DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1- are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, “wherein the first and second variable electrical power switch” should be “wherein the first and second variable electrical power switches”; in claim 6, “on common roadway” should be “on a common roadway”; in claim 7, “in third electric vehicle” should be “in a third electric vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The antecedent issues and indefiniteness stemming from them are numerous and are thus consolidated in the table below for brevity. While Examiner attempted to capture all of the inconsistences, Examiner suggests a thorough review prior to filing a formal response. For example, the inconsistences of claim 1 are repeated in claims 2 (i.e. the “third charger” should be “the third charger of the second plurality of chargers”) and claim 32 (i.e. the “a first power meter” should be “a first power meter of the plurality of power meters”).
Claim 3 is separately rejected as indefinite for reciting “wherein the first, second, third, and fourth variable electrical power switch are adjusted in real time by the first charging station management system and the second charging station management system, by monitoring the first and second power meter readings across the communications channels, so that the electrical power source does not exceed its maximum output”. Monitoring each of the four power switches using only the “first and second power meter readings”, which would be of the first charging management system of claim is inconsistent with the specification and a basic reading of the claims. It is clear that this should read “the first, second, third and fourth power meter readings” since otherwise it’s unclear how the third and fourth power switches would be controlled, see paragraphs [0037-0038] of the specification for example. One power meter each monitors a corresponding power switch.
Claim
Claim limitation
Indefiniteness
Proper antecedent basis/Examiner’s interpretation
1
the charging management system
Lack of proper antecedent basis
the first charging management system
1
a first charger
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of chargers or distinct?
a first charger of the first plurality of chargers
1
a first power meter; the first power meter;
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of meters or distinct?
a first power meter of the first plurality of power meters
1
a first electrical powerline
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of powerlines or distinct?
a first electrical powerline of the first plurality of electrical powerlines
1
the first variable electrical power switch; the variable electrical power switch
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of variable switches or distinct?
the first variable electrical power switch of the first plurality of variable electrical power switches
1
a second charger
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of chargers or distinct?
a second charger of the first plurality of chargers
1
a second power meter
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of meters or distinct?
a second power meter of the first plurality of power meters
1
a communication channel
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of channels or distinct?
a communication channel of the first plurality of communications channels
1
the second variable electrical power switch; the variable electrical power switch
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of variable switches or distinct?
the second variable electrical power switch of the first plurality of variable electrical power switches
1
a second electrical powerline
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of powerlines or distinct?
a second electrical powerline of the first plurality of electrical powerlines
2
“third charger”
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the first or second plurality of chargers or distinct?
“the third charger of the second plurality of chargers”)
32
“a first power meter”; “the first power meter”
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of power meters or distinct?
“a first power meter of the plurality of power meters”
32
the first variable electrical power switch; the variable electrical power switch
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of variable switches or distinct?
the first variable electrical power switch of the plurality of variable electrical power switches
32
a first charger; the first charger
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of chargers or distinct?
a first charger of the first plurality of chargers
32
a first electrical powerline
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of powerlines or distinct?
a first electrical powerline of the plurality of electrical powerlines
32
“a second power meter”; “the second power meter”
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of power meters or distinct?
“a second power meter of the plurality of power meters”
32
the second variable electrical power switch; the variable electrical power switch
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of variable switches or distinct?
the second variable electrical power switch of the plurality of variable electrical power switches
32
a second charger; the second charger
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of chargers or distinct?
a first charger of the first plurality of chargers
32
a second electrical powerline
Lack of proper antecedent basis; of the plurality of powerlines or distinct?
a second electrical powerline of the plurality of electrical powerlines
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13, 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Baxter et al. US PGPUB 2010/0134067.
