second electrode assemblies are folded toward the current collector plate with the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal as a center (Moon, “The first and second bare cell may be folded along a center line of the connection tab. Further, a protective circuit module (PCM) electrically may be coupled to the connection tab.”, [0009])
Moon teaches that this configuration improves assembly (Moon, “electrode tabs of two or more laminated bare cells are easily and precisely welded to a single, or more, connection tabs by a worker.”, see Abstract).
Modified Ahn and Moon are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have folded the configuration as taught in Ahn to allow for ease of assembly.
Claims 14, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20140193670-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ahn’ in view of (US-20180315980-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20120148913-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chiba in further view of (US-20200152952-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Heo’
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Ahn does not teach the prismatic battery of claim 13, wherein the one of the positive electrode dummy tab or the negative electrode dummy tab electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing has a polarity opposite to that of the prismatic battery housing.
Heo teaches wherein the one of the positive electrode tab or the negative electrode dummy tab electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing has a polarity opposite to that of the prismatic battery housing (Heo, “negative electrode tab is welded to the welding pole, whereby the battery case serves as a negative electrode terminal”, see [0013]).
Heo teaches that this allows for damage to the electrode assembly to be prevented (Heo, “and it is possible to prevent damage to the electrode assembly”, see [0013]).
Modified Ahn and Heo are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as assembly as taught in Modified Ahn to have one of the electrodes be welded directly to the case in order to have it serve as an electrode terminal to prevent damage to the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Ahn does not teach wherein a dummy tab that is not electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing is welded to an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing.
Heo teaches wherein a tab that is not electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing is welded to an inner surface of the prismatic battery housing (Heo, “negative electrode tab is welded to the welding pole, whereby the battery case serves as a negative electrode terminal”, see [0013]).
Heo teaches that this allows for damage to the electrode assembly to be prevented (Heo, “and it is possible to prevent damage to the electrode assembly”, see [0013]).
Modified Ahn and Heo are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as assembly as taught in Ahn to have one of the electrodes be welded directly to the case in order to have it serve as an electrode terminal to prevent damage to the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 21,
Modified Ahn does not teach wherein the device is an electric vehicle (EV).
Heo teaches a device comprising the prismatic battery of claim 5, wherein the device is an electric vehicle (EV) (Heo, “In addition, secondary batteries have attracted considerable attention as energy sources for electric vehicles and hybrid electric vehicles,”, see [0003]).
Heo teaches that this can help solve problems caused by air pollution and fossil fuels (Heo, “which have been developed to solve problems, such as air pollution, caused by existing gasoline and diesel vehicles using fossil fuels.”, see [0003])
Modified Ahn and Heo are analogous as they both relate to the field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the use of the battery of Modified Ahn to be used in an electric vehicle or EV in order to reduce the pollution problems caused by fossil fuels.
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20140193670-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ahn’ in view of (US-20180315980-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20120148913-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chiba’ in further view of (US-20120190252-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Pavlinsky’
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Ahn does not teach the prismatic battery of claim 15, wherein: the insulator includes a tab insertion groove; and the one of the positive electrode dummy tab or the negative electrode dummy tab electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing is inserted into and fixed to the tab insertion groove.
Pavlinksy teaches tab insulator includes insertion groove; and the one of the positive electrode tab or the negative electrode tab electrically insulated from the prismatic battery housing is inserted into and fixed to the tab insertion groove (Pavlinksy, “The stack insulator 30 may include a tab groove 36 and a tab aperture 32,”, see [0057]).
Pavlinsky teaches that the tab insertion groove allows for the tabs to be properly spaced apart and prevent a short circuit (Pavlinsky, “which may keep the first electrode tab 20 and the second electrode tab 22 spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance to prevent a short circuit therebetween”, see [0057]).
Modified Ahn and Pavlinsky are analogous as they both relate to the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulating part of the tab as taught in Modified Ahn with the slot as taught in Pavlinsky in maintain the spacing and prevent a short-circuit.
Regarding Claim 20,
Modified Ahn does not teaches wherein the insulator includes a tab insertion groove; and each of the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab is inserted into and fixed to the tab insertion groove.
Pavlinksy teaches wherein the insulator includes a tab insertion groove; and each of the positive electrode dummy tab and the negative electrode dummy tab is inserted into and fixed to the tab insertion groove. (Pavlinksy, “The stack insulator 30 may include a tab groove 36 and a tab aperture 32,”, see [0057]).
Pavlinsky teaches that the tab insertion groove allows for the tabs to be properly spaced apart and prevent a short circuit (Pavlinsky, “which may keep the first electrode tab 20 and the second electrode tab 22 spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance to prevent a short circuit therebetween”, see [0057]) .
Modified Ahn and Pavlinsky are analogous as they both relate to the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulating part of the tab as taught in Modified Ahn with the slot as taught in Pavlinsky in maintain the spacing and prevent a short-circuit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026have been fully considered; they are persuasive.
On pg. 9, the applicant argues:
“The pouch type battery cells (200-2, 200-4 and 200-6) in Fig. 2B of Kadirvel are merely connected in parallel by flexible joining pads (206-2, 206-4, 206-6, 206-8). Nowhere does Kadirvel disclose that the joining pads seals the opening of the battery housing. Importantly, the structure of battery cells in Kadirvel is only applicable to a pouch type battery, as Kadirvel does not disclose supporting the electrode assembly using positive and negative electrode dummy tabs fixed to an inner surface of the housing.”
This is convincing. The examiner has added to the record Ahn and Chiba. Ahn teaches an incased prismatic type cell casing with a connection portion. Chiba teaches a dummy tab which are fixed explicitly to the inner surface of the cell. Lee teaches the dummy tabs oriented as claimed. In view of the new references, the arguments as previously set forth are moot.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752