Response to Amendment
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 5 has been amended and new claim 19 has been added. Claims 6-18 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over PORCO, WO 2011140334 [892] in view of Ruiz et al. [IDS, dated
2/13/2023].
Regarding claim 5, PORCO discloses a method of treating disease by
administering compounds which inhibit eIF2, including, eIF2-alpha, see abstract,
page 2, esp. para [0010] wherein the disease includes idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis
(IFP), see page 65 esp. [00174].
PORCO fails to teach that the eIF2-alpha inhibitor is Sephin-1, as instantly
claimed.
Ruiz teaches that Sephin-1 is an eIF2-alpha inhibitor with therapeutic
potential since it does not have adverse effects on the alpha2 adrenergic
system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to either substitute or additionally add Sephin-1 in the methods taught by PORCO of treating IFP with eIF2 inhibiting compounds because Ruiz teaches the Sephin-1 is an eIF2-alpha inhibitor with therapeutic potential that provides the advantage of not having adverse effects on the alpha2 adrenergic system.
Regarding the limitation that the method does not simultaneously cause side effects as claimed, since the prior art, as modified above, has the same steps as the instant claims, the same property of not causing side effects must also be present. Note, a compound and its properties are inseparable. Additionally, this limitation flows from the combination of references since Ruiz teaches that Sephin-1 does not have adverse effects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the instant specification provides superior results that could not be obtained from the prior art because, applicant has shown that Sephin-1 directly interacts with NMDAR and selectively antagonizes the NMDAR NR2B subunit.
This is not found persuasive because what is alleged here is not an unexpected result but rather the discovery of a new property of a known compound/composition.
The mere discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or a scientific explanation for its functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer (Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347). See MPEP §2112. Applicant’s arguments are clearly directed to the discovery of a new property of the known drug Sephin-1.
As discussed in the rejection above PORCO disclose methods of treating IFP by administering compounds which inhibit eIF2-alpha and Ruiz teaches that Sephin-1 is an eIF2-alpha inhibitor that does not have adverse effects.
Applicant argues that the examiner’s position could have only been arrived at by improper hindsight.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In the above rejection, there is clear rationale for the conclusion of obviousness. PORCO teaches treating IFP by administering eIF2-alpha inhibitors and Ruiz teaches that Sephin-1 is an eIF2-alpha inhibitor that does not have adverse effects. Thus, clearly one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to eIF2-alpha inhibitors without side effects when looking to improve the methods of PORCO. Applicant asserts that Ruiz teaches away from the present claims.
This is not found persuasive since there is no teaching away in Ruiz, rather the contrary, Ruiz teaches that Sephin-1 is an eIF2-alpha inhibitor with therapeutic potential that does not have an adverse effects.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
the examiner should be directed to Michael G Hartley whose telephone number is
(571)272-0616. The examiner can normally be reached 10-6:30.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
examiner's supervisor, Jennifer Michener can be reached at 5712721424. The fax
phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned
is 571-273-8300.
may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing
in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-
272-1000.
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618