CTNF 18/109,194 CTNF 95254 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 20, it appears the claim does not end with a period. It is suggested to add a period . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 112851698 A, machine translated English version is referred to, hereafter Wei) . Regarding claims 13-19 , Wei discloses a compound used for a light emitting device, wherein the compound is represented by Formula 1 comprising at least one substituent of Formula 2 (page 1, Summary of the Invention). Wei exemplifies Compound S16 (page 4). PNG media_image1.png 389 677 media_image1.png Greyscale The Compound S16 has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1, meeting all the limitations of claims 13-19 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN 112851698 A, machine translated English version is referred to) . Regarding claim 20 , Wei discloses a compound used for a light emitting device, wherein the compound is represented by Formula 1 comprising at least one substituent of Formula 2 (page 1, Summary of the Invention). Wei exemplifies Compound S16 (page 4) which has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1 as outlined above. PNG media_image1.png 389 677 media_image1.png Greyscale The Compound S16 has similar structure as Applicant’s specific embodiment, Compound 1. The only difference is the phenyl groups at the positions corresponding to R B1 and R C1 of Formula 2 of Wei (i.e. the phenyl groups at the positions corresponding to the R 3 and R 4 of Applicant’s Formula 1 as shown in the figure above) are required to be hydrogen; however, Wei does teach that R B1 and R C1 can be each hydrogen (page 2). Wei exemplifies specific embodiments (see compounds on page 4-14 including at least Compounds S9 through S12), wherein the substituents at the positions corresponding to R B1 and R C1 are each hydrogen. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound S16 of Wei by substituting the phenyl groups at the positions corresponding to R B1 and R C1 of Formula 2 of Wei with hydrogen, as taught by Wei. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Both phenyl and hydrogen are alternative options for the variable R B1 and R C1 of Formula 2 of Wei. Substitution of phenyl with hydrogen would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The modification provides Modified compound of Wei which has identical structure as Applicant’s Compound 1. Regarding claims 1-9 , Wei discloses Compound S16 (page 4) which reads on all the features of claims 13-19 as outlined above. The Modified compound of Wei reads on all the features of claim 20 as outlined above. Wei does not disclose a specific light emitting device comprising the Compound S16 of Wei; however, Wei does teach the compound of Wei can be used as the light emitting material (page 14, last paragraph). Wei teaches the structure of a light emitting device comprising a first electrode, an emission layer (compound of Wei used as a dopant and Compound BFH-3 as a host), and a second electrode (page 22, Device Example 1). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound S16 of Wei by incorporating it into the emission layer as a light emitting dopant with a host compound, as taught by Wei. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of light emitting dopants of Formula 1 of Wei in the device of Wei would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The modification provides Modified light emitting device of Wei (1) comprising a first electrode, an emission layer (Compound S16 of Wei as a dopant, Compound BFH-3 as a host), and a second electrode, wherein the Compound S16 of Wei is a first compound, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-8 . Similarly, the Modified compound of Wei reads on all the features of claim 20 as outlined above. Wei does not disclose a specific light emitting device comprising the Modified compound of Wei; however, Wei does teach the compound of Wei can be used as the light emitting material (page 14, last paragraph). Wei teaches the structure of a light emitting device comprising a first electrode, an emission layer (compound of Wei used as a dopant and Compound BFH-3 as a host), and a second electrode (page 22, Device Example 1). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound of Wei by incorporating it into the emission layer as a light emitting dopant with a host compound, as taught by Wei. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of light emitting dopants of Formula 1 of Wei in the device of Wei would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The modification provides Modified light emitting device of Wei (2) comprising a first electrode, an emission layer (Modified compound of Wei as a dopant, Compound BFH-3 as a host), and a second electrode, wherein the Modified compound of Wei is a first compound, meeting all the limitations of claim 9 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN 112851698 A, machine translated English version is referred to) in view of Jung et al. (US 2021/0098721 A1, hereafter Jung) . Regarding claims 10-12 , the Compound S16 of Wei has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1 as outlined above. Wei does not disclose a specific light emitting device comprising Compound S16 of Wei, two host compounds, and a metal complex in the emission layer of the device; however, Wei does teach the Compound S16 of Wei can be used as the light emitting material (page 14, last paragraph). Jung discloses a light emitting device comprising a first electrode, an emission layer, and a second electrode, wherein the emission layer comprises a first host, a second host, a first dopant, and a second dopant represented by Formula D-2 ([0007]). Jung exemplifies compound HT-01 as the first host ([0138]), compound ET1-2 as the second host ([0139]), compound AD1-1 as the first dopant ([0140]). The Compound S16 of Wei has identical structure as the second dopant of Formula D-2 of Jung ([0008]). That is, Jung teaches that the Compound S16 of Wei can be used as the second dopant of Jung in the device of Jung. Jung teaches the light emitting device of Jung provides good service life characteristics and excellent luminous efficiency ([0006]). PNG media_image2.png 522 568 media_image2.png Greyscale The Compounds HT-1, ET1-2, and AD1-1 of Jung have identical structure as Applicant’s Formulas H-1, H-2, and D-1, respectively. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound S16 of Wei by incorporating it into the emission layer with Compound HT-01 of Jung, Compound ET1-2 of Jung, and Compound AD1-1 of Jung, as taught by Wei and Jung. The motivation of doing so would have been to provide the light emitting device with good service life characteristics and excellent luminous efficiency based on the teaching of Jung. Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The modification provides Light emitting device of Wei as modified by Jung comprising a first electrode, an emission layer (Compound S16 of Wei as a first compound, Compound HT-10 of Jung as a second compound, Compound ET1-2 of Jung as a third compound, and Compound AD1-1 of Jung as a fourth compound), and a second electrode. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SEOKMIN JEON whose telephone number is (571)272-4599. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30am to 5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JENNIFER BOYD can be reached at (571)272-7783. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/109,194 Page 2 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/109,194 Page 4 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/109,194 Page 5 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/109,194 Page 7 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/109,194 Page 8 Art Unit: 1786