DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-20 are as previously presented. Claims 1-20 are currently examined.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejections as set forth within the previous office action have been removed as the applicants arguments are considered persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podolefsky (US 2020/0266498).
As to claim 1, Podolefsky a battery pack (figures 2 and 3, [0035], discussed throughout) comprising: an outer housing including an open top (figures 2 and 3 #54, [0029], not including the wall, discussed throughout); an outer housing lid applicable to the open top to define a closed outer hold within the outer housing (figure 2 and 3 #66, [0037], discussed throughout); a power port carried on the outer housing (figures 2 and 3 #82, [0031]-[0082], discussed throughout); an inner housing within the outer hold of the outer housing (figure 3 #74, #72 #70, #110 and etcetera, it is the inside portion within the outer wall that surround the batteries, or figure 4, discussed throughout), the inner housing comprising an inner case and an inner housing lid applicable to the basin to define a closed inner hold within the inner housing (for figure 3, this would be #86 and for figure 4, there would be an opening to put the batteries within, discussed throughout); and a plurality of battery cells disposed entirely within the inner hold (figure 3 #51 are within the require location in both cases, discussed throughout), wherein the battery cells are electrically coupled to the power port to provide power to the power port (figures 2 and 3, discussed throughout).
Podolefsky is silent to wherein the inner case is a basin. However, it would have been obvious to have the define inner case options being a basin as a mere change in shape or a mere making integral baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 2, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a battery management system for controlling and reporting operating information about the battery cells (figures 1 and 2 and 3 #250 and #16, discussed throughout).
As to claim 3, Podolefsky is silent to wherein, the battery management system (BMS) is disposed within the inner housing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the BMS within the inner house as a mere rearrangement of parts baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 4, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a control board for controlling operation of the battery pack, wherein: the control board is coupled to the battery management system to send and receive data therefrom; and the battery management system is coupled to an input-output port in the outer housing and is coupled to the plurality of battery cells (figures 1 and 2 and 3 #250 and #16, discussed throughout, the control board can be any of the discussed circuits, see [0054]-[0055] and throughout).
As to claim 6, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a kit of at least first and second mounting brackets (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout), wherein each of the first and second mounting brackets has a first leaf having a first dimension and a second leaf having a second dimension (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout), the first and second leaves set at a right angle with respect to each other (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout); wherein on the second mounting bracket, the first and second dimensions are not equal (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout). Podolefsky is silent to wherein on the first mounting bracket the first and second dimensions are equal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to change the dimension of the brackets as a mere change is shape or size baring any criticality or unexpected results.
As to claim 7, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising: a tray within the inner hold; and the plurality of battery cells are carried and secured in the tray (figures 2-4, wherein the wall next to the outer walls make up the inner case than figure 4 can be considered the tray, discussed throughout).
As to claim 8, Podolefsky a battery pack (figures 2 and 3, [0035], discussed throughout) comprising: an outer housing (figures 2 and 3 #54, [0029], not including the wall, discussed throughout), and an outer housing lid applicable to the outer housing to define a closed outer hold within the outer housing (figure 2 and 3 #66, [0037], discussed throughout); a power port carried on the outer housing (figures 2 and 3 #82, [0031]-[0032], discussed throughout); an inner housing within the outer hold of the outer housing (figure 3 #74, #72 #70, #110 and etcetera, it is the inside portion within the outer wall that surround the batteries, or figure 4, discussed throughout), the inner housing comprising a inner case and an inner housing lid applicable to the basin to define a closed inner hold within the inner housing (for figure 3, this would be #86 and for figure 4, there would be an opening to put the batteries within, discussed throughout); battery cells disposed within the inner hold (figure 3 #51 are within the require location in both cases, discussed throughout), wherein the battery cells are electrically coupled to the power port to provide power to the power port (figures 2 and 3, discussed throughout); and a battery management system for controlling and reporting operating information about the battery cells (figures 1 and 2 and 3 #250 and #16, discussed throughout, the control board can be any of the discussed circuits, see [0054]-[0055] and throughout).