Regarding claim 1, Baxter discloses a system of parallel charging [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-330 connected in parallel off power line 135] comprising: an electrical power source having a maximum output [fig. 3, power grid 125 supplies a circuit breaker 125 which has a maximum output (par. 57, “maximum amount of current supported by the circuit breaker 125”)];
a first charging station management system [fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 43-44];
a first plurality of variable electrical power switches [fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59];
a first plurality of chargers [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-335];
a first plurality of electrical powerlines [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-33 connected to power line 135 via their own powerlines; pars. 49-51 & 59, each of the charging stations controls its draw from the main power line 135 to its charging point connection 155 (thus to its parallel powerline)];
a first plurality of power meters [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter)];
a first plurality of communications channels connected between the plurality of power meters and the charging management system [fig. 2, the meter 220 is connected to the local control modules 205 which communicates with the transceiver 250 and the controller 305 (fig. 3); pars. 40 & 89]; and
a first battery to be charged [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25];
wherein the first battery is connected to a first charger through a first power meter [figs. 1-2, vehicle connects to 115, which connects to the power line through power meter 220];
wherein, when the first power meter transmits a power reading across a communication channel to the charging station management system, the charging station management system adjusts the first variable electrical power switch, connected to the first charger, so that the electrical power source feeds electrical power through a first electrical powerline to the variable electrical power switch and the first charger, charging the first battery [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery]; and
a second battery to be charged [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25; fig. 3, multiple charging stations];
wherein the charging of the second battery begins after the first battery begins charging, but before the first battery is fully charged [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
wherein the second battery is connected to a second charger through a second power meter [figs. 1-2, vehicle connects to 115, which connects to the power line through power meter 220];
wherein, when the second power meter transmits a power reading across a communication channel to the first charging station management system, the charging station management system adjusts the second variable electrical power switch, connected to the second charger, so that the electrical power source feeds electrical power through a second electrical powerline to the variable electrical power switch and the second charger, charging the second battery [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery];
wherein the first and second variable electrical power switch are adjusted in real time by the first charging station management system, by monitoring the first and second power meter readings across the communications channels, so that the electrical power source does not exceed its maximum output [fig. 9, pars. 58, 62 & 89-91 a message with a power reading indicating charging nearing ending results in the charging station being deallocated current which reduces the amount of current provided to that station and can result in other charging stations being allocated current (fig. 9, steps 930 which leads to step 860 of fig. 8, which in turn allocates current to other stations (steps 860-865), all while maintaining the total current below the maximum].
Regarding claim 2, Baxter discloses further comprising a charging network management system [fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205, which may also be connected to a server 180; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 42-44].
Regarding claim 3, Baxter discloses further comprising a second charging station management system [fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 43-44; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present and the group controller 305 and the two or three charging stations which make up the other plurality can be considered a second charging station management system; fig. 2, 120];
a second plurality of variable electrical power switches [fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present; fig. 2, 120];
a second plurality of chargers [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-335; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present; fig. 2, 120];
a second plurality of electrical powerlines [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-33 connected to power line 135 via their own powerlines; pars. 49-51 & 59, each of the charging stations controls its draw from the main power line 135 to its charging point connection 155 (thus to its parallel powerline); fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-335; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present; fig. 2, 120];
a second plurality of power meters [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter); fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-335; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present; fig. 2, 120];
a second plurality of communications channels connected between the second plurality of power meters and the second charging management system [fig. 2, the meter 220 is connected to the local control modules 205 which communicates with the transceiver 250 and the controller 305 (fig. 3); pars. 40 & 89; fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-335; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present; fig. 2, 120]; and
a third battery to be charged [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25; fig. 3, multiple charging stations];
wherein the charging of the third battery begins after the first battery begins charging, but before the first battery is fully charged [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
wherein the third battery is connected to a third charger through a third power meter [figs. 1-2, vehicle connects to 115, which connects to the power line through power meter 220];
wherein, when the third power meter transmits a power reading across a communication channel to the second charging station management system, the second charging station management system adjusts the third variable electrical power switch, connected to the third charger, so that the electrical power source feeds electrical power through a third electrical powerline to the variable electrical power switch and the third charger, charging the third battery [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery]; and
a fourth battery to be charged [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25; fig. 3, multiple charging stations];
wherein the charging of the fourth battery begins after the first battery begins charging, but before the first battery is fully charged [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
wherein the charging of the fourth battery begins after the third battery begins charging, but before the third battery is fully charged [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge multiple batteries];
wherein, when the fourth power meter transmits a power reading across a communication channel to the second charging station management system, the second charging station management system adjusts the fourth variable electrical power switch, connected to the fourth charger, so that the electrical power source feeds electrical power through a fourth electrical powerline to the variable electrical power switch and the fourth charger, charging the fourth battery [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery];
wherein the first, second, third, and fourth variable electrical power switch are adjusted in real time by the first charging station management system and the second charging station management system, by monitoring the first and second power meter readings across the communications channels, so that the electrical power source does not exceed its maximum output [fig. 9, pars. 58, 62 & 89-91 a message with a power reading indicating charging nearing ending results in the charging station being deallocated current which reduces the amount of current provided to that station and can result in other charging stations being allocated current (fig. 9, steps 930 which leads to step 860 of fig. 8, which in turn allocates current to other stations (steps 860-865), all while maintaining the total current below the maximum].
