DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 9, 12, 15, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20230066448 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 20190174411 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches a sidelink discontinuous reception (Sidelink DRX) control method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal, control signaling, wherein the control signaling is used for Uu and /or PC5 Sidelink DRX control (Fig. 1 and Par. 119), and performing, by the terminal, Sidelink DRX control according to the control, wherein the control signaling is medium access control (MAC) signaling (Pars. 110-111, if a DRX command MAC Control Element (CE) (or an SLDRX Command) or a Long DRX Command MAC CE (or an SLLong DRX Command MAC CE) is received from other UEs (through a PC5 interface): 2> stop SL-drx-onDurationTimer; 2> stop SL-drx-InactivityTimer), wherein the control signaling comprises new PC5 MAC CE (Pars. 110-111, SL-DRX command MAC CE (new PC5 MAC CE)).
Tseng lacks on teaching of the new PC5 MC CE comprises a MAC subheader, and the MAC subheader comprises an LCID, the LCID being used to indicate that the new PC5 MAC CE is used to control Sidelink DRX. However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence Xu. Xu teaches the control information/signaling is represented by a MAC PDU sub-header carrying LCID, the command element SLDRX Command MAC CE is newly added, and the LCID corresponding to the SLDRX Command MAC CE (Pars. 68-70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Xu into Tseng to effectively avoid conflict and improve energy efficiency and quality of service.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Tseng further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a priority of the new PC5 MAC CE is determined in at least one of the following manners: (Xu, Pars. 76-77, network control terminal/eNB(network side) set according to priority levels of the general link and the sidelink);
Regarding claim 12, apparatus of claim 12 is performed by method of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, apparatus of claim 15 is performed by method of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, non-transitory readable storage medium of claim 20 is performed by method of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, apparatus of claim 24 is performed by method of claim 9. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 9.
Claims 10-11 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20230066448 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 20190174411 A1) and in further view of 3GPP TS 38.312 V16 (2020-03) cited in IDS hereinafter referred as 3GPP.
Regarding claim 10, Tseng does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein
3GPP teaches long DRX Command MAC CE and the DRX command MAC CE are each configured with a subheader having a corresponding local channel identifier (LCID) (Page 129, Table 6.2.1-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by 3GPP into Tseng to minimize power consumption effectively.
Regarding claim 11, Tseng does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the MAC subheader further comprises: seventh information, the seventh information indicating that the new PC5 MAC CE is a DRX command MAC CE or a Long DRX command MAC CE, and the seventh information being an LCID.
3GPP teaches long DRX Command MAC CE and the DRX command MAC CE are each configured with a subheader having a corresponding local channel identifier (LCID) (Page 129, Table 6.2.1-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by 3GPP into Tseng to minimize power consumption effectively.
Regarding claim 23, apparatus of claim 23 is performed by method of claim 10. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 22, apparatus of claim 22 is performed by method of claim 11. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 15 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. US 20250203701 A1 TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 5 Index LCID values 0 SCCH carrying PC5-S messages that are not protected 1 SCCH carrying PC5-S messages “Direct Security Mode Command” and “Direct Security Mode Complete” 2 SCCH carrying other PC5-S messages that are protected 3 SCCH carrying PC5-RRC messages 4-19 Identity of the logical channel 20-[58] Reserved 59 Sidelink Inter-UE Coordination Request 60 Sidelink Inter-UE Coordination Information [61] Sidelink DRX Command 62 Sidelink CSI Reporting 63 Padding
Lee et al. US 20250220484 A1[0223] The Inter-UE Coordination Information MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 5. TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 5 Index LCID values 0 SCCH carrying PC5-S messages that are not protected 1 SCCH carrying PC5-S messages “Direct Security Mode Command” and “Direct Security Mode Complete” 2 SCCH carrying other PC5-S messages that are protected 3 SCCH carrying PC5-RRC messages 4-19 Identity of the logical channel 20-[58] Reserved 59 Sidelink Inter-UE Coordination Request 60 Sidelink Inter-UE Coordination Information [61] Sidelink DRX Command 62 Sidelink CSI Reporting 63 Padding
Yang et al. US 20220225072 A1[0086] The LCID field identifies the logical channel instance or the type of the corresponding MAC control element (MAC CE) within the scope of one Source Layer-2 ID and Destination Layer-2 ID pair of the corresponding MAC SDU (service data unit) or padding. There is one LCID field per MAC sub-header except for the sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) sub-header. The LCID may take the values given in the table below.[0087]TABLE-US-00001 Index LCID Value 0 SCCH carrying PC5-S messages that are not protected 1 SCCH carrying PC5-S messages “Direct Security Mode Command” and “Direct Security Mode Complete 2 SCCH carrying other PC5-S messages that are protected 3 SCCH carrying PC5-RRC messages 4-19 Identity of the logical channel 20-61 Reserved 62 Sidelink CSI reporting 63 Padding
Pan et al. US 20210227620 A1 (Sidelink DRX) A UE may establish multiple logical channels. LCID included within the MAC subheader uniquely identifies a logical channel within the scope of one Source Layer-2 ID and Destination Layer-2 ID combination.