Podolefsky is silent to wherein the inner case is a basin. However, it would have been obvious to have the define inner case options being a basin as a mere change in shape or a mere making integral baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 10, Podolefsky is silent to wherein, the battery management system (BMS) is disposed within the inner housing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the BMS within the inner house as a mere rearrangement of parts baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 11, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a kit of at least first and second mounting brackets (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout), wherein each of the first and second mounting brackets has a first leaf having a first dimension and a second leaf having a second dimension (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout), the first and second leaves set at a right angle with respect to each other (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout); wherein on the second mounting bracket, the first and second dimensions are not equal (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout). Podolefsky is silent to wherein on the first mounting bracket the first and second dimensions are equal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to change the dimension of the brackets as a mere change is shape or size baring any criticality or unexpected results.
As to claim 12, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising: a tray within the inner hold; and the battery cells are carried and secured in the tray (figures 2-4, wherein the wall next to the outer walls make up the inner case than figure 4 can be considered the tray, discussed throughout).
As to claim 13, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a control board for controlling operation of the battery pack, wherein: the control board is coupled to the battery management system to send and receive data therefrom; and the battery management system is coupled to an input-output port in the outer housing and is coupled to the battery cells (figures 1 and 2 and 3 #250 and #16, discussed throughout, the control board can be any of the discussed circuits, see [0054]-[0055] and throughout).
As to claim 14, Podolefsky a battery pack (figures 2 and 3, [0035], discussed throughout) comprising: an outer housing (figures 2 and 3 #54, [0029], not including the wall, discussed throughout), a power port (figures 2 and 3 #82, [0031]-[0032], discussed throughout); an inner housing disposed within the outer housing (figure 3 #74, #72 #70, #110 and etcetera, it is the inside portion within the outer wall that surround the batteries, or figure 4, discussed throughout); and battery cells disposed within the inner housing (figure 3 #51, discussed throughout), wherein the battery cells are electrically coupled through the inner housing to the power port in the outer housing to provide power to the power port (figures 2-4, discussed throughout). Podolefsky discloses wherein the battery pack has a power switch ([0053], discussed throughout) and a display (figure 1 discussed throughout). However, Podolefsky is silent to the location of the display and power switch on the outer battery housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the power switch and the display on the outside of the battery housing as a mere rearrangement of parts barring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 16, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a battery management system for controlling and reporting operating information about the battery cells (figure 1 #260, discussed throughout).
As to claim 17, Podolefsky is silent to wherein, the battery management system (BMS) is disposed within the inner housing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the BMS within the inner house as a mere rearrangement of parts baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 18, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a control board for controlling operation of the battery pack, wherein: the control board is coupled to the battery management system to send and receive data therefrom; and the battery management system is coupled to an input-output port in the outer housing and is coupled to the battery cells (figures 1 and 2 and 3 #250 and #16, discussed throughout, the control board can be any of the discussed circuits, see [0054]-[0055] and throughout).
As to claim 19, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising a kit of at least first and second mounting brackets (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout), wherein each of the first and second mounting brackets has a first leaf having a first dimension and a second leaf having a second dimension (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout), the first and second leaves set at a right angle with respect to each other (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout); wherein on the second mounting bracket, the first and second dimensions are not equal (figure 2 #112a and #112b, discussed throughout). Podolefsky is silent to wherein on the first mounting bracket the first and second dimensions are equal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to change the dimension of the brackets as a mere change is shape or size baring any criticality or unexpected results.
As to claim 20, Podolefsky discloses wherein, further comprising: a tray within the inner hold; and the plurality of battery cells are carried and secured in the tray (figures 2-4, wherein the wall next to the outer walls make up the inner case than figure 4 can be considered the tray, discussed throughout).
Claims 5, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Podolefsky as applied to claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Wei (US 2018/0105063).
As to claims 5, 9 and 15, modified Podolefsky is silent to further comprising an asset tracker device, wherein the asset tracker device includes a GPS chip and an antenna for communicating with a communication network, and the asset tracker is coupled to the battery cells to receive power and operating information about the battery cells and then transmit said operating information. Wei discloses a battery pack ([0037]) with tracking unit with a GPS receiver and a transmitter to transmit data back to a microprocessor ([0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the GPS system from Wei within modified Podolefsky so that the battery system and data can be tracked and stored, furthermore it would have been obvious as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 243 I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants arguments, filed 3/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Lee have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made please see newly added rejections above.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724