Regarding claim 4, Baxter discloses wherein the first plurality of chargers is located at a first location and wherein the second plurality of chargers is located at a second location, separate and apart from the first location [fig. 3; the pluralities of charging stations are each located separately; such that 315 and 120 can be connected via LAN, as with 325 and 330; furthermore, each charging station is located in a “parking space” or “designated charging location”, thus separate and apart from other locations (par. 4)].
Regarding claim 5, Baxter discloses wherein the charging network management system is connected to the first charging station management system; and wherein the charging network management system is connected to the second charging station management system [fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205, which may also be connected to a server 180; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 42-44].
Regarding claim 6, Baxter discloses wherein the first location and the second location are both located on common roadway [par. 4, the charging stations can be located in public parking spaces, thus on a common roadway].
Regarding claim 7, Baxter discloses wherein the first battery is in a first electric vehicle; wherein the second battery is in a second electric vehicle; wherein the third battery is in third electric vehicle; and wherein the fourth battery is in a fourth electric vehicle [pars. 4 & 21].
Regarding claim 8, Baxter discloses wherein the charging network management system has a communication channel through which one may make a query about the availability of chargers [par. 31; server 180 allows to “determine availability of charging stations].
Regarding claim 9, Baxter discloses wherein the charging network management system can query both the first charging station management system and the second charging station management system, in real time, in order to ascertain the availability of chargers [fig. 3, local controllers 205, which may be connected to a server 180, to exchange information allow determining of availability of the stations and charging status of vehicles currently charging, thus real time; pars. 31, 35, 37, 39 & 42-44].
Regarding claim 10, Baxter discloses wherein a query is made to the charging network management system in order to charge a fifth battery in a fifth electric vehicle in the shortest amount of time [fig. 3; five charging stations thus five vehicles can be charged, furthermore, a request can be made to “charge immediately” and/or with greater “privilege”, allowing greater current and priority, thus the shortest amount of time (possible); pars. 38, 50, 61 & 70].
Regarding claim 11, Baxter discloses wherein the charging network management system accesses its communication channels to the first charging station management system and the second charging station management system in order to obtain the current status of charging with respect to the first battery, the second battery, the third battery, and the fourth battery [par. 31, server 180 allows checking the status of the charging of EV batteries].
Regarding claim 13, Baxter discloses wherein the electrical power source is electricity provided from a grid [fig. 1, power grid 130].
Regarding claim 15, Baxter discloses wherein the electrical power source is at least one of electricity provided from a grid [fig. 1, 130];
harvested from photovoltaic cells; or
stored in a battery storage system.
Regarding claim 16, Baxter discloses a method for parallel charging [figs. 1-3, abs] comprising the following steps:
connecting a power source having a maximum output to a first plurality of chargers through a first plurality of variable power switches [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-330 connected in parallel off power line 135 from grid; fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59; fig. 3, power grid 125 supplies a circuit breaker 125 which has a maximum output (par. 57, “maximum amount of current supported by the circuit breaker 125”)];
monitoring in real time the power flowing to each of the first plurality of chargers with a first plurality of power meters [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter) for monitoring in real time; par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
connecting a first battery to a first charger from the first plurality of chargers [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25];
monitoring the electrical power flowing to the first battery from the first charger by using a first power meter connected both to the first battery and the first charger [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter) for monitoring in real time; par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
connecting a second battery to a second charger from the first plurality of chargers, at a time after the first battery was connected to the first charger [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
monitoring the electrical power flowing to the second battery from the second charger by using a second power meter connected both to the second battery and the second charger [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter) for monitoring in real time; par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
preventing the power flowing to the first charger and second charger from exceeding the maximum output [fig. 9, pars. 58, 62 & 89-91 a message with a power reading indicating charging nearing ending results in the charging station being deallocated current which reduces the amount of current provided to that station and can result in other charging stations being allocated current (fig. 9, steps 930 which leads to step 860 of fig. 8, which in turn allocates current to other stations (steps 860-865), all while maintaining the total current below the maximum].
Regarding claim 17, Baxter discloses wherein preventing the power flowing to the first charger and second charger from exceeding the maximum output is accomplished using the steps of adjusting a first variable power switch from the first plurality of variable power switches, connected to the power source and the first charger, with a first charging station management system [fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59; pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery]; and
adjusting a second variable power switch from the first plurality of variable power switches, connected to the power source and the second charger, with the first charging station management system [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery; each of the variable switches are adjusted].
Regarding claim 18, Baxter discloses wherein the first battery begins to draw less power as it approaches being fully charged [fig. 9, pars. 58, 62 & 89-91; when one charger finishes up charging it begins to draw less current].
Regarding claim 19, Baxter discloses the step of increasing the power flowing to the second battery by adjusting the second variable power switch [fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59; when the charging of one vehicle is finishing and more charging can be allocated then the current of another station is increased (par. 68)].
Regarding claim 20, Baxter discloses wherein the power source is at least one of electricity provided from a grid [fig. 3, power grid 125]; harvested from photovoltaic cells; or stored in a battery storage system.
Regarding claim 21, Baxter discloses the steps of connecting the power source having a maximum output to a second plurality of chargers through a second plurality of variable power switches [fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 43-44; fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present and the group controller 305 and the two or three charging stations which make up the other plurality can be considered a second charging station management system; fig. 2, 120];
monitoring in real time the power flowing to each of the second plurality of chargers with a second plurality of power meters [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter) for monitoring in real time; par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
connecting a third battery to a third charger from the second plurality of chargers, at a time after the first battery was connected to the first charger [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
monitoring the electrical power flowing to the third battery from the third charger by using a third power meter connected both to the third battery and the third charger [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter) for monitoring in real time; par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
connecting a fourth battery to a fourth charger from the second plurality of chargers, at a time after the first battery was connected to the first charger and at a time after the third battery was connected to the third charger [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
monitoring the electrical power flowing to the fourth battery from the fourth charger by using a fourth power meter connected both to the fourth battery and the fourth charger [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter) for monitoring in real time; par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
preventing the power flowing to the first charger, second charger, third charger, and fourth charger from exceeding the maximum output [fig. 9, pars. 58, 62 & 89-91 a message with a power reading indicating charging nearing ending results in the charging station being deallocated current which reduces the amount of current provided to that station and can result in other charging stations being allocated current (fig. 9, steps 930 which leads to step 860 of fig. 8, which in turn allocates current to other stations (steps 860-865), all while maintaining the total current below the maximum].
Regarding claim 22, Baxter discloses wherein preventing the power flowing to the first charger, second charger, third charger, and fourth charger from exceeding the maximum output is accomplished using the steps of adjusting the first variable power switch from the first plurality of variable power switches, connected to the power source and the first charger, with the first charging station management system [fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59; pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery];
adjusting the second variable power switch from the first plurality of variable power switches, connected to the power source and the second charger, with the first charging station management system [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery; each of the variable switches are adjusted];
adjusting a third variable power switch from the second plurality of variable power switches, connected to the power source and the third charger, with a second charging station management system [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery; each of the variable switches are adjusted; fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 43-44; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present and the group controller 305 and the two or three charging stations which make up the other plurality can be considered a second charging station management system; fig. 2, 120];
adjusting a fourth variable power switch from the first plurality of variable power switches, connected to the power source and the fourth charger, with the second charging station management system [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery; each of the variable switches are adjusted; fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 43-44; fig. 3, indicates 5 charging stations, thus at least two pluralities (i.e. one of two and one three) can be considered present and the group controller 305 and the two or three charging stations which make up the other plurality can be considered a second charging station management system; fig. 2, 120].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baxter et al. US PGPUB 2010/0134067 in view of Kamen et al. US PGPUB 2011/0025267.
Regarding claim 12, Baxter does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging network management system schedules a charger for the fifth battery and communicates the same.
However, Kamen discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the charging network management system schedules a charger for the fifth battery and communicates the same [par. 98, 107 and 109; a vehicle user can scheduling charging for the vehicle battery through a network and communicate the schedule to a charger or charging vehicle]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baxter to further include wherein the charging network management system schedules a charger for the fifth battery and communicates the same for the purpose of allowing a user to park in a long term parking lot and have their vehicle charged shortly before their return, as taught by Kamen (pars. 98, 107 and 109).
Regarding claim 14, Baxter does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical power source is solar harvested from photovoltaic cells.
However, Kamen discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the electrical power source is solar harvested from photovoltaic cells [fig. 4, a charging vehicle 104 is dispatched to the location of a vehicle which needs charging; par. 45; pars. 37 & 95; solar panels can be used to generate the energy for the charging vehicle].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baxter to further include wherein the electrical power source is solar harvested from photovoltaic cells for the purpose of harnessing the renewable energy of the sun, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 32, Baxter discloses a mobile system of parallel charging [figs. 1 & 3] comprising:
an electrical power source having a maximum output [fig. 3, power grid 125 supplies a circuit breaker 125 which has a maximum output (par. 57, “maximum amount of current supported by the circuit breaker 125”)];
a charging station management system [fig. 3, group controller 305 and local controllers 205; pars. 35, 37, 39 & 43-44];
a plurality of variable electrical power switches [fig. 2, each of the stations shown in fig. 3 have an “electricity control device” i.e. a switch which can vary the amount of power; pars 35, 39, & 59];
a plurality of chargers [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-335];
a plurality of electrical powerlines [fig. 3; a plurality of charging stations 120-33 connected to power line 135 via their own powerlines; pars. 49-51 & 59, each of the charging stations controls its draw from the main power line 135 to its charging point connection 155 (thus to its parallel powerline)];
a plurality of power meters [fig. 2; par. 40, each of the charging stations has a current measuring device (power meter)];
a plurality of communications channels connected between the plurality of power meters and the charging management system [fig. 2, the meter 220 is connected to the local control modules 205 which communicates with the transceiver 250 and the controller 305 (fig. 3); pars. 40 & 89]; and
a first battery to be charged [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25];
wherein the first battery is at the remote location and is connected to a first charger through a first power meter [figs. 1-2, vehicle at a location (which could be considered remote to some other location) connects to 115, which connects to the power line through power meter 220];
wherein, when the first power meter transmits a power reading across a communication channel to the charging station management system, the charging station management system adjusts the first variable electrical power switch, connected to the first charger, so that the electrical power source feeds electrical power through a first electrical powerline to the variable electrical power switch and the first charger, charging the first battery [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery]; and
a second battery to be charged [fig. 1, each charging station charges a vehicle battery (e.g. of 110); par. 25; fig. 3, multiple charging stations];
wherein the second battery is at the remote location and is connected to a second charger through a second power meter [figs. 1-2, vehicle connects to 115, which connects to the power line through power meter 220];
wherein the charging of the second battery begins after the first battery begins charging, but before the first battery is fully charged [par. 39-40 & 47-50; fig. 3; current/power is allocated in real time, as one charger is charging a vehicle and another session begins, it is determined how much current/power is available and a particular amount is allocated such that both stations can charge both batteries];
wherein the second battery is connected to a second charger through a second power meter [figs. 1-2, vehicle connects to 115, which connects to the power line through power meter 220];
wherein, when the second power meter transmits a power reading across a communication channel to the charging station management system, the charging station management system adjusts the second variable electrical power switch, connected to the second charger, so that the electrical power source feeds electrical power through a second electrical powerline to the variable electrical power switch and the second charger, charging the second battery [pars. 39-40; the meter 220 continually measures the flow of power/current, thus “when” power reading is transmitted to 205 (a part of the CSMS) the variable switch is adjusted (via PWM) to control the flow of power to charge the vehicle battery];
wherein the first and second variable electrical power switch are adjusted in real time by the charging station management system, by monitoring the first and second power meter readings across the communications channels, so that the electrical power source does not exceed its maximum output [fig. 9, pars. 58, 62 & 89-91 a message with a power reading indicating charging nearing ending results in the charging station being deallocated current which reduces the amount of current provided to that station and can result in other charging stations being allocated current (fig. 9, steps 930 which leads to step 860 of fig. 8, which in turn allocates current to other stations (steps 860-865), all while maintaining the total current below the maximum].
Baxter does not explicitly disclose a vehicle (distinct from the vehicle containing the “first battery”) or the electrical power source being comprised of an energy storage device and mounted on the vehicle or wherein the vehicle is dispatched to a remote location.
However, Kamen discloses an electric vehicle charging system comprising a vehicle, wherein the electrical power source is comprised of an energy storage device and mounted on the vehicle and wherein the vehicle is dispatched to a remote location [fig. 4, a charging vehicle 104 is dispatched to the location of a vehicle which needs charging; par. 45].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baxter to further include a vehicle, the electrical power source being comprised of an energy storage device and mounted on the vehicle, wherein the vehicle is dispatched to a remote location for the purpose of charging employees’ vehicles while they are at work, as taught by Kamen (par. 45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 23, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “calculating the correct settings of the first, second, third, and fourth variable power switches, in order not to exceed the maximum output, using the charging network management system; communicating from the charging network management system to the first charging station management system the correct settings for the first and second variable power switches; and communicating from the charging network management system to the second charging station management system the correct settings for the third and fourth variable power switches” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 23.
Claims 24-31, being dependent on claim 23, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ito et al. US PGPUB 2023/0143398 discloses an EV charging system using parallel charging and variable switches.
/DAVID V HENZE-GONGOLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859