Mueck et al. US 20230292243 A1 [0040] In another example, the WUS can be or include an SL DRX command MAC CE. A VRU/UE may send an SL DRX command MAC CE to a receiving VRU/UE for unicast transmission, and when to send SL DRX Command MAC CE may be up to UE implementation. The SL DRX command MAC CE are identified by a MAC subheader with LCID field value of 61. When an SL DRX command MAC CE is received for a Source Layer-2 ID and Destination Layer-2 ID pair of a unicast, the MAC entity stops the sl-drx-onDurationTimer for the Source Layer-2 ID and Destination Layer-2 ID pair of a unicast, and stops the sl-drx-Inactivity Timer for the Source Layer-2 ID and Destination Layer-2 ID pair of a unicast.
Hui et al. US 20230217463 A1 [0505] In an example of FIG. 36, the first wireless device may perform the sidelink DRX operations based on the receiving of the first message. The first wireless device may receive/decode SCI (e.g., first stage SCI on PSCCH and/or second stage SCI on PSSCH) in a sidelink DRX active time of a sidelink DRX cycle. The active time of the first wireless device based on the sidelink DRX configuration may comprise the time that sl-drx-onDurationTimer, sl-drx-InactivityTimer or sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer of the sidelink DRX configuration is running at the first wireless device. The first wireless device may not receive/decode SCI (e.g., first stage SCI on PSCCH and/or second stage SCI on PSSCH) in a sidelink DRX inactive time of the sidelink DRX cycle. The sidelink DRX inactive time of the sidelink DRX cycle may be/indicate/comprise the time other than the sidelink DRX active time in the sidelink DRX cycle.
Lee et al. US 11778682 B2 (142) When the UE performs cell reselection, the UE interested in V2X service(s) considers at least whether NR sidelink communication and/or V2X sidelink communication are supported by the cell. The UE may consider the following carrier frequency as the highest priority frequency, except for the carrier only providing the anchor carrier: the frequency providing both NR sidelink communication and V2X sidelink communication, if configured to perform both NR sidelink communication and V2X sidelink communication; the frequency providing NR sidelink communication, if configured to perform only NR sidelink communication.
Lee et al. US 20210127402 A1 [0550] Table 6 shows an example of values of LCID for SL-SCH:
TABLE-US-00006 TABLE 6 Index LCID values 0 Reserved 1 SCCH carrying PC5-S signaling before PC5-RRC connection (or PC5-S unicast link establishment) 2 SCCH carrying RRC signaling before PC5-RRC connection 3 SCCH carrying PC5-S signaling after PC5-RRC connection(or PC5-S unicast link establishment) 4 SCCH carrying RRC signaling after PC5-RRC connection 5 SCCH carrying CSI/RI or MAC CE carrying CSI/RI 6-21 Identity of the logical channel 22-62 Reserved 63 Padding
Wang US 20240023160 A1 [0228] In one embodiment, the wireless device may select the consistent failure events in accordance with the priority order configured in step 902. Thus the priority order may be configured by a configuration message received from a network node.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Cindy Trandai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648
7/6/